87 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Bottom

Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

sweet_pez
post Dec 30 2020, 09:53 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Dec 29 2020, 12:02 PM)
Hello all. i'm currently aiming to lose weight and looking for advice.
Initial Weight: 82Kg.
Height: 180CM

Exercise: 30mins on the elliptical machine daily. around 230Calories burn per session
done it for around 2 weeks.
Current weight: 78Kg.

i'm aiming to be 72Kg. Should i continue as it is ?

food wise, the issue is my morning will always be kopitiam because i have to rush for work. usually nasi lemak, or mee siam etc. cant be avoided. 
lunch i will skip lunch or have coffee with plain bread.  then dinner will be sometimes economy rice. i try to finish all my meals within 7 hours as i read somewhere it is better.

Anything i can do better? maybe cut down on food or etc?
1. Consider incorporating 1-2 cardio sesh in your workout, even if it's 30min HIIT.

2. Ini... morning b'fast can't change or won't change? there's a difference.

3. Meal within 7 hours? Never heard of it except for people who are doing IF, they are confined to certain window for food intake. Simple philosophy: calories in vs calories out - regardless of the time you eat.
boarulez
post Jan 24 2021, 10:23 PM

359 posts

Lost 5kg in 3 weeks
From 78kg to 73kg
Height 172cm

Daily routine
Morning treadmill for 30 minutes
Evening treadmill for 30 minutes adding some 5 minutes HIIT after that .

Food
Breakfast : Oatmeal mix 1 scoop whey protein

Snacks : fruits ( 1 apple / Chinese pear)

Lunch : take away at chap fan , very little rice with a lot of vegetables and 1 hard boiled egg.

Dinner : I eat as usual but I cut down the portion a lot, no fried or fattening food.

Snacks : some nuts or fruits.

Any suggestion ? I’m feeling my arm is getting smaller , I think I’m having muscle loss.
But I don’t have time for weight training at gym.

And the reason I snack 2 times a day because I’ve gerd ( serious gastric problem )
After this weight loss I feel so must more healthier and my gastric get so much more better which motivates me for healthy lifestyle .

This post has been edited by boarulez: Jan 24 2021, 10:28 PM
SUStrumpkampung
post Mar 4 2021, 09:39 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Aug 18 2020, 04:53 AM)
Combine with Keto diet is a big yes (Half vege, quarter protein & quarter good fats).

Also time to look into OMAD as part of your new norm. Limit your eating time window say 15 to 30 minutes.

During fasting state do plain water only. Limit daily max 800ml or drink when ure thirsty only. If ure strong enough do Dry Fasting say 24 to 48 hours.

That's what i did and consistently down from 84kg to 62kg in 5 months without any single exercise.

Imagine if exercise  tongue.gif

Good luck.
can share what food you prepare?

i am 70kg now , 172cm and problem is stomach.big....over 40 yrs old now sad.gif

sometimes do jogging slow pace 4-5km(50 mins) 2-3 times a week. or staircase walking (20 floors up - 3 times and down - 3 times )
food normal

breakfast : COFFEE wt milk n sugar

bread with butter n jam -2 slices or roti canai x2 with dhal or wan tan mee or dim sim or oats

lunch: rice with chicken + 1 vege or rice with sambal egg 6+ vege. *** always eat spicy type with curry

dinner: any mee from food stalls. / or naan with chicken or fried mee

now much reduction in stomach

so i need to start to fast?
doremon
post Mar 4 2021, 09:58 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 4 2021, 09:39 AM)
can share what food you prepare?

i am 70kg now , 172cm and problem is stomach.big....over 40 yrs old now sad.gif
sometimes do jogging slow pace 4-5km(50 mins) 2-3 times a week. or staircase walking (20 floors up - 3 times and down - 3 times )
food normal

breakfast : COFFEE wt milk n sugar

bread with butter n jam -2 slices or roti canai x2 with dhal or wan tan mee or dim sim or oats

lunch: rice with chicken + 1 vege  or rice with sambal egg 6+ vege.  *** always eat  spicy type with curry

dinner: any mee from food stalls. / or naan with chicken or fried mee
now much reduction in stomach

so i need to start to fast?
Done private message. We talk there tongue.gif
sweet_pez
post Mar 4 2021, 11:13 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 4 2021, 09:39 AM)

70kg is alright cool2.gif but still depends on your body fat %.

