Need recommendation for DSLR, for beginner

TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 12:20 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Dec 26 2014, 08:03 PM)
Go for higher end if u really have passion for photography..nvrmind spending more as long as u r satisfied..cuz i kinda outgrew my camera quite fast..may i knw what u want to shoot at
will shoot for those view when travel place to place during year end holiday ..... but will shoot more on those nendroid and also event like comic fiesta .....

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 09:02 PM)
Don't lar like that and scare people whistling.gif
Higher end than D7000 will be D610 or D750 already, out of budget. Match it with 24-120mm F4 will be good start for all purpose.
d7000 just fit my budget .....
TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 12:21 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Dec 26 2014, 09:56 PM)
You want 2nd hand then you going to have to be daring on luck.  But cameras do tend to be quite reliable most of the time.

You can try http://kldslr.com/ a shop that sells 2nd hand goods.  You can call them up and visit their store.  I have yet to try them but most likely will soon for a lens.
my friend and some senior do recommend me this shop for 2nd hand device .... biggrin.gif
jamesteoh8177
post Dec 27 2014, 12:29 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(imnick @ Dec 24 2014, 09:35 PM)
hi and good day to all sifu~ merry christmas ~ biggrin.gif

im buying a dslr for myself as self learning lesson as i have passion in photography it also my hobby ......so many people suggest me to buy a low end dslr to get start

first of all, i got my budget around rm2000 ..... think mostly can get some beginner standard camera ....

i got choice in my mind already which is sony ( SLT-A58K )

so i need u guys to help me .... i need recommendation for the dslr camera ( any brand that can fit to my budget )

thank you smile.gif
Get a used Nikon d40
De best dslr camera for beginner.
U can save $$$ but U gotta spend some time searching for it
SUSsupersound
post Dec 27 2014, 01:04 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(imnick @ Dec 27 2014, 12:16 AM)
so malaysia set would be black colour ?

blink.gif
Grey set means warranty not covered by Nikon Malaysia. You will have trouble later on.
TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 06:07 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 27 2014, 01:04 AM)
Grey set means warranty not covered by Nikon Malaysia. You will have trouble later on.
so that means is like AP and ORI set ?

grey set should claim warranty from the shop purchased

black set can claim warranty at any nikon retail shop

right ? icon_idea.gif
SUSsupersound
post Dec 27 2014, 08:06 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(imnick @ Dec 27 2014, 06:07 AM)
so that means is like AP and ORI set ?

grey set should claim warranty from the shop purchased

black set can claim warranty at any nikon retail shop

right ? icon_idea.gif
Yes in some sense. But then why want to take the risk?
As said before, go to Nikon Center and ask more from them, especially on grey set. The price difference are not much actually. Like that link, the price are actually selling at MRSP while the 4 shops I mentioned are selling cheaper.
And nope, ori set is best send to Nikon Center direct, save you time(since is near to you).
goldfries
post Dec 27 2014, 08:38 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

If the item is already beyond its original warranty period then Ori / Import set wouldn't make any difference. You bring to service center they'll still service, they'll still charge the same.

If the item is still within warranty period then Ori set would be better as you can send to brand service center but the Import set you have to send to the shop.

One such articles http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Canon-L...ray-Market.aspx

For local, you got it here http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showth...d-Imported-Lens
goldfries
post Dec 27 2014, 08:42 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 08:55 AM)
What you need to concern more is the body are grey set. Nikon Malaysia may not want to repair it or charge extra. So you need to make sure there's 2 warranty card(1 Malaysia and 1 Hong Kong).
Nikon Center in Times Square are showing an used D7000's condition(as display set), can use that as a reference what should you check.
usually they'll just charge because it's still their brand user, they can't reject.

BUT they charge because not import under them, thus considered as warranty void.
goldfries
post Dec 27 2014, 08:47 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Dec 26 2014, 09:56 PM)
You want 2nd hand then you going to have to be daring on luck.  But cameras do tend to be quite reliable most of the time.
biggrin.gif not really la. camera stuff are generally very solid. In fact truth be told, you buy new go to shop also there's a risk that you donno the price and seller sell to you at SRP when actually they can sell at street price.

the "test kau kau on the spot" doesn't work too well, regardless new or used because usually if there's any issue. Whether manufacture defect or user created problem, it may take quite some usage to notice.

Till date I've bought more used stuff than new, and my used stuff all working fine till today, and now other people are using my stuff already and all well too.

If it's really bad condition, usually it's noticeable, most people wouldn't even dare sell it.

Buyer side just use common sense, if you see physical damage then best avoid. Wear and tear due to usage is normal, for example peeling of skin or writings. Dents and scratches are the one being main indicator.

Ask seller to give personal warranty, when I sell my stuff I have no issue giving personal warranty for a short period. If I'm not confident of my items I won't be selling.

