9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

camillenoir
post Dec 26 2007, 11:03 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Dec 26 2007, 10:03 PM)
Hmm.. hmm.gif but i got put UVB for them smile.gif
soft shells often happen when stars cannot absorb calcium. in your case, since you said the stars have access to uvb (which helps to produce D3, which in turn helps calcium assimilation), most probably the stars don't have enough calcium in the first place.

please also note that uvb outputs on such lights are reduced over time, so it could also be a factor.

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Dec 26 2007, 10:49 PM)
I caught my star tortoise carrying bits of food away in its mouth to eat in its corner (It seems to monopolise the far right corner of the terrarium) lately, mainly the tomatoes laugh.gif
check on the 1st page on this thread for infos on suitable diet. tomatoes and other fruits are not meant to be staple food for stars.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Dec 26 2007, 11:05 PM
camillenoir
post Dec 27 2007, 09:27 AM

373 posts

no prob smile.gif

----------------------------------------------------------------------

my babies are getting bigger and prettier nowadays rolleyes.gif .

true cbb coming in 5 years time wink.gif
camillenoir
post Dec 27 2007, 03:51 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(skysherly @ Dec 27 2007, 02:23 PM)
yea, my Sabri and Hybrix getting bigger each day
Sabri is more active than Hybrix
Thought of want to get something for them to play with
any good idea?
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
they don't actually play like kittens or puppies.

however, if you wish to entice them into being more active, you could put some fish for them to chase around

(that is, if the aquarium is bigger and had water deep enough to accommodate fish)

camillenoir
post Dec 27 2007, 04:47 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Dec 27 2007, 04:10 PM)
btw i thought elongated are the easiest tortoise to feed since they practically eat almost everything you feed them?
almost... however note that elongated are also very smart LOL... they show a complex preference over things.

a simple experiment can be done involving several types of fruits, including ripe, unripe and over-ripe. do that and tell me the results smile.gif

(spoiler: they might eat all after all thumbup.gif )
camillenoir
post Dec 27 2007, 05:19 PM

373 posts

it would take a year or two before they can catch normal size feeder fish, why not?

in fact, if exposed to fishes at young ages (in which they cannot catch as they are still too small/slow for the fish) they might as well recognize fish as a non-food item!!!

waiting for the RES to get bigger before introducing them to fish is more likely to cause them to be fish eaters LOL..

(btw, fish is their natural food in the wild. so the decision is entirely up to you)

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Dec 27 2007, 05:21 PM
camillenoir
post Dec 27 2007, 06:56 PM

373 posts

5" for a male is quite big already, sub-adult size, not small..
camillenoir
post Dec 28 2007, 04:03 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(andrewnib @ Dec 28 2007, 10:38 AM)
3) Any Sulcata expert here? i need a lot of advise especially on their diet. Currently i feed it with sawi and sweet potato leave only. also i let it out to graze a bit on the grass (Cow Grass) ...As i read from the net, all the mentioned suitable food for sulcata seems hard to find . .  cry.gif
timothy hay is not hard to find...

camillenoir
post Dec 28 2007, 09:00 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Dec 28 2007, 08:20 PM)
in garaje sale there is a chin breeder selling timothy hay..i wonder do those suit u?but those are dried type..
LOL bro... hay means dried grass, of course it's dry! tongue.gif

besides timothy, i think alfalfa also do find (maybe better, i'm too lazy to check the nutrient contents), just ensure that the stuff given are not sprouts (too high protein).

also i let it out to graze a bit on the grass (Cow Grass)

that is good food also. you can either let them graze or cut the grass for them to eat.

grass = good thumbup.gif , just make sure theres no pesticides/chemicals/etc.

