138 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

The Sony Alpha Thread V61, From A to E mount!

gin&tonic
post Jan 27 2015, 08:02 AM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jan 26 2015, 10:53 PM)
But... A6000 AF isn't doing well, very poor in-fact in low-lit condition. Far from my expectation after really using it for a while. It either hunts or totally can't get a focus lock when the condition is not well-lit although through the viewfinder, lines between objects are still very distinguishable yet it just won't lock!!!

Olympus and Panasonic seems to be doing better on their M43 for low light focusing.

Sony's own A7S also doing far better but that one is a lowlight king, maybe unfair to put them into comparison.

IMO, Sony has to improve on its contrast AF for lowlight focusing. Like how Panasonic is doing so well with just Contrast AF (and that "DFD" thingy). Based on reviews, even though it uses just Contrast AF, its speed is on par or even better than other mirrorless camera incorporating Phase Detect AF.

Sometimes in lowlight and not in a rush situation, I will just go for MF instead. AF is just too unreliable in lowlight.
Above comments are made with the AF Assist Light OFF. TBH, the af assist light is just too "intrusive". Had to keep it off unless forced by the condition.
Honest la... Honest... Not humble biggrin.gif
Just have to wait out for a7000 if any improvement on the AF.
Slow AF in low light is a deal breaker for me.

nk3371
post Jan 27 2015, 08:39 AM

4 only ah?
536 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Jan 26 2015, 06:09 PM)
macam 24awg 10 wraps dual coil = ~0.7-0.8 ohm pacak kat zero mod hmm.gif
Missed a bit here and there.. tongue.gif
26awg 10 wraps dual coil. Zero© detects 0.3 ohm.. doh.gif
hazril
post Jan 27 2015, 04:40 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Jan 27 2015, 08:39 AM)
Missed a bit here and there.. tongue.gif
26awg 10 wraps dual coil. Zero© detects 0.3 ohm.. doh.gif
nama pun kelon kosong...hahaha...
IwanAGP
post Jan 27 2015, 08:36 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 27 2015, 08:02 AM)
I thought it's good before I buy. After I buy only I find out nah... It's not that good in low light.

I tried few olympus and panasonic models at similar dim condition, those cameras do far better. Even the old EPL5 or EPL6 (can't rmb tongue.gif ) is doing better in lowlight. At least it gets a lock and fairly quickly.
Eiraku
post Jan 28 2015, 12:50 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 27 2015, 08:02 AM)
Don't hold your breath. The A6k is already the best in AF Sony have got to offer for now, and IMHO the A7k is gonna be all about the 5-axis IBIS. So yeah, expect incremental AF updates but nothing ground breaking.

Also as of why the M43 cam are better in low light? They have been at it for a lot longer than Sony has, after all. Plus a smaller sensor should make AF Contrast Detect processing slightly easier (which is prolly why AF on the A7 is even slower).

For the A7s it's prolly just the better ISO performance helping the contrast detect system. Brighter = more contrast, right?

For the A6k, the main problem holding the AF system back is (IMO), phase detect seems to ONLY work in Wide-Area/Zone + Continuous AF. Things would be a lot better if PDAF works in ALL modes, which it (unfortunately) doesn't - besides the fact that it ONLY works with lenses that support it as well (which the Sigmas that I so love does not).

*Which begs me the question, have you tried shooting in Wide-Area/Zone + C-AF? It should improve the low light shooting experience somewhat as PDAF is actually being used, even on the kitty.*

A brighter lens also helps, though paper thin DOF can also slow down AF somewhat IINM (I might be wrong, but I could have sworn I read this up somewhere before).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 28 2015, 12:34 PM
Silverfire
post Jan 28 2015, 04:28 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

First day out with new lens tongue.gif

user posted imageDSC09879-2hd by Cruxiaer, on Flickr
user posted imageDSC09917-3hd by Cruxiaer, on Flickr
sallehsi
post Jan 28 2015, 04:55 PM

94 posts

Guys, regarding to A to E adapater.. (LE-A#) .

besides the difference between APS-C and FF coverage..is there any other difference in terms of performance (PDAF speed) etc etc between the LE-A2 and LE-A4..? i checked with shashinki.. the le-a4 cheaper than le-a2..does that have anything to do with the performance? thanks
kausar
post Jan 28 2015, 05:01 PM

608 posts

QUOTE(brandon90 @ Jan 26 2015, 08:28 PM)
a57 overall performance & build quality is better than a58. there's plenty of sony user rather looking for a57 than a58

btw, ytd when i go sony bts, kinda disappointed of all a-mount camera is open unit, as i looking for a77 too...
i own a58 and no regret own it, its the technique creativeness brought picture to life even ur using compact
TSalbnok
post Jan 28 2015, 05:09 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sallehsi @ Jan 28 2015, 04:55 PM)
Guys, regarding to A to E adapater.. (LE-A#) .

besides the difference between APS-C and FF coverage..is there any other difference in terms of performance (PDAF speed) etc etc between the LE-A2 and LE-A4..? i checked with shashinki.. the le-a4 cheaper than le-a2..does that have anything to do with the performance? thanks
Er, you need to Google better.

