6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!

terence_nwb
post Apr 8 2015, 05:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tsonline82 @ Apr 8 2015, 04:58 PM)

Whats this 2 item? I'm not good with computer parts.

Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139
Asrock H81M-VG4 - RM 189

Graphic card i think i bought one for RM300+ few years ago. Forgot the spec though.
Do we need i5 to run Dota2? Will running it on i3 make the game performance very slow? You try it before with those min spec?
First one is case, you can choose whatever case you want, it is just a recommendation.

Second one is motherboard.

Since your graphics card costs only RM 300+ so normal 400W PSU will do, but it cannot guarantee a smooth frame rate and gameplay when playing Dota 2. The i3 processor will run fine, you don't need i5 to play Dota 2.

Intel Core i3 4130 - RM 419
Asrock H81M-VG4 - RM 189
Kingston 4GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 129
Antec VP400 PSU - RM 119
Toshiba 500GB HDD - RM 174

Total: RM 1169 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

You can add another RM 25 to upgrade the HDD to 1TB and RM 105 for 8GB RAM
terence_nwb
post Apr 8 2015, 06:10 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Kaz3m @ Apr 8 2015, 05:59 PM)
Is the i7-4790k compatible with the first mobo? (Asrock B85M-HDS) because im thinking of getting that processor, but sticking with gainward gtx970. Also whats up with the RAM(GSKILL 8GB 1600 CL7), why does it cost RM 100 more than kingston? is it better?  hmm.gif
Yes, you can use i7 4790k on that mobo but it will be a waste since the mobo cannot oc your processor, you need Z series mobo to unleash the full potential of i7 4790k such as Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 3/5/7, Asus Z97 PRO Gamer etc.

Kingston Value RAM is cheap and has better price and performance ratio, getting a high performance RAM won't help you much in real world usage unless you are doing benchmark on it which it will give you better score, so if you want to save some money, go for Kingston one.
terence_nwb
post Apr 8 2015, 11:49 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Apr 8 2015, 11:23 PM)
i7-4790 RM1160
Asrock B85M-HDS RM269 (How many fan connector does it have?)
Kingston Value RAM  RM219
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM199
liteon 900s SSD 256GB RM379
Seasonic M12 II 520w RM 279
Fractal Design R4 - RM 450
Dell 24" S2415H RM809 (I would prefer U2515H, how is the price?)

is there any good sound card? I'm using Edifier R2700 Studio 7
if i were to buy one or two parts permonth only, which parts should i start 1st?
Asrock B85M-HDS got 3 fan connectors according to official website, 1 CPU, 1 Chassis and 1 Power.

Dell U2515H is currently priced RM 1479.

For sound card, you can try looking for Asus Xonar series.

Which part to get first, I think don't get the processor and mobo first since 5th gen Broadwell CPU is coming out soon, if the price of 5th gen is the same with current 4th gen then you can just go for newest 5th gen.
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 12:07 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Apr 9 2015, 12:03 AM)
thanks for the reply..is there any motherboard that have more fan connector?
Fractal R5 also coming soon..

so i better start with power supply, ssd, hdd, ram and monitor 1st?
Asrock B85 Pro4 with 5 fans connectors at RM 339 or you can just use molex cable which is very cheap to connect your fan directly to PSU when you run out of slot on your mobo if the fan is just 3 pin (non-pwm type fan).

As for part, starting with PSU, SSD, HDD and monitor is a good choice.
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 01:06 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Apr 9 2015, 12:57 AM)
Can core i7 support up to 2560X1440 screen resolution?
Of course can, even 4K @60Hz is also supported using DP v1.2 cable
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 01:36 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Apr 9 2015, 01:17 AM)
without GPU?
i7 comes with iGPU and it can support up to 4K resolution so a discrete GPU is not needed unless you use it to play games.

QUOTE(Kaz3m @ Apr 9 2015, 01:27 AM)
I'm still indecisive about which MOBO to choose for i7-4790k and GTX 970, also which brand to go for... So far I've come up with these:

Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Gigabyte Z97 Gaming 3/5

or any other good mobos ?

also many people suggest gainward gtx 970, some1 else suggested evga gtx970 sc, any other good GPUs? which one should i go for..?

I still can't decide whether I should get the i7-4790k or just buy xeon v3-1231 e3 and  invest the money in SSD and other peripherals

gosh this is so hard >_>
If you do rendering a lot then go for i7 4790K and pair it with a Z mobo, as for mobo choice, you can look for review on the Internet and get the one which suits you more.

