Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards V.2, Read the T&C before applying!

thecurious
post Aug 25 2021, 03:23 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Aug 25 2021, 03:18 PM)
thinking about applying for HSBC Platinum Mastercard Credit Card as my first card but previously the system keep rejecting my application coz i have 0 credit history.

any salesperson here can help me procure the card and get the commission (not sure if they still get this)?
Any reason why you insist on that card?

Since you have been rejected multiple times, you should consider applying to a more starter friendly bank then only start to be picky on which cards you want.
thecurious
post Aug 25 2021, 03:31 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Aug 25 2021, 03:27 PM)
just seem their perks is align with what i want.
not sure if this is how it works in msia, so i should just apply for wtv i can get then slowly build up credit to get the ones that i want? a little bit mafan like that haha.
but what would you consider as starter friendly?
Generally its like that unless you are lucky with your first application.

Once you build up 1 year good credit record, you pretty much can apply for any card that you qualify for. (Some say 6 months)

In terms of starter friendly:
1. Citibank
2. Standard chartered
3. Maybank
thecurious
post Aug 28 2021, 04:48 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(WeiFeng16 @ Aug 28 2021, 03:11 PM)
3.4 The Eligible spend;
3.4.1 Includes local and overseas retail transactions (including online
transactions), standing instructions/auto-billing
3.4.2 Excludes Cash Advance, Balance Transfer (BT), Cash Instalment Plan (CIP),
interest charges, finance charges/management fees, credit card annual
fees and the Goods and Services Tax on annual fees, E-wallet top up/quasi
cash transactions.

Hi, if top up shopeepay consider ''online transaction'' or ''E-wallet top up''?
E wallet topup
thecurious
post Aug 28 2021, 04:58 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 28 2021, 04:53 PM)
Which campaign is this?
New customer
thecurious
post Aug 29 2021, 01:59 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(fish12345 @ Aug 29 2021, 11:55 AM)
I received a msg that HSBC MPOWER platinium Gold will no longer getting cb (1% for oversea and 0.5% for local spending) effective 1st Nov. HSBC is now offering me to upgrade to Platinum cc ( 8% within minimum spending and 0.2 on other spending )

I usually used this Gold card for other retail spending as it gives me 0.5% with no capping and sometime grab/tng promo

This Platinum cc is not so interesting to me as I have other cc with better benefit for grocery , eWallet and petrol (important is no minimum spending and not bad %)

Now  I’m in dilemma. Should I keep my Gold card even no cb after 1st Nov since I ady get waiver on AF and SST rebate?

If upgrade to platinum, first two years AF are waived but not sure about sst. Perharp need to call to ask for rebate.

Is that an old card that they let you keep until now? Never heard of that card.
If you wont use the card after the changes then dont keep it.
thecurious
post Aug 29 2021, 05:12 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Aug 29 2021, 04:47 PM)
means this card got no more benefits? lol
Become bare basic credit card. Benefit still got. Buy now Pay later haha.
thecurious
post Aug 30 2021, 11:49 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(steel52 @ Aug 30 2021, 11:45 AM)
My first card was HSBC then Maybank and Standard chartered.

Citibank kept rejected me.  After few years I applied Citibank got approved.
Mind sharing if you applied the cit points card or cashback card?

This post has been edited by thecurious: Aug 30 2021, 01:43 PM
thecurious
post Aug 30 2021, 01:41 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(fish12345 @ Aug 29 2021, 11:55 AM)
I received a msg that HSBC MPOWER platinium Gold will no longer getting cb (1% for oversea and 0.5% for local spending) effective 1st Nov. HSBC is now offering me to upgrade to Platinum cc ( 8% within minimum spending and 0.2 on other spending )

I usually used this Gold card for other retail spending as it gives me 0.5% with no capping and sometime grab/tng promo

This Platinum cc is not so interesting to me as I have other cc with better benefit for grocery , eWallet and petrol (important is no minimum spending and not bad %)

Now  I’m in dilemma. Should I keep my Gold card even no cb after 1st Nov since I ady get waiver on AF and SST rebate?

If upgrade to platinum, first two years AF are waived but not sure about sst. Perharp need to call to ask for rebate.

Sifus, any suggestion? Thanks
QUOTE(thecurious @ Aug 29 2021, 01:59 PM)
Is that an old card that they let you keep until now? Never heard of that card.
If you wont use the card after the changes then dont keep it.
QUOTE(fish12345 @ Aug 29 2021, 02:50 PM)
Ok. Thanks.
I think it is discontinued.  I applied it in 2018 , expired next year. This card was good for oversea travelling before pandemic.
Another similar cc in Hsbc but required to pledge 200k in fd which is far too much for me. sad.gif
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Aug 30 2021, 01:29 PM)

A bit confused, does it means that the 8% for petrol, ewallet, grocery also no more? since it's not written in the new t&c
thecurious
post Sep 3 2021, 11:10 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Sep 3 2021, 11:06 AM)
The latest promo RP for HSBC cc card. Spend RM1000, does not mention e-wallet. means no problem to spend at any online e-wallet?

