24 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 09:30 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ May 30 2015, 09:10 AM)
And, can we ask for the rate higher than 4.33 %, only if we place an amount much higher than RM 10k, right?
If you have large amt to place for FD, can always ask for higher rates. The "large" amt will differ based on the banks, the tenure etc. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 10:08 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 30 2015, 09:31 AM)
How large is large? Can RM100k qualify?
As said:
The "large" amt will differ based on the banks, the tenure etc. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ May 30 2015, 09:32 AM)
100k is good enough to increase the rate by 0.05%, 0.1% p.a if lucky
For BR, 50k and above can nego. But at one time, they set it at 100k and above. So depends on how bad the bank wanted the FD. biggrin.gif Their nego rate also depends on the tenure. smile.gif

For other banks, may be 100k or few hundred k then only can nego. Sometimes they may tell you this is already the best rate, no more increase possible though you put in 300k and above. biggrin.gif

But you can always ask, no harm ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 30 2015, 10:12 AM
bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 10:26 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 30 2015, 10:12 AM)
What!!! I never knew we can negotiate the rates.  vmad.gif

How to do it? Just talk to the officer at the counter?  hmm.gif

Does this apply to promotional FD?
Haha, I was thinking of adding one more point and then you asked.

If the counter staff said no and your amt is "large", talk to the officer, asst BM or BM. The counter girl may just say no but the higher level is the one that can say yes.

Promotional FD still can nego based on what I said. But some bank will say this is the best rate. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 10:30 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 30 2015, 10:26 AM)
Same la. Guess ones need to be priority member or like bbgoat said, ammount must be "big" and I guess not all banks will want to nego the rates (those cheapskate banks)
No need to be PB to negotiate. Even UOB can negotiate on top of promo rate. It is definitely not a cheapskate bank. tongue.gif Foreign banks still can try your luck but amt has to be "large". biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 10:37 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 30 2015, 10:34 AM)
Have to be think face too....  biggrin.gif
Great to hear that!  smile.gif
Yes, the thing is, ASK ! "Ask then you shall get" tongue.gif
bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 01:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 30 2015, 12:51 PM)
Haha, my face not that thick. Ok, next time will ask them!
Just ask. We have senior guy here asking BR for FREE RENTAS and got it ! Salute to him notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

So, the worst that can happen is a "no".

"Ask then u shall receive". biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 03:53 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 30 2015, 02:57 PM)
The UOB operation manager (she should be old virgin woman lah...) was very "Guai Lun"... sweat.gif
Few years ago when I opened my first FD in UOB, maybe I was not Leng Chai to her, she checked my
CTOS (I saw my CTOS print-out on her table).
Well, I have OCBC leng lui RM Google my name (as I mentioned before) when I joined their PB. But as the leng lui was checking, I was doing my eyetertainment. drool.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 30 2015, 02:57 PM)
No, I do not have UOB SA..
So far I have never placed UOB FD that needs SA... biggrin.gif
Last year UOB 13 mth FD 4% pay interest every 6 mth to SA.

So you also did not do any IBG or RENTAS from UOB ? Just getting banker's cheque from them ? hmm.gif Was told need SA before can do IBG/RENTAS. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 30 2015, 04:02 PM
bbgoat
post May 30 2015, 06:12 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 30 2015, 04:25 PM)
I did not place UOB's 13 months FD lah.. because almost all my eggs went to SCB already... sad.gif
I have never used Rentas to place FD lah.... Uncle's ancient style is like this lah..
In UOB about 3 years ago, I RENTAS out the matured FD to CB then used CB cheque to place new FD so as to get the promo rate (fresh fund required). RENTAS cost me RM9 at that time. Then later UOB knew the tricks of customer and suggested for me to just top up matured FD with 10k and get the promo rate. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 07:47 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 31 2015, 04:34 PM)
RHB: FD Bundle with ASNB VP Unit Trust
(1) 3 Months at 7%
(2) 6 Months at 7.8%
Are these good deals?  hmm.gif
I have mentioned on this before. You probably missed out on this. In April I went in on this UT/FD bundle of RHB. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 31 2015, 04:41 PM)
Their VP Funds return namely ASN3 n ASG range from 2.07% to 3.20% pa @ 31/3/2015 n the returns is b4 deduct service charges
I thought the ASG return is 5% to 6% range ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 08:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2015, 07:58 PM)
Most likely is for the first year. As some said, you need to hold this for at least 2 years to make profit. 1st year, they charge you 5% upfront tax. Which effectively lowers your dividend/interest to 1-2% for that year. But we need to factor in the NAV as well.
laugh.gif I am not referring to the first year. UT holding need to be long term. biggrin.gif

He was saying:
Their VP Funds return namely ASN3 n ASG range from 2.07% to 3.20% pa @ 31/3/2015 n the returns is b4 deduct service charges

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 31 2015, 08:05 PM
bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 08:15 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 31 2015, 05:05 PM)
really not keen to have tis Bundle ASNB fund with FD thingy..

FD should juz be pure FD.. don't mix with others investments products

juz my opinion  icon_rolleyes.gif
In general, that is a good point. FD and UT to be separate.

