Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

IwanAGP
post Feb 15 2015, 12:07 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 14 2015, 09:43 PM)
most ppl already moving towards fibre optics ... 1gbps easily.
But you will need a new laptop/phone to get 1Gbps through Wireless. Also... 1Gbps not really 1Gbps right? I see somewhere the speedtest to foreign server still max out 20mbps like that.
IwanAGP
post Feb 15 2015, 06:45 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Feb 15 2015, 06:23 PM)
Don't believe what Strait Times tell you... SG top internet speed recently in the world right... yeah right... read stomp and sgag for gooder news.
Sgag no idea. Stomp... Liked their fb page... Then found out they repost the same news far too many times and too often so decided to unlike it. It's terribly spamming whole page long all from stomp fb page doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Feb 26 2015, 08:16 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(tomaserif @ Feb 26 2015, 11:14 AM)
I have to ask this since it has become a huge bother to me.

I normally eat at hawker center to safe money. I notice rice here taste different, like old rice or something. Its the same taste be it at different hawker centers.
Am I hallucinating or you guys feel the same too?

Regardless, at restaurants(e.g. KFC), the rice taste OK.
Hmm... Not sure if it's all but yes I do find some stall selling rice that taste worse than others. Otherwise the normal one just... Normal lo... Maybe some too wet some too dry. Depends.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 26 2015, 07:30 PM)
What kinda activities you looking for? Sports like futsal or badminton, recreation like trail walking or jogging, drinking, coffee or makan session, massage session or what?
Tell us your interest.
Maybe he's looking to kayak or sampan into restricted areas then kena chase out by army? tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Feb 28 2015, 05:14 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(KiNo123 @ Feb 28 2015, 09:17 AM)
My situation:

1. started working for 4 days (still no S pass card)
2. medical reports (Raffles) still yet to be received, 6 working days already
3. white card due 9th March (and i have used up like 5x/60 days limit)

i consulted HR and she didn giv clear answer but just 'hope' i can get medical report nxt week, and she told me i cant get extension if i hit the 60 days limit.

any advice i can possibly extend? =/
I thought your IPA already grant you the right to stay in SG? Try read through your IPA again. I can't remember d. IINM I only get my card registered after or slightly before my white card expires. I didn't go out of SG so never renew during that period. That happened thanks to my medical report that came late to the office. doh.gif

Just checked my IPA... It says... "When you get here, you can start work as a ... while your new employer asks MOM for your Employment Pass to be issued. During this time, you must also have valid stay in Singapore."

I'm not sure what that means though.

IwanAGP
post Mar 4 2015, 10:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 10:44 AM)
we have a year lease contract. so i need to find replacement to continue.
But your lease not with the landlord pun. Btw... I thought tenant cannot sublet their rented house? hmm.gif
IwanAGP
post Mar 7 2015, 12:14 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 6 2015, 10:35 PM)
For those of you guys and girls wondering about transferring money from CIMB SG --> MY, I tested this just now and the transfer is instantaneous and it's free. Rates might be a bit lower.

(as of 6.3.2015)
Google (1sgd=?Myr) exchange rate - 2.66
Arcade website exchange rate - 2.645
CIMB SG listed exchange rate - 2.6388

I tried transfer $10 from CIMB SG to 3rd party CIMB(MY) as I didn't link both my CIMB SG and CIMB MY accounts. CIMB MY account received RM 26.39 

Another venue to transfer rather than moving cash through the border smile.gif.
Didn't try RM to SGD which defeats the purpose smile.gif

Anyone tried Maybank ? inputs welcome.

