CLF
post Jun 24 2009, 07:18 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(hirari @ Jun 24 2009, 09:25 AM)
For the following criteria:-

1. portable, small, compact
2. priced at no higher than RM200 (<RM200)
3. good overall sound
4. use primarily for music listening

I've come up with the following headphones:

ATH-ON3
ATH-SJ3
ATH-FC5
ATH-FW3

What i need now is suggestions from the criteria above and/or comments about the headphones listed. Anything could be helpful.
from the list, I think you can take out ON3 & FW3 (Buttons) as it's mostly for easy listening (contra to those serious gears for heavy listening), so says the few audiophiles I asked sometime ago.

of SJ3 and FW3, would like to suggest the FC700, another portable headphone. it's quite popular choice besides ES7, but dunno whether the price is OK for you or not. try and look around see.
CLF
post Jun 25 2009, 07:03 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(hong1380 @ Jun 25 2009, 12:07 AM)
hi sifus, i plan to get a comfort headphone...mainly usage gaming > music > movie
budget around rm300

any model to recommend? compare to steelseries fullsize siberia, how's the SQ?
ATH-AD300.
Siberia, SteelSeries' SQ is not as good as a dedicated music can like AD300. can be used for gaming as well.

QUOTE(hirari @ Jun 25 2009, 02:19 AM)
I must say, this has shaken things up a bit for me. lol

I find FC700 users from other forums consider the soundstage to be great.

Perhaps i should try it before making my purchase and judge it for myself. Wondering when can i make time for that.

Nevertheless, i appreciate your opinion on the matter. Thanks. wink.gif
regarding FC700's signature I dun really had any idea. perhaps it needs quite some time to burn in before it shines? that's what I heard for ES7, a good can but needs long time to burn in (>200 hrs?)
CLF
post Jun 25 2009, 10:10 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(towkey @ Jun 25 2009, 09:52 PM)
hello everyone,

new owner of M-50 and FC700 joining here smile.gif

nice 2 meet you guyz..
welcome! would love to hear your comments on those 2 units you had there! cool.gif
CLF
post Jun 26 2009, 06:54 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(towkey @ Jun 26 2009, 02:58 AM)
I juz got it bout a week ago and both of them havent reached 30hours yet...
For me M50 really suits my taste and its really worth of every penny i paid. I owned SHP2700 b4 and i thought wat 4 paying high price 4 headphones but now i know why  doh.gif
FC700 also impressed me coz for the price its also 4 me a good value. The clarity, mids and bass are very good. It's juz the highs sometimes can sound messy. The can also looks very cool but as a street can i think they should include a case for it.
All of this are juz my opinion n im not a pro sorry if my comments doesnt help much. U should try it 1st b4 deciding coz not everybody got the same listening preferences...

Added on June 26, 2009, 3:08 amI got one question since using those 2 cans i notice there's a small popping sounds i can hear when listening 2 music on my laptop.
I never heard of it b4 with my philips, it sounds like circuitry leak and when i tried listening with my handphone everything is smooth and clear.
Is it because of my source or any of you guyz experienced it b4? Will it have any side effects on the cans if i continue with it?
interesting review there.
if not mistaken the carrying case for FC700 have to buy separately. some higher end portable headphones only comes with pouch or carrying case.
anyway seems like you're moving on the go quite frequently? both cans are portable.
CLF
post Jul 2 2009, 05:06 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(kynkiez @ Jul 1 2009, 11:30 AM)
Hi alll!!!!!
new member here...

well i need some sugestion from u all... apparently i need to change my earphone (in-ear noise isolation) cause ive been using razer for along time..sooo need some changes..yesterday i went to pavilian tangs and i saw AT ther...the code of the earphone is ATH-CKM30 and its about rm129 ..anyone tried it??? i need to know weather its noise isolation?? or is the sound is nice?? cause i need to sit train to work...so i need a very good noise isolation in-ear bud...

or any recommend other then ATH-CKM30 in-ear earphone not more then rm200???
p/s: where can i get more AT store in kl???? besides pavilian???

pls help..thanks...
I didnt try out CKM30 before but from my brief experience trying out one of another entry-level IEM ATH-CK32, it sounded not bad. though which part is the advantage i can't recall, but I think the quality doesn't disappointing. i think it'll be a good change since AT stuffs' SQ is assured. cool.gif

can get from Akabane here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/601859

According to him an Audio Technica shop is opening soon in KL (Kepong?).... gonna wait for more details from him.
CLF
post Jul 3 2009, 06:52 AM

1,354 posts

Some new entry-level products of AT.

ATH-CKF700 "Bloom" (SRP: 2400 yen)
female-oriented IEM. comes with flowery carrying case.
http://www.audio-technica.co.jp/products/hp/ath-ckf300.html

ATH-CK300NS (SRP: 3500 yen)
better cabling CK30?
http://www.audio-technica.co.jp/products/hp/ath-ck300ns.html

CLF
post Jul 3 2009, 07:49 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(kynkiez @ Jul 3 2009, 07:09 PM)
ahhh but kepong is quite far...its quite hard to find it in kl...i hope someone tried out the ATH-CKM30 for me....
can try contact Akabane see whether can work out for an audition of the unit.
u cant really take other's judgement that seriously because diff people has diff taste, so something ppl like may not be what u want; vice versa, what u like may not be other's taste.
it's all about whether it suits ur taste or not, so self-audition is crucial. cool.gif
CLF
post Jul 4 2009, 01:11 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(w00tz @ Jul 4 2009, 11:30 AM)
hey guys.. need some advice here... i was looking through some AT products and i find the model ATH-ES5 looks damn cool and it has good reviews on it (websites and lowyat forum)...

basically, i'm a gamer here which i need a decent treble kinda headphones to hear properly while i'm a music lover too.. so i was thinking getting a well balanced headphones to serve this 2 purposes... what amazed me in this model is the design and the price which is within my budget

so, anyone that own a pair of ATH-ES5 can give some opinions regarding this headphones? is the headphones good for both treble and bass?! does it work well on high volume range?!anwz i prefer bassy type of headphones because i listen to lots of clubbing musics... i dislike headphones that blew up cracking sound when comes to high volume... thx for advice in advance =)
how much is ur budget btw?