Even if you buy a refurbished unit it will come with some 3 month warranty, this was my experience from B&H Photo, and that lens lasted me half a decade or so.
SUSsupersound
post Dec 27 2014, 08:50 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 27 2014, 08:42 AM)
usually they'll just charge because it's still their brand user, they can't reject.

BUT they charge because not import under them, thus considered as warranty void.
If not mistaken, they are charging double.
And now they don't simply sell parts to unknown parties.
So, why take the risk? Some people are encouraging others to buy grey set usually having direct interest on it.
Being a forum leader, I feel shock with such irresponsible statement, encouraging others to buy from unknown sources.
You are giving me an impression that, you are selling grey sets also.

http://nikonasia-en.custhelp.com/app/answe...%3D%3D/theme/my
And next time before spitting out nonsense, do check out on their policy against grey sets first.
Also it is very misleading to use Canon when we were discussing on Nikon.

This post has been edited by supersound: Dec 27 2014, 08:55 AM
goldfries
post Dec 27 2014, 08:56 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

LOL you're funny. I'm just giving information about grey sets just as you did but funny how you can even get such impression.

Unknown sources eh? It's not uncommon even for reputable shops to carry import set, this is to cater to the request of people who understand what import sets are and are willing to go with it.

Reputable shops will still handle the warranty for you, shops like Shashinki for example.
goldfries
post Dec 27 2014, 09:02 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 27 2014, 08:50 AM)
And next time before spitting out nonsense, do check out on their policy against grey sets first.

QUOTE(from article)
Does owning a "Grey Market" Nikon product mean I don't have a warranty?
No! All Nikon products come with a warranty by the manufacturer. The designated Nikon service center will always repair "in warranty" Nikon products and perform "out of warranty" repairs. If you own a Grey Market product it will need to be returned to the reseller or importer for service. Refer to your reseller or to the warranty cards included with the product for service contact information.

what else you want? smile.gif I stated so clearly "the Import set you have to send to the shop. "

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 27 2014, 08:50 AM)
Also it is very misleading to use Canon when we were discussing on Nikon.
Just giving example articles. Go ahead if you have a lot of free time fault finding.
SUSsupersound
post Dec 27 2014, 09:17 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 27 2014, 09:02 AM)
Just giving example articles. Go ahead if you have a lot of free time fault finding.
What does owning a "Grey Market" Nikon product mean to you?
Nikon Authorised Distributor in a country cannot provide any technical support or warranty service on Grey Market items. Additionally they cannot perform any fee-based repair work on Grey Market items. Please do not contact any Nikon Authorised Distributors for help with any Grey Market products. Please contact the reseller or importer of your Grey Market items for warranty and service information as well as software updates and downloads.

If you can quote some and not all, so do I, after all, both of us has intention here, to mislead others. The main difference between you and I is, I'm "misleading" people not to buy grey sets while you trying to justifying crime is right. This article shall be read from top to bottom, not simply take out part of it.
And this is not fault finding, more on lies busting thumbup.gif
adam_lss
post Dec 27 2014, 09:35 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

haiya, just buy whatever u sukak n shoot la
canon or nikon or grey or white or mirrorless or prism or crystal or diamond... bugger this thread sux talk so much but still no photo to show sleep.gif
AceCombat
post Dec 27 2014, 09:41 AM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 07:58 PM)
Just sharing my knowledge. I'm very particular on buying and selling online.
Sometimes I prefer to buy from shops is in case got problem, I can go straight to them. But buying from forum members, they may change the phone number and don't answer your call.
Like recently got a member want to buy my cable, he keep on delay me and giving all sort of excuse. At the end, his buyer don't want to buy and he ignored my call. He is trying to make fast money out of me.
Well if you're very particular in dealing online, still the best way is to go directly to a retailer, but still there is a chance that the retailer closed the business and you still cannot do anything. Just like CEX in the forum, very reputable seller but end up closed his business suddenly. So, buying online and buying from a retailer have the same risk too. Depend your luck.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 27 2014, 08:56 AM)
LOL you're funny. I'm just giving information about grey sets just as you did but funny how you can even get such impression.

Unknown sources eh? It's not uncommon even for reputable shops to carry import set, this is to cater to the request of people who understand what import sets are and are willing to go with it.

Reputable shops will still handle the warranty for you, shops like Shashinki for example.
Yes, this is right, whether grey or not, it is still the same product from the same manufacturer and from the same factory. We understand that the product is not officially carried by the local distributor only, therefore the service centre is not accepting them only.

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 27 2014, 09:17 AM)
What does owning a "Grey Market" Nikon product mean to you?
Nikon Authorised Distributor in a country cannot provide any technical support or warranty service on Grey Market items. Additionally they cannot perform any fee-based repair work on Grey Market items. Please do not contact any Nikon Authorised Distributors for help with any Grey Market products. Please contact the reseller or importer of your Grey Market items for warranty and service information as well as software updates and downloads.