camillenoir
post Jan 2 2008, 05:17 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Dec 31 2007, 02:02 PM)
where cn get this kind of turtles?im planing on getting one like ures in the pic.. is it a land turtle or water or both? thx ;D
QUOTE(mamba @ Dec 31 2007, 05:00 PM)
wait till d owner suxxess in his breeding project.i just baby sit them for a while. smile.gif
nk ke? brows.gif tongue.gif
QUOTE(inexsis @ Dec 31 2007, 08:48 PM)
baper ringgit for tiz kind of turtles ?
how much for their hatching or standard size for begginer ?
QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 31 2007, 08:51 PM)
That one i have to wait for the owner to come and answer this. biggrin.gif
wehh, i'm back smile.gif

more pictures...

initial ones..

patterns on neck and legs

these are probably Cyclemys tcheponensis - (northern) striped-neck leaf turtle.

anyhow sorry, not for sale and i don't think they can be found in any standard market in this country.

all i got is from one specific locality so breeding them is quite important to me.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 2 2008, 08:14 PM
camillenoir
post Jan 2 2008, 11:48 PM

373 posts

cute little thing, ain't?

anybody wanna guess what species that is?

(looking through picture property is useless LOL)
camillenoir
post Jan 7 2008, 12:11 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(jimmynhs @ Jan 7 2008, 09:39 AM)
Thanks for the prompt reply..
hehehe...I took the photo from that website lo... sweat.gif
but i m sure the turtle i saw on that shop was the same species..
would post the pictures when i bought the turtle..
Any special requirement for such turtle?
Do they require sand as substrate?
i think you are getting albino Pelodiscus sinensis (Chinese soft shell)..

safer to get bigger specimens as hatchlings are very fragile, furthermore they are albino and can't bask that much..

camillenoir
post Jan 7 2008, 04:27 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(jimmynhs @ Jan 7 2008, 03:00 PM)
Thanks camillenoir..

The 1 i m getting is around 6' in carapace length...does it still considered as hacthling at such length?
does that means i do not need the basking light..
LOL.. i always forgot most people keep their turtles inside and not outside, under the sun tongue.gif

for that particular turtle, it still need the basking light (for the reasons samperth explained)

however, being albino, it cannot be exposed to UV as much as their normal counterpart (less resistance towards radiation, which could lead to skin cancer/tumor, etc etc).

maybe you can just use a regular bulb and supplement it with D3, no need for uvb bulb.

you should also inquire the previous owner/seller on his husbandry technique.

camillenoir
post Jan 7 2008, 07:59 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Jan 7 2008, 12:00 PM)
the pics i promise.... laugh.gif

1. Biolife Calcium - rm17 -recommended by uzairi
2. Chipsi Extra Terrarium Litter 10 liter - rm22.80(after discount) - not recommended by anyone(saje2 nak beli tongue.gif)
3. Exo Terra feeding dish medium - rm10.80 - recommended by all
4. Exo Terra rep-o-meter Hygrometer - rm9.00 - recommended by uzairi
5. plain recycle paper pellet in toby pet section - rm10 x 2 = rm20 - not recommended by anyone (wrong purchase)
6. Exo Terra Glow Ligt Medium - rm47.50 - recommended by everyone
7. Reptical 170g - rm28.00 - recommended by uzairi
8. Sera Repticlean 15ml - rm22.90 - recommended by uzairi
9. Exo Terra rept-o-met - rm6.90 - recommended by uzairi
10. Reptivite 200g - rm36.00 - recommended by uzairi
11. breeder select cat litter recycled paper pellet 6liter - rm22 - recommended by uzairi

= RM242.90

whistling.gif  whistling.gif

thumbup.gif
bro, some major redundancy in terms of supplements LOL!

biolife+reptivite+reptical can be substituted with pellets (add small amount to food each meal). better start small and slowly expand, otherwise might burn out.

that extra money should had been allocated for the tortoise smile.gif

p/s: until now i haven't got a single glow light fixing, expensive wink.gif
camillenoir
post Jan 7 2008, 10:05 PM

373 posts

oo nice..

