Need recommendation for DSLR, for beginner

TSimnick
post Dec 24 2014, 09:35 PM, updated 11y ago

207 posts

hi and good day to all sifu~ merry christmas ~ biggrin.gif

im buying a dslr for myself as self learning lesson as i have passion in photography it also my hobby ......so many people suggest me to buy a low end dslr to get start

first of all, i got my budget around rm2000 ..... think mostly can get some beginner standard camera ....

i got choice in my mind already which is sony ( SLT-A58K )

so i need u guys to help me .... i need recommendation for the dslr camera ( any brand that can fit to my budget )

thank you smile.gif

This post has been edited by imnick: Dec 24 2014, 09:40 PM
TSimnick
post Dec 24 2014, 09:40 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(jun_ng_1208 @ Dec 24 2014, 09:37 PM)
Must it be Sony? I personally is using Nikon D5300 thought smile.gif
no la ..... recommendation for any brand .....

just that i got sony as my choice in my mind ....

TSimnick
post Dec 24 2014, 09:57 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 24 2014, 09:40 PM)
maybe you can refer to some older topics that asked the same question as you smile.gif
tq bro smile.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 24 2014, 11:24 PM

207 posts

Guys how about 2nd hand nikon D7000 vs sony SLT-A58K ??

Cam give some commend about this 2 camera comparison
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 03:03 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Dec 25 2014, 12:35 AM)
Any special requirement??
Budget?
budget around around 2000 .... can stretch abit if want
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 03:04 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Dec 25 2014, 02:51 AM)
might wanna try before buying instead of asking and shotgun buy whatever the people are telling you to buy. You might regret after purchasing it with your money.

because trust me, I've done the same thing with my 550d, d7000 and regret it because it doesn't suit my taste, I've only heard/ experienced from other people's perspective.

now I own 5d2 and loving it, sure it does cost abit more money but for the sake of my taste, I get the pleasure of knowing that I get my kind of camera.

take my advice with a grain of salt or not.. its up to you. Just don't regret your purchase later.
of coz i need to try it myself before i buy.....

i just want to see which people recommend the camera that might suit me with that range of budget ...

biggrin.gif thanks and respect to your advice rclxms.gif

really appreciate it
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 10:21 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 25 2014, 07:27 AM)
Used Canon EOS 60D / Nikon D7000 would be great, RM 2k could get you a body with 18-55 kit lens.
smile.gif thanks bro

i got a price from a dealer .....

used canon 60d + 18-135 with 1900

used nikon d7000 + 18-55 with 2100
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 11:56 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 25 2014, 11:23 AM)
For a newbie, is best to get new DSLR rather than second hand as you won't know the condition of it.
Also, best is to test out the model you intend to buy.
You need the warranty in case of problem, like I just dropped my 16-35mm recently and it become not smooth during zooming. Send it for checking and they repair it without any cost. Just some loose screws inside.
If DSLR, the shutter mech maybe the first to go and it is not cheap to replace/repair.
sound so dangerous ....... blink.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 10:44 PM

207 posts

wo wo wo wo .... calm down guys ~

just seeking for advice dont take take it too serious

T.T
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 11:11 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(StOwnz @ Dec 25 2014, 10:49 PM)
hmmm... recommended Nikon D7100 (or D7200 if you can wait, it is coming soon.) If you are gonna use for a long long time before changing to full frame.

Has a lot of function~

but, if you only play for fun, recommend you to get a mirror-less, it is much cheaper and easier to carry around when u go travel  biggrin.gif  icon_idea.gif  thumbup.gif
mirrorless as i compact camera ?!

cry.gif i dont understand im still a noob
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 11:14 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 25 2014, 10:50 PM)
I'm a beginner in DSLR world (started 2 months ago). I bought my DSLR used directly from the owner. I got it for 2/5 of the price when it was bought new; which saved me tons of moolah. Used it for work, but mostly for personal purpose now since company provided me a camera too.

That 'junk' when I first got it has less than 900 shutter count. That 'junk' also comes with an extra battery. Warranty? Till 2017. rolleyes.gif

So, not all 'pro' like to sell their 'junk' at high price.

Secondly, when one forumer advised another forumer to possibly go for second hand, then obviously the buyer need to understand the risks associated with second hand items and also research for ways to mitigate or lower the risks. I mean, nobody is stupid enough not to test the item properly before handing over the cash, right? Unless you used to be one and now you are 'once bitten twice shy'.
wow ... still got a long warranty perioud ..... with that little price

jelly blink.gif

really lucky leh .....
TSimnick
post Dec 25 2014, 11:58 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 25 2014, 11:45 PM)
mirrorless:

DSLR:

Mirrorless are generally smaller than regular DSLR and packs almost all features of a DSLR in a smaller, compact body. Both has their own pros and cons. The article below basically has almost all basic aspects covered to help you understand and decide which one you need.

http://www.tomsguide.com/us/dslr-vs-mirror...news-17736.html

However, the Sony a58 you mentioned earlier in your first post; that is a bit unique. Unique as in, it has the body of a DSLR but inside, it has the mechanical or electronics of a mirrorless camera hence it was called DSLT.

