LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!

igster
post Dec 14 2014, 02:16 PM

Hi there,

First congratulations on the new thread. I've read a number of the other threads, .... You guys are amazing. Thank you, and kudos.

I was wondering if some of the sifus, gurus and sages here might share their thoughts on this:

I do at least one 700 - 800km trip a month, which includes driving at 110 or a weeee bit faster. On at least one recent occasion, during emergency brake, my brakes faded and then the wheels locked, even though it wasn't a case of simply slamming onto the breaks - it was more like pump-release-pump-release-pump-release-omg-puuuump.

I've had the brakes checked, and they're not the best. So, I'm thinking of upgrading the pads to Bendix MT Kings. I'm told that my rotors we a bit thin, so this would be a good juncture to have them replaced.

I'm wondering if it's wiser to retain the current brake set up with standard size but aftermarket rotors (Maybe Brembo standard/OEM) with the Bendix pads

Or

Mod in larger disks (RVR, Perdana, Waja, etc.) as use their corresponding parts.

I'm concerned more about stopping the car from moving forward than stopping the wheels from spinning. ....especially since my other half does drive this car - Iswara Aeroback 12v, and she tends to drive fast as well.

Oh, tyres are C Drive 2, and are still in pretty good condition.
igster
post Dec 14 2014, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(GMS FearLess @ Dec 14 2014, 04:13 PM)

brake booster still original or have been change other models?
Hey there Fearless, the brake booster is still original I believe. Bought the car in September, so I don't have records to review (or the expertise to know).
igster
post Dec 14 2014, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(GMS FearLess @ Dec 14 2014, 04:40 PM)
if you want good braking...booster convert to nissan cefiro models brake booster...that will improve stopping power.....as setting i use is slotted and cross drill disk by proride for front...rear still drum brakes.....i have done one sets of waja caliper fitted into saga knucle....but not time to install yet.....actually brake release brake release for unnesseary must avoided....use engine power instead...
Thanks for the pointer about the Cefiro brake booster, Fearless. I'll definitely look into that.

So, you're using Iswara standard size rotors with larger Waja calipers? That's interesting.

I use both threshold braking as well as engine braking as a practice. Sometimes individually and sometimes together depending on the situation and what my instincts tell me is right at a given moment. Right now, my aim would be to cut down as many variables for failure - either mechanical or personal.

(Engine braking is really hard on the engine and gearbox though, I feel - but then again, if you need to stop, you need to stop)

This post has been edited by igster: Dec 14 2014, 05:05 PM
igster
post Dec 15 2014, 12:48 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 15 2014, 02:24 AM)
did the wheels locked and tire skid? or just simply not braking and the wheels are just spinning as normal and your vehicle not slowing down as intended?

changed brake fluid? i tend to change mine very early, as soon as it's in a bit of a teh ais color and they are gone.
done brake fluid flushing/bleeding as well to ensure the system have no contaminants?

personally i find the stock braking on the iswara being rather adequate with decent performance brake pads.
anything more it's way too easy to lock the wheels and our car have no ABS - good luck if you spin out.

my brake pads to go are the EBC greenstuff smile.gif
and i personally import them from UK as local distributor (pentagon) sells them at a hefty price sad.gif
Hi Quaza, thanks for responding.

The wheels did eventually lock and the tyres skidded at that point. Thankfully, there was no contact - it was inches away.

I'm likely to change, flush and bleed my fluid real soon, possibly this week. My mechanic thinks the fluid is fine tho.

I'm thinking along the same lines as you, that the stock braking being adequate with good performance pads cos there's concerns about locking and spinning. I'm wondering if that be the case, whether stock or original rotors would do or better quality aftermarket standard rotors would be better.

Greenstuff? That stuff costs an arm and a leg, and a nose, an ear, four fingers.......
igster
post Mar 7 2015, 11:52 PM

Hi Guys,

I was wondering if someone could help.

