125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

elea88
post Jan 21 2015, 10:43 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 21 2015, 08:40 AM)
For your case, I agree with others explanation, look at percentages. Let's put it way, you are comparing two different animals, cat vs dog. Cat (rm1) drops rm0.1, translated into percent is 10% loss. Dog is rm0.5, drop rm0.1, translated into percent is 20% loss, of course you will think that 'more units more loss' but actually if u look closer above, I didn't mention about unit at all, because root cause is the percentage of change.

For my case, I'm curious what does the % means in "past year performance.". Does +15% means last year's NAV was rm1, now is rm1+15%=rm1+rm0.15=rm1.15? Or the % means something else (their stock holdings? Their assets?). As for the profit or loss, we are only comparing our purchase cost VS current worth right?
I used to : ANALYSE TILL PARALYSE... Moving forward, I will just do a simple worksheet for my self...

money put in.. VS current Value.

then do a simple formula for percentage...

Bear in mind ya... PAST PERFORMANCE is not reflective of FUTURE PERFORMANCE.
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 21 2015, 10:56 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 21 2015, 10:43 AM)
I used to :  ANALYSE TILL PARALYSE... Moving forward, I will just do a simple worksheet for my self...

money put in.. VS current Value.

then do a simple formula for percentage...

Bear in mind ya... PAST PERFORMANCE is not reflective of FUTURE PERFORMANCE.
Yes, why so anal??? doh.gif

as u can see from my worksheet (see post #1), it's just 2 measures:

(1) profit/(loss) in RM
(2) IRR

ROI or average cost I also did not bother
polarzbearz
post Jan 21 2015, 04:12 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 21 2015, 09:43 AM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

(Units held x current NAV price + dividends (IF u cashed out)) - Initial investment = profit/(loss)

Simple as that
Ok, can already thumbup.gif

Thanks Pink!
SUSyklooi
post Jan 21 2015, 05:13 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 21 2015, 04:12 PM)
Ok, can already thumbup.gif

Thanks Pink!
notworthy.gif sorry,..got you involved! sad.gif
polarzbearz
post Jan 21 2015, 06:02 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 21 2015, 09:11 AM)
Btw, why must look at %..Nav changes by RM value almost daily (be it 5% or 10%)?  tongue.gif
I think explanation in post#955 page 48 did NOT mention
1) comparing 2 things ex Cat vs dog or
2)  %....they are NOT in the picture in that post.
both are also excluded in the logic that Jammed me. doh.gif

Root cause is the percentage of change?  rclxub.gif
now lagi  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif 
have to go re read post #955

well, I think it was then and now.
I tracked mine with what was posted by them.....almost similar +/-x%...maybe it was the cut off dates of calculation.

if you want to track, try reading this....just for extra info...
3 Ways To Track Fund Performance We provide with a guide on how to track the performance of your unit trusts using our user friendly online tools.
Author : FSM ...May 18, 2009

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...l?articleNo=275
Thanks for the link, will read it later at home.

As for your case.... sweat.gif I don't know how to reply liao.

Let's put it this way, percentage is more accurate "tool" for measurements - when price changes, RM0.10 change can be little or very high depending on current price. So how to know if its "very little difference" or "very big difference" - percentage.

a RM0.10 change from RM1 is 10% CHANGED. a RM0.10 change from RM10 is merely a 1% change. But without using %, do you know which one is "bigger" change? You can argue back and say, "well, look at the fund price lah, what else to look?" -then I'll ask you back, how do you know RM0.10 from RM1 is big change but RM0.10 from RM10 is small change? and here we are again: Percentage.
kucingfight
post Jan 21 2015, 09:36 PM

5,784 posts

3rd round of 0.5% SC this week again? hmm.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 21 2015, 09:53 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 21 2015, 09:36 PM)
3rd round of 0.5% SC this week again?  hmm.gif
I don't think so. Any idea to support that?
kucingfight
post Jan 21 2015, 10:06 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 21 2015, 09:53 PM)
I don't think so. Any idea to support that?
Market talks in jb and Sabah this sat
SUSDavid83
post Jan 21 2015, 10:08 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 21 2015, 10:06 PM)
Market talks in jb and Sabah this sat
Talks only and not their annual event.

Somemore, they're currently having 1% promotional SC on 10 selected funds from participating fund houses at their annual event in Penang and KL.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 21 2015, 10:09 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 22 2015, 09:10 AM

8,259 posts

Yesterday my portfolio increase quite substantial in terms of value.. tongue.gif
guy3288
post Jan 22 2015, 09:12 AM

5,926 posts

Hello yklooi,
dont be pening, use real example from my portfolio, to show you.