LA-EA1 = APS-C, contrast-detect only
LA-EA2 = APS-C, phase-detect with translucent mirror
LA-EA3 = FF, contrast-detect only
LA-EA4 = FF, phase-detect with translucent mirror

Contrast detect is super slow on my A7S - I have the LA-EA1 with the rear baffle removed to make it full-frame, and even in bright daylight, it focuses slowly. Just go for the LA-EA4 if you want to use A-mount lenses.
Gouki
post Jan 28 2015, 06:05 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 28 2015, 05:09 PM)

Contrast detect is super slow on my A7S - I have the LA-EA1 with the rear baffle removed to make it full-frame, and even in bright daylight, it focuses slowly. Just go for the LA-EA4 if you want to use A-mount lenses.
what about a7ii that using improved AF logarithm from a6000? still slow? unsure.gif
-kytz-
post Jan 28 2015, 06:18 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jan 27 2015, 08:36 PM)
I thought it's good before I buy. After I buy only I find out nah... It's not that good in low light.

I tried few olympus and panasonic models at similar dim condition, those cameras do far better. Even the old EPL5 or EPL6 (can't rmb tongue.gif ) is doing better in lowlight. At least it gets a lock and fairly quickly.
The 16-50 isn't exactly a lens that has excellent AF performance so it doesn't really paint the whole picture tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 28 2015, 06:19 PM
edpaul
post Jan 28 2015, 08:54 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ Jan 28 2015, 05:01 PM)
i own a58 and no regret own it, its the technique creativeness brought picture to life even ur using compact
finally, someone speak the right word. (lately all gear comparison and complain talks)....

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 28 2015, 06:05 PM)
what about a7ii that using improved AF logarithm from a6000? still slow? unsure.gif
hello~ using EA adapter.... u say leh? using EA1/3 will work on normal contrast detect which is even slower then native e lens

IwanAGP
post Jan 28 2015, 09:06 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 28 2015, 06:18 PM)
The 16-50 isn't exactly a lens that has excellent AF performance so it doesn't really paint the whole picture tongue.gif
Why it is performing much better under normal lighting then? It's the AF algorithm itself. It could be much better. Actually in most situation it shouldve locked and in fact it's showing enough on the screen that makes me feels like it have enough info to get a lock. I believe just some fine tuning and it will fare much better in low light AF.
Gouki
post Jan 28 2015, 10:00 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Jan 28 2015, 08:54 PM)
finally, someone speak the right word. (lately all gear comparison and complain talks)....
hello~ using EA adapter.... u say leh? using EA1/3 will work on normal contrast detect which is even slower then native e lens
i am saying A7s compare with a7ii without any adapter on native FE lens lah noob. read before reply pls. rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
brandon90
post Jan 28 2015, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(kausar @ Jan 28 2015, 05:01 PM)
it may depends on individual. but most of my friend and even i would prefer a57 over a58. but of course, now i am looking for a77ii rather than a77

This post has been edited by brandon90: Jan 28 2015, 10:03 PM
vincentlee90
post Jan 28 2015, 10:15 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 28 2015, 10:00 PM)
i am saying A7s compare with a7ii without any adapter on native FE lens lah noob. read before reply pls. rolleyes.gif  tongue.gif
bro. cool down. he may not meant of insult or crap talk. btw, i heard my friend who using A7S, he said even using LA-EA3, it react slower when mount with some lenses

This post has been edited by vincentlee90: Jan 28 2015, 10:18 PM
TSalbnok
post Jan 28 2015, 11:55 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jan 28 2015, 10:00 PM)
i am saying A7s compare with a7ii without any adapter on native FE lens lah noob. read before reply pls. rolleyes.gif  tongue.gif
LOL I was saying contrast-detect through the LA-EA1 on my A7S is super slow. Much slower than my A7S with a regular contrast-detect FE lens.

But yes, in theory, the A6000 with the LA-EA1 should be faster than the A7S with the LA-EA1, but I have not tested this.
darkwing54
post Jan 29 2015, 01:13 AM

new user of a6000.battery drain so fast aa...

This post has been edited by darkwing54: Jan 29 2015, 09:27 AM
sallehsi
post Jan 29 2015, 08:36 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 28 2015, 05:09 PM)

already google and informed about that..thanks anyway.what pakcik google doesnt tell me if the A1 A3 can utilise the PDAF or hybrid if they're available in the camera body.. i might be wrong on this...i just need a clarification on that because most reviews were on early e-mount cameras (the NEXes), which rely on CDAF system from the body. thats includes your A7s.. only recent model uses hybrid. correct me if im wrong.. having said that..im wondering if we use the E1,E3 , will it utilise the CDAF Hybrid af from my a6000?

Edited*

well, the LA-E1, E3 doesnt have built in motor.only Lens with af motor is useable. so i guess E2,E4 is the way to go sad.gif $$$. but my question remains. let say if we use a lens with built in motor, will it utilize the PDAF in the a6000?

http://www.kenrockwell.com/sony/la-ea3.htm

This post has been edited by sallehsi: Jan 29 2015, 09:02 AM
~C.W.S~
post Jan 29 2015, 09:44 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(darkwing54 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:13 AM)
new user of a6000.battery drain so fast aa...
Disable pre-focusing and enable flight mode will helped a bit biggrin.gif

138 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:16 AM