1. I found a 4-inch swimming pool in the left rear panel next to the boot of my Iswara A/B. Would anyone have a clue where the water might have come from? (It's possible that rain may not be the cause, but a power wash)

2. I’ve bought a new weatherstrip for the boot. I’ve pulled out the old one and cleaned the seam properly. I’m just not sure if the new seal needs to be glued or simply pressed into place.

3. The boot weatherstrip aside, are there an other seals or gaskets that are known to let in water?

4. The metal strip that sits on top of the rear windscreen is a bit loose, and this seems to be because of whatever material that it sat on prior is either gone or crumbling. Anyone know what material this might be (or be called) and how to fix this issue?

5. Does anyone have any advice on how to remove an iswara A/B Spoiler, and have any suggestions on having it painted without it peeling after awhile?

6. Sometimes, usually when cold but not always. I feel that the low end seems hesitant - reluctant and almost feels like it pulls back upon acceleration. The car (1.3 iswara Aeroback) struggles to accelerate away, which I think can be pretty dangerous. Any thoughts as to why this might be?

I’m considering having my carb serviced. Currently, the carburetor has been de-carbonised and the spark plugs are new. If servicing is the way to go, does anyone have thoughts about using 4G15 jets in the 1.3 carb?

Many many thanks,
igster

This post has been edited by igster: Mar 8 2015, 01:09 AM
igster
post Mar 8 2015, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 15 2014, 02:53 PM)
too sudden stop?
if require better tire grip/traction, may consider something else other than c drive2.
am using c drive 2 and to be honest it isn't really that suitable for spirited driving however for *most situations* it is adequate, decent comfort and some lower rolling resistance (LRR) also.

or, anticipate better/keep distance. or just having better "Aku brake sendiri" abs laugh.gif
which comes to your brake fluid, if it's contaminated (oxidized, having air pockets etc) it will respond very poorly and especially when you mentioned "faded", which may not be brake fade and it's just the calipers/servo jammed/unresponsive.

do check your caliper checked as well or get it serviced.

As for rotors, i used to have cross drilled/slotted, they eventually cracked at the drills.
Personally they don't offer that much more performance improvements over solid disc, however with just the words of "performance"/"motorsports", they are easily 3 times the pricing of normal rotor replacements just to have some drills/slots added.
They do however have less structural rigidity (due to the cross drill throughs), and no matter how tame (or aggressive) you drive they will eventually develop hairline cracks from the drilled holes. Just a matter of time/luck.
Solid discs will obviously fare better durability since it's a solid one piece, not even vents for our iswara stock rotors anyways.

comparatively, i was on IMP x drilled/slotted rotors and they were rm300+ almost rm400, while the current Shoji oem/aftermarket replacement was like rm110-150 ish iinm.
If your current stock rotors are thinned out/very old (maybe can find a mechanic can have thickness measured or just seek second/multiple opinions from various workshops), then can consider a cheap brembo(not italy ya, just cheapo china oem ones lol)/trw/shoji stock (solid disc) replacement.

i gotten my ebc greenstuff  for iswara at £46.33 (GBP) pricing.
obviously it is much more expensive than aftermarket replacements like Bosch/Bendix, like 3-5 times the price assuming they are around rm60-100 ish, but for something like brakes, i prefer not to compromise.
Not to mention i have a preference to lower brake dust pads, if that's not a requirement, can consider something cheaper like EBC ultimax (or some called black).
Hey Quaza, very sorry for the really tardy response. Been dealing with several crises all at once - including someone trying to steal the car!!!

I don’t do spirited driving too often - I promise and I’m not in denial (at least I don’t think i am). I’m more of a smooth drive enjoyer, if you know what i mean. I do a lot of long distance driving tho, usually at the speed limit, but I have tested the car out on quiet stretches to be honest.

The C-drive 2s seem alright, at least for now, and they’re pretty decent on wet too. LOUD AS HELL tho. Sigh.

Since the last post, I’ve checked the callipers, changed the rotors and upgraded to high performance brake pads (Bendix Mountain Kings), and the braking is much much better.

Hey you’ve spent a pretty penny on your ride. She must drive (and brake) like a dream! smile.gif

igster

PS. Thanks heaps for the advice

igster
post Mar 8 2015, 02:29 AM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 23 2015, 07:22 PM)
Yours a sedan or hatchback?