===
Prerequisite

1. CIMB MY account to receive the RM funds (note CIMB MY charge RM15 yearly for debit / ATM card sad.gif, other charges may apply )
2. CIMB SG account to send the SGD funds (only 2 CIMB in SG - Raffles & Orchard - ATM machine is virtually non existence except for the 2 bank location )
3. $$$$ to transfer.
hmm.gif Their speedsend rate after consider that $5 service charge should be about the same too. RM15 small money la for you all rolleyes.gif Per year lagi. How much risk have you prevented by not taking cash into MY icon_rolleyes.gif

I haven't open any CIMB account though doh.gif

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 6 2015, 10:56 PM)
I got a maybank, regionlink account

Charges $15, and takes about 2 BD to clear. So seems like CIMB is alot better.
This year regionlink to MY macam is free. Go check. Promotion IINM.
IwanAGP
post Mar 8 2015, 10:55 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Mar 8 2015, 09:55 PM)
any idea how should i update after renewed passport to use the autolane as custom?

btw, i suppose i need to update MOM & ICA as well?
Never heard any of my colleague say so hmm.gif

Not just renew then enough d? They scan the barcode one right? I'm not sure biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Mar 9 2015, 10:53 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Mar 9 2015, 12:16 PM)
hmm, i think i am ok with up to 2 months of rental in sg without job. any further than that will be depressing if there is no job within my requirement
Just so that you know...

A person on social pass (30 days, reenter = 60 days) cannot actually rent a room here. What's worse...

If you go the legit way, minimum tenure period is 1 year with a minimum stay of 3~6 months. But even before that... You can't enter into a tenancy agreement as you don't hold a long term pass (EP/S Pass etc)

So you might want your girlfriend to get a room that you can stay in, then you just stay there for the time being. Or look for your relative to find a shelter for that 1~2 months time.

Worse come to worst, maybe have to find those Chinese landlord that take their house/shophouse and partition into numerous smaller rooms. Those probably minimum stay is 2 months also. 1 month deposit 1 month rental front up then one month notice to move out (Pay 2 month rental, end of first month give notice say want move).

Or... Ask if anyone here can actually provide you shelter for a month tongue.gif

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Mar 9 2015, 10:55 PM
IwanAGP
post Apr 9 2015, 10:42 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(beancountz @ Apr 9 2015, 10:15 AM)
wahhh very lucky!! very rare to see someone so free in singapore. no OT?
Er... Me everyday OT half hour then...

For now... Most of the time sibeh free doh.gif doh.gif

Almost wanted to talk to my GM tell him I got nothing to do tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 11 2015, 10:55 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 11 2015, 11:59 AM)
what's the minimum salary for Ex-pass right now ???

my friend office just hired one ... so cuerious of salary..
No one follow one la... Say 3300 but all engineers holding EP also lower than that la, I mean for fresh grads.

QUOTE(plmkjn @ Apr 11 2015, 09:33 PM)
after rental, transport, meal, etc......  not much left already.
Still possibly can save the total amount of salary you get in MY.

Say if salary in MY is 3000, you just need to save ~1.2k SGD already more than 3000 biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 11 2015, 11:32 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(plmkjn @ Apr 11 2015, 11:08 PM)
mnc @ Penang pay 4.6k for MEng grad, and ~rm200 can rent a single room
4.6?? Fresh Mechanical Engineering Grad?

Really???

Penang RM200 how to get room?? My friend working there all 400 like that. Another 100 for parking.
IwanAGP
post Apr 12 2015, 01:12 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(hlyh1230 @ Apr 12 2015, 01:04 AM)
who said cant? my colleague rents at 200@@
I don't know then haha

But fresh grad can't get 4600 gua hmm.gif hmm.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 12 2015, 11:34 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(plmkjn @ Apr 12 2015, 09:49 AM)
MEng = Master of Engineering
Ahhh chehhh...

Thought is Mechanical Engineer.

But even with Master in Engineering, it really depends on luck and also other skills (development/research/communication) to fetch a good pay.

I know some with Master in Engineering end up getting degree pay or maybe just 1~200 higher than Fresh Degree grads as they lack working experience. If what you pursue in Master is non related to what you'll be doing/using in the industry, it's pointless for them and to them you're just like a degree fresh grad.

IwanAGP
post Apr 15 2015, 11:35 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ Apr 15 2015, 10:24 PM)
I don't have a car, feel is a burden for now lol.

yea, during non-peak hours, jb sg causeway could be a breeze and smooth journey but for this upcoming, i'm going during the weekdays after work time. So would like to know more in order to reach larkin in time. anyways, thanks for the heads up.  biggrin.gif
To be safe, just buy bus ticket straight from SG to your destination (if available).