If you can quote some and not all, so do I, after all, both of us has intention here, to mislead others. The main difference between you and I is, I'm "misleading" people not to buy grey sets while you trying to justifying crime is right. This article shall be read from top to bottom, not simply take out part of it.
And this is not fault finding, more on lies busting thumbup.gif
Anyway, goldfries didn't misled TS, and if you're a smart consumer, when dealing online for your very first kit (whether it is camera, handphone or what), you can always bring your experienced or skilled friends along with you to help judge the condition of the item, so that you can buy the item confidently.

Anyway:
New Grey Market: Consider imported and the warranty is same period as manufacturer (sometimes importer provides more) , you cannot RMA your products in service centre, only from the retailer, and usually they are cheaper.
New local market: Warranty period is followed and you can RMA your product in service centre, usually the price is close to SRP.
Used market: Get the purchase receipt and claim accordingly to the retailer of grey or local market, if there's no warranty left on the product, it doesn't make any difference. So you have to convince the seller for providing personal warranty, when dealing with a well-reputated seller, trust me, they can handle their responsibility, and not avoiding.

Well, just my 30 cent from the sexiest female forumer in LYN. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

KenDiriwan
post Dec 27 2014, 10:11 AM

2,277 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 27 2014, 09:41 AM)
Well if you're very particular in dealing online, still the best way is to go directly to a retailer, but still there is a chance that the retailer closed the business and you still cannot do anything. Just like CEX in the forum, very reputable seller but end up closed his business suddenly. So, buying online and buying from a retailer have the same risk too. Depend your luck.
Yes, this is right, whether grey or not, it is still the same product from the same manufacturer and from the same factory. We understand that the product is not officially carried by the local distributor only, therefore the service centre is not accepting them only.
Anyway, goldfries didn't misled TS, and if you're a smart consumer, when dealing online for your very first kit (whether it is camera, handphone or what), you can always bring your experienced or skilled friends along with you to help judge the condition of the item, so that you can buy the item confidently.

Anyway:
New Grey Market: Consider imported and the warranty is same period as manufacturer (sometimes importer provides more) , you cannot RMA your products in service centre, only from the retailer, and usually they are cheaper.
New local market: Warranty period is followed and you can RMA your product in service centre, usually the price is close to SRP.
Used market: Get the purchase receipt and claim accordingly to the retailer of grey or local market, if there's no warranty left on the product, it doesn't make any difference. So you have to convince the seller for providing personal warranty, when dealing with a well-reputated seller, trust me, they can handle their responsibility, and not avoiding.
Well, just my 30 cent from the sexiest female forumer in LYN. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Thanks for sharing, i was almost misleaded. he he

This post has been edited by KenDiriwan: Dec 27 2014, 10:12 AM
mudkipryan94
post Dec 27 2014, 10:23 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

funny fella like supersound: w

Grey units doesn't mean can't go for RMA, as Acecombat jiejie... said are true...

I bought so many Grey units of smartphones from Shops and didn't faced any shiets (like h/w problematic)

and who says that used unit aren't good... doh.gif....
iskandaribrahim
post Dec 27 2014, 10:56 AM

Here, here..

Simply said that to recommend you any DSLR, just buy whatever as long its a good bargain. You can practically buy something brand new below 2K. If you worry about factory or local warranty, you shouldn't worry much because the investment is not so big plus you can still claim for warranty regardless. For whatever it is, take good care of it, it won't spoil. 10years as a photographer, so far so good except one unlucky incident whereby my camera sensor was hit by laser light during an event. Thus, i got my sensor changed.

If you aim to sell later, buy a DSLR and NOT mirrorless. Its harder to sell a mirrorless than a DSLR.

The whole point for you is to buy a camera. ANY CAMERA with controls in order for you to learn. Don't listen to those saying Nikon is better or Canon is better. They're saying that because they can afford such model and ego claims whatever they own are the best. Good luck!
SUSsupersound
post Dec 27 2014, 11:02 AM

11,554 posts

Wow, suddenly so many people trying to justify grey sets are good to buy.
BTW, phone parts are easily to get as they don't restricting the parts. But does this apply to DSLR also?
Buying grey sets is, the shop offer workmanship FOC while parts still need to pay.
Like previous D600 that having parts failure, will be grey set covered on parts?
LegendLee
post Dec 27 2014, 11:17 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

I'm pretty sure Nikon Service Centre accepts grey sets or second hand grey sets without any extra charge compared to an out of warranty first hand set.

I've send a grey SB600 flash with a blown flash tube to the service centre.
It didn't cost me more than RM 100 to get it fixed.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0231sec    1.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:52 PM