PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt

alexei
post Dec 22 2014, 09:45 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(sharba @ Dec 21 2014, 10:10 PM)
New to this forum. Need help with one of the rear folding seats. I can't pull it up. This is the 2nd time it has happened. First time, I sent it to SC for repairs.   Does anyone have this same recurring problem? Anything we can do without sending it to to SC?
Did not encounter this.
Need to watch how they fix the problem.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 22 2014, 10:47 PM
alexei
post Dec 25 2014, 02:49 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

l3iTi215/45 R17 has diameter of 24.62, where the other has 24.88.
Comparison.

The 215 I think will have worse FC because of the width.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 25 2014, 02:53 PM
alexei
post Dec 26 2014, 11:48 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Update: P1 SC called me to change my steering rack.

SleeplessEyesThe EB engine has low compression ratio of 8.9:1, so driving off boost is bad idea for good FC, and the turbo will not get sufficient spool to cool down. With boost (0.7~0.75 bar), the effective compression ratio becomes 14~15:1.

Drive like granny, the turbo will be hotter. You'll more likely to notice radiator fan switching on after engine shut off.

Lotus design CFE with low compression ratio to run RON 88.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 26 2014, 11:58 PM
alexei
post Dec 27 2014, 11:42 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Wah, so new...
alexei
post Dec 28 2014, 04:13 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Herosue @ Dec 28 2014, 01:11 PM)
Just gotten my EB Turbo yesterday. While driving and slowing down, there is some weird sound... it sounds like "tak tak".. seems come from seats or door around driver's area..
My car has a similar sound too, especially when going slow and after crossing road bump. It's like something hanging loose and knocking on metal parts. Can't figure out what's wrong.

welcome to the owners' club.
alexei
post Dec 30 2014, 10:24 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Herosue @ Dec 29 2014, 10:59 PM)
Planning to send to SC to check. Besides that, the Fan sound seems too loud as well...
As for the engine sound after turn off, it tooks about 1 or 2 minutes to completely stop all, does the duration based on how long the engine has run?
Exora fan is powerful. There was even a recall for fan upgrade.
The duration is based on coolant temp, it will stop once it drops below 91C.

QUOTE(rizal.buzo @ Dec 30 2014, 09:50 AM)
LOL.. I'm just a VW supporter instead of Bots..
Nothing wrong with VW supporter right?
Nothing wrong. Please do explain why you support VW? It may have its bad turns especially on its DSG, but do share.
We're all learning here.

happyfridayCatching up a car doesn't mean the other driver is already at top speed. Even Kancil can 'catch up' to a Ferrari. We're not talking about track racing here. Fact is, zero-to-hundred acceleration, EB does it in 11.3 second, while Jetta in 8.3 second.

Who in the right mind buys EB CFE to race? Of course it is to carry family la... but, once a while, indulge a bit lo.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 30 2014, 10:27 AM
alexei
post Dec 30 2014, 01:50 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(rizal.buzo @ Dec 30 2014, 12:11 PM)
Well.. One of my dream car is VW Golf R and i really wanted to owned it
Not yet a VW owner but i already started to save money for my future car

Anyway, I'm not only support VW, I also like Lexus and Mercedes..
Nice car Golf R...

Anyway, also noticed you just joined LYN this month, so perhaps we should cut you some slack.
Welcome to LYN.

Also, what brings you to EB forum? Sounds odd not to think you're a 'VW-bot'. LOL.
alexei
post Dec 30 2014, 09:23 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

YouDontKnowMyNameDo you have a list of these bot-trolls?

QUOTE(mivecwira @ Dec 30 2014, 09:09 PM)
My clocked 27k exora year 2013 appeared CVT light after the ABS sensor faulty caused the whole car stalled and lost power.

Noted that the brake felt spongy and soft when the ABS light on.

Diagnosed with the SC and they said that the CVT light on due to the ABS sensor fault. Had the ABS sensor changed (Front Left) and so far no any light appears.

Immediately the brake stiffen back and whole car felt different.

Another thing, had the cooper radiator nipple changes too. No any coolant or new hose substitute in my case.

The fan of the car, one of the mechanic told me if the fan keep on spinning for more than 6 minutes, then most probably ur set of fan occurs problems and sent to SC for checking.
Good shares, bro.

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 30 2014, 09:14 PM)
Not only I can outrun it, my Exora can out-brake a Mercedes C250.

Please start to defend Mercedes now or you technically cant since it will violate your contract? rolleyes.gif
I think these Dec 2014 LYN-babies are VW trolls.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 30 2014, 09:25 PM
alexei
post Dec 31 2014, 10:19 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mivecwira @ Dec 30 2014, 10:28 PM)
Thats what the info they mentioned to me...Who knows? But if the fan keep on spin longer than usual sure there's something wrong..

Thinking over to install turbo timer controlling the spin timing. hmm.gif
Not recommended.

For EB, after engine stop, go to the engine bay and you'll hear a light buzzing sound, and liquid pumping that sounds like 'bloop bloop' near the 'copper nipple' to the turbo. I don't know what this is, but I believe the coolant continues to pump through the turbo after engine shut off.

If you use OBD2, 2 things to notice:
1. After engine shut off, if coolant temp is above 90C, the fan will spin.
2. If temp is below 90C, fan will not spin. However, because coolant still gets pump through the turbo, the temp can rise to above 90C after a while... sometimes, I will turn on the key, and switch it off again, just to let the fan spin.
alexei
post Dec 31 2014, 03:38 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

journeyoflife123YouDontKnowMyName
Chill. No bots here.