It really depends on the day you go. Like the previous long weekend, good friday + qingming, omg the queue for buses and the causeway is like seriously crazy on the day itself.

My friend went out at 7.30, 12 or 12.30 only reach JB Custom.

I went out at 10, go Bugis see the queue goes one whole round the bus terminal. Gave up, went to Kranji instead. Kranji queue goes one whole round the MRT station itself. Shared cab with others to Woodlands train station then walk to checkpoint.

After going through the Auto gate... Went down the stairs... Even siao... Whole platform full with people don't know the queue fold how many times d. Then decided to walk pass the causeway. For your record, it takes about 25 mins to walk from Woodlands checkpoint to JB custom on a moderate to fast walking pace.

Luckily it's not that crazy when returning from JB to SG on Sunday night doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 17 2015, 11:53 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 16 2015, 07:25 PM)
when I read 700 to 1k rent in singapore in this thread, I always though that is for a full apartment/flat/condo rent. Seems to be 1k can only get you a room!!!! I gonna pengsan ready~
got interview next week there....
biggrin.gif Can stay somewhere nearby one. 700 to 1k maybe can rent you 4 whole house d.

I mean JB though.
IwanAGP
post Apr 19 2015, 02:38 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 19 2015, 02:21 PM)
carry on board ??? a 23" TV is at least 60cm minimum with the shell. With packaging that's at least 62cm. I have never come across any aircraft which gave such a huge allowance for check in luggage.Maybe can just make the cut coz since TV size are measure diagonally.

look at AirAsia one for example:

[attachmentid=4417599]
They will probably tag it to be checked in haha
IwanAGP
post Apr 19 2015, 03:21 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Apr 19 2015, 03:12 PM)
I  did submit my SPM result too...because ICA can get a Malay person who will understand Bahasa..
Know how to see A B C D can d mah. Nothing hard biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 20 2015, 09:10 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 20 2015, 08:25 PM)
easily lost 4hrs or more, if compares with staying in sg. On a normal month with 22 working days, that's about 88 hrs lost! 3 1/2 days in a month!
Take the daily salary as 150 means 525 lost d haha
IwanAGP
post Apr 25 2015, 12:07 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 23 2015, 09:43 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif
btw do you guys have any idea whats the average prices of food in places close to outram park,tiong baru,redhill?
Put it this way... No matter where you are in SG, you just have to know where to find cheap and expensive food.

Even in places like orchard, you can actually find some really cheap food at Far East Plaza/Orchard Tower food court. Like $2.8~3.5 for 2 vege + 1 meat with rice, $0.9 for Kopi/Teh.

Outram for example, it's actually quite near to Chinatown d. There you can find plenty affordable ones. Tiong Bahru market also got cheap food to eat. Redhill got one quite big food court there just not sure their operating hour whether still open when you get off work.

Not so sure about CBD area though. Not in Finance sector. But IINM, you can at least find plenty fast food around that area. Subway, McD, KFC, Burger King etc tongue.gif

Hmm done some googling:
http://www.eatandtravelwithus.com/2014/06/...-hawker-centre/

Seems like you should be able to get some cheap food here.

Just pray that all your colleagues are on budget for their lunch. No matter what you will still be lunch-ing with your colleagues right? They go where you also must follow mah tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongdandy @ Apr 24 2015, 12:15 PM)
hi guys.. im currently working in sg too.. stay at kallang area.. distance to mrt kallang only few metres away. rental price sgd400. HDB.. no aircon. only a small empty square room with windows.
i have been working here since last year..
Utility room arh? Illegal to rent utility room one eh unsure.gif unsure.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 26 2015, 05:11 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 26 2015, 04:15 PM)
For example,if my rent 700sgd per month,i have to give fork out 1750 for the first month for the room?
Ya that's about it.

Need to add another forget how many % for stamp duty to get your agreement stamped.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0602sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:01 PM