A well balanced diet for body building, what's your plan back in the days

SUSChosen one
post Nov 17 2014, 09:07 PM, updated 12y ago

217 posts

Hi, my name is Chris
currently pursuing higher education.
i know what without a proper diet it's quite impossible for body build without a proper diet
here's my dilemma, my university's canteens or cafes are offering unhealthy food, oily greasy and salty etc
what should i get for my diet if i want to train my body figure?
there's a c-mart superstore nearby offering almost all basic necessity
what is your plan back in university days where food choices are limited?

I'm an active swimmer and often go to the gym
my height is 183cm and weight is 85kg

Armesh
post Nov 17 2014, 11:00 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 17 2014, 09:07 PM)
Hi, my name is Chris
i know what without a proper diet it's quite impossible for body build without a proper diet
here's my dilemma, my university's canteens or cafes are offering unhealthy food, oily greasy and salty etc

Sat/Sun prepare your 1Kg~2Kg of meat (i prepare chicken breast). Prepare your salad/vegetables also. Throw all this in the freezer, this is 1 week supply.

Every morning wake up cook rice and eggs. Take out former stuff from freezer make warm, tapau with the rice and eggs and eat for half day. Dinner come home cook.

SUSChosen one
post Nov 17 2014, 11:04 PM

217 posts

i live in a hostel in local malaysia university
there is no kitchen and refrigerator
SUSya u mad
post Nov 18 2014, 04:01 AM

96 posts

buy a mini fridge, electronic cooker and a pan

problem solved
Armesh
post Nov 18 2014, 07:06 AM

1,493 posts

U will have to cook and measure what u eat if u wanna get anywhere.

SUSChosen one
post Nov 18 2014, 08:57 AM

217 posts

i got some idea
i can get packs of 10x4 dutch lady low fat milk, some oats cereal and eggs in the morning
for lunch there is a chinese nais campur which provide quite a range of mutton chicken and fish
but before workout i have no idea what to eat as well as for dinner
degraw1993
post Nov 18 2014, 02:22 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 18 2014, 08:57 AM)
i got some idea
i can get packs of 10x4 dutch lady low fat milk, some oats cereal and eggs in the morning
for lunch there is a chinese nais campur which provide quite a range of mutton chicken and fish
before workout have a cup of black coffee and a banana. for dinner make that same as your lunch
Manlet
post Nov 19 2014, 04:37 PM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

grilled everything

and roasted everything

i assume your canteen sells chicken rice ? and arabic / mamak food

sure got grilled chicken or roasted chicken
razorboy
post Nov 20 2014, 09:01 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 18 2014, 08:57 AM)
i got some idea
Since you are in such a predicament that you can't cook and store food,

1) Protein Powders - All you need is water and a water bottle.
2) Bread and canned tuna - No elaboration needed
3) Oatmeal - Hot Water and voila ! Heck you can even add into your protein powder
4) Canned food (Baked beans) - Buy a pack of white rice from mamak/chinese stall/malays tall and add your baked beans
5) Learn to estimate macros. Using your palm/hand/fist to guestimate.

Flexible dieting is about being flexible with your food intake. Have 50-70% of your calories/macros tracked via options above and the rest of it just eat out. Portion control - eyeball your food - use your hands to guestimate. Being flexible with your food intake doesn't only mean having zero food choice restrictions, it also means to be flexible with the way you track them and how much you take in. What's the point of following flexible dieting if you restrict yourself so much on following your set macros and you end up only eating from home?

Bodybuilding/Powerlifting/Lifting in general is a long term thing, as long as you don't splurge on your food intake and have it somewhat tracked, you should be good to go.

Don't take my tone wrongly in the reply above, I'm just trying to make a point. smile.gif Chances are it'll come out differently from how I intended it to be.

This post has been edited by razorboy: Nov 20 2014, 09:15 AM
SUSChosen one
post Nov 20 2014, 10:51 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Nov 20 2014, 10:01 AM)
Since you are in such a predicament that you can't cook and store food,

1) Protein Powders - All you need is water and a water bottle.
2) Bread and canned tuna - No elaboration needed
3) Oatmeal - Hot Water and voila ! Heck you can even add into your protein powder
4) Canned food (Baked beans) - Buy a pack of white rice from mamak/chinese stall/malays tall and add your baked beans
5) Learn to estimate macros. Using your palm/hand/fist to guestimate.

Flexible dieting is about being flexible with your food intake. Have 50-70% of your calories/macros tracked via options above and the rest of it just eat out. Portion control - eyeball your food - use your hands to guestimate. Being flexible with your food intake doesn't only mean having zero food choice restrictions, it also means to be flexible with the way you track them and how much you take in. What's the point of following flexible dieting if you restrict yourself so much on following your set macros and you end up only eating from home?

Bodybuilding/Powerlifting/Lifting in general is a long term thing, as long as you don't splurge on your food intake and have it somewhat tracked, you should be good to go.

Don't take my tone wrongly in the reply above, I'm just trying to make a point.  smile.gif Chances are it'll come out differently from how I intended it to be.
no it's good to have your advice, i do take it seriously
GameFr3ak
post Nov 24 2014, 11:09 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 17 2014, 09:07 PM)
Hi, my name is Chris

spaghetti, eggs, dairy, oats, your preferred protein.. prepare your own. If you eat out, it'll be difficult for you to calculate your intake. Oh, don't forget your fruits and vegetables.

And you don't need to eat bland salad or steam chicken breasts everyday.. buy your spices to flavor up your meals to make it more delicious..
GameFr3ak
post Nov 24 2014, 11:14 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Nov 17 2014, 11:04 PM)
i live in a hostel in local malaysia university
there is no kitchen and refrigerator
ah geez..... in that case, buy your preferred whey, stock up oats, muesli and those cereal with nuts in them. I usually just weight everything in a bowl and add water. Main flavor is from the whey protein.

For your meals from the canteen, not much you can do other than eyeballing the amount. But you can't really calculate properly without knowing the preparation methods or what ingredients are used.

If you're an ectomorph then it's probably okay. If not, then it'll be very difficult to gauge your intake.

0.0170sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:40 PM