yes mobile broadband can only be use as a backup internet service, since using digi edge i couldnt get the download speed that i want!
Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !
Nov 20 2006, 10:09 AM
Validating
296 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: t3chnolog@gmail.com |
yes mobile broadband can only be use as a backup internet service, since using digi edge i couldnt get the download speed that i want!
Nov 20 2006, 10:22 AM
2,200 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
cost calculation for 1 year subscription
celcom = rm999 + 99x6 = 1593, = RM132.75/month speed is 3xxkbps, but no fall back to edge when no coverage. fall back to gprs. Digi = rm99 per month, excluding modem which cost rm899 or use edge phone at around rm500-600, so around RM150/month including new phone. but speed is 100kbps. fallback to gprs. maxis = home fixed RM299+rm50x12 + 188 = 1088, =RM90.60/month but got 3gig limit. modem not really portable. fall back to edge,gprs. This post has been edited by lj0000: Nov 20 2006, 10:48 AM |
Nov 20 2006, 10:51 AM
1,485 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(jojoe @ Nov 19 2006, 01:32 PM) u can use it any where if you want. my area got 3G signal ... then i can get @ 3xxkbps. TQ...if your area no 3G... then the speed should be 1xxkbps (edge) my friend use it at kota bharu connected to edge.... since there is no 3g signal the modem support HSPDA, 3.5G, 3G, Edge and GPRS i think maxis has provided 2 types of 3g service... 1. is the one u have mentioned , i.e. RM68 with modern, 3g wireless broadband.. & the other is purely 3g , something like digi the edge or the celcom 3g , RM120 per month.. This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 20 2006, 10:52 AM |
Nov 20 2006, 10:59 AM
3,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Laputa |
the other one that u mentioned. i have checked with them, also RM99 per month
Nov 20 2006, 11:13 AM
just called up maxis to clarify something
1. the trial period -recomended to 'rent' the modem -try for 30 days -must inform if not satisfied, return modem. -will be billed for that month, then the next month minus back. then u dont owe them anything. 2. the 3gb limit -continuous monitoring of traffic. the limit is just theoretical -if use for p2p download, will be stopped after 3gb -if noticed that under normal use, already exceed 3gb, will be allowed. -if blocked, and need to call to reactivate. need to give reason. 3. speeds -if in pj/subang area, will use hsdpa network. means will share the network among all hsdpa users, regardless of 384 or 768 package -if outside the hsdpa coverage area, will use normal 3G network. and will share along with the handphone users. typical speed is 2xxkbps -if outside 3g, then use edge or gprs. |
Nov 20 2006, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 20 2006, 10:59 AM) oh, if this is the case, RM99 per month now for digi the edge, celcom 3g as well as maxis 3g.......but nore sure can we get one edge/3g card support for all the services have mentioned? This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 20 2006, 11:18 AM |
Nov 20 2006, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(jojoe @ Nov 19 2006, 01:32 PM) u can use it any where if you want. my area got 3G signal ... then i can get @ 3xxkbps. can u confirm ? if the area got 3g signal then get 3xxkbp otherwise shift to edge around 1xxkbps, just like the digi edge/Gprs ? if your area no 3G... then the speed should be 1xxkbps (edge) my friend use it at kota bharu connected to edge.... since there is no 3g signal the modem support HSPDA, 3.5G, 3G, Edge and GPRS |
Nov 20 2006, 12:12 PM
798 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
I thought HSDPA is running around 1.8mbps speeds? and 3G is running around 384kbps speeds?
Nov 20 2006, 01:16 PM
3,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Laputa |
QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Nov 20 2006, 11:17 AM) oh, if this is the case, RM99 per month now for digi the edge, celcom 3g as well as maxis 3g.......but nore sure can we get one edge/3g card support for all the services have mentioned? I just called.....now they say is RM120. RM99 no more liao They said that u need to have a 3G phone and you can make your handphone as modem and connect to ur PC with bluetooth |
Nov 20 2006, 02:17 PM
u called the wrong person. check out their latest promo for data only.
celcom call center is the lamest of all! http://www.tm.net.my/mobilebroadband/# |
Nov 20 2006, 02:22 PM
Digi got free Wifi at airzed areas, and i believe in the future all will be converted to wimax.
max speeds: digi is 1xx ->56k maxis is 7xx -> 3xx-> 2xx ->1xx-> 56k celcom 3xx->56k celcom also got the high speed hsdpa one.. just they are too cocky that they reserve it only for coporate users. need to pay deposit RM5k |
Nov 20 2006, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 20 2006, 01:16 PM) I just called.....now they say is RM120. RM99 no more liao They said that u need to have a 3G phone and you can make your handphone as modem and connect to ur PC with bluetooth QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 20 2006, 02:17 PM) u called the wrong person. check out their latest promo for data only. I think wufei is referring to maxis 3g..am i right?celcom call center is the lamest of all! http://www.tm.net.my/mobilebroadband/# As for the celcom, the latest promo will save u RM720 & u will own the 3g data card after 6 months.........but can this 3g card use for maxis's 3g or digi's edge ? btw, according to my friens, celcom's offer is great but u need to set/adjust the channel everytime when u move one lacation to another? Any celcom user here to confirm this ? |
Nov 22 2006, 05:28 PM
264 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
hav anyone tried ragnarok online using maxis wireless 3g? i cannot get connect to the server using maxis
Nov 22 2006, 08:18 PM
148 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Nov 20 2006, 10:51 AM) TQ... So the pure 3g service also got 3GB cap limit?i think maxis has provided 2 types of 3g service... 1. is the one u have mentioned , i.e. RM68 with modern, 3g wireless broadband.. & the other is purely 3g , something like digi the edge or the celcom 3g , RM120 per month.. Yesterday i went to lowyat asked they said iz RM126 per month Plan to subscribe it next month... (maybe |
Nov 22 2006, 09:52 PM
Nov 22 2006, 10:03 PM
460 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
will they allow us to subscribe maxis broadband if our area did not have 3G coverage?
Nov 23 2006, 11:21 AM
Nov 23 2006, 01:10 PM
so, if we only have 3G but no HSDPA coverage in our area, they will not accept the application too?
This post has been edited by xcess: Nov 23 2006, 01:11 PM |
Nov 23 2006, 01:30 PM
if ur area got no 3g, most likely they wont accept.
hsdpa only for pj-subang-sunway area. outside these areas u will be using public 3g network, so u can only subscribe to the rm50 package. if u really want to use maxis, and ur area dun have 3g, just register it to an address with 3g (friend house) then u bring the modem to ur house. it will connect to edge network. |
Nov 23 2006, 02:06 PM
well..., my place got 3g signal but it still weak... now i'm in kajang..
if i set my phone only to connect to GSM network, the coverage is good.. maybe they still not fully upgrade all the network here.. dunno how their technician will place the modem if i take the package.. sure they will find it hard to get a good 3G coverage |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:26 AM |