11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!

mod_po
post Apr 9 2015, 04:41 PM

im a dragon in cat costume
1,462 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Apr 9 2015, 04:38 PM)
And Streamyx. doh.gif
bhahaha?? streamyx? unifi dun get coverage yet??
mod_po
post Apr 9 2015, 04:58 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(blueelyn @ Apr 9 2015, 04:49 PM)
Dear Sifus,

May i know Asrock H97 Pro4 and Asus H97-PRO GAMER which is better? As Asrock H97 Pro4 sold out on the shop that i wish to buy from. I need to wait about 2-3 weeks. Or, any suggestion on the motherboard that I can use with GTX 970.

Thank you.
any new line mobo would do just nice with GTX970,
even asrock B85m HDS RM269 can do,
but it lack of ram slot, n back panel features, n expansion slot

try check in viewnet, do they have Asrock Z87 killer RM419,
it is quite a nice deal tho

or asrock H87 PERFORMANCE RM264

This post has been edited by mod_po: Apr 9 2015, 04:59 PM
mod_po
post Apr 9 2015, 10:47 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 9 2015, 10:08 PM)
Didn't notice that  sweat.gif

Refinement to Intel + AMD build
Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 979
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI - RM 559
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 234
MSI R9 290X 4GB GDDR5 Lightning GPU - RM 1379
CM V1000 PSU - RM 799
Kingston V300 480GB SSD - RM 749
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199
Thermaltake Versa H25 Chassis - RM 139

Total: RM 5037 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
doesnt that PSU overkill for single GPU??
that is not an OC build,

if me, i will go for GTX980 build
mod_po
post Apr 9 2015, 10:57 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 9 2015, 10:53 PM)
He want a CF ready build  sweat.gif
my bad,
but it would not be any harm right swapping with Seasonic M12II EVO 750W PSU - RM 459

because if he wanted to do CF or SLI,
he nid a better casing right?

seems like the thermaltake H25 will soon be cramp with CF/SLI setup,

is NZXT S340 or NZXT H440 any gud?
mod_po
post Apr 9 2015, 11:49 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Apr 9 2015, 11:14 PM)
they are both perform the same, so why pay more right.
anyway which shop?, if u dont mind buying online theres others option like Idealtech, Viewtech and Etech PC.
bare in mind that they will try to change your suggestion.
just stick with it if they got the item, if sold out..maybe then u can follow their suggestion.
yup,
all newbies (sorry using that term) here shud be reminded,
they shud trust sifus here way more than the reseller,
because sifus here did do a lot of research,

some of the reseller, oni a sales person,
they sometimes not particular on what the sell, just according to rumors n sales target
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 12:56 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(EidolonMi @ Apr 10 2015, 12:32 AM)
Purpose: Gaming/Programming
Budget: Around 4k
Processor: i5-4690k or Xeon E3-1231 V3, I see many sifus here recommend Xeon E3-1231 V3, but a friend told me that Xeons have a more cores but a lower clock per core, in most games less cores but higher clocks is more beneficial, which to go?
must also include a monitor, the size of the monitor shouldn't be big(21.5" perhaps?)
Please recommend rig first, because I'm quite unfamiliar to monitor sizes and need to do a bit of research, since I've never had a PC.
xeon 1231 v3 Rm969
Asrock H87 Performer RM264
Kingston 8GB RM239
Thermaltake H25 RM139
Liteon 900s 256GB RM379
WD 1TB RM199
Leadtek GTX960 RM830
Seasonic M12II 620W PSU - RM 289
Benq 24" GL2450 (Vesa) RM479

RM3787

dun listen to those craps about xeon's

xeon 1231 v3 is similar to 17 4790, just with no iGPU n slower 0.1Ghz speed
it shud blow any i5 even the K version away

This post has been edited by mod_po: Apr 10 2015, 12:58 AM
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 01:05 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Apr 10 2015, 12:32 AM)
Hi Bro
my current rig is spoilt. It's time for major upgrade

looking to build a SFF matx gaming/multipurpose rig with RM3k budget with below components.

Core i5-4460
Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 x1
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W 80+ Bronze Fully Modular
WD Caviar Blue 1TB
SG09 case
Asrock matx mobo?
GTX970?

some of my question,

does Seasonic M12II Evo 520W PSU enuf for a 970?
Could SG09 fit and run a 970 without any problem?
any reliable brand that is <1200 for a 970?

Thank in advance
nahh shud be no prob

xeon 1231 v3 Rm969
Asrock B85M HDS RM264
Kingston 8GB RM239
Silverstone SG09 RM423
WD 1TB RM199
Leadtek GTX960 RM830
Seasonic M12II 520W PSU - RM 289

RM3213

if budget is tight u have options:

1st : swap with i5-4440 Rm699
2nd: swap the casing with Cooler master 130 RM169 n mobo with ASROCK B85M-ITX RM329
3rd: *i found out that techview selling leadtek hurrican GTX970 RM1200 on their lelong website

This post has been edited by mod_po: Apr 10 2015, 09:37 AM
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 01:09 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(EidolonMi @ Apr 10 2015, 01:00 AM)
Can I take out the SSD out of the equation for now and invest in a 970? also should I invest in 80+ Gold PSU for efficiency over long time and quality? For ODD, any recommendations?
seriously u wanna that gold rated? too luxury the price

xeon 1231 v3 Rm969
Asrock H87 Performer RM264
Kingston 8GB RM239
Thermaltake H25 RM139
WD 1TB RM199
Leadtek GTX970 RM1429
Seasonic S-SERIES GOLD 650W RM439
Benq 24" GL2450 (Vesa) RM479

RM4157

*i found out that techview selling leadtek hurrican GTX970 RM1200 on their lelong website

any ODD is would suffice RM60

This post has been edited by mod_po: Apr 10 2015, 01:14 AM
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 01:26 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(EidolonMi @ Apr 10 2015, 01:19 AM)
Is Gold rated not worth the price in long run?

