69 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.

SUSredisthcan
post Sep 15 2015, 11:02 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Sep 14 2015, 08:46 PM)
Nacht, lately my career luck was not so good and smooth. friendship is fading too. just wonder what can I do to enhance my luck?

can i do so by worshipping to the elders?
My advice would be to analyse why things are going wrong and formulate strategies to overcome these deficits. There is no substitute for such measures.
SUSredisthcan
post Sep 28 2015, 08:59 AM

403 posts

Today is the Monkey King's feast day.

Feel free to drop by to any temples in your area where he is enshrined, and wish him well. notworthy.gif

SUSredisthcan
post Sep 29 2015, 07:37 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Sep 29 2015, 12:28 AM)
Guys just wanna ask. Gumanthong or any spirit can steal money? Because i lost RM50 twice already
They don't so much steal money as they cause you to lose it.

What makes you think that a spirit is responsible?
SUSredisthcan
post Sep 29 2015, 06:12 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Sep 29 2015, 11:20 AM)
the reason for my question is a bit lengthly, but here it goes ...I have a relative whose son is a muslim convert and not a very religious muslim but i am not to judge, and mother being mother , naturally as a traditional chinese, she ask one of her trusted sifu how toi improve his luck and health, since he is sick since young and on medication and very easily get bullied, cheated, etc. She also openly ask the sifu, as a muslim which deity he can pray to that does not contradict his islamic teaching, jade emperor was suggested but not explained why HIM, the sifu even elaborated no need for any ritual, just pray toward the sky....hence my questions
1. is it true that it does not contradict in this case muslim?
2. can someone just pray to the jade emperor?
My personal advice would be for him to seek refuge in his own faith.

Praying to any of the Chinese folk religion deities would be considered idolatry as per Islamic teachings and therefore forbidden.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 9 2015, 08:41 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Sep 28 2015, 04:25 PM)
and nachtsider ... on the same quote above on the same topic.. erm... i dont think "thai occultist" in this case is appropiate lor.. its still "monk" we are talking about. just my two cents..
Just calling them like I see them.

Mainstream Buddhist monks would probably not consider them to be proper clergy.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 9 2015, 09:20 AM

403 posts

Here is a very good scholarly article regarding the Nine Emperor Gods and their festival, which is well worth reading.

https://nirc.nanzan-u.ac.jp/nfile/199
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 16 2015, 06:14 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(crabby86 @ Oct 14 2015, 07:33 PM)
Who is Tin Fu Yun Sui ?
You are not typing words from any Chinese dialect that I understand.

How about giving me the name in Chinese characters?
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 21 2015, 07:46 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Oct 16 2015, 07:42 AM)
I think he meant "天蓬元帥".
Marshal Tian Peng is a fearsome stellar warlord, a protector of religion and state.

He has his origins in Tantric Buddhism; the multi-armed, multi-headed look that he sports belies his Indian antecedents.

Please note that Marshal Tian Peng and Piggy from Journey to the West are NOT the same individual, despite what Journey to the West might claim.

SUSredisthcan
post Oct 21 2015, 08:02 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(crabby86 @ Oct 16 2015, 03:52 PM)
It's in Cantonese..sorry..I don't know Chinese characters..so can't write in Chinese.

I went to Ampang jiuhuangye and that night they are welcoming this particular deity. So I'm curious.
Beg your pardon; I'm Hokkien and don't understand a word of Cantonese. unsure.gif

If your mystery deity is, indeed, Marshal Tian Peng, him being invoked during the Nine Emperor Gods festival would not be unusual, as he, like them, is a deity of the stars and could be considered a colleague of theirs.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 26 2015, 12:47 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Oct 25 2015, 10:57 PM)
Have you guys done any studies in metaphysics, feng shui or fortune telling such as 稱骨? Yes, our fate is controlled by ourselves but there should be some truth in those?
They should not be regarded as anything more than a general guideline.

As I've mentioned earlier, fortune telling merely predicts a probable outcome based on the choices a person has made up to that point in time, plus the decisions they are contemplating at that point in time. If you start contemplating different decisions while your fortune is being read, a whole new set of equations can be produced, and hence a different reading.

The future is completely malleable. The only thing that cannot be altered is past events.

You are writing the story of your life as you go along, not acting according to a pre-written script.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 26 2015, 01:50 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Kravo @ Oct 26 2015, 01:48 PM)
u are wasting ur breath

if these ppl can really accept or understand what u are saying, the discussion won't started at all.

it's practically like telling smoker smoking is bad, and tell him bla bla bla story.
I've got time to kill. tongue.gif
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 26 2015, 06:40 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(wow1wow2 @ Oct 26 2015, 02:45 PM)
I am not judging or anything but since you worshipped this, type of practice, for so long, I bluntly asked you that have you ever been rewarded? Or did you perceive any epiphany that common folk will unable to do so
Being able to keep company with my divine patrons and be privy to their knowledge and wisdom is reward enough for me (that's me in the photo below, having a nice little chat with one of them over a drink or two).

