24 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

TSuzairi
post Oct 12 2006, 04:02 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Oct 12 2006, 10:20 AM)
Where did you specifically found them? Which forest? I work in cyberjaya but never noticed one.
They are all over cyberjaya, just that we dont know when they are coming out. There's lots of forest here.

Btw, this is my snapper.

Hunter.

Predator(Big) & Hunter(Small).
TSuzairi
post Oct 12 2006, 05:17 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ Oct 12 2006, 04:26 PM)
Hi guys...thanks all for your kind comments. My pair of Alligator Snapping turtle is still small, around 6 incher. Havent sex them though. Not sure its sex.
Big snapper you got there Uzairi smile.gif
You have a pair too ? Nice man. Both 6 inchers ? My snapper is quite big and its hard to handle him. Damn aggressive. sweat.gif Currently im finding a mate for him, hard to find nowdays. doh.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 12 2006, 08:11 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Yup, mostly in batches because they kept it to stabilize the price and by doing that they can get a higher price when introduced to the market.
TSuzairi
post Oct 12 2006, 08:19 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Woah, they kept on stocking new stuff eh. Nice.. wanting to go for quite some time. brows.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 13 2006, 12:49 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Oct 12 2006, 10:06 PM)
did u all noticed that they have a tortoise poster with lots of tortoise. At first i ask got sell or not, they say no. Later they told me rm40 for that old one. I think they desperate to sell something

i think for those who wants big tortoise for back yard, here's your chance. Go grab those giants. Really a beauty. To see the size really can't imagine my titan able to grow that big
They sell all hiked price stuff, coz need to cover they high rent.

Those giants ? U mean the Burmese mountain tortoise ? Ive seen them, i would love to have them. thumbup.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 13 2006, 11:26 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Oct 13 2006, 10:01 AM)
those giant... is not the burmese... the burmese is like 1/4 of the new giant's size

the new adults they have is really huge  flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif
it's confirm a ally, not the common one
i think it is around 14 to 18cm lar... didn't have ruler tat time
looks quite nice

the staff said allly is better cause they only eat fish, but the common snapper will eat any meat  shocking.gif

when i asked got ally hatchling, the guy said now not season yet, but if want they can try to find
Sure or not ? Coz there's juvenile and adult burmese mountain. Ask them, if they say emys emys then its a burmese mountain tortoise. Ally snapper also eat any meat if u teach them from baby. They actually have hatchling ally in stock, just wanna wait till lots of ppl searching for them and they will stock in the shop and hike the price. Usual tactics. whistling.gif

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Oct 13 2006, 10:12 AM)
RM450 for 18cm ally is good price or not?
Depends on the quality of the specimens. If u tak tahan u can take it, if not u can wait as there's gonna be more choices later on.
TSuzairi
post Oct 13 2006, 03:32 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Oct 13 2006, 11:33 AM)
ah.... cause i thought it is sulcata

this is the 5 new giants i m talking about

Manouria emys

They are more black compared to a sulcata. That's why i wonder. laugh.gif

Dont worry about titan, he's sure gonna be fine.
TSuzairi
post Oct 13 2006, 08:51 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(Enferno @ Oct 13 2006, 06:24 PM)
wanna ask how much for a star??.. since u guys said it is for beginner level.. after looking through this thread, makes me wan to have some of this baby.. HEHE...

where u guys recommend me to buy.. i stay in PJ area?
For starters, its better to get a RES first. Then move on to a higher level. U need to gain experience and learn how to pet them. U wouldnt want a dead tortoise do u ? rolleyes.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 14 2006, 07:29 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(funkychips @ Oct 13 2006, 09:17 PM)
I hate the fact that almost every kid and occasional young adult end up with a dead RES on their first to second attempt. but then again, a sacrifice is a just cause if the owner is willing to learn from mistakes and not just let it die like that without knowing the cause.  unsure.gif
Yup, sad to hear that too. But its better to lose a RES rather than a Star Tortoise rite ?

QUOTE(funkychips @ Oct 13 2006, 09:54 PM)
IMHO a starter tortoise for me would be a star. but there are other hardier species of tortoise from our native country though they would be rare/protected. this is my two cents, but uzairi our tort/turtle master is in a better position to answer this hehe.... biggrin.gif
You can get an Elongated Tortoise besides Star Tortoise. Not nice as Star but u can learn few stuff about tortoise and then move on to Star. Price is cheaper and they are not as fussy as Star Tortoise. smile.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 14 2006, 01:22 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Oct 14 2006, 09:19 AM)
it is actually not hard to keep a star... just take note of these few things:-

1) don't  buy a sick tortoise
2) if you don't have much experience, don't get a too small hatchling
3) you have to keep them in a dry environment
4) make sure your room tempreture is 28c to 30c
5) you can get a basking lamp to create a hot spot for them 31c to 35c
6) feed them proper food daily (e.g. sawi)
7) twice a week, give them some calcium supplement
8) once a week, give them some vitamin supplement
9) twice a week, soak them in luke warm water
10) sun bath them whenever you are available. best time 9am to 10am. if you can't sun bath them, you can get a UVB lamp
11) make sure there are no predator around

last but not least, give some 'love' to em...  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Yeah, actually its okay to get a Star but half of them suffer from dead tortoise. Some because lack of care and some died because of metabolic bone desease and this one cant be avoided. So if u dare to take the risk, why not aite ? rolleyes.gif