Thanks for the recommendation, should I just go to lowyat and buy these pieces from different shops? or are there specific shops that might even give me discount if I buy all from them?(sry first time building rig total newbie) and I recall Gainward GTX 970 being cheaper than Leadtek, is it out of stock atm? or should I order the Leadtek Hurricane from lelong? I'm probably going to build it next week or two depending on when I get free time to go to lowyat to get rest of parts.
it is all up to u,
from my exp, it is not bulk buying make u will get discount,
it just ur survey talent n how u deal,
i used to buy from different shops on diffrent component,

even on9 wont hurt

im not sure gold/platinum/bronze rated is rated based on the durability or not,
based on my reading, it is just the efficiency, how the PSU able to minimise power loss,
not on durability

the durability is based on the capacitor n build,
here
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-25479...-tier-list.html

mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 10:23 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 10 2015, 10:19 PM)
16GB RAM is quite overkill for just gaming.

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 719
Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 - RM 468
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W PSU - RM 299

Total: RM 1949 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

If you go for 8GB RAM then the following build is better.

Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 979
Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 234
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W PSU - RM 299

Total: RM 1975 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
psssttt.... where is the GPU?
xeon doesnt have one
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 10:28 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 10 2015, 09:47 PM)
[Budget] 2k

[Purpose] gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] r7 260x, wd blue 500gbHDD ,cm elite 335 ,cd drive

[Monitor resolution] 1680 x 1050

[Games & softwares that use frequently] wanting GTA5 and bf hardline

[Personal preferences] wanting 1tb HDD , 16gb ram , only CPU

[Location] will be at KL tomorrow for holidays

Thx sifu  rclxms.gif
tweak a bit from tristan build

Core i5-4440 - RM699
Asrock H87 Performer - RM269
Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 - RM229
WD Blue 1TB hard disk - RM199
Corsair VS 550W power supply - RM189
Aerocool GT advance - RM109
SAPPHIRE R7 250X RM349

RM2043

for RM2k build, surely hard to get GTA5 on high quality with smooth gameplay,
u have to lower it down later,

unless if u willing to spend more, it is a better investment

mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 10:52 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 10 2015, 10:39 PM)
Psst, he already have R7 260X.
ha3!! my bad, always mislooked
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 11:18 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(silverMiracle @ Apr 10 2015, 10:58 PM)
dear sifu this spec can play dota2?and this spec worth the price?
is this 2nd hand build?
or brand new?
imo the asus GPU is always overpriced,

but looks like u already bought it,
so no fret bout it,
sure do can play dota 2 at max
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 11:39 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(silverMiracle @ Apr 10 2015, 11:28 PM)
brand new..it mean i bought expensive?
well, another one, another case,
things just dun work this way,

u shud ask 1st, then after that, buy it,

but well, u already bought it,
ur build shud be fine, can play dota,

if it is still within 7days,
n u willing to go back to the shop n swap things,

swap the GTX750 ti with someting cheaper like leadtek GTX750 ti or Gainward GTX 750 GS (their performance is the same)
n the extra money get a better build PSU or swap the cpu with xeon 1231v3...

if oni u willing to go thru the hustle

This post has been edited by mod_po: Apr 10 2015, 11:40 PM
mod_po
post Apr 10 2015, 11:43 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Apr 10 2015, 10:42 PM)
i7 4790
mobo not sure
case not sure
16gb 1600mhz ram
palit 770 4gb

2.5k exclude monitor

2nd hand

a good buy?
hard to say,, it seems to look okay,
but still have to see all the components detail 1st,
then easier to confirm it,

as the reseller to use SPECCY software from piriforum
mod_po
post Apr 11 2015, 12:07 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Apr 11 2015, 12:02 AM)
i will.. ask the seller.

is there any possibility he can fake the software output as different spec
Ask the seller to screen capture.. n open the side panel n capture the image inside
mod_po
post Apr 11 2015, 12:10 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Apr 10 2015, 11:45 PM)
Meaning that the Asus GTX750 will work juz fine like leadtek GTX750 ti or Gainward GTX 750 GS? Just that the Asus GTX750 is slightly overpriced?

Sorry to budge in, but actually i asked on behalf of him dy, and he is my gf's younger bro which is not computer illiterate, same like me. laugh.gif
Yup.. but well u already bought it.. not a real big problem, just tiny one...so dun regret too much.. chillax
mod_po
post Apr 11 2015, 12:11 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 11 2015, 12:09 AM)
what if the momboard change to the one which can 4slot ram and crossfire? how many money i should add in?
If u r lucky, there is shops still selling asrock h87 performer, same price RM269.. shud hunt for this one first
mod_po
post Apr 11 2015, 12:12 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Apr 11 2015, 12:10 AM)
Well well, IINM, the cheapest SLI (or Crossfire) mobo is Gigabyte's Z97 SLI, that thing cost about RM550+ IIRC.
There is CF mobo that is cheap, but is not effective as the high end mobo..

Usually cf support mobo is cheaper than sli support mobo
mod_po
post Apr 11 2015, 12:22 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 11 2015, 12:15 AM)
sorry just google that out and found that is really a cheap and crossfire momboard. if im lucky there still in stock. haha
Yup they selling the older h87 n z87 mobo quite cheap now.u shud hunt for them first, any brand would do..

If u not lucky u can go with msi h97 gaming or asrock h97 perfomance, both is RM474

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:53 AM