Right before I stumbled upon the advert for the used DSLR, I was aiming for the mirrorless Sony a6000 too. In the end I chose DSLR because

1) price - I saved up a few quids
2) lens - The DSLR I bought comes with 18-105 as standard, I can zoom further and I will be sticking to this lens for quite sometime before I decide to upgrade. Meanwhile, the a6000 comes with 16-50 and I could foresee that this lens will not be sufficient for me.
3) overall owning cost - mirrorless systems has a bit more pricier equipments compared to DSLR systems. So, the cheapskate within me chosen the DSLR, considering the fact that I'm going to stick with my choice for a very long time.
4) photography subject - most of my shots involves panning, rolling and tracking shots. So, I need the camera to have 'a little bit of weight' to minimize handshake. I blame the fappy hands. tongue.gif
wow thanks bro~ do give myself more knowledge on this thing .....

but the dealer gave me a price which is so tempting nikon d7000+ 18-105 with 2050 ....

just that what i worry is i dont know what to check for the camera when buying the 2nd hand stuff ....

can you briefly explain to me ?

thank you blush.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 26 2014, 12:14 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 26 2014, 12:02 AM)
My knowledge is still very limited.  blush.gif  blush.gif

I basically followed the suggested guidelines listed in here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3179123

first post; under "Second hand lens/dslr buying guide".
ok thanks bro~ biggrin.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 26 2014, 05:26 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 08:55 AM)
What you need to concern more is the body are grey set. Nikon Malaysia may not want to repair it or charge extra. So you need to make sure there's 2 warranty card(1 Malaysia and 1 Hong Kong).
Nikon Center in Times Square are showing an used D7000's condition(as display set), can use that as a reference what should you check.
wow !!! that is nice !!!!

times square very near my place biggrin.gif

thanks bro
TSimnick
post Dec 26 2014, 05:28 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(StOwnz @ Dec 26 2014, 11:05 AM)
Yup it is compact, and it is easier to carry around too! if you are not really into DSLR, then better go for compact, it has almost the same function as a beginner DSLR too. And is it light and not bulky! lol  biggrin.gif
i think i better go for dslr since will be using quite often and also a second hand camera is quite cheap though ......

TSimnick
post Dec 26 2014, 07:54 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 06:09 PM)
Go there and test them kaw kaw, simple as that. Then only decide which to get. Bring your own SD card also, this is for you to compare potential camera you want to buy.
In KL area, if were to buy new, 6th(or 7th) and 8th floor, YL in Pudu(never been there before but review are good) and J-one in AmCorp Mall are giving good price. Suggest to survey first, take your time.
My camera bag weight about 6kg and I'm quite reluctant to bring them around.
You need to know what is your need before buying. Go and chat with the Chinese fat fellow, a nice chap that willing to share technical knowledge.
Last year is better, got another 2 fellow, also very nice but 1 retired and 1 resigned.
ok bro~ thanks for the info

help me alot though ~

rclxms.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 12:16 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 10:34 PM)
They are mixing grey and Malaysia set together. Have to be very careful.
so malaysia set would be black colour ?

blink.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 12:20 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Dec 26 2014, 08:03 PM)
Go for higher end if u really have passion for photography..nvrmind spending more as long as u r satisfied..cuz i kinda outgrew my camera quite fast..may i knw what u want to shoot at
will shoot for those view when travel place to place during year end holiday ..... but will shoot more on those nendroid and also event like comic fiesta .....

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 26 2014, 09:02 PM)
Don't lar like that and scare people whistling.gif
Higher end than D7000 will be D610 or D750 already, out of budget. Match it with 24-120mm F4 will be good start for all purpose.
d7000 just fit my budget .....
TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 12:21 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Dec 26 2014, 09:56 PM)
You want 2nd hand then you going to have to be daring on luck.  But cameras do tend to be quite reliable most of the time.

You can try http://kldslr.com/ a shop that sells 2nd hand goods.  You can call them up and visit their store.  I have yet to try them but most likely will soon for a lens.
my friend and some senior do recommend me this shop for 2nd hand device .... biggrin.gif
TSimnick
post Dec 27 2014, 06:07 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 27 2014, 01:04 AM)
Grey set means warranty not covered by Nikon Malaysia. You will have trouble later on.
so that means is like AP and ORI set ?

grey set should claim warranty from the shop purchased

black set can claim warranty at any nikon retail shop

right ? icon_idea.gif

0.0249sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:21 AM