Happy New Year guys...

Once you buy your VW, feel free to share how good it is.
alexei
post Dec 31 2014, 04:42 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(journeyoflife123 @ Dec 31 2014, 03:52 PM)
Thanks for listed me in your signature ''VW Trolls''. thumbup.gif
Siggy can change anytime. That one I added last night.
Please don't mind it.
alexei
post Jan 1 2015, 09:18 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(tehsarbat @ Dec 31 2014, 10:04 PM)
changed my radiator nipple today. what a shock, the foreman told me that the plastic nipple already got a crack line and may break at any time. so friends out there, better replace yours before its to late. i'm just very very lucky. sweat.gif
Mine already half way melted when it was changed.
alexei
post Jan 1 2015, 09:52 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

mandrewBelow photos, first one is the half melted nipple. The second one is after it was removed, and a bigger hole was bored. You'll see a copper tip after all is done.

This post has been edited by alexei: Jan 1 2015, 09:57 PM
alexei
post Jan 1 2015, 09:53 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

YouDontKnowMyNameThank goodness, no...

This post has been edited by alexei: Jan 1 2015, 09:56 PM
alexei
post Jan 2 2015, 09:28 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ir5 @ Jan 2 2015, 10:58 AM)
what will happened if it's already broken bro? any sign? temp.will up very2 fast?
the plastic receives hot coolant from turbo. If it breaks, the coolant will spill, and so on so forth.
alexei
post Jan 3 2015, 07:25 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Yesterday changed steering rack.
Suggest you all have it checked, too. Take note, tehsarbat.
alexei
post Jan 3 2015, 10:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(trapeze @ Jan 3 2015, 12:09 PM)
hi bro alexei,
Mine steer to the left since I got my bold on Aug 14 while after alignment still feel not really straight. Mind to share more like how to check, which sc do the change?  As aware, most sc refuse to allow claim item until the defects seriously effected.

thx
QUOTE(tehsarbat @ Jan 3 2015, 12:10 PM)
whats the issue with the steering rack? how do we know that this component have a problem or will have a problem later. any sign to detect this problem.
thanks for the info. nod.gif
I sent for alignment at the P1SC, and the alignment tech opened the hood. Then, he asked another service tech to turn the steering left and right. Took a look at the steering rack movement, and asked me to go inside the service counter, and claim for replacement.

In my case, the steering bias and alignment was quite bad, until the tyre wear is uneven. Left tyre makan inside, and right tyre makan outside. So, even after alignment, the steering cannot go straight because the tyres are already uneven. I had to throw away the front tyres, swap them with the rears, and get a new pair for the rear.

Here's more detail as posted in V3 earlier by another member:

QUOTE(tst71 @ Nov 27 2014, 08:59 PM)
Guys, just come to know from a friend of mine who also own an EB(~2years) that has replace his EB "steering shaft" for 3rd time & he told me Proton aware of this issued.

Understand that those EB which can't hold on to the center of the steer then we should check the "steering shaft" mount with an rubber holder(as per attached photo). Asked someone to steer in the car & observe from the right side of engine compartment  to see is the shaft freeing move!!! My is freeing move & my friend told me this is mild & his 1 is very serious... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif 

Will log an complained & hope they can have it fix when I did my 10K service... notworthy.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=4235687
Later, might need to change to this:

This post has been edited by alexei: Jan 3 2015, 10:37 PM
alexei
post Jan 4 2015, 04:36 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(skunkz @ Jan 4 2015, 02:44 PM)
Hey bro,
I think I have the same problem with my EB.
1. Engine dies while reversing
2. Car has no response at transmission "D" & "R", red exclamation sign lits on the panel.

I brought to SC Meru, Bukit Tinggi but they said they r not
Equipped to check the issue. They only recommend Glenmarie n Pandamaran as they have the system to check n rectify. I brought it to Pandamaran SC and they informed tat it's common and the "computer chip need to be re-programmed". The next morning the problem is reoccurs. :-(
Any advice?
Are you using Shell?
alexei
post Jan 5 2015, 11:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Jan 5 2015, 11:18 PM)
Just got the exora bold turbo premium.

Excellent value for the money RM72.2k (counted 5.8k rebate).

Complaint so far:

1. the cooling fan noise after switched off the engine is very loud !!! my whole house can hear it ...
2. difficult for me to drive at max 2000 rpm, torturing drive !!! can't wait to whack the turbo after 1000km...
Whack it la, why wait?

ir5Just asking... it seems to do the trick for me by avoiding certain petrol brands.
alexei
post Jan 6 2015, 01:48 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(tst71 @ Jan 6 2015, 11:39 AM)
Hi Alexi, Mind to adv how could U convince the SC to change for U?? doh.gif

Cos I did show mine to my SC which the steering "holding rubber coupling" can't hold the shaft when we steer left & right(shifting) but the foreman claimed Exora is design in this way... rclxub.gif
Check page 14. It was the alignment tech who justified it. I didn't try and convince him, though I was hoping that is not a problem. I personally prefer less things needing a change for my EB...

Even after it was changed, the steering rack still has flexible freeplay towards either side.
I can (try) take a video for reference here, since I just had it changed last week.

32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:07 AM