Generally you're taking quite alot of oily food. You're likely to have exceeded the necessary calories intake per day, thus contributing to the extra weight.

First you need to understand Calories in vs Calories out.

Simple layman example: you only need 2,000 calories maintenance in a day and you have been eating 3,000 calories; that's 1,000 excess in calories per day. So say, you do light jogging and burns off 300 calories. You're still in excess of 700 calories. What about the days you don't do your cardio/ exercise? You don't even burn that 300 calories off.

Cumulative of these excess calories results in the extra pounds that we don't need.

So if you understood the above concept, then you'll know wherein lies the main issue - food. We eat 3 meals a day, and honestly we don't need to eat a lot to maintain our body functioning and doing the usual sedentary work/ lifestyle.

Need a lot of determination and discipline to go cold turkey and it could result in the crash of diet. So make adjustments bit by bit because you're moving towards a healthier lifestyle.

For breakfast - if you're not able or unwilling (yet) to remove roti canai from your meal, i'll suggest as a start, at least cut down half and complement with something and reduce frequency of intake.

Example, lets say
You eat roti canai x 2pcs as breakfast, 3x a week

What you can change in this case:

1pc of roti canai (with less curry/ dhal as it's also calories) @ 1x a week ---> this may not be enough; so you can add on 2 boiled eggs to your breakfast (mamak usually have them)

From 2pcs of bread + jam ---> you can change to 1pc of bread/ toast with 2 eggs, or 1pc of bread + greek yoghurt, or 1pc of bread + muesli with milk etc

So the intention here is to:
- reduce intake of oily/ unhealthy food
- replace partially with healthier options

Lunch
Your lunch is OK - less rice, more vege, protein (chicken, fish etc - try non fried ones, or lightly grilled, pan friend etc), reduce sambal (try to limit within say, a teaspoon if you must take)

Dinner
Try to eat cleaner. If you can, cut down on your mee. Rice, meehoon, mee, kuay teow etc are all carbs... reduce the intake of these refined carbs. Like i said, if you "can't" change, then make small adjustments by eating only 1/2 portion of carbs with lots of vege and some protein.

Some healthier options of carbs & protein
- Oats
- Sweet potatoes
- Banana
- Quinoa
- Beans & legumes
- Dairy like eggs, milk
- Nuts
- Greek yogurt
- Soy (like soy bean, tofu etc)
- Fish, chicken (lean cut)
and of course, your leafy greens

Drinks
Lastly, if you're taking sweet drinks (syrup, barley, coke, milo or whatever) with your meal, you need to cut them off. Replace with teh 'o or just plain water. If you must have your coffee with sugar every morning - go for less sweet/ reduced sugar.

Basically it's all about making adjustment and it's painfully hard to choose, say, boiled chicken over fried chicken. But there's no saying that you can't have your fried chicken though - just take them once or max twice a week as cheat meal. We eat ... 3 meals x 7 days = 21 meals a week. So 1-2 cheat meal is fine.

Exercise
The exercise you're doing is okay. To add on, you can try doing more brisk walking + body weight training (ie. lunges, push ups, dips etc) to help tone your body.

For faster and higher calorie burn, HIIT workout is ideal. You can Google/ YouTube it. Another one can lookout for "Tabata training".

SUStrumpkampung
post Mar 4 2021, 11:22 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 4 2021, 11:13 AM)
70kg is alright cool2.gif but still depends on your body fat %.

Generally you're taking quite alot of oily food. You're likely to have exceeded the necessary calories intake per day, thus contributing to the extra weight.

