Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards V.2, Read the T&C before applying!

charlesj
post Jun 12 2019, 12:24 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(pvateme @ Jun 12 2019, 10:46 AM)
Yes, based on my experience, waiver *does not come automatically. I called and ask for it.

*edited: does to does not
I spent at least once per month and received SMS regarding auto waiver earlier this year.
charlesj
post Jun 13 2019, 09:55 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 13 2019, 08:14 AM)
check out the respective promo T&C. i noticed between 3-6 monts.
Previously it was clearly stated in T&C.
Recently when I browse through T&C, I don't seem to find it.
Nevertheless, I was searching for it in hurry and may overlooked.
charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 02:43 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Jul 12 2019, 02:08 PM)
TnC says eligible after 3 months from the cancellation of your last HSBC card.
If not mistaken, for previous campaign, the T&C is stated clearly, not sure 3 or 6 months.
However for recent one, it is not clearly stated.

Closest clause shall be:
4. The following Cardholders are excluded from this Promotion:
a. Cardholders who cancel their Participating Credit Card/-i(s) within three (3) months from the date of approval of their Participating Credit Card/-i(s)’application

Does it mean cardholder who cancel their OLD card within 3 months of getting NEW card?
Or, you are not allowed to cancel you NEW card within 3 months?
charlesj
post Aug 2 2019, 11:29 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Jdite @ Aug 2 2019, 01:11 AM)
With the inflation of rewards points and exclusion of ewallet for online transaction, the visa signature card is as good as a rubbish. Time to cancel haha
I already cancelled mine during last round of inflation.
If not mistaken, jump from 5k or 7k to 15k, and now to 25k, within about 1 year.
This is ridiculous.

At least it is 'better' for this time, they give 2 weeks notice in advance.
Last year, there was only 3 days notice include sat / sun thumbsup.gif

I use quite a lot at one time especially for overseas expenses.
When I called for cancellation, reason I gave was due to reward point devaluation and their retention team don't even care to call me back.

Nevertheless, it is still 'good' for lazada voucher and overseas lounge access.
Was thinking to reapply for e-wallet purpose but since the e-wallet exclusion, I guess I will keep this at very low priority.
charlesj
post Aug 5 2019, 11:22 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Aug 2 2019, 06:13 PM)
i was at KLIA and PEN airport
PEN airport is not in the list.
Klia should be fine.
charlesj
post Aug 8 2019, 04:47 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BFGWong @ Aug 8 2019, 04:36 PM)
I thought the 8x points for overseas spend is good, but then this stupid inflation.

Which card do you use for overseas spend these days?
MBB VI
You may also look into AMB WMC (lower bank fee) or Bigpay.

charlesj
post Aug 9 2019, 07:53 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Aug 9 2019, 05:12 PM)
Anybody here knows what is the forex rate for hsbc?

For eg if I swipe my card in thailand what's the transaction rate is?

1:1.4 or 1:1.4+1% rate?
2.25%, based on my calculation 1 year ago
I don't think they change it

QUOTE(BFGWong @ Aug 9 2019, 07:32 PM)
Many thanks. 
MBB VI I can't hit the spending requirements for waiver, but AMB WMC does look quite good - RM1.4 per miles for overseas spend.  Now just waiting for a good sign up promo to get it
I think premium cards seldom have good sign up promo
Just go for it and start collecting miles

charlesj
post Aug 13 2019, 08:39 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BFGWong @ Aug 13 2019, 07:32 PM)
I feels like kena cheat.

Previously need 10500 points to get 1000 enrich miles.

I have 6500, so seems like 4000 more to go.

Suddenly they change it to 18,000 points

Suddenly become 11500 to go, and if counting by old method, my 6500 points become -1000 points (since I now need 11500 more points to reach 18,000 while previously I was at 6500 and only 4000 more to hit 10500)

When I have a better alternative for enrich, I will cut it.. or maybe just keep it for the lounge access.

Lounge access also kena con, I used it to go to HKIA West Lounge, access denied, say their validation terminal doesnt recognise it.

Come back to Msia, call HSBC, the heavily indian accented CS (outsourced?) keep on saying I should have called them FROM OVERSEAS and have them explain to the Plaza Premium Lounge ppl.

What a joke.
That's why they offer good sign up bonus

charlesj
post Aug 13 2019, 08:58 PM

1,715 posts

Delete
Double post

This post has been edited by charlesj: Aug 13 2019, 08:59 PM
charlesj
post Aug 15 2019, 06:57 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jefftan4888 @ Aug 15 2019, 06:53 PM)
Lazada 500 until 31 Dec 2019. In other words, tell you to xx.  tongue.gif
The promotion has been on-going almost forever.
Nevertheless, do check and make sure there is a new campaign then only apply, sometimes it may starts from Feb.
charlesj
post Oct 5 2019, 06:10 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 5 2019, 04:16 PM)
Many thanks for the recommendations.
Which card that link to loungekey now?
Citi Prestige & SCB VI (Priority Banking)
Amex Plat will get you PP also
These are the only 3 options for unlimited worldwide lounge access in Msia

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Oct 5 2019, 12:42 PM)
If you're a frequent traveler (but to the same location repeatedly), makes more sense to build up your points/tier with the airline you're traveling with to gain access to their own lounge (if applicable). Usually this means coughing up some cash to buy business class tickets earlier on to reach the required tier, then once you've reached "Silver" for example you might get lounge access even with economy class tickets flying out of their home airport. This may or may not be the same for MAS/China Air - but this is what I've done with Emirates.
Just a reminder for Beijing frequent travelers, MAS will move over to Beijing Daxing new airport next year.
Make sure your Oneworld / Star Alliance status has relevant lounge access.

This post has been edited by charlesj: Oct 5 2019, 06:19 PM
charlesj
post Oct 6 2019, 12:54 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 6 2019, 12:29 AM)
Many thanks for the info.
SCB VI is not available for me as i do not have priority banking with them.
Amex plat annual fees is more than RM3k per year. Can't justify for the annual fee.
Citi prestige is the only option i have. But also cost Rm 1k annual fee.  ohmy.gif
Seems like HSBC still suit me the most.
Hmm....lounge membership huh.  hmm.gif
Will study a bit.
Again, thanks for the info ya.
For unlimited priority pass membership, 1 year cost you USD429!
If you fly frequent enough, Prestige RM1k AF is nothing.

0.0413sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:46 PM