81 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

kurikuraX
post Mar 23 2006, 06:59 AM

this section is optional
907 posts

what kind of sound? scratching sound or what? How long u use it? try clean some dust if it present on your fan blade.

i have an experient with my scratching north bridge fan. after i clean it, the noise gone! thumbup.gif
bem69
post Mar 23 2006, 05:49 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

I am just wondering, is it possible to overclock an AMD64 3700+ S754?

I am currently using an Asus K8N-E, with 1 Corsair PC3200 CL2.5 and 1 Corsair PC3200 CL2. Board is running at DDR333. PSU is Enermax 460W FMA.

1. Is the CPU multiplier unlocked?
2. What does it mean by DDR333? What I know is it runs at the same cpu speed??
3. Even if its a minor overclock, can I say, overclock the ram, but with a lower
multiplier, achieving result of around 2.4ghz as well? Does that increase
performance?
4. I might want to upgrade to 2GB memory, what kind of rams are good for an average
OCer (I know this cpu cant o/c much), and what's the average price for these rams?

Thanks in advance, sorry for the noobish questions. Its been awhile since I've used AMD, and that was a 1.4ghz Tbird.
hiroshi_87
post Mar 23 2006, 09:15 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi_87 @ Mar 22 2006, 09:40 PM)
A very newbie and noob here.. i wan OC my pc but dun even noe the 1st step sleep.gif can help?? i jus need some pict step by step how 2 do.. My PC

amd64 3000 939 E6
Abit an8 ultra
colorful 6800gs 512mb
WD80GB black case
atrix powerlogic 500w
SONY DRU810 and SONY CD burner
no 1 help??
e-jump
post Mar 23 2006, 09:21 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

1. its athlon64, then its multi unlocked [only downward]
2. ?? care for a cpu-z screenshot? cpu htt at 200.. ram can go 200 too , 1:1 devider
3. for amd64, no matter at what devider and multiplier, higher speed is better. but at same cpu speed, tighter ram/faster ram is better
4. no comment... high performance 2gb kits priced at 800..

to overclock it, yes its possible.. provided u know what to tweak, n of coz some luck
loe_89
post Mar 23 2006, 09:23 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi_87 @ Mar 23 2006, 09:15 PM)
no 1 help??
i think better some 1 help this guy...
e-jump
post Mar 23 2006, 09:30 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

on overclocking, ones need to equipt self with knowledge, and dont do things blindly.. coz overclocking means running stuff outa spec..
once mis-setup, considered gone...

theres a reason why ppl post screenshot n some other bios setting, so that other can try..

rule of thumb, dont do stuff u dont know... n this sthread is a good start to know what u can tweak
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=17713
KilJim
post Mar 24 2006, 12:26 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ Mar 23 2006, 05:49 PM)
I am just wondering, is it possible to overclock an AMD64 3700+ S754?

I am currently using an Asus K8N-E, with 1 Corsair PC3200 CL2.5 and 1 Corsair PC3200 CL2. Board is running at DDR333. PSU is Enermax 460W FMA.

1. Is the CPU multiplier unlocked?
2. What does it mean by DDR333? What I know is it runs at the same cpu speed??
3. Even if its a minor overclock, can I say, overclock the ram, but with a lower   
    multiplier, achieving result of around 2.4ghz as well? Does that increase
    performance?
4. I might want to upgrade to 2GB memory, what kind of rams are good for an average
    OCer (I know this cpu cant o/c much), and what's the average price for these rams?
Thanks in advance, sorry for the noobish questions. Its been awhile since I've used AMD, and that was a 1.4ghz Tbird.
1. As e-jump said
2. Your rams should already be at DDR400 instead of 333 even at default. Did u check with CPU-Z?
3. Yes u can. You can lower the multi and raise the HTT so that your proc speed matches it's original speed, then your rams will be overclocked. Just make sure you've set your ram dividers to 200 or 1:1 or DDR400 (whichever your board calls it)
4. Try looking for Apacer value rams with Samsung UCCC chips. They're the best price/performance rams if u can find them. How to find them? Go to shops and check their rams tongue.gif yeah it sux

This post has been edited by KilJim: Mar 24 2006, 12:27 AM
phunkydude
post Mar 24 2006, 03:41 PM

2,403 posts

yo~.. i'm new in amd....

as what i know... , the hypertransport thingy should'nt exceeds 1000mhz as it'll cause unstable overclocking....
hmm... what if my hypertransport at 1091mhz ... while prime stable...
will it do any harm if i let it stay at 1091mhz which is exceeding 1000mhz?

while another thing i wanna ask is that.. what's LDT to Northbridge.. and bla bla bla to southbridge?
bem69
post Mar 24 2006, 04:44 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 24 2006, 12:26 AM)
1. As e-jump said
2. Your rams should already be at DDR400 instead of 333 even at default. Did u check with CPU-Z?
3. Yes u can. You can lower the multi and raise the HTT so that your proc speed matches it's original speed, then your rams will be overclocked. Just make sure you've set your ram dividers to 200 or 1:1 or DDR400 (whichever your board calls it)
4. Try looking for Apacer value rams with Samsung UCCC chips. They're the best price/performance rams if u can find them. How to find them? Go to shops and check their rams  tongue.gif  yeah it sux
  1. its athlon64, then its multi unlocked [only downward]
2. ?? care for a cpu-z screenshot? cpu htt at 200.. ram can go 200 too , 1:1 devider
3. for amd64, no matter at what devider and multiplier, higher speed is better. but at same cpu speed, tighter ram/faster ram is better
4. no comment... high performance 2gb kits priced at 800..