First you need to understand Calories in vs Calories out.

Simple layman example: you only need 2,000 calories maintenance in a day and you have been eating 3,000 calories; that's 1,000 excess in calories per day. So say, you do light jogging and burns off 300 calories. You're still in excess of 700 calories. What about the days you don't do your cardio/ exercise? You don't even burn that 300 calories off.

Cumulative of these excess calories results in the extra pounds that we don't need.

So if you understood the above concept, then you'll know wherein lies the main issue - food. We eat 3 meals a day, and honestly we don't need to eat a lot to maintain our body functioning and doing the usual sedentary work/ lifestyle.

Need a lot of determination and discipline to go cold turkey and it could result in the crash of diet. So make adjustments bit by bit because you're moving towards a healthier lifestyle.

For breakfast - if you're not able or unwilling (yet) to remove roti canai from your meal, i'll suggest as a start, at least cut down half and complement with something and reduce frequency of intake.

Example, lets say
You eat roti canai x 2pcs as breakfast, 3x a week

What you can change in this case:

1pc of roti canai (with less curry/ dhal as it's also calories) @ 1x a week ---> this may not be enough; so you can add on 2 boiled eggs to your breakfast (mamak usually have them)

From 2pcs of bread + jam ---> you can change to 1pc of bread/ toast with 2 eggs, or 1pc of bread + greek yoghurt, or 1pc of bread + muesli with milk etc

So the intention here is to:
- reduce intake of oily/ unhealthy food
- replace partially with healthier options

Lunch
Your lunch is OK - less rice, more vege, protein (chicken, fish etc - try non fried ones, or lightly grilled, pan friend etc), reduce sambal (try to limit within say, a teaspoon if you must take)

Dinner
Try to eat cleaner. If you can, cut down on your mee. Rice, meehoon, mee, kuay teow etc are all carbs... reduce the intake of these refined carbs. Like i said, if you "can't" change, then make small adjustments by eating only 1/2 portion of carbs with lots of vege and some protein.

Some healthier options of carbs & protein
- Oats
- Sweet potatoes
- Banana
- Quinoa
- Beans & legumes
- Dairy like eggs, milk
- Nuts
- Greek yogurt
- Soy (like soy bean, tofu etc)
- Fish, chicken (lean cut)
and of course, your leafy greens

Drinks
Lastly, if you're taking sweet drinks (syrup, barley, coke, milo or whatever) with your meal, you need to cut them off. Replace with teh 'o or just plain water. If you must have your coffee with sugar every morning - go for less sweet/ reduced sugar.

Basically it's all about making adjustment and it's painfully hard to choose, say, boiled chicken over fried chicken. But there's no saying that you can't have your fried chicken though - just take them once or max twice a week as cheat meal. We eat ... 3 meals x 7 days = 21 meals a week. So 1-2 cheat meal is fine.

Exercise
The exercise you're doing is okay. To add on, you can try doing more brisk walking + body weight training (ie. lunges, push ups, dips etc) to help tone your body.

For faster and higher calorie burn, HIIT workout is ideal. You can Google/ YouTube it. Another one can lookout for "Tabata training".
thanks a lot for your advise... i will try to follow it

will this be ok

breakfast:

2 eggs + oats

lunch: skip

dinner: 2 x eggs + 2 slices bread?

cut off coffee completely and only take water. will this help? say for 2 weeks?
doremon
post Mar 4 2021, 11:26 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 4 2021, 11:22 AM)

will  this be ok

breakfast:
2 eggs +  oats

If possible skip breakfast. BF is the important meal of the day my ass lah. Lunch is very important. Dinner you can skip.

Work on this routine. Will benefit you upmost.

Speaking from experience smile.gif
SUStrumpkampung
post Mar 4 2021, 11:27 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 4 2021, 11:26 AM)
If possible skip breakfast. BF is the important meal of the day my ass lah. Lunch is very important. Dinner you can skip.

