24 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post Apr 4 2015, 09:51 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 4 2015, 08:58 AM)
Are the zero IBG and IBFT fees applicable as well to SCB Basic Saving Account, or only to JustOne account?
Not sure as I only has JustOne acct. But if you have normal SA or BSA, then during the IBG/IBFT you can see the fees before you proceed with the transaction. Can just terminate the transaction at that stage (just to know the fees).

I did twice the IBFT with zero fees. rclxms.gif CIMB charge RM2, RHB charge RM0.80 per IBFT transaction. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 4 2015, 09:59 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 4 2015, 04:53 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Apr 4 2015, 03:35 PM)
Any limit to quantum via IBG or IBFT ?
I asked SCB last month if there's any way I can trnsf without paying anything. Answer was NO.
For SCB, IBG or IBFT max 30k per day. Have to change in the system, default I think is lower. Have changed mine so cannot recall the default value (maybe 10k ??). biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 4 2015, 04:56 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 6 2015, 01:16 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 2 2015, 04:19 PM)
I would think so. I just focus on ASG as I have ASG acct. Asked about ASM but cannot open new acct.

Anyway, depositing cheque. Waiting for it to clear first before I can do the actual purchase. Please ask further question in the ASNB thread. As it is OT.  biggrin.gif
In RHB to place FD 6 mth, 7.8% ! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

But as mentioned before, it is with ASNB bundle 50/50. Received 2 gifts, car boot organizer & a water flask. rclxms.gif

Posted more info on ASNB thread, post 386:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry73791318

FD back date to Friday 3/4/2015 !! So did not lose interest (lost 1 day only) while waiting for my cheque to clear last week. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 6 2015, 01:18 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 6 2015, 05:07 PM

6,614 posts

Received SMS from AmBank for their Givealittle contest. But may have been late to reply the SMS. cry.gif

Looks like genuine though initially a bit skeptical.

Anyone else has received the SMS ? biggrin.gif

https://www.facebook.com/AmBankMalaysia/app_170589652977604

http://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/SiteAssets...tContestENG.pdf
bbgoat
post Apr 6 2015, 07:04 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 6 2015, 05:55 PM)
I have received a RM300 prize last month from one of their previous deposit contests & gotten some of their 20% rebate on credit card purchases (though was given from a pool of money so not much)
Congratulations ! thumbup.gif

Did they send you SMS, then you have to reply to the question ? It seems like the SMS say first 250 correct answer to reply will be the winner. biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post Apr 6 2015, 10:30 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 6 2015, 10:17 PM)
Agree..Most likely will stay with RHB FD until to the end lah..
Unless if need cash urgently for heart bypass operation then can withdraw the RHB FD immediately.
That's why I like I like RHB FD better than Alliance FD.
Yeah, I have RHB step-up locked in, last one on 1/1/2016 !!

Quote:
"Unless if need cash urgently for heart bypass operation then can withdraw the RHB FD immediately."

Add:
unless need urgent cash to layan C. D. who threaten to depart ...... cry.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 6 2015, 10:31 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 6 2015, 10:34 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 6 2015, 10:30 PM)
Sorry, Captain, I think based on what you described about your attire, I think you look more
like Ah Long rather than VCD Seller..  hmm.gif 
Sorry ah..Captain, I did not mean to offend you, I just speak out what I feel only.. sweat.gif
Aiya, no more VCD seller, DVD seller lah !

But Captain is the opposite of those people who pretend, pretend. Ever heard of super rich people pretending to dress up poorly ?

Poor people pretend to be rich, rich one opposite lah ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 6 2015, 10:35 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 8 2015, 08:32 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 8 2015, 01:13 AM)
hahahaha. you should see me squatting down smoking by the 7ft walkway in town... you will say that I look like a drug addict. Bro, Ah Long got more class than me, they wears shoes whereas I wear slippers  tongue.gif
That's a pretty good rate for 3 months.

