62 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

TAMIYA Mini4WD Le V15, Lets remp-it and loncat loncat!

moron88
post Jan 30 2015, 08:36 PM

150 posts

I using MA for semi-everything for now lol. Quite hard for speed tbh. Got problems landing sometimes.
AF21
post Jan 30 2015, 08:44 PM

One MA did parked at TU that Sunday. Hanging jaw setup.
soulfly
post Jan 31 2015, 12:59 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

Try to cut some holes in the MA chassis to allow a little bit of flexing. That will help a bit in terms of landing from jumps.
soulfly
post Jan 31 2015, 01:15 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(penguin_ex @ Jan 29 2015, 11:14 AM)
hi guys, newbie here.
juz curious, would ever people scratch built mini4wd from FRP & CFRP?

been seen quite alot people cut here cut there, reinforce with FRP & CFRP, with minor chassis left over glue/screw/stack between those FRP & CFRP plates.....
There are Indonesian and Chinese racers who play by their own rules and produce chassis from the scratch material.
But as for us, we generally follow Tamiya rules for fairplay and competitiveness. so even if our Tamiya cars are reinforced with FRPs or CFRPS, we still follow a certain kind of limitations. Absolutely no homebrew chassis allowed.

QUOTE(Cim~ @ Jan 30 2015, 02:40 AM)
Hello there,

This is my first time to post here. I am currently making fun of different parts of Tamiya mini 4WD. Just want to hear your remarks about the following:

1. Anyone here who is a fanatic of rear sliding dampers? Any on how to use them?
2. Same question of #1 for One-way wheels, large and small (I am very fanatic on these but the car seems to run slower sad.gif
3. Any successful Italian setup with rear sliding dampers? (I know it looks impossible but who knows?)
4. Anyone here who setup a mini 4WD with trimming / modifying the parts like me?
5. Please advise with using MA, Super XX and AR chassis without any trimming smile.gif
6. How do you guys measure the speed of the cars on track? I saw some posts that the acceleration / speed of a car on a specific figure (ex. 7 m/s) but how can you get that measurement?

PS: English please? Thanks...
1. I chatted a bit with a Japanese racer (who is a bit fluent in English), and according to him, most racers will use sliding dampers if they race on 5-lane circuits (Tamiya sponsored tourneys,
Japan cup, Autumn cup) due to the size of the circuit, and the vibrations/shock it produces when cars are racing. Sliding dampers not just help in assisting corners for max speed, but also absorb the shock when 2 or more cars running side by side. In 3-lanes curcuit, there's actually more shock and vibrations on the wall especially when racing in tandem mode, that most of the time running sliding dampers doesn't even do much besides slowing down the car down, so they go for simpler setup, a.k.a fixed position bumpers. My words might not be very accurate about this because I can't find the chat log, but that's kind of the general idea about it. This is just the person's opinion though, not 100% fact.

2. Use normal wheel as opposed to one-way wheel unless you're racing technical with slower motor limit. Large or small doesn't really matter (well it does but...), overall diameter is more important if you're looking for top speed (largest diameter possible) or max stability (smallest diameter possible a.k.a low ground clearance). It's your choice depending on your car overall setup as well as the track condition.

3. Never played italian, cannot answer this.

4. Tire trimmings as well as shaving off some chassis part is quite common these days.

5. The 3 mentioned chassis are best for technical, out of the box. But AR chassis is also not a bad choice for super speed with modding limitation imposed (no sotong tyres, no chassis cutting).

6. Lap timer.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jan 31 2015, 01:18 PM
moron88
post Jan 31 2015, 02:46 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 31 2015, 12:59 PM)
Try to cut some holes in the MA chassis to allow a little bit of flexing. That will help a bit in terms of landing from jumps.
can you roughly point out which area needs holes. wouldnt want to cut out the wrong parts
AF21
post Jan 31 2015, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(moron88 @ Jan 31 2015, 02:46 PM)
can you roughly point out which area needs holes. wouldnt want to cut out the wrong parts
Start with the 4 quarters. Left & right nose + left and right tail
penguin_ex
post Jan 31 2015, 09:17 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Jan 30 2015, 04:05 PM)
I know a small elite group of racers who does. They don't really play semi speed though  smile.gif
sound really less people into MA chassis sweat.gif

QUOTE(iOnine @ Jan 30 2015, 05:01 PM)
typically MA and AR is more to Semi-Tech
where some people do play in Semi Speed.

well, i do have 1 MA car setup for semi speed.
but too busy to trial run it. lol
I really confuse about semi-speed and semi-tech, shouldn't it same?

QUOTE(moron88 @ Jan 30 2015, 08:36 PM)
I using MA for semi-everything for now lol. Quite hard for speed tbh. Got problems landing sometimes.
curious on the landing issues as spoken, tried mine, first time run track with jumping ramp, it fly straight off the track ......... second try today by adding rear brake+alot damper .....

At least no fly too far this time, but still, the landing really a bit weired .....
johnnyzer0
post Jan 31 2015, 11:21 PM

First of all, hi fellow yonku enthusiasts!

An 'aged' newbie in this hobby. I used to recall my childhood memories playing these mini 4wds (back in 1996). I stopped playing somewhere in 96, after an 'accidental' spring cleaning by my mom, and my old car kits were MIA.

Then after that, I gradually see the decline of the hobby. I used to remember that Sogo and Selayang Mall had the biggest track (with the loop changer), but I guess the interest died, and only a hand few hardcore players/shops remain (well, back then internet was not as big as today). so little info could be obtained on the whereabouts of places to play or buy mini 4wd stuffs.

Late 2013, I started to know that the scene was still pretty much alive. So i started to rekindle with my "old" hobby. i bought my first 2 sets of car kits from TU, Sonic & Magnum Saber (were my favourites back in 96). Then i never looked back. Purchase after purchase, I think i'd dare not to calculate the accumulative amount of the stuffs i bought, for the sake of my safety from my 'Home Affairs Minister'. lol.

But now, its quite sad to see that the scene is beginning to die out. Lots of shop has begin to closed its doors. Well, there are maybe they have their own reasons, and i managed to chat with a few store owners. Mostly because of the lack of racers coming in, and slow sales.

The 'seasonal' hobby is the best term at the moment.

So thread admin/orang kuat, it would be great if you could update any great places to go and play right now. FYI, Elements in Kajang has also closed its operations.

May the mini 4wd scene will not die out. Hoping for another great comeback. Cheers~!
soulfly
post Feb 1 2015, 09:06 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(moron88 @ Jan 31 2015, 02:46 PM)
make a hole under each battery slot
just a rough idea

QUOTE(penguin_ex @ Jan 31 2015, 09:17 PM)
At least no fly too far this time, but still, the landing really a bit weired .....
your landing is weird due to the center damper placement.
in my opinion, that is the worse damper placement to use.
always set your dampers nearer to the front wheels, or far back (same line with your brakes).

This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 1 2015, 09:09 AM
moron88
post Feb 1 2015, 12:13 PM

150 posts

[quote=soulfly,Feb 1 2015, 09:06 AM]
just a rough idea

i think its around the same with this video. Modification

Thx
AF21
post Feb 1 2015, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 1 2015, 09:06 AM)
just a rough idea

Laju ke potong banyak banyak tu? blink.gif + damper heavy....

This post has been edited by AF21: Feb 1 2015, 08:05 PM
AF21
post Feb 1 2015, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(penguin_ex @ Jan 31 2015, 09:17 PM)
1. sound really less people into MA chassis sweat.gif
2. I really confuse about semi-speed and semi-tech, shouldn't it same?
3. curious on the landing issues as spoken, tried mine, first time run track with jumping ramp, it fly straight off the track ......... second try today by adding rear brake+alot damper .....

1. got. just that S2, MS, VS dominates the race organized
2. setups
semi tech
keyword : light & flex
semi speed
keyword : reinforced
3. my M4WD intuition tells me that you need a hanging damper system. doesn't matter if you choose hanging jaw or bird's cage hanging damper. or, you can simply extend the damper close toward the front wheels using a cut FRP popsicle stick or just buy the side damper plate (for AR)
you did mention about "alot damper" may I know by how much? smile.gif
gsuwizard
post Feb 1 2015, 10:44 PM

36 posts

My setup for semi speed race this morning.

Anyone having successful ma chassis setup for below bump? 2 out of 15 try berjaya lepas bump. 2 yg lepas tu pun first lap, lg 2 lap ke laut. ask other racer, semua ckp double shaft x sesuai untuk semi speed. The must be someone in this world successfully setup ma chassis for semi speed.
AF21
post Feb 1 2015, 10:55 PM

QUOTE(gsuwizard @ Feb 1 2015, 10:44 PM)

Anyone having successful ma chassis setup for below bump? 2 out of 15 try berjaya lepas bump. 2 yg lepas tu pun first lap, lg 2 lap ke laut. ask other racer, semua ckp double shaft x sesuai untuk semi speed. The must be someone in this world successfully setup ma chassis for semi speed.

That braking system
penguin_ex
post Feb 1 2015, 11:22 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 1 2015, 09:06 AM)
just a rough idea

your landing is weird due to the center damper placement.
in my opinion, that is the worse damper placement to use.
always set your dampers nearer to the front wheels, or far back (same line with your brakes).
there was 3 damper placement, a pair at front, pair at center, block damper at back, feels like the rear damper slam the brake during touch down.....
soulfly
post Feb 2 2015, 07:31 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Feb 1 2015, 06:44 PM)
Laju ke potong banyak banyak tu?  blink.gif + damper heavy....
Potong untuk kasi chassis lembut sikit. Absorb impact masa landing. Lekat macam cicak.
soulfly
post Feb 2 2015, 07:35 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(gsuwizard @ Feb 1 2015, 10:44 PM)

MA/AR actually best for 5-lanes.
Smaller chassis usually performs easier on 3-lanes.
TSiOnine
post Feb 2 2015, 10:27 AM

494 posts

Kasiii pecahh itu track
fark la this week SPEED game la pulak.
demn, need to re-do my VS Speed.
LOL

hahaha AF21 mana rempit minggu ni?
minggu lepas aku pishang truk kat Melaka nye game. Top16 both cars. pantekkk!. hahaha

AF21
post Feb 2 2015, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 2 2015, 07:31 AM)
Potong untuk kasi chassis lembut sikit. Absorb impact masa landing. Lekat macam cicak.
maybe your track bukan belanja kot? hmm.gif
AF21
post Feb 2 2015, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(iOnine @ Feb 2 2015, 10:27 AM)

hahaha AF21 mana rempit minggu ni?
minggu lepas aku pishang truk kat Melaka nye game. Top16 both cars. pantekkk!. hahaha
Saturday, ThunderDash. TTB 12:43, I clocked in at 12:44 pastu time card habis. nak beli time card tapi Chot tak kasi sebab lagi 15 minutes time cut which I am totally fine by it. so, bungkus la. hahahahahaha
at the moment I'm going with a new setup. RnD much. so kalau tak dapat parking tu faham faham je la tongue.gif
New Gen. AKD Ver. AF

62 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0291sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:15 PM