Work on this routine. Will benefit you upmost.

Speaking from experience  smile.gif

btw lunch is easier to skip sad.gif

This post has been edited by trumpkampung: Mar 4 2021, 11:30 AM
doremon
post Mar 4 2021, 11:30 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 4 2021, 11:27 AM)
You dont have to spend a lot during luch hours. Just focus on complex carbs food you you good to go. Vege is very important. Please consume this a lot.

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 4 2021, 11:27 AM)

btw lunch is easier to skip sad.gif
Look bro. You have to rest up to your stomach. The longer it rests better for you overall. Best time to eat is between 11.00am to 3.00pm period.
sweet_pez
post Mar 4 2021, 12:56 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

will  this be ok

breakfast:
2 eggs +  oats

Breakfast is good that way but you'll get bored after 1 week, trust me! When you're bored you tend to have relapse. So remember to have a good mix of different stuffs for brekkie.

In fact, if you can make them, just simple scrambled eggs or sunny side up eggs + a slice of bread, or eggs and then a bowl of muesli with some milk. Play around with combination/ different things. Don't restrict yourself too much nod.gif

Oh my, don't skip lunch. Like Doremon said, might as well skip breakfast.

Skipping breakfast you can read up more on IF = Intermittent Fasting. You can opt to start with 12 hours fast, then progressively to 14, and finally 16 hours fasting.

With IF, your window of eating shrinks. And you'll also start to eat less due to the long hours of fasting (making you less hungry even during lunch hour). So if you can try IF, it's great. Comes with health benefits too.

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/well...ow-does-it-work
https://www.webmd.com/diet/a-z/intermittent-fasting

Dinner --> makan. It's okay to eat. Don't start feeling guilty when you have your meals. Dinner maybe can look for mixed rice stalls? Order half portion of rice, stack on vege and some protein. That'll be a good dinner.

If no mixed rice and only bread.......... then i guess occasionally make yourself a sandwich. Eggs + bread + lots of vege, or a side salad (with minimal dressing).

Coffee
You don't need to cut it off completely! I love my coffee. It's awesome with sugar but i changed it to ala americano style - just coffee without sugar and milk/creamer. It's a bit hard at first but after a while, i'm fine with it. Still take my fav kind of kopitiam coffee/ 3-in-1 and frappes occasionally laugh.gif where's the enjoyment when your favourites are taken away hahaha
everything is awesome
post Mar 8 2021, 05:30 PM

42 posts

Has anyone here tried Keto diet to help with weight loss to burn/reduce overall body fat?
doremon
post Mar 9 2021, 04:53 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(everything is awesome @ Mar 8 2021, 05:30 PM)
Has anyone here tried Keto diet to help with weight loss to burn/reduce overall body fat?
Keto diet alone won't help if you don't fast at least 16 hours min (Include sleeping hours)
PCLover2010
post Mar 18 2021, 03:40 PM

190 posts

I want to ask in this thread since it is still related to weight loss.

I know my body weight hasn't change much for past 2 years, maintaining between 58-60kg most of the time.

My exercise pattern is not regular nowadays even during MCO (and what-nots) since 2020.

I still got do weight training (more often than cardio), say even in 1 week, may have at least 2 times of weight training of 10 minutes (non-stop), cardio is depends on my mood (lack motivation now).

I have a digital weighing scale, weighing my own body weight without any cloths (in bathroom, locked) seems to show rather constant numbers between 58-60. Overall, I still got body fat, mainly in tummy area.

My question is, should I go and get a body analysis digital scale like this one or similar kind of product that is priced not more than RM100 (with free shipping would be good for the pocket) as I want to know (roughly) how much fat body I have as the normal weighing machine or digital weighing scale is just showing the weight in kilograms.