Note: after further read. It does mention e-wallet.
Probably thats why not many people talking about it now haha
thecurious
post Sep 3 2021, 12:52 PM

1,618 posts

Deleted.

This post has been edited by thecurious: Sep 3 2021, 02:13 PM
thecurious
post Sep 9 2021, 04:46 AM

1,618 posts

Deleted.

This post has been edited by thecurious: Sep 9 2021, 04:57 AM
thecurious
post Sep 21 2021, 03:13 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Sep 21 2021, 03:08 PM)
Yeap the CS said have to wait for the rebate, I have to pay first. Thinking want to cut this reward points card and change to cashback card, but I still got few more installment to go and they don’t allowed transfer balance sigh
After using both cards, feel that the points card is better than the cashback card lol

thecurious
post Sep 21 2021, 05:47 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Sep 21 2021, 05:14 PM)
It is? Hahahahahah I haven’t activate my cashback card one, merely sticking to just the points card. Because both of  them don’t shared the same credit limit.
Cashback card is only better if you can max all the cashback for the 8% categories with minimum spend of 2k also.
If not, then points card better.
thecurious
post Oct 7 2021, 03:50 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 7 2021, 03:41 PM)
Received call from 03 2212 4569 telling me she’s Karen Lee from HSBC Ampang HQ. Asking me if I have done any Bitcoin purchase using my HSBC card. I answered no. Then she said it’s from HSBC Platinum MC. I said I don’t have that card, I only have VS. She continued saying this card was applied in don’t know what Damansara and approved in August. I said I have no idea. She gave me another phone no. and my phone no. Asked if I have any idea of the first no., I answered no. She started saying my details already compromised. I asked to cancel the card then as I don’t see it on my HSBC account and CCRIS. She said can only block but cannot cancel. She gave me the CC no. and asked me to report to BNM. I suspected something fishy now. Then I said I will do my own report. She continued saying she can pass the call to BNM, I said it’s OK I will do on my own. I hung up. I haven’t called HSBC yet as I’m in a meeting now.

My only mistake was I told her about the card type that I’m having now (no card no. was disclosed) and about my phone no. but since she knows how to call me, she already got my details.

Anyone received before? I guess nothing alarming?
The scam's real show starts when you switch to the fake bnm officer. Since you ended the call before that, probably nothing to worry about.

This post has been edited by thecurious: Oct 7 2021, 03:50 PM
thecurious
post Nov 11 2021, 09:27 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 11 2021, 06:13 PM)
Btw, can get the rm25 sst rebate easily like public bank?
According to some random CS, "usually will be given".
thecurious
post Dec 4 2021, 08:34 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 4 2021, 06:52 AM)
Hi guys

So I just received my hsbc card and got my first estatemenet,

I got charge the rm25 service tax

Is it possible to call CS to negotiate to waive it off? Or am I able to waive it off next year?

Thanks for your advices..
Btw I got my card approved within a week, maybe now holiday season, their employees are taking leaves and many have registered for their attractive sign up promos
When was your first spending using the card?
Usually new users get sst waived a few weeks after 1st swipe.
thecurious
post Dec 10 2021, 09:24 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(ck0403my @ Dec 10 2021, 08:46 AM)
hi

may i know if this shopee RM800 will be give in term of shopee coin or voucher?

is there any limit of redeem in each order?

i know shopee coin max can use for 3000 coin=RM30 in each order

if it is shopee coin i rather take the rm700 TnG ewallet promo in ringgitplus

thanks in advance
His post literally wrote voucher right?
thecurious
post Dec 10 2021, 01:38 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(-=XJackX=- @ Dec 10 2021, 01:28 PM)
In the T&C, it states that we need to spend RM1,000 within 60 days of approval. My question is, will reload to TnG eWallet (non-saved card) counts? I ask because it counts as Online Transaction on my PB Quantum MC for cashback. The description on the statement will be "TNG DIGITAL SDN BHD-ECOMMKUALA LUMPUR MY".
In that very same page, it says excludes ewallet reload.
thecurious
post Jan 21 2022, 07:30 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 21 2022, 07:00 PM)
Any way to check application status without calling CS? Any online link?
They should have sent you an sms with a link after you applied, that link can check status. (Only for online applications)
thecurious
post Jan 28 2022, 11:49 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Jan 28 2022, 11:29 PM)
How u knew it's been used up? U work at hsbc ? hmm.gif
You could try it out yourself if you feel its not believable.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0467sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:39 PM