don't forget about the basking spot.
camillenoir
post Jan 8 2008, 02:25 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Jan 7 2008, 11:45 PM)
can u explain more bout red color ? and bout the orange color.......
xpaham sgt..... laugh.gif

btw....those 3 supplement, uzairi bg i contoh n i salah paham n i tot i kne beli tige2. laugh.gif
thats y i beli tige2  doh.gif
lol... try comparing the contents of those 3 and you'll understand what i mean.

camillenoir
post Jan 15 2008, 06:52 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:19 PM)
Hi!!
newbie coming... smile.gif
actually I din really interested in turtle.. but since my dad said turtle is good for our family.. he started his hobby raring turtle... since we failed to rare birds n monkey.. lol cuz the bird learn how to speak "monkey" language so dad gave them all away... and now back with his turtle...

I had 8 turtles at home.. dunno wad kind of turtle, all I know is they're all black n big.. 2 big turtle, as I said it BIG cuz it's really big!! lol the size is like a big rock.. and because it's too big when the female turtle pregnant my dad put her in diff place and she gave birth to lots of small turtle.. since it's too much n our house couldnt take it all, my dad rare the mother n babies in diff place n only took back home 1 baby with white pattern on it.. *I havent seen it thou* and the others 6 turtles not as big as the 2 fella but for me is consider big.. will ask my dad to take a pict of his turtle...

as for me, who study overseas here.. I rare a pairs of male turtle here... I think it's call terrapin... at first I told the buyer that I wan to buy tortoise which can't get bigger... but I think this 2 fellow is really grown big.. -.-
and now  I put them on small bucket.. cuz as they grown bigger, the water easily get dirty as it seem lot's of their skin peeled on the water?

will upload my turtles pict later.. ^^
hi, welcome to the family. really nice to have another enthusiast here.

however, there are several things to note:

i) turtles don't give birth.. please check with your dad to clear this.

ii) the turtles with you now are in serious need of a basking spot. lack of with is probably the reason for problems on their shell. since you said they are placed in bucket, i assume that they lack both basking spot and filter. (i might be wrong. i.e 'skin peeled on water' could as well mean they are shedding, however since i have no idea what specie that is so i'll leave it at that for the time being)

anyway, please share pics of your turtles. please also state their measurement tongue.gif

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 15 2008, 06:53 PM
camillenoir
post Jan 16 2008, 06:44 PM

373 posts

the price is a bit cheaper over here sam. if i recall correctly 2-3 inches are offered at rm250 at a petshop a couple of years ago, nowadays 3-4 inch goes 750.

pet safari sold a big *ss specimen for rm900 a couple of months ago, same size with jalan pasar's rm1388 specimens (seasonal reasons maybe)

on the contrary, a seller on adpost is selling rm10k for 12"... last time i was offered a 10" for 1k, the extra 2" must've cost somebody 9k LMAO!

camillenoir
post Jan 18 2008, 09:09 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(mamba @ Jan 17 2008, 12:35 PM)
0o0o...i know dat shop..close to the school eh?got croc and big ally also right?

p/s: pls..elongata keepers POST PIC of urs!!! tongue.gif
i already posted some.... back then.

more pics have to wait till next week

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 18 2008, 09:10 AM
camillenoir
post Jan 19 2008, 12:24 AM

373 posts

those are cocopeat/neopith; free of pathogenic bacteria, absorbs waste and takes a long while to stink.

but of course got to spot clean poops and change the medium after a while.

imho, a great medium for tropical species kept indoors.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 19 2008, 12:24 AM
camillenoir
post Jan 21 2008, 01:04 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Jan 20 2008, 01:57 AM)
izzit @selayang baru?

neway... what turtle behind it's head got 2 dotted round mark which makes de turtle looks like a snake head? i saw tat's nice... hehe...  brows.gif 

wink.gif
you're probably referring to 4-eye turtle (Sacalia quadrocellata), many stocks just came in.

note: wait for them to fully extend their neck.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0478sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:47 PM