To ALL: OCBC will be imposing a fee on their Premier Banking Customers if their AUM falls below RM300K. WTF, what service they provide to justify the "fee". Anyway, I have no money now with OCBC, so I guess I don't need the Premier Banking status, actually I have closed my CASA accounts with them so I don't get any paper statements to file up, haha
Oh oh, the "VCD/DVD seller" finally shows up, hahaha. Some slipper can easily be RM300++ !! These must be the one Captain wears ! notworthy.gif

I think Captain busy on doing credit card blog. I am subscriber of that blog. rclxms.gif

Just received first monthly statement from OCBC. OCBC PB provide leng lui eye candy which Ah Boom & I enjoy also. tongue.gif

Most banks PB status has started to charge or cancel PB if AUM falls below certain level. CIMB, CB, SCB, HL, MBB, OCBC etc etc. Some may warn you first (like UOB ?) if AUM falls under, some will straight away charge your CASA acct. Have to watchout on AUM. Maybe can try to keep low amt in CASA so nothing for them to charge ? Hahaha. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 8 2015, 08:35 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 8 2015, 12:50 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Apr 8 2015, 11:39 AM)
my OCBC RM told me if the AUM falls below what is required for more than 3months then they will give you a friendly notice to remind you to bring it back within 6 months i think
Yes, some banks (MBB, UOB maybe) told me they will remind the customer and give reminder & some allowance for the customer to top up to the AUM level. HL said minimum 50k after becoming PB, MBB branch claimed that they will not charge as they lose customer once they charge. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 8 2015, 12:20 PM)
Here is the final update from SCB about my FD interest.

Only for the 18 months FD placed on 23 Sep 2014 (2 other FDs in Oct 2014 not affected), I will not be able to get the interest due to the system limitation. They said if it is reported before the 6th month then it can be changed, then I said how will I know if it is going to happen? (Not bothered to listen to the excuses)
But they have set it to credit the interest upon reaching 12 months.

BoomChaCha, I think the worst case may have happened but I am still considering  hmm.gif
My 18 mth FD on 25/9/2014 got the interest while the 19/9/2014 (15 mth FD) ones did not. Looks like 24 or 25 Sept 2014 is the "cut-off" date to receive interest. Initially I though those 15 mth FD will not get it. But since your 18 mth one did not get it while mine 18mth FD on 25/9 got it. Really do not know what is happening there. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 8 2015, 12:53 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 8 2015, 07:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Apr 8 2015, 01:12 PM)
OCBC RM said Current Account avg dont less than RM 1000.00 if not charge RM 10 half yearly.

UOB 4.2% 12 months FD still on
For CA, MBB also have same policy of charging RM10 half yearly if below 1k. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mamamia @ Apr 8 2015, 04:41 PM)
Go to SCB branch n cs advised that not to open the Islamic FD. Reason is no FD cert given n need to sign up islamic account.. N said once u sign up the account U will receive sms n asking U to answer question n if answer wrongly, they will send the product to Ur hse.. Very weird response given by SCB
Weird indeed. Something wrong there. The CS should be relieved of duty ! brows.gif

For some of the Islamic FD, did receive SMS, but only saying "you are buying some resin at the price of xxx" but nothing that it will be delivered ! Hahaha ! tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 8 2015, 07:25 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 8 2015, 12:50 PM)
My 18 mth FD on 25/9/2014 got the interest while the 19/9/2014 (15 mth FD) ones did not. Looks like 24 or 25 Sept 2014 is the "cut-off" date to receive interest. Initially I though those 15 mth FD will not get it. But since your 18 mth one did not get it while mine 18mth FD on 25/9 got it. Really do not know what is happening there.  shakehead.gif
Finally, saw my JustOne SA with the 19/9/2014 FD (3 certs) interests !! Exactly 181 days of interest.

Do IBFT and the fund appeared in my CB acct INSTANTLY !! 3rd, IBFT with ZERO fees !! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

So at least what the RM said is correct, they are working to deposit the interest. So those who have not received the interest prior to 25/9/2014 FD, please check your account again. It may have been deposited. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 8 2015, 07:27 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2015, 02:21 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 9 2015, 11:23 AM)
Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for my end. I only got the interest which is due today.
Btw, I tried using IBFT online but got some error 200, did you face it before?
No, IBFT 3 times no issue. Very smooth.