Gainward GTX970 is the cheapest GTX970 you can get in Malaysia, that's why most of the people will go for it instead of picking up an expensive GTX970 which doesn't really boost a lot of performance. EVGA do not have official distributor in Malaysia yet, you can only get it overseas.
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 02:53 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Kaz3m @ Apr 9 2015, 02:13 AM)
What about comparing Xeon E3-1231 V3 and i5-4690k? Also what is a good mobo(budget isn't of the utmost importance[still important], but quality is) to go for if I'm going with the xeon?
Xeon E3 1231 V3 supports hyperthreading and most of the rendering software will take advantage of it to render and finish the task faster, it will smoke the i5 which does not support hyperthreading. But a highly overclocked i5 4690k will also fasten up the rendering process too.

Since Xeon is locked, a normal B85 or H97 mobo will do the job, Asrock has the best price and performance ratio, if you wish to upgrade to Broadwell processor, choose H97 mobo.
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 09:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Slyke @ Apr 9 2015, 08:14 PM)
Budget : RM3,500-5,000

Purpose : Full Hard Gaming on Ultra

Monitor Resolution : 1080p, preferred 120hz and above. If you have something better I'm up for it as I want it to be triple-monitor-ready

Games Played : Games released this year and for the years to come

Personal Preferences :
R9 290x or GTX 980
Crossfire or SLI ready
500GB SSD and 1TB HDD

Now I may asked for too much, but I prefer it if you can make it all red and black colored.
I made a full MSI build and it costs me about RM4,000, if you have something better and cheaper that would be appreciated
Intel + Nvidia build
Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 979
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI - RM 559
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 234
Leadtek GTX 980 4GB GDDR5 GPU - RM 2179
Seasonic M12II EVO 750W PSU - RM 459
Liteon 900S 128GB SSD - RM 249
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199
Thermaltake Versa H25 Chassis - RM 139

Total: RM 4997 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

Intel + AMD build
Asrock B85 Fatal!ty Killer (CF ready) - RM 369
Sapphire R9 290X 4GB GDDR5 TRI-X OC GPU - RM 1549
CM V1000 PSU - RM 799
Kingston V300 480GB SSD - RM 749
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199

Total: RM 5017 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

First build cannot fit a 500GB SSD due to over budget while second build can fit but Kingston V300 SSD is using cheap NAND which lowers the performance but if you insist to get 500GB SSD within your budget then Kingston is the only choice.

Not sure if already have a monitor or not but getting a 1080p 120/144Hz monitor will definitely make your rig not SLI/CF ready as requested.

And about the color, both GPUs are not red and black in color, choosing Asus and MSI GPU will increase your budget.
QUOTE(silverMiracle @ Apr 9 2015, 08:48 PM)
(Processor) Core i5-4460
(Motherboard) Asrock H81M-VG4 motherboard
(Ram) Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 x1
(Graphic card) Sapphire R7 265 2GB DDR5 Dual-X
(Hard disc) Toshiba 500GB hard disk
(Power supply) Antec VP500 power supply
(Fan) Additional 12cm fan
(Casing)Thermaltake Versa H23 case
Sifu can total up for me?
Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 719
Asrock H81M-VG4 - RM 189
Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 x1 - RM 234
Sapphire R7 265 2GB DDR5 Dual-X - RM 589
Toshiba 500GB hard disk - RM 179
Antec VP500 power supply - RM 159
Additional 12cm fan - RM 25
Thermaltake Versa H23 case - RM 135

Total: RM 2229 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 10:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 9 2015, 09:48 PM)
There's a cheaper option for the Intel + AMD build..for GPU,can change to MSI R9 290X Lightning RM1379.. brows.gif

About the MoBo,it will only run the second AMD card on x4 speed. hmm.gif
Didn't notice that sweat.gif

Refinement to Intel + AMD build
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI - RM 559
MSI R9 290X 4GB GDDR5 Lightning GPU - RM 1379
CM V1000 PSU - RM 799
Kingston V300 480GB SSD - RM 749
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199

Total: RM 5037 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 10:53 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ Apr 9 2015, 10:47 PM)
doesnt that PSU overkill for single GPU??
that is not an OC build,

if me, i will go for GTX980 build
He want a CF ready build sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Apr 9 2015, 11:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ Apr 9 2015, 10:57 PM)
my bad,
but it would not be any harm right swapping with Seasonic M12II EVO 750W PSU - RM 459

because if he wanted to do CF or SLI,
he nid a better casing right?

seems like the thermaltake H25 will soon be cramp with CF/SLI setup,

is NZXT S340 or NZXT H440 any gud?
If GTX980 SLI then 750W PSU is enough but if he go for R9 290X CF, 1000W is recommended since one R9 290X requires 750W PSU already as stated in the specs sheet.