ES series is good, but if u can accord ES7 it would be better.
gaming eh, usually would recommend the AD series (open can), but since you're into bassy then perhaps the A series (closed can).
you can refer to the few forumers bringing in Audio Technica in the bulk. smile.gif
CLF
post Jul 4 2009, 03:54 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(w00tz @ Jul 4 2009, 03:38 PM)
500.. ouch.. i guess out of my budget then... sad... i guess gonna stick back to ES5 or MH30/35...

btw.. i juz wanna know.. what's the difference between the MH30/35?!
M30 and M35 there.

M30 is a monitoring headphone cost RM 220 from Akabane in the forum.
M35 is foldable M30, kinda new to the market so it's not easy to get it. unknown price.
the M series is kinda balanced and performs well for most genre of music.
CLF
post Jul 7 2009, 06:55 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(hong1380 @ Jul 6 2009, 10:39 PM)
im also looking for the headphone...my usage    gaming > music > movie
like more bass headphone..

the budget rm200~300 only

now still considering which headphone to get, very difficult  to choose cuz hardly find a shop to test it
ATH-AD300 or ATH-M30.

anyway, u cant really try it and get it in the shop yet.... for now have to go through forumers in the bulk to get it.
CLF
post Jul 8 2009, 09:08 PM

1,354 posts

don't really have comments on AT's clip-on types, but certain EW9 looks tempting, as pretty as the ESW9, ESW10 Jpn. drool.gif
CLF
post Jul 9 2009, 11:00 PM

1,354 posts

i think clip-on headphone naturally not bassy because of the rather poor isolation?
CLF
post Jul 14 2009, 10:33 PM

1,354 posts

any users of ATH-CK32 here? would love to hear a few comments on this model, because might plan to get it for a friend. smile.gif if not mistaken he listen to pop songs, so will CK32 perform well in it?
CLF
post Jul 20 2009, 06:45 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(hirari @ Jul 20 2009, 03:50 PM)
AT iems should provide better bass than Sony, thus better SQ. Do you guys agree?
interesting point.
i briefly tested out both Sony's Xtra Bass IEM and AT's Solid Bass IEMs (forgotten which model). somewhat the Sony's bass is overwhelming, while AT's delivering the kind of solid bass as advertised. it would be better if can run test on techno or rock songs that will shows which bass shines.
CLF
post Jul 20 2009, 07:30 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Jul 20 2009, 07:10 PM)
Hi guys, i'm new to headphone, now planning to get a low budget headphone which will cost me around rm100+-, im going to pair it with my hand phone, and soon i will get a mp3 player, i will carry this headphone around, seldom will use with my pc since i have already owned a speaker, so is there any audio technica headphone suits my demand??

ah forgot to mention that, i prefer better bass.
ur question had been replied in the Recommend Headphone thread.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...420&p=27400619&
CLF
post Jul 21 2009, 05:11 PM

1,354 posts

be wary of getting fake headphones, esp branded ones like AT or Senn. don't get too carried away seeing the price so freaking cheap, that's a trap.
better do enough research on the product before getting it, and get from trustable source too.
CLF
post Jul 28 2009, 08:32 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Jul 25 2009, 01:00 PM)
for some reason, U can hear the pure sound using Audio-Technica (instrument background)
hahah, that's the magic when u listen through a pair of high quality headphones, some details which you've missed when using previous headphones. is like another way to enjoy the music all over again. biggrin.gif

a good way to test it out is try to listen to some classical/orchestral pieces. some intro part they started very softly and if you didn't take notice it you wouldn't know the existence lol.
example of songs: Maksim "Totentanz", Smetana "Ma Vlast - Vltava".
CLF
post Jul 28 2009, 10:10 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Jul 28 2009, 08:52 PM)
Bro, if you listen for a Woody i'm sure you will miss the sound. Sound of natural and emotional...I bet soon you will get that level...hidden is more detail as i thought...
hahah!!! woody.... belum til that level bro lol. my next target is ES7, but if cash ada maybe throw in for ESW9.... drool.gif

btw what do u mean by "i'm sure you will miss the sound"? means once put on woody will lost the hidden intro part? or u mean once get into woody there's no turning back to normal headphones? laugh.gif
CLF
post Jul 28 2009, 11:00 PM

1,354 posts

hahah i see. ur W5k belum sampai lagi? that one monstrous lol.
talk about ESW9, is it easily driven like ES7 also? coz if I were to get it i'm likely to use it without amp/DAC etc, directly from the source.
CLF
post Jul 29 2009, 05:24 PM

1,354 posts

a brief review bout ATH-SJ1 which I happened to test it out today.

am listening it from my Walkman. kinda surprising but it sounded bad to me. lack of bass, muddy presentation and horrible soundstage, somehow even a cheap headphone can beat it. was quite shock with this.

my friend have it for a year, but I think the headphone didn't burnt in enough so may result in such horrible experience.

it's small and portable, but I would rather invest in FC700 or SJ5 for portable SQ.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0406sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:06 PM