If i can split my self into A and B,
this can show you when a UT drops, the person who holds more number of units in that UT, WILL NOT lose more than the other who holds lesser number of units.

A bought OSK GS US Eq RM10k on 29.12.2014 @ RM0.8176 and got 12,231 units

B bought later within a month, RM10k on 16.1.2015 @ RM0.7684 so got more units ie 13,014 units.

Say la, next month suey suey OSK GS US Eq going down some more, drops to RM0.70.

Who will lose more money? You said B, becos he got more units?

Fact is, It is the person who holds lesser number of units,
not the one who got more units from same invested amount.

A with lesser number of units, lost (14.3%) RM0.1176 per unit, so A suffer a loss of RM1430 from his RM10k investment

B who got more number of units despite his shorter invested time, lost only(8.9%) RM0.0684 per unit. His loss is only RM890 from his RM10k investment.

guy3288
post Jan 22 2015, 09:16 AM

5,926 posts

Now on a serious note, this RHB OSK GS US Equity has dropped quite abit recently, is this its normal ups and down or the UT has got some problem?

Worried la if i keep buying when it is going down....
If you guys are moving out of it, please let me know so that i wont go deeper underwater.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 22 2015, 09:32 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 22 2015, 09:16 AM)
Now on a serious note, this RHB OSK GS US Equity has dropped quite abit recently, is this its normal ups and down or the UT has got some problem?

Worried la if i keep buying when it is going down....
If you guys are moving out of it, please let me know so that i wont go deeper underwater.
That fund tracks US market closely. You have to compare with US benchmark like S&P 500.

Fund won't always goes up all the time.
TakoC
post Jan 22 2015, 09:43 AM

2,081 posts

Overall portfolio return went up a lot the past 5 days.

The SC charges for Ponzi 2.0 also recovered. Just saying.. Lol
SUSDavid83
post Jan 22 2015, 09:45 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jan 22 2015, 09:43 AM)

You can still top up for Ponzi since it's still got 1% SC.
TakoC
post Jan 22 2015, 09:48 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 22 2015, 09:45 AM)
You can still top up for Ponzi since it's still got 1% SC.
Ponzi 1 or 2?

Not keen on topping up HSAQ. I'm comfortable with my Malaysia exposure at the moment.

In terms of 2, after I topped up my China/HK only went up by 1%. So that's fine too.

Currently, my region exposure are quite balanced Malaysia. China/HK both at 13%. US and Europe at 10% and 12% respectively.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 22 2015, 09:51 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jan 22 2015, 09:48 AM)
Ponzi 1 or 2?

Not keen on topping up HSAQ. I'm comfortable with my Malaysia exposure at the moment.

In terms of 2, after I topped up my China/HK only went up by 1%. So that's fine too.

Currently, my region exposure are quite balanced Malaysia. China/HK both at 13%. US and Europe at 10% and 12% respectively.
Ponzi 2.0
SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2015, 10:06 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 22 2015, 09:12 AM)
Hello yklooi,
dont be pening, use real example from my portfolio, to show you.

If i can split my self into A and B,
this can show you when a UT drops, the person who holds more number of units in that UT,  WILL NOT  lose more than the other who holds lesser number of units.

A bought OSK GS US Eq RM10k on 29.12.2014 @ RM0.8176 and got 12,231 units

B bought later within a month, RM10k  on 16.1.2015 @ RM0.7684 so got more units ie 13,014 units.

Say la, next month suey suey OSK GS US Eq going down some more, drops to RM0.70.

Who will lose more money? You said B, becos he got more units?

Fact is, It is the person who holds lesser number of units,
not the one who got more units from same invested amount.

A with lesser number of units, lost (14.3%) RM0.1176 per unit, so A suffer a loss of RM1430 from his RM10k investment

B who got more number of units despite his shorter invested time, lost only(8.9%) RM0.0684 per unit. His loss is only RM890 from his RM10k investment.
rclxms.gif this PLUS Post#955, page 48... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
THANK YOU....appreciate your input...(nothing to do with %...just NAV).....clearer to me with your this portfolio.... (buy low) thumbup.gif
ENLIGHTENED!!! now have to go back to OOOOOOOHM, OOOOHM, OOOOHM,....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 22 2015, 10:07 AM

SUSPink Spider
post Jan 22 2015, 10:11 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jan 22 2015, 09:43 AM)

dah cakap Ponzi lor, what's so surprise tongue.gif
TakoC
post Jan 22 2015, 10:12 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 22 2015, 10:11 AM)
dah cakap Ponzi lor, what's so surprise tongue.gif
Today updated NAV should be even better. Yesterday SCOMP up 4%.

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:40 PM