Possible source of the sound could be from the air vents which are holes in the panel to allow  suction of stale air to the outside using venturi effect. These holes bypass the door seals.

Do a test by temporarily taping up these holes and see if got any difference. After that remove the covering tapes as these holes are important for ventilation.
Hi Albert,

Does that mean that there's no way to eliminate the wind noise if it indeed comes from the (shown) air vents?
igster
post Mar 8 2015, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 8 2015, 11:12 AM)
I am not sure, as I have not tried modifying the venting devices. I noticed that the LMST has wind noise close to the vents area and that the vents are more visible though the door gap than the Iswara. The Iswara do not have this kind of noise, so I suspect the vents are the culprit.

Regarding the swimming pool in the boot, other than the suspected windscreen seal and
boot weather seal, another culprit is the tail-lights seal. I have the same swimming pool and I did 2 things, and the results are so far so good. 

1) For the weather seal I washed off the dirt and grime and applied grease in the mating
groove to stop capillary action. (The seal do not seems to be glued, so I just pressed it in)

2) For the tail-lights I applied silicone sealant over the original seal.
Thanks for the pointers Albert.

I'm trying to cut down the amount of wind noise on the old Iswara A/B, and never thought about the vents. It's something that I'll most definitely check out when I get the chance.

Yea, it's possibly the windscreen seal, which if it is, might (or might) be a real pain in the bum. Does that mean it needs to go into the windscreen shop for a fix?

1). I pulled the rubber, and tho it looks pretty good on the outside, the insides were pretty cruddy - caked with dirt, crumbly and possibly even home to a caterpillar. I've cleaned the channels once pretty well, and am about to do it again to make it as close to perfect as possible.

I've got a new seal, so I'll be putting that in. I've already given it a light cleaning with soap and water by running a scotchbrite pad over it before rinsing it. I'm thinking about using silicone spray instead of grease to counter the capillary action - what do you think?

2). I was thinking that too. I'll probably head over to the hardware store tomorrow to get some silicone sealant - thinking RTV sealant would suffice.
igster
post Mar 8 2015, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 8 2015, 01:26 PM)
Regarding the wind noise, I could be wrong regarding the vents, as there are also other 'holes' in the door (example: the opening for guide attachment between the hinges, or the drain holes at the bottom) itself that could let in noise and transmit thru the plastic trim. Need to do some detective work.....

Hunting for irritating noises has always been a pastime for many car owners ....

I have no experience in the windscreen seal, so unable to comment. Maybe sifus here can help.

I have not tried using silicone spray to stop capillary action, not sure if it will work like
oil/grease....
Hahahaha! Love the pic!

Yea, looks like I'll be discovering noise sourcing for awhile. Aiyahhhh. I guess it would help if there were illustrations or diagrams available for these holes to help the investigation. I'm also looking for some that show the entire tail light section - how to remove them, what goes where, etc.

Well the massive storm in PJ today was probably a good was to see if the new seal works. Answer is .....maybe. There seems to be less water (very much less) in the cavities next to the boot, however the boot was a little wet. This may or may not be caused by the new seal not sealing properly tho ...looks like it's going to be a really long discovery period.
igster
post Mar 8 2015, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 8 2015, 01:26 PM)
I have not tried using silicone spray to stop capillary action, not sure if it will work like
oil/grease....
I guess I'll need to trial and error this. How often do you grease your strips, btw? (Why did that sound so wrong?) blush.gif
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 06:36 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 8 2015, 04:49 PM)
on your feedback, could you perhaps identify if you have worn bearings or uneven tire wear? because if anything, the c drive 2 aren't loud at all unless maybe they are almost having no treads left which even then i'd still doubt on their nvh since the compound/sidewall is pretty soft.

also, metal kings. not (lol) mountain kings.
I'm not sure if it's the bearings - I've recently changed the front bearings when I replaced the rotors, and don't get the normal "whop-whop" sound of worn bearings on the rear. Tyre wear seems even - I did a thorough check after the rotor replacement when doing alignment, balancing and rotation. Side story: I had to literally force the wheel guys to put the better threaded tyres at the back.

