LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!

hawk1lo
post May 19 2016, 08:51 AM

33 posts

i am interested on the CAI too, seems like a simple upgrade then everyone can start with. Or is there any commercially available CAI for LMST?
hawk1lo
post May 20 2016, 09:44 AM

33 posts

Guys my LMST got a problem during starting. Here's the case:

1. Turn key to start engine, engine cranked and start within 1 second.
2. Dies of immediately (around 1 second later) after ignition.
3. Attempt to restart, turn the key, engine cranking sound is normal but engine still does not startup after 5-6 seconds of cranking.
4. Rest, then retry again for Few intervals. By luck after few tries the engine manage to start without really do anything.
5. No problem throughout the day if stop and restart,

So generally this will only occur after my car is parked for a long time (over night) and not every time. I sent my car to service but they did not manage to find anything plus they started my car without problem and did a regular service.

i not sure if battery problem although my voltage meter gave reading from 10-13v plus the cranking sound is normal?

i suspect it could be fuel not reaching during starting, something like a bad fuel pump relay?

hawk1lo
post May 20 2016, 12:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ May 20 2016, 12:49 PM)
Really sounds like the battery. 10+V is too low, it must read at least 11.5V after overnight parking. I think most probably battery. My battery dies  every 2 to 3 years.
Hmm my battery is near to 2 years. Just that i felt if battery prob it shouldn't be able to start easily at first right away. Will look into it, thanks!
hawk1lo
post May 20 2016, 12:59 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(B500 @ May 20 2016, 01:18 PM)
Sounds like a dirty carburetor to me. My lmst faced exactly similar situation as yours. Get the mechanic to clean / service your carb. Also get the fuel filter changed if it hasn't been changed in a while. All should be well after.
Carburetor... hmmm, i thought of it before since i never done any maintenance on it so far. Fuel filter just changed during the service. I think i will ask the workshop to service the carb and see how it goes, thanks !
hawk1lo
post May 20 2016, 05:01 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(B500 @ May 20 2016, 04:14 PM)
No worries! This is a pretty common problem with cars of this age..  Don't really have to take out the entire carb to service also...just open the air filter housing and spray some carb cleaner in there.. should unclog enough dirt for your carb to function normally again during cold startups..
hmm u mean these? i saw at youtube they use those liquid based "Professor" to clean the carbs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WD531eiQV3Y
hawk1lo
post May 20 2016, 05:10 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(B500 @ May 20 2016, 06:05 PM)
Haha no need la. In future, you can just buy Techron Concentrate Plus from Caltex..same effect. But for now, just buy some carb cleaner from any DIY store.. Its called "Carburetor Cleaner" on the bottle, like a WD 40 spray can shape. Or just bring to mechanic if you want a more thorough job.  smile.gif
yeah i brought to mechanic and they told me they can only do basic cleaning, not those thorough one like remove all the parts. i guess that will do, thanks again! Hopefully these few days can see result.
hawk1lo
post May 22 2016, 03:51 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ May 22 2016, 03:48 PM)
Your evaporator, or ''cooling coil'' as the aircon men here call it,
is clogged with dust.

Same as mine. Last replaced two or three years ago.

My fan at number one position is also quite weak.

You have to go to the aircon man, who will take it out for cleaning.

It's just like your room or office aircon, where they have to take out
the coil for cleaning or washing after some time.

When they do that, the gas will also have to be released. He will then
replace your gas, and change your receiver/drier, or filter as they call it,
at the same time.
Weak fan isn't it relate to the blower? i thought was the blower so i removed and clean it up myself (apparently there is some leaves and small branches stuck on it and also dust )
i cant really say the wind later become big tho but my aircond used to have weird sound like struggling to blow when max fan but after cleaning it, no more.
hawk1lo
post May 23 2016, 10:44 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ May 23 2016, 10:27 AM)
You managed to remove the leaves from the blower ?

Good for you, I can't even reach it with the hose of a vacuum cleaner
- it's located high up and behind the glove compartment.

Your fan or blower has to blow past the evaporator in order to
blow the cool air to you.

If the evaporator is dirty, obviously the air can't blow past it.

That's why they call the whole unit ''evaporator/blower''.
owhh yeah now i get it, i guess the evaporator part is harder to reach.. have to ask the shop ppl to clean.
hawk1lo
post Jun 25 2016, 07:28 PM

33 posts

talking about fuel consumption, my 2007 LMST best is 13km/l fully highway and normal drive 10-11km/l. So far mostly on the speed range of 90-100km/h with rpm 3-4k.
think i need to do overhaul or something?
hawk1lo
post Jun 27 2016, 01:56 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jun 26 2016, 01:30 PM)
u drive 90-100km/h , the rpm already hit 3k ? that's sound a bit abnormal . my saga only howering at 2.5-2.75k rpm at the speed of 90-100km/h . whereas my  honda city  2005 110-120km/h , the rpm still below 3k rpm
Hmm after i check 100-110 to hit 3k. well, really cant compare with other car since totally diff engine.
hawk1lo
post Jun 27 2016, 02:33 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(B500 @ Jun 26 2016, 05:31 PM)
My 2007 LMST gives me 13km/l in the city. If fully highway about 14.5km/l.
Fully stock?
hawk1lo
post Jun 27 2016, 02:38 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jun 26 2016, 10:24 AM)
Sounds quite good already.