And guys, my fren just said they have chitra chitra in stock, Rm650 for 4-5 inch specimen. Anybody interested ? Some of Chitra-Chitra's pic. --> http://www.chelonia.org/chitra_gallery.htm

This post has been edited by uzairi: Oct 14 2006, 01:24 PM
TSuzairi
post Oct 14 2006, 08:21 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Oct 14 2006, 03:46 PM)
What is chitra chitra? A type of softshell? Wahh....RM650...not cheap ohh ! Anyway thanks for the info smile.gif wink.gif Anywhere we can see it? I mean in real, not pictures. Thanks.
Kamekame.
Narrow headed giant softshell. They are very big softshells, and they are rare here.

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Oct 14 2006, 05:15 PM)
ekiddie, i have none turtle now! Beginner here and am hunting for Asian Leaf turtle so waiting for good news from Uzairi and Eujax and anyone here who come by any. I used to have some RES when young but all long gone dead sad.gif too little dont know how to take care. Anyway thanks for explaining bout the softshell  icon_rolleyes.gif
Kamekame.
Hard to find lah bro, coz all the stocks are not healthy.

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 14 2006, 06:15 PM)
where u stay kamekame? if u go to petsmore carrefour kepong... there's 3 leafs there... u might be interested... as i see it's nice... RM88/pc... go see see lar...

wink.gif
He wanted to get Asian Leaf, not Black Breasted Leaf like what u mentioned.
TSuzairi
post Oct 14 2006, 09:20 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Not sure about those big ones, but the ones from my frens are CB and they just measures around 4-5 inch. Yeah, they tend to grow faster while in captivity because of the constant food supply all year long.
TSuzairi
post Oct 14 2006, 10:42 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Maybe they just put i think. Hun, any news about the new Tack Leong shop ?
TSuzairi
post Oct 15 2006, 12:51 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

U can find them at Jalan Pasar, from Cheras on da way to Times Square. Or u wanna have a look at mine first ?
TSuzairi
post Oct 15 2006, 02:13 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Along the roadside.

Im a bit pissed rite now coz the Malayan Flatshell Turtle shell that ive been trying to preserve went missing. And i find the shell were crush into pieces, maybe some dogs just come in and take it away. I wonder how smart was the dog since there's another 2 shell beside the shell. Or maybe it was my grandma or my dad who threw it outside. mad.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 15 2006, 08:27 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

No pictures for now, just came back for holiday. A bit busy and dman tiring lah in the fasting month. sweat.gif Will take pictures maybe tomorrow. Need to clean the house and prepare for the Hari Raya. Actually, i placed my Asian Leaf inside a plastic tank. Those that u can bought at Tesco or Carrefour. Nothing special tho. Hehe.. Only my Asian Giant Pond Turtle and Spiny Hill Turtle i place on my garden since they are too bog for the plastic container. My grandma already bising about the turtles. laugh.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 16 2006, 12:33 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Pardon me, but it looks like a Flatshell more than an Asian Leaf to me.
TSuzairi
post Oct 16 2006, 02:50 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

They do shape like a leaf. Notice the back of the carapace ? About the snails, im not sure but i only see it with underwater plants sometimes. Last time when i was small i always see those snails at longkang. A kampung type of longkang. Back then i like to catch fishes at the longkang. laugh.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 17 2006, 12:06 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Oct 16 2006, 04:24 PM)
need some advise, i was given a star tortoise which its front fin was badly bitten by rats...SIGH.. Dont ask me how it happen. It could hardly crawl, I have been using iodin to kill the infection and its progressing slowly. Would like to know its there any other way to revive the little fellow ?
U can try cleaning the wound with dettol, let it dry then u can use Minyak Gamat( Sea Cucumber). That's the best way for me. The would heal quickly compared using normal medicine i think since Sea Cucumber is the best healing medicine u can find.

If ure not sure what to do just bring it to the vet.

QUOTE(EuJax @ Oct 16 2006, 11:39 PM)
Uzairi, that is a Dentata. Platynota looks like this...compare it smile.gif Anyway Chitra Chitra is cute but space is the major concern. It gets really huge!

kamekame, maybe you should try look for some other turtles maybe Malayan Box? Since Asian Leaf is a bit rare right now. Just my 2c.
Yeah, but it looks like a juvenile Playnota. That's why im wondering. Since the head is different also from mine.

kamekame, the asian leaf is very rare now. I think u can get the malayan boxie first. That's a great turtle too.
TSuzairi
post Oct 17 2006, 01:40 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Irene aquarium eh ? I heard they got quite a number of species. Wanted to go but no chances to go lah. Huhuhu..

24 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0463sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:43 PM