I'd say that I probably have 30% threads left, maybe a little more. I'll need to do a more definitive measurement though by putting a ruler to it. Maybe the noise is just cos the tin can is just LOUUUUUDDDD!!!

Oh, I know it's metal kings, but I've noon idea why I keep referring to them as mountain kings, over and over again. Hahahahha
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 9 2015, 10:46 AM)
Regarding the wind noise, another possibility is the the window glass pane may not have perfect fit with the plastic guides, so there might be a gap. Just my guess only, happy hunting...

On the moisture still getting into your boot, try to look for the moisture trails, to have some clue whether it is from the windscreen seal, boot lining seal, or the tail-lights seal.

The hatchback tail-light unit is held by 3 screws, but the adhesive seal will be very strong and need to use force to separate from the bodywork.

So far my boot seal is ok, so I did not open again for regreasing. This is a lesson I learned : don't disturb the seal if it is working fine, otherwise it will start to leak again. The sealing mechanism is somehow very sensitive and many times I could not get it right.
Thanks for the tip. I guess that's one place that I'll need to look as well - whether there is a gap in the guides.

Yea, I was kinda afraid that the seal might loosen as you say if it's constantly installed and removed. Darn it!

I think I'll leave the tail light assembly investigator after I rectify some of these other more obvious leaks. Mun-mun-lei, as they say.

Discovery trail began today in the heavy downpour this afternoon, so far I can see:

1. Leak at the top and centre of the hatchback (brand new) boot seal. I'm not sure how to rectify this.

2. Water also leaks through a one-finger gap (a factory defect, I understand, from the first owner who is family) between the boot lid on the vertical plane to the right of the latch.

3. There looks like a small leak through the left vertical plane too.

4. Dampness in the cavities adjacent to the boot itself, both on the left and right (between the rear wheel wells and the taillights).

For numbers 2 & 3, I'm thinking maybe glueing (if possible) a cleaned out length of the old weatherstrip on the opposing side - on the lid itself, that would sit as flush as possible with the new/existing boot seal. Thinking this way provide a double seal from opposing directions which might be able to counter and leaks. Any thoughts on this, guys?

Hunting has been frustrating, been someone's gotta do it. wink.gif
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:08 AM)
if there is nothing wrong wit d carb, i dont really suggest to open up d carb. d last time engineer has done very well on d carb. d af ratio tuning r top notch. 4g13 n 4g15 use d same jets. its not interchangable. BUT in racing / motorsport, they do mod it wit bysharpening / make d jet more thin..

d best thing u could to is try to find unker fred n help u to tune for best performance for ur carb.
Really? I was told that there is a slight difference in the jets but they fit in the same carb. Dammit! Heads will Roll!!!!

Thanks, btw. Any idea how I can get in touch with Uncle Fred, and how much tuning might cost?
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 07:16 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 9 2015, 06:53 PM)
well from my C drive 2 experience on 2 cars:

195/60/15 (thick fat plain looking sidewall without rim guard)
2007 nissan sentra - treads almost completely bald, the side inner and outer already have the smaller pattern/tread exhausted, look like big block uhp tires.
still very silent
the catch: Nissan are among the best Japanese car makers when it comes to NVH

195/55/15 (lower profile with rim guard)
1999 Iswara - inner treads completely bald due to excessive camber, and that's because i "automatically" balances it out with my driving  rolleyes.gif
unfortunately that isn't the case since my sister took over and it has taken a toll on the inner treads over time.
still very silent
the catch: the leaking exhaust pretty much out noise anything on the car so...
Ok, it's confirmed then ...my car is a mobile and mechanical vuvuzela!