As for casing, if the airflow is good, CF/SLI setup should not be a problem with H25 but if I got extra budget, I will go for better case too brows.gif
terence_nwb
post Apr 10 2015, 07:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(vcheam @ Apr 10 2015, 06:03 PM)
[cool.gif[Budget] RM3000

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] LCD TV

[Monitor resolution] LCD TV 32inch, donno what resolutions..hahaha

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Battlefield, GTA

[Personal preferences] AMD processor, SSD

[Location] Klang valley
Nope, don't get AMD processor, Intel beats it in all aspects.

Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
Leadtek GTX970 4GB GDDR5 GPU - RM 1179
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W PSU - RM 299
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199

Total: RM 3033 (GPU is from Techview, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST)

3K budget is not easy to squeeze in an SSD unless you are willing to sacrifice your budget on GPU. Change GPU to Leadtek GTX960 2GB GDDR5 @RM 819 and add in Liteon S900 128GB SSD @RM 249 if you wish to do so.
terence_nwb
post Apr 10 2015, 10:19 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 10 2015, 09:47 PM)
[Budget] 2k

[Purpose] gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] r7 260x, wd blue 500gbHDD ,cm elite 335 ,cd drive

[Monitor resolution] 1680 x 1050

[Games & softwares that use frequently] wanting GTA5 and bf hardline

[Personal preferences] wanting 1tb HDD , 16gb ram , only CPU

[Location] will be at KL tomorrow for holidays

Thx sifu  rclxms.gif
16GB RAM is quite overkill for just gaming.

Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 - RM 468
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199

Total: RM 1949 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

If you go for 8GB RAM then the following build is better.

Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199

Total: RM 1975 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Apr 10 2015, 10:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ Apr 10 2015, 10:23 PM)
psssttt.... where is the GPU?
xeon doesnt have one
Look for hardware to be reuse sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Apr 11 2015, 02:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(EidolonMi @ Apr 11 2015, 01:25 AM)
Is it worth spending money trying to improve the case with buying silent fans, adding dust filters and anti-vibration pads/etc or just invest another RM 100 or RM 150 and get a better case?

maybe corsair carbide spec 03?
My opinion is go for a better case, it is more worth in the long run.
terence_nwb
post Apr 11 2015, 11:26 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(WhySoSerius @ Apr 11 2015, 10:39 AM)
Hi all sifus

Can please suggest a budget build

Excluding GPU and monitor+accessories, already have gtx 970 + 1080p monitor

For gaming purposes
Not planning for SLI
No need SSD

Budget 1.5 - 2k

Thanks  thumbup.gif
Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264
Seasonic M12 II EVO 520W PSU - RM 299
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199

Total: RM 1854 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

If you can accept slightly over budget, switch the processor to Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 @RM 979 which is more future proof or spend the remaining budget in getting a better chassis to suit your need.
terence_nwb
post Apr 11 2015, 01:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 11 2015, 11:55 AM)
For the same price,might wanna get the H87-Performance over that. nod.gif
Lets pray he can find one, it is really hard to find the leftover of them now sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Apr 13 2015, 02:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tsonline82 @ Apr 13 2015, 02:12 PM)
Hi, i plan to buy second hand cpu and can anyone advise whether is is sufficient to run Dota2?

Can run on full setting or medium only?
The specs is as below:

New mothetboard with receipt
New cpu processor i3 3220 3.3ghz
New casing
New psu
500gb hdd
6gb ram
Gigabyte HD7750 graphic1gb ram ddr5
How much is the old rig? If pricing too close to new rig, better build a new rig for new warranty and hardware.
terence_nwb
post Apr 13 2015, 02:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tsonline82 @ Apr 13 2015, 02:28 PM)
rm900 only. ok or not.
RM900 is ok for that, it is hard to build new rig just for Dota 2 below 1k now. The processor and GPU should work with Dota 2.
terence_nwb
post Apr 13 2015, 02:48 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bryan2jzgte @ Apr 13 2015, 02:46 PM)
@TristanX

Alright bro. Thank you so much for the help. Imma get the Leadtek GTX250 tonight.  brows.gif
It's GTX750

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:55 AM