My objective is to lose more body fat, probably can bring down to 10% or less with just home exercise and able to track my body fat (roughly got some numbers is better than none!). I don't have a gym membership and no intention to apply for a gym membership and go to gym to exercise as I know can lose weight with the correct food diet (no junks, no/less carbs, no/less sugar, more healthy fat and protein, plenty of water blah blah blah)

But not seeing the weight moving much giving me doubts on my exercising habits. So any advice from LYN guys and gals?

This post has been edited by PCLover2010: Mar 18 2021, 03:42 PM
sweet_pez
post Mar 25 2021, 11:03 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(PCLover2010 @ Mar 18 2021, 03:40 PM)
I want to ask in this thread since it is still related to weight loss.

I know my body weight hasn't change much for past 2 years, maintaining between 58-60kg most of the time.

My exercise pattern is not regular nowadays even during MCO (and what-nots) since 2020.

I still got do weight training (more often than cardio), say even in 1 week, may have at least 2 times of weight training of 10 minutes (non-stop), cardio is depends on my mood (lack motivation now).

I have a digital weighing scale, weighing my own body weight without any cloths (in bathroom, locked) seems to show rather constant numbers between 58-60. Overall, I still got body fat, mainly in tummy area.

My question is, should I go and get a body analysis digital scale like this one or similar kind of product that is priced not more than RM100 (with free shipping would be good for the pocket) as I want to know (roughly) how much fat body I have as the normal weighing machine or digital weighing scale is just showing the weight in kilograms.

My objective is to lose more body fat, probably can bring down to 10% or less with just home exercise and able to track my body fat (roughly got some numbers is better than none!). I don't have a gym membership and no intention to apply for a gym membership and go to gym to exercise as I know can lose weight with the correct food diet (no junks, no/less carbs, no/less sugar, more healthy fat and protein, plenty of water blah blah blah)

But not seeing the weight moving much giving me doubts on my exercising habits. So any advice from LYN guys and gals?
I guess if you want progress, something in your current workout routine/ diet must change.

Example, you mentioned weight training of 10min or so x 2 times in a week. That's not really sufficient ya in my opinion - then again, it depends on what sort of workout you're doing. But in any case, weight loss usually go for HIIT if you can. Just find in Youtube "HIIT workout" --> high intensity interval training. Other workouts you can try is Tabata training.

Sure, if you feel you really want a weighing scale then by all means go for 1 within your budget. AFAIK though, the more accurate ones are like Tanita weighing scale; not so sure about the rest.

Of course, people sign up for gym membership for various reasons. Home workout is just as good, no qualm about that.
But imo, knowing and doing is 2 different thing. People who knows may not have the discipline and motivation, so they fall into a vicious cycle, for example:

resolution/wanting to lose -> workout often + diet -> sees progress -> continue -> progress slowed down/ hit plateau -> motivation drops -> started to binge eat -> cut down workout -> went back to original weight

So if you're someone who is similar like the above, then you'll have to find ways to overcome that lack of discipline/ plateau.
DPZ P
post Mar 25 2021, 05:21 PM

Probation

Hi all,

Nice to see everyone is working hard to battle the bulge! Would love to share my weight loss journey:-

Initial Weight:- 154 kg
Height:- 194 cm
Current Weight:- 138 kg
Target weight:- 110 KG

Time lapsed:- 3 months
Target full duration:- 9 months

Work out and diet routine are as follow:-

1st month:-

- Exercise basic training 3 times a week at least 30 min a session (basic include squats, sit up, forward lunge, bicycle kick etc.)

- Slightly reduce food in take but eating the same kind of food I had previously (no reduced carb etc.)

2nd month:-

- Exercise 3 times a week split into 3 different session,

Basic Training- 45 minutes
Strength Training- 45 minutes
Walking - 6 KM around 90 minutes

Additionally, I opted to walk during office lunch hours for 25 minutes leisurely as well.

- Food intake track using myfitnesspal app. Calories intake reduced by 750 calories a day, reduced carb, sugar and salt intake (cut rice to 2 times a week, 1-2 sugary drink only per week etc.)