to overclock it, yes its possible.. provided u know what to tweak, n of coz some luck
Thanks for the reply. Well, I'm at work at the moment, see, it says DDR333 when I use my different corsairs together (in cpu-z it says PC2700 & PC3200). Motherboard is Asus K8N. Anyway I remember at CPU-Z at standard settings, the rams are running at 166Mhz. I managed to overclock the FSB to 220Mhz and get a speed of 2.64Ghz. Primed it about 2 hrs, and played CS a bit. Seems to run ok. What's bugging me is that the memory speed is at 17XMhz?
jsnkok
post Apr 1 2006, 04:40 PM

345 posts

because you are running on divider. your fsb(in a64 it is called HTT speed) is 220 but since your rams are running at ddr333 so the pair of rams are actually running at 220x(5/6) hence the 17x mhz.
WildChai
post Apr 2 2006, 08:38 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Hi guys...need some advice. Still new to OC.

Hit a snag finding my max CPU.

Current setting:
CPU/FSB = 10.0
LDT/FSB(LDT Multi) = 3.0
LDT/FSB(RAM Ratio) = 133Mhz (2/03)
CPU VID = Auto

At 250 X 10.0, my computer SuperSI pass the 32M test. Temps were all good.
But when i set to 255 X 10.0, windows freezes at startup. Tried with higher Ram ratio(166) and set VID to 1.425 still won't do anything.

Anyone can guide me in getting through this?
Thanx

This post has been edited by WildChai: Apr 2 2006, 08:43 PM
e-jump
post Apr 2 2006, 08:51 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

probablu reached the limit with low vcore..
1.43 is still low..
tried 1.5+v ? <-- works best with high end cooling
kulus
post Apr 2 2006, 09:08 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

yeahh..try to raise ur vcore..but dont pass 1.6v lorr..except u have good cooling..but for ur information..higher voltage kill ur proc faster than heat..
WildChai
post Apr 2 2006, 10:15 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Apr 2 2006, 08:51 PM)
probablu reached the limit with low vcore..
1.43 is still low..
tried 1.5+v ? <-- works best with high end cooling
Oh...ok. thumbup.gif Thanx
So...do i slowly raise it and boot up each time or straight jump to any vcore between 1.5 - 1.6?
Think will try the slow and steady route just to be safe.

QUOTE(kulus @ Apr 2 2006, 09:08 PM)
yeahh..try to raise ur vcore..but dont pass 1.6v lorr..except u have good cooling..but for ur information..higher voltage kill ur proc faster than heat..
Yeah...hope don't kill it instantly. laugh.gif
From what i read, the recommended max would be 1.6 - 1.65 MAX. Anything above will fry it.

High end cooling...i'm planning on getting a Arctic Cooling Freezer64 PRO. But contemplating on using watercooling. Saw one in a bulk at the price of RM180 (Syscooling), this ok?
Which would be better in the long run?

This post has been edited by WildChai: Apr 2 2006, 10:18 PM
e-jump
post Apr 2 2006, 10:35 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

watercooling sifoos is that way ^ (extreeme cooling section)

if it were me, i'll start with 1.55+v n 300htt..
unstable, go down 10mhz..
[its lazyman method doh.gif ]
everyone have their own way..
but patience in tweaking ram >> tweaking proc sweat.gif
kulus
post Apr 3 2006, 01:00 AM

|||||||||||
904 posts

patience is most importance thing in tweaking..hehehe..
WildChai
post Apr 3 2006, 09:33 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Thanx y'all!
How silly of me to push my CPU without giving it enough juice.
what's the average temp for cpu under load at 2.6ghz? i'm getting like 33.

Any tips on overclocking rams?
kulus
post Apr 3 2006, 10:32 AM

|||||||||||
904 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Apr 3 2006, 09:33 AM)
Thanx y'all!
How silly of me to push my CPU without giving it enough juice.
what's the average temp for cpu under load at 2.6ghz? i'm getting like 33.

Any tips on overclocking rams?
u mean 33c at idle or full load? if the temp is at full load..fuhh..its super cool lor thumbup.gif
WildChai
post Apr 3 2006, 11:45 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(kulus @ Apr 3 2006, 10:32 AM)
u mean 33c at idle or full load? if the temp is at full load..fuhh..its super cool lor  thumbup.gif
full load temps at 33-35(aircon) fan running at 1300rpm, when running the SuperPI 32M. stock hsf.

if without the room air-cond turned on, temp would be at 40. which is why i'm getting a freezer64 pro.

ryugan
post Apr 3 2006, 10:59 PM

Gixxer Rider
684 posts

i'm super noob here...

my rig..

cant go more than 239 fsb..

239fsb setting....- mem 200 = 478mghz 3.3.3.7 @ 2.7v [corsair xms 3200 pro led] rev5.2
- HTT 4x
- proc ratio 8x
- proc vCore 1.492

240 setting - blank-bios blank...
- so i raise vCore..still da same..

did i miss something rclxub.gif

81 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:16 PM