Guys, any recommendation for the tyre shop to buy tyre? Last time when i go to a reputable tyre shop, it is good, but cost a lot. Looking forward to see other alternatives.
i changed mine last month 185 60 14 Hankook H308 around RM130+ per tyre at tyres Pro Malaysia
hawk1lo
post Jun 28 2016, 11:47 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Jun 27 2016, 04:22 PM)

Changed all 4 or 2? It seems very low price compared to Michelin XM2 like 2 years ago already Rm200+ per piece... Always wanted to try hankook but was rare those days...
Yeah, its the cheapest from their offer, u can fb msg and they will reply with quiote.
I Changed all 4 which includes tubes, balancing and alignment. My fren changed 2 only last time and alignment balancing not included.
I have not much to comment on tyres coz this is the first i change all 4 together. (my previous tyres silverstone Synergy M3 hardened after 2.5 years)
hawk1lo
post Jun 28 2016, 11:51 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jun 27 2016, 04:29 PM)
mine 1 also around 12km to 13km on highway and city mix drive.. 100km/h reads at 3k rpm.. check ur engine if you can get some white smoke or check ur spark plug and check if the tips are wet.. if none of that happen nothing to do with ur engine.. my 2007 lmst only got the valve seal replaced only so far no white smoke or wet spark plug.
if u want to improve ur FC u can use better lub, change ur air filter, and ur spark plug also..
So far no visible white smoke and need to check the spark plug. Noted for the advice, let me see what i can do.
hawk1lo
post Jun 28 2016, 02:03 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Jun 28 2016, 01:30 PM)
1) My saga got rattling sound (picking-up time) when I press accelerator hard sometimes / going up-hill. The noise goes away once reaches high speed. I consulted few mechanics, they said Iswara for this is normal issue but nothing wrong with engine. But I really want the noise to go away. By setting the tuning higher, the prevalence of the sound decreases as well.

2) When turn off the engine time, sometimes my Iswara will like rattle/shake when its  turned off. This also happens frequently if the tuning is set higher. usually will turn aircond off before switching off to prevent it from happening. Mechanic said old car is normal. How so solve?

HELP~
1. I have this similiar problem last time, i believe is call Pinging which the engine combust late/early, i asked my mechanic to advanced the timing a bit (late combustion) and it seems like solved the issue, not sure if sifus ard here agree or not tho.
2. I have this problem too, once the engine rattle/shake when turned off, the next engine startup will be difficult. i believe the problem is incomplete combustion or fuel residue that causes this, thats why when off engine some combustion still going on ?
so far i always switch off aircond and and rev a bit before switching off engine and no problem for now.
hawk1lo
post Jun 29 2016, 02:22 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Jun 28 2016, 10:37 PM)
1) Advanced the timing = tweak the tuning??  confused.gif  My mechanic today just tweaked the tuning, the rattling reduced significantly now. Even if got, not that noticeable as before.
2) but reving before turning off like kinda waste man
1) From engine inside. Mounting just changed last year. Lets say if the car is stationery and you rev it, you wont hear it. Only got sometimes during pick-up/up hill.
2) Thanks for your advice bro, will give it a try
I think Alcyon is correct, retard the spark timing instead of advancing it to compensate for pinging. I asked to combust late but used the wrong term, it's actually retard the spark timing lol.

Rev a bit only...
hawk1lo
post Jun 30 2016, 09:44 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(B500 @ May 20 2016, 06:20 PM)
No worries, mate! Do keep us updated. Hope this solves your issue.  smile.gif
it's more than a month now and no recurring problem till now, cleaning up the carb solved the startup problem, cheers! thumbup.gif
hawk1lo
post Jul 20 2016, 05:35 PM

33 posts

i wanna mod LMST to decrease fuel consumption instead lol
hawk1lo
post Aug 4 2016, 06:51 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2016, 12:58 AM)
thank you sifu  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
my iswara still pending a AFR/carb tune up after engine rebuild/run in sad.gif

not sure when free to go senawang there dyno haha
you tune it yourself? i am wondering if can find someplace to tune it.
hawk1lo
post Aug 8 2016, 11:36 AM

33 posts

Proton iswara aeroback 2000 i think, mileage around 110k
(kena steal, bang, found then sold)

LMST 2007
2nd hand user 160k

0.1054sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:17 AM