Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards V.2, Read the T&C before applying!

synical
post Aug 12 2022, 10:37 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 12 2022, 09:44 AM)
after putting in complaint thru email yesterday morning, someone called me at night 9+, claiming to be from HSBC.
explained the whole scenario to her, she then said want to verify me, started asking those questions such as my ic number etc. I answered 2 and felt weird,  ask how many questions are there, she said need to answer 6-7 questions.
I was angry and told her, instead of reporting a fraud case, I am going through another potential fraud now because they called me, and I do not know who she is. She told me this is the only way to proceed else I will have to call their CS hotline (it is 9+ and over their working hours)
after raising more questions to her, she ask me to go to their branches to lodge a fraud complaint. I was like WTF. wasted all my time

If I need to go to the bank, I intend to make a scene and cut both my credit card in front of their teller and close the account. fortunately I do not have any owing to HSBC.

What an experience with a MNC (overseas) bank, which was really suprising to me, all this while I thought this banks offer much better service compared to local banks, and I was wrong.
You should go to a branch and flip table.

Speaking of going to a branch, I would also probably need to go to one soon, sigh.
synical
post Nov 5 2022, 09:47 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 3 2022, 04:16 PM)

Dear Customer,

Exclusive to all HSBC customers, enjoy a FREE Single Junior Scoop of Baskin-Robbins ice cream1 from 4 to 6 November 2022 as our way of saying thank you for your continued support. Just flash your HSBC/HSBC Amanah Credit/Debit Card/-i at any Baskin-Robbins outlet in Malaysia to claim your sweet treat today!
I've seen people redeem multiple scoops for the SO and/or kids, so much for one scoop per person?
synical
post Nov 6 2022, 05:20 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 5 2022, 09:57 PM)
multiple visits perhaps?

limit could be 1x per visit, not per card or per day. they aren't tracking anyway.
Yeah, maybe lah. Been redeeming it once a day at different outlets just in case. Most also is them looking at expiry date.
synical
post Dec 5 2022, 04:46 PM

655 posts

After walking past all the HSBC people in 1U over the weekend, finally got one told me there's some CB thingy for existing card holders, but in the form of CL increase application? Or is it the same promo all along? https://www.hsbcamanah.com.my/credit-cards/offers/cash-back/

I'm not holding my breath on getting the CL increase LOL

synical
post Dec 14 2022, 11:00 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Dec 12 2022, 11:07 AM)
which  promo is it?
This one I think https://wecanwedo.hsbc.com.my/usage/
synical
post Mar 22 2023, 03:33 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(sg8989 @ Mar 20 2023, 01:13 AM)
I'm not sure why i suddenly got rm25 cash back.
There's a bunch of new promos on the website lately, hard to narrow down
synical
post Mar 23 2023, 11:44 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(Fantastic1218 @ Mar 22 2023, 10:24 PM)
For the Google wallet promo, does the 5 transaction need to spend in 1 particular participating month or is ok to spread between months

https://www.hsbc.com.my/credit-cards/features/google-wallet/
Here's the T&C - https://www.hsbcamanah.com.my/content/dam/h...omotion-tnc.pdf
synical
post Oct 4 2023, 02:40 PM

655 posts

Must be nice to get SST rebate; every time I asked, they just taichi back and said cannot tongue.gif
synical
post Oct 4 2023, 04:48 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 4 2023, 03:08 PM)
u must make sure got use the card. if less transaction in total, high chance they wont give
Just did the live chat; got the "use 3 times in 30 days" option, which I'm guessing is a common thing?
synical
post Oct 5 2023, 10:36 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 5 2023, 08:47 AM)
Yes common. If 3 times also you cant meet, then will be big question why you need this card.
Didn't seek it out, TBH - it was one of those "help support" kinda deals when you see bank staff at malls trying to get people to sign up for their cards. So wasn't expecting to get it.

But not getting the CL upgrade though (also for funsies and cos HSBC staff at mall roadshow kacau), kinda stung.

The auto AF waiver with one transaction a month is not too bad.

This post has been edited by synical: Oct 5 2023, 10:39 AM
synical
post Dec 20 2023, 03:44 PM

655 posts

Got RM50 Cashback Retention Offer.. yay for me?
synical
post Dec 21 2023, 11:35 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Dec 20 2023, 07:51 PM)
How do you get it? threaten to cancel card?
No, did not threaten to cancel (though the thought has crossed my mind)..

I recall chatting to online CS about a SST rebate and they say I gotta enroll for it by swiping x times in x number of months or whatever, so I thought it was gonna be at least the RM25 SST, so the other RM25 I not that sure. Maybe it's for 2 years of SST? idk tbh, but I'm not gonna question it too much
synical
post Jan 18 2024, 11:46 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 9 2024, 04:12 PM)
Get RM20 Cashback with a minimum top-up of RM300 in a single transaction to Touch N Go (TNG) eWallet account on Fridays

Has anyone received the cashback for this promo?
If the cashback was immediate, I wouldn't mind.

But having read the T&C, I was like... nah
synical
post Jan 18 2024, 06:47 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Jan 18 2024, 01:22 PM)
Got any link to the T&C? Thanks
Look for it on the Smart Privileges website
synical
post Apr 5 2024, 03:09 PM

655 posts

Eh how does this promo work? Do you apply for the 0% instalment thing at checkout, or after the fact....?

Edit: Never mind, figured it out... apparently you have to key in your CC number for the prompt to show up. Tried this on Agoda if you "Pay Now"

https://sp.hsbc.com.my/vis

This post has been edited by synical: Apr 5 2024, 03:53 PM
synical
post Jul 26 2024, 11:38 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(vvip @ Jul 10 2024, 11:42 PM)
how can I get the Samsonite luggage when applying for Live+? upon approval?
It's on the website
synical
post Sep 5 2024, 07:22 PM

655 posts

Question: chatted with the CS and had to make 3 transactions within 30 days for SST rebate.

If I reload Shopee wallet 3 x RM1 can or not ah..?
synical
post Dec 6 2024, 05:02 PM

655 posts

Saw a transaction I didn't recognise on the app (but not on the browser), reported it to them via chat.

Now it's blocked and another card is on the way... le sigh
synical
post Dec 8 2024, 02:43 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Dec 8 2024, 09:55 AM)
check closely if the transaction is posted,
HSBC requiring us to go their website and search for dispute form and submit it ourselves.
after that need to wait for them to investigate for 14 days  doh.gif  doh.gif

that's the reason i found their fraud prevention is not there, creating lots of inconvenience to us.
Yeah, I saw it posted on the app, that's why I logged in and used the chat function to raise a dispute. It was no money charged, but isn't it one of the ways people use to check if the card works?

NGL, it's kinda annoying having to wait for the new card to arrive.

The old card number also removed from Google Pay by itself...
synical
post Dec 8 2024, 10:47 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Dec 8 2024, 03:19 PM)
yes.
luckily you realized it on time.
the next will be actual fraud trx with amount.

my case happen when there is actual fraud trx charged.
i realized when SMS notifying me of this fraud trx.
the bank not doing anything to flag or stop these fraud trx and just letting it go through.
Sorry to hear what happened. Yeah, that's annoying too.

Affin went the other way extreme - they blocked both the legit Rakuten and Amazon JP transactions I made until I called them to complain... and then they saw a third one I didn't know happened..? Their app is not that great, so I didn't see it beforehand

0.0461sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:08 AM