Epiphanies that common folk will be unable to achieve? I think the facts that I'm sharing here count in that regard. biggrin.gif

SUSredisthcan
post Oct 26 2015, 08:51 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Oct 26 2015, 07:35 PM)
Whether believe or not its the person choice they wont bother anyway. None of these being will ask anyone must believe them.
Indeed.

A child once asked the Black and White Brothers whether or not they were real.

They grinned and replied: "Maybe. Maybe not." tongue.gif
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 27 2015, 08:16 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Oct 26 2015, 07:00 PM)
wah... boss... i dint know you so handsome wor... anyway, what did you talk about? I dont have to know the content but sort of topics coz i am curious as they will "chit chat" rubbish or its a "you ask me i answer you" session about something that normal human will not know? hehehe.. like future kah.. if you are on the right path kah.. what you need to do kah? and do they actually give "stuff" for "ong"? and i curious oooo... can you communicate with them directly without a medium? hehehehe... and ah and ah.. can they "leak" info about your future? tongue.gif
I use conversations with them as an opportunity to explore their world and obtain in-depth answers regarding my faith. Much of the content in this thread, where it was not obtained from my teacher, was gleaned from these chats.

They normally wait for you to pose a question first, but when their answers come, these can be very forthcoming and meticulous. You will be quite spellbound, really - finding yourself just wanting to listen, listen and listen. The experience can only be described as magical.

As mentioned previously, I don't ask them for favours of any kind, as I consider this to be poor form. If they think I deserve something, they will give it to me without me having to say anything. Which has, indeed, happened on several occasions; I've received guidance from them regarding issues surrounding my life, without me having volunteered information of any kind in that regard. Although they stress that no-one, not even them, can definitively predict the future, the accuracy of this guidance is really quite impressive.

Direct communication between me and them does happen, but is rarer. It mostly takes places via dreams and is largely one-way.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 31 2015, 10:31 PM

403 posts

Bump for a medium channelling Guan Yin. Hope you guys managed to pay your respects on this sacred day of hers. notworthy.gif

Also, happy Halloween! rclxm9.gif

SUSredisthcan
post Nov 1 2015, 05:50 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Nov 1 2015, 10:09 AM)
I thought she's hovering XD

So happy Halloween anything special for sintua?
You can take the opportunity to dress up as your favourite sintua deities. tongue.gif

SUSredisthcan
post Nov 7 2015, 01:17 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(sales.convenience @ Nov 6 2015, 03:16 PM)
There have been much discussions about dressing up as deities for halloween events that has sparked alot of debates.

Let me bring break cosplay and fake trances into 2 main catogeries.

Firstly, fake trances. Often these people who's main aim is to gain monetary benefits from the devotees. Costumes can be easily bought , thus , alot of fake mediums are seen everywhere , spoiling the image of sintua practice.

Secondly , the cosplayers. Sintua has this practice of god-children of deities dressing up as them , as a form of respect for their patron god-parent deities. Seemingly similar from being in trance , they do not go into trance , they are often seen in temple processions also known as yew-kengs , standing beside the medium.
Cosplayers , all along , halloween has been dominated by the western culture. People dress up as grim reapers , ghouls , and fictitious zombies , 僵尸. In recent years , there has been an influx of people who took the effort to dress up as our friendly deities from the sintua circle namely tua dee ya peh , san tai zi .

I have noticed alot of dismayed fellow sintua practioners that hve condemned such practice. Personally , I see no wrongdoing of such practice.

Dressing up as a deity , the person must observe basic respects to the costume even though it is not consecrated. Rules like , no hugging girls , no kissing

, no hanky panky stuff.  People often mistaken cosplaying as a form of disrespect , in actual fact , it is bringing more awareness of our deities to the outsideworld.  More people will be exposed to the mystical sintua practice thus , creating more awareness.
This is an especially relevant issue in this day and age.

To dress up as a deity is in itself not wrong; as Sales correctly states, there is an actual precedent for cosplay within Chinese folk religion, namely how deities' godchildren dress up as their godparents in honour of them on big days and festivals (here are a bunch of Na Zha's godchildren cosplaying as him, for instance).

Maintaining proper decorum whilst in costume is key, and is what truly separates respectful cosplay from blasphemy.

If merely dressing up as a deity is blasphemous, I guess every actor who has played Buddha, the Jade Emperor, Guan Yin and the Monkey King on TV and film is going to hell then. rolleyes.gif

All these zealots who call themselves sintua practitioners and condemn what is merely meant to be good, clean fun are small-minded bigots who are really no better than those who shoot up newspaper offices for drawing comics featuring their prophet.