Is your sister going to change her tyres soon - GST is upon us.
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 07:34 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 9 2015, 07:21 PM)
Sentra changed to bluearth AE01 which i've provided review. (you may search for it on tire sub forum)

Iswara, well still got treads on the mid/outer, inner part too bad la lol
she supposedly drive slow and keep distance anyways, so should be ok.

if the car bang/kena bang she pay la.
she's richer than me anyways whistling.gif
Haha, sounds like the perfect brother-sister deal! rclxms.gif

Hmmm, I'm tossing up of maaaaayyyybe getting new tyres before G-bloody-ST kills us. Would you recommend the Bluearth AE10 over the C Drives? (i haven't read your review ....yet)

This post has been edited by igster: Mar 9 2015, 11:41 PM
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 9 2015, 08:33 PM)
Seems you have multiple leak locations.

The leak at the top and centre of the hatchback  boot seal : pull out the seal at
those areas, do you see moisture inside the groove and on the metal lip that goes into it? If there is, you have capillary action (water seeping and climbing via the contact surface between rubber & metal. Water is a very pesky thing, it can find its way through the nooks and crannies.). Happens even in new seals. Put some grease inside the groove and see if any improvement in the next rainstorm .

The one-finger gap : is the rubber at the gap itself wet ? Your solution might work, no harm trying. And this gap can be the source of your wind noise too?
The car is parked in Thailand (read as "very far away"), so I'll only be able to check on it tomorrow. Great tip tho. Is there any particular type of grease that you'd use?

Here's a shot I took of the droplets earlier ...

Yea, I'll give the double layer a whirl if I can this weekend, whilst the search continues.
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 10:48 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 9 2015, 10:42 PM)
The dep. minister's statement about the cause of accidents and cheapness of the device etc is out-of-touch with the real world situation. It will go the way of the 3 blinking speed indicator lights fixed on top of heavy vehicles many many years back.

And if implemented will mean every vehicle owner have to fork out money to some govt.
approved agency to instal...

And besides the measures you mentioned, JPJ should go undercover and catch those reckless drivers on the road. Those dangerous drivers can cause serious damage even at less than half the 110 km/hr speed, and should face very heavy penalties...
Absolutely! And fix the pot holes and place road signs correctly while they're at it!
igster
post Mar 9 2015, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Mar 9 2015, 08:36 PM)
Go no faster than 110 km/h – government mulling idea of installing speed limiting devices on all vehicles
Here’s something that’ll absolutely delight all you speedsters. Bernama reports that the government is mulling with the idea of installing speed limiting devices in all vehicles, “all” being an all-encompassing term here – think along the lines of passenger cars and motorcycles, not just commercial vehicles.

The proposal – aimed at being a measure to curb the growing number of road accidents and fatalities – would see a maximum speed of 110 km/h defined by the limiter, Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah said.

“Limiting the speed of all vehicles is a suitable method to reduce road accidents in the country,” he said, adding that it would be in line with the law in Malaysia to set a maximum speed limit of 110 km per hour. “If this can be implemented, then we will become the first country in the world to limit vehicle speed car based on speed limits in accordance with national law,” he told reporters at an event.

Abu Bakar said that the speed limiting device was easily available, and it can be installed on all vehicles, including motorcycles and imported cars. “The device, which can limit speed as required, costs less than RM500,” he added.

He said police patrol cars, ambulances, fire engines and vehicles from other appropriate law enforcement agencies would be exempt from these regulations.

==edit==
here is the link from Bernama. 
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v8/bm/ge/ne....php?id=1114920
Does anybody believe Bernama anymore anyway?
igster
post Mar 12 2015, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 10 2015, 01:27 AM)
personally bluearth ae01 is bad on performance.
however nvh and lrr is top notch, so really depends on what you want.
i want it all. World domination, winning lottery ticket and fries to go with it.

(I guess it really depends how "performance" is defined, really - cos you could say that nvh and lrr are "performances" as well, no?)

This post has been edited by igster: Mar 12 2015, 12:04 AM
igster
post Mar 12 2015, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 10 2015, 08:02 AM)
afaik there is no difference. coz it cannot interchangeable.

tuning afaik he had increase to rm70. not sure he still do tuning though. u can watapps him at 0122687273
Thankyouverymuch!

0.1551sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:08 AM