3rd month:-

- Exercise 4 times a week split into 4 different session,

Basic Training Core- 1 hour
Strength Training Arm- 1 hour
Gym training mix cardio/strength (arm and leg this time):- 1 hour
Walking - 7 KM around 100+ minutes

Additionally, I opted to walk during office lunch hours for 25 minutes leisurely as well.

- Food intake track using myfitnesspal app. Calories intake reduced by 1000 calories a day, reduced carb, sugar and salt intake (cut rice to 2 times a week, 1-2 sugary drink only per week etc.)

All in all my weight loss per week now has remained stable at around 1.5kg-2kg per week. This of course will drop over time so to keep with momentum need to increase the exercise duration or intensity.

Also to note diet is the key in losing weight however to reduce fat strength training is the way to go. Best to mix the exercise at least 60% strength and 40% cardio for guys. Gals around 70% cardio 30% strength. Total exercise time should try to hit around 240 minute-300 minutes per week. Gradually increase the intensity as you keep up with the exercise duration.

You can reduce your exercise time to around 150-180 minutes per week if you are just looking to maintain. In terms of calories intake, once reach your target weight, should check what is your basal metabolic rate online and use that as a yard stick and see how much calories you can eat per day without gaining weight. probably try to increase 100-200 calories of food per week and see if you start to gain weight and adjust from there.

I am only 1/3 of my journey and still going strong. It helps if you have a partner who you can compete or monitor against. As for me, my fiance is in the journey with me. Of course we are off different weight and target so we compete based on % and remind each other on our food in take.

Doing all the above, you can still have some sweets, chocolate, and whatever you want. Just be mindful of the portion and try to stick to your allowed calories even on your cheat days!

Sorry for being long winded just wanted to share a bit of my experience. Still a long way to go!

Will update end of april of my results.

Cheers.

sweet_pez
post Mar 29 2021, 10:41 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DPZ @ Mar 25 2021, 05:21 PM)

This is awesome, thanks for sharing!
Keep it up thumbsup.gif
markljh
post Apr 19 2021, 04:28 PM

will  this be ok

breakfast:
2 eggs +  oats

i think it will help. Sugar by all means try to cut.

Chastain
post May 23 2021, 06:37 PM

500 posts

Hello
Is it fair to say squat workout burn more calories than 1 hour jogging.
miyakochan89
post Jun 10 2021, 05:44 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

I have a question.

I have been using MyFitnessPal to watch my calories, and have been doing a lot of walking (about 40 - 60 minutes each time, 3~4 times per week), and some cardio exercises (from YT, 30 minutes each session, usually only 1 time per week). So basically i work out consistently about 3~4 times a week. Before you ask me why I don't jog, I can't cause I have knee pain issues and I am avoiding anything that gives my knees a lot of impact. Before all these corvid, I used to swim 3~4 times a week. And my weight is usually under control thanks to swimming I think, and i even managed to shed some KGs.

I have been doing the walking/cardio for a month. And yet I see no results when I weigh myself on the scale. I worry that instead of losing weight, I am gaining too much muscles, that's why the scale is not going down. But I don't want to be beefed up. I want to lose weight and toned my muscles. Am i doing something incorrectly? Or maybe i should eliminate sugar entirely from my diet to speed up the weight loss process. I did drink honey jujube tea every night. Kinda addicted.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Jun 10 2021, 05:45 PM
ahwang12321
post Jun 13 2021, 04:25 AM

230 posts

Lost 9kg this year from 136 to 127 but looks the same to me..hmm

No exercise just eat small portion everyday
But thing is if I go even 1 cheat day. Weight go up fast

Was thinking to do jumping jacks but was thinking if there anything happen to the floor if I do it in 2nd floor 😂
Hopefully I can continue,,I try lose 10kilo more but if no changes maybe I give up

This post has been edited by ahwang12321: Jun 13 2021, 04:26 AM

87 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:02 PM