Contd to monitor the SA. They may be doing it manually. smile.gif

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 9 2015, 01:46 PM)
SCB said they bought plastic resin for me at RM30,000 per tonne and asked me to call 0377189999 before 2.30pm today for delivery.  I am not going to call them, What joke is this?? We put FD and they want to deliver plastic resin??
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 8 2015, 07:07 PM)
For some of the Islamic FD, did receive SMS, but only saying "you are buying some resin at the price of xxx" but nothing that it will be delivered ! Hahaha !  tongue.gif
@guy3288, see my above post. Expected to receive the SMS. Just ignore it will do. SCB leng lui has advised me that will received something like that and just ignore it. But I did not place any Islamic FD with them. HL one received the SMS message. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 9 2015, 02:22 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2015, 02:25 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Apr 9 2015, 02:20 PM)
so far after promo survey 1st Apr onwards, i find rhb-I fd step-up w/ effective 4.21% and ocbc direct fd@4.2% are the most attractive.
The best is still SCB Islamic 15 mth 4.5%. But some weird message, just ignore it. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2015, 03:08 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Apr 9 2015, 07:38 AM)
Do u have receive FD cert for islamic? Also, do u need to open islamic justone account to open the islamic FD acc?
Have Islamic FD for other banks with FD cert. But did not go in for SCB Islamic as at that time I can place FD with conventional FD. Both conventional & Islamic FD running at the same time.

For other banks have to open Islamic FD acct separately but can deposit interest to conventional SA. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 9 2015, 03:08 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2015, 07:08 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Apr 9 2015, 03:41 PM)
Noone mentioned CIMB Unfixed Deposit 4.2%?
Whats the catch?
The Unfixed FD is still there. But the 4.2% promo is over. Please correct me if I am wrong. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Apr 9 2015, 03:51 PM)
too bad, i ban/blacklist SCB since yr2001.
Wow, ban SCB since 2001 ! notworthy.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 9 2015, 07:19 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 10 2015, 07:56 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 9 2015, 11:02 PM)
Bro, for Islamic Banking products, they cannot guarantee fixed interest rate but profit sharing and that is why they are not called Fixed Deposit. Some call them Term Deposit and many "Commodity" + something else.
hahaha, first time I hear cannot mix cash and cheque. Now I know.
2 years ago, I received similar SMS from HL after I placed Islamic FD. Was curious/shocked but just ignored it. Other banks Islamic FD did not or not yet encountered. tongue.gif SCB did warn me may receive the SMS if place FD with their Islamic FD. biggrin.gif

I did hear from at least one other bank (I think is a local one) that cannot mix cash and cheque for FD placement. Other banks can "mix and match". tongue.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 10 2015, 02:26 AM)
Ocbc still provides 12 months at 4.2%????
Wow, another Ah Boom ? Counting assets (properties !) in the wee hours and wondering where to place FD ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 10 2015, 07:59 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 10 2015, 09:16 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Apr 10 2015, 08:41 AM)
pbb step-up promo also 4.21% effectively..will place some later noon tongue.gif
He may have banned PBB also. tongue.gif

Beware of the PBB clause of possible rate change with OPR. I have went for RHB but ended up with 7.8% FD bundled with ASG fund. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 10 2015, 09:44 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 10 2015, 11:35 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kykit @ Apr 10 2015, 10:42 AM)
I also went for AmBank 3m 11% with UT. Sold UT after 3m, was lucky got annualise returns 5%. but this is 1st and last time. scared to death jor
Your 5% annualise return take into acct of sales charge ? rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 10 2015, 12:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 10 2015, 12:26 PM)
Bro, no new FD Promos to go talk about. Last few pages mostly about SCB interest not being credited. And since I did not go for SCB FD Promos, I got nothing to complain about and let go some steam here, hahaha.

By the way, CIMB, HLB and MBB DO NOT impose any penalty if one's AUM falls below the required amount. They will simply revoked the PB status.

And you are right, I have been busy producing another article in regards to credit cards. And this time you should go read it and maybe can earn yourself a FREE Business Class ticket to Europe and maybe USA too (best when MAS resume their flight to LA and not go with Code Sharing especailly Cathay and get stuck in Tokyo for hours - unless you want go shopping there).

Click here and read my Comprehensive Tutorial On Earning Enrich Miles with The Best Credit Cards and you may actually find that chasing after owning the right credit card is more rewarding that chasing after FD  tongue.gif
Those banks that have PB have clause that allow them to revoke the PB if AUM falls below certain level. Some specifically send letters to inform all customers of their policy of charging fees per month. It is a matter of whether they will charge us or revoke PB. Like CB, they wanted to get rid of some customers who has been enjoying the PB facility (coffee, hangout with other uncle/aunties etc) without having AUM level of 200k. biggrin.gif

Oh well, will go and read your articles and maybe get business class tickets to USA !! Hehe ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 10 2015, 12:50 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 10 2015, 04:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 10 2015, 04:17 PM)
Nice..but SCB not so convenient for me..  hmm.gif
After SCB is PBB or RHB 12 mth of 4.21%. biggrin.gif

24 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top