For me, already own ASG, so went in to get the FD deal and top up on ASG. rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 09:42 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 31 2015, 08:30 PM)
Banks offer high FD rate in order to entice depositors to take up UT products
They always do that. FD/UT bundle. Whether local or foreign banks. But as I said before, one should not take up the bundle just because of the high FD rate offered. It should be one has interest to invest in UT and can withstand the volatility of UT.

OK, end of UT discussion. You guys are regulars in the ASNB thread. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 31 2015, 09:43 PM
bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 10:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 31 2015, 09:48 PM)
UOB is customer oriented...I have been using the same approach on Ocbc FD for more than a year but the RM never asvised to top up. Either it is Ocbc policy very strict on fresh fund or RM unwilling to help. My RM was promoted recently, the new RM not even bother to sms or call to show her presence. Comparatively UOB RM ringed up to introduce herself and asked to drop by when free.....
Not sure I get what u are trying to say. I am saying for UOB, instead of RENTAS out my matured FD and then issue a cheque as fresh fund to get FD promo rate, the counter girl said top up the matured FD by at least 10k to get the promo rate. But their FD require fresh fund of 10k also. So this is no big deal as if I put in fresh 10k, then I got the FD promo. So the suggestion becomes, fresh 10k plus matured FD. tongue.gif

What approach did you take on OCBC ? biggrin.gif

Why are you bringing RM into this discussion ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 31 2015, 10:19 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2015, 11:05 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 1 2015, 09:08 AM)
Good Morning, Ah Sir..

BR is abnormal today, I just checked my iRakyat account, I have not received the monthly interest.. sad.gif
Have you received yours..?

About less than 2 years ago, BR credited monthly interest right after mid-night like 12.05am; then they
changed to credit interest at around 7.00am...
No issue up to end of May. I do not monitor time of the xfer. tongue.gif

They are still better than HL. I have one FD matured on Sat. But they did not show up in my acct until Sunday !

For me, BR wise, monthly interest crediting is satisfactory or great ! rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2015, 12:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 1 2015, 11:32 AM)
Mine has a problem so far...  sad.gif
I just called BR, they said would fix it...

BR staff said they have this FD promotion:
1 year at 4.25%
25K minimum
BR new promo was reported on 26/5. See post below. From 1st to end of June with monthly interest.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 26 2015, 06:14 PM)
In BR today, after the previous Sunday makan makan and winning a lucky draw.  biggrin.gif

They will have a new promo starting Jun 1st to 30th. 12 mth 4.25%, min 25k. Have monthly interest as usual. @magika, interested ??  hmm.gif

Confirmed that they are now charging RM5 per year for co-op card, RM8 for the other card.

Also called CB to place some short term FD. Liked their phone banking as convenient to place and uplift FD. Except their rate is bad.  tongue.gif
Someone in BR must have missed you and wanted you to contact them. tongue.gif

You are really making use of ATM to withdraw from BR, 3 times in one day ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 1 2015, 12:04 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2015, 05:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 1 2015, 05:19 PM)
Concur  thumbup.gif

It's worth keeping a CASA with Affin since they've been consistently introducing competitive FD rates.
Also their 12 month FD board rate is the highest among PIDM banks. rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 2 2015, 09:12 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 2 2015, 01:06 AM)
Sorry for the confusion. for Ocbc i always IBG out matured FD and place a new FD with some top up using personal cheque. The similar approach you did at UOB. UOB later allowed you to top up instead of Rentas out. My Ocbc RM should have allowed me to top up too on the matured FD.

Bottomline I am trying to say UOB is more understanding and customer friendly.
OK, I see what you are trying to say now. smile.gif

UOB's way of topping up is kind of make sense for both parties. But if we are short of 10k at that time, then we will not be able to do it. Luckily since the last incident, have not have this issue with matured FD at UOB and new promo there. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 2 2015, 10:54 AM

6,614 posts

Affin Bank online, anyone has problem to access it ? I tried for last 2 days, cannot get in to check my account there.
bbgoat
post Jun 2 2015, 01:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 2 2015, 12:50 PM)
Ah Sir, so far I still have not received my FD interest from BR...  sad.gif

I called BR branch again just now, the BR officer said HQ sent email to them yesterday and this email
said that all BR branches nationwide had problem to credit FD monthly interest. I suspect this officer
lied to me since you said that you had received your FD interest yesterday..

This BR officer last time made me so mad that I had to fax her a letter to remind her to credit my
monthly interest manually, remember?
I am not sure she is lazy or too busy? But I can tell she is not efficient.

Yesterday she asked for my IC number, and this morning when I called her she asked for my IC number again,
so this means that she did not do anything about my case yesterday.. bruce.gif

At last, she promised to call HQ to rectify this problem wor..  sad.gif
I said I got the BR interest up to May month. The last date is 23rd May. Do you have any around that date of 23rd or earlier ?

Next one for me on 8th of June. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 2 2015, 01:30 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Limmf77 @ Jun 2 2015, 12:32 PM)
No problem for me.. in fact i just use affin online to pay my credit card bill.
Did you login thru' the below link:

https://rib.affinonline.com/rib/pb/logon

Thanks !

24 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 >Top

0.0477sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:05 AM