30 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 11:57 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Jan 9 2015, 10:48 PM)
cheap brokerage normally comes with a few "special features" as such:

- minimum deposit of X amount
- minimum account value of not less than Y amount
- minimum trade of Z amount per monthly
- extra trade quotes by paying XX amount
- extra screening features by additional YY amount
- extra level II quote just paying ZZ amount

the list can go on and on and longer than my final year thesis
this is good to know. i think for now, i prefer not to be tied up with so many conditions.

i foresee i will not want to miss my usual sleep for months! laugh.gif

"cheap things cannot be good; good things cannot be cheap". tongue.gif

AVFAN
post Jan 10 2015, 04:43 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 10 2015, 04:28 PM)
Hmm... if my memory serves me right, you did mention that you're not the aggressive & usually buy equities & let it mature long term.

If you're not trading 1:1, how do you settle T+3?
i mean... if like me now, not trading, local ib platform albeit higher fees still acceptable, no need to look for others.

if using foreign broker like trademonster, the motive is probably to trade intraday or t+3 since fees are much lower. but if there is no leverage, then there is a cost to the deposit to trade, unless u earn interest on the deposit if it is idle, which i doubt is the case - pls correct me if i am wrong here...? of course, if the plan is not to trade t+3 but trade by paying up, it is not an issue, just the benefit of lower fees whenever u buy or sell.

oh... like to check with u further about trademonster...

when u make deposit, how is it done? do u ibg thru banks? or some third party fund manager? spread? any funds transfer