We have already lost so many devotees to atheism, evangelical Christianity and so on; if we adopt a repressive, restrictive, 'no fun allowed' approach, people are going to continue to drop out, and before long, all the temples are going to be empty.

A progressive mindset will be the key to Chinese folk religion's survival; as Sales says, 'spiritual cosplay' can be a great way to promote awareness regarding the faith.

I love what the Na Zha cosplayer whose pic Sales posted did for his fire-wheels, by the way; it's extremely creative. The Tua Ya and Li Ya cosplayers posing with the girl are men after my own heart and I applaud their costumes, especially the hats. biggrin.gif
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 9 2015, 04:09 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(thkhong @ Nov 8 2015, 09:42 PM)
HI, I have been following this thread for sometime but subsequently forgot about it. I am very interested in a particular lady diety call Ti Mo Leong or crudely translated Goddess of Earth. Dont ask me for the Chinese translation as I am a "banana". She is supposed to be Mariamman in Hindu religion.

I have been a long time believer of this diety and have received a lot of unexplained or cannot be explained incidents that happened to me. I would like to know more about her as looking through the Net, I cannot find any articles about her. All I know, we can find her statue at Thean How  Temple in KL. There is a temple each in Penang and Karak . But I heard the temple in Karak has been burnt down. The penang temple which was near the Penang Hill has shifted to somewhere nearby. It used to be visited by a lot of followers and her advice through the sticks ("chiam") is very accurate.

Can you please enlighten me more on this diety? Thank you.
Hello Khong,

Your matron goddess is none other than Di Mu Niang Niang/地母娘娘 (Mother Earth), also known as Hou Tu/后土 (Empress Earth).

She is a benign and motherly goddess, the anthropomorphic manifestation of the Earth itself, and the premier earth deity - outranking all other earth gods, who answer to her (Gan Tian Da Di the Military Earth God, whom I will speak about in a bit, is her senior adviser).

Note that she is not the wife of Tu Di Gong the tutelary/local/regional Earth God, as people often wrongly think - she and Tu Di Po, his actual wife, are different entities; she in fact is a spinster.

You can identify her statue very easily by her regal, queen-like bearing, the horse-tail whisk she carries in one hand, and the globe representing the Earth that she has one or both feet planted on (see picture below).

Please do share some of your experiences with her; I'm sure we would all love to hear them.

Stay tuned,

Nacht biggrin.gif

SUSredisthcan
post Nov 11 2015, 10:35 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(thkhong @ Nov 10 2015, 10:12 AM)
Thank you very much. yes you are spot on. She is my matron goddess. Can I have any more literature of her or where I can find it. I want to know more about her.
Chinese folk religion is a largely oral tradition.

Its legends, ritual procedures and so on are handed down the generations via word of mouth for the most part; most of this knowledge is not stuff you can pick up from reading a book.

This means that if written scriptures or holy texts are what you are after, you are going to be quite disappointed.

So beyond what I've mentioned about her above, you aren't likely to find very much else, I'm afraid.

By the by, I've dug through my files and discovered that there are four temples in Malaysia where she is enshrined as the principal deity.

One is in Sabak Bernam - the Fo Guang Tang Di Mu Niang Niang Gong/佛光堂地母娘娘宫 at Lot 965-B, Jalan Sekendi, Batu 39, 45200 Sabak Bernam.

One more is in Ipoh - the Ipoh Di Mu Gong/怡保地母宫 at 2, Jalan Margosa, Taman Camay, 31650 Ipoh.

The last two are in Penang - the Nan Dao Fo Tang/南岛佛堂 at 140, Jalan Paya Terubong, 11060 Paya Terubong, and the Shan Din Di Mu Niang Niang/山顶地母娘娘 at 665, Jln Batu Perempuan, 11500 Air Itam.

I don't know if any of the Penang addresses corresponds to the temple you mentioned previously, or if one of them is the relocated premises of this place (you did mention that the temple has moved).

Whatever the case, feel free to drop by any of them.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 11 2015, 07:43 PM

403 posts

Who is Gan Tian Da Di?

Gan Tian Da Di/感天大帝, the Heaven-Moving Emperor, is a senior Earth God to whom all the others, with the exception of Di Mu Niang Niang/Empress Earth, must answer.

Unlike Tu Di Gong, who is a civil official, he is a doughty old warrior, his image easily identifiable by its helmet, armour, white beard, drawn sword and one or more wild beasts beneath its feet.

His role is one of protecting builders, miners, farmers and other soil-tilling people from earth-related and nature-related hazards, such as earthquakes, landslides and wild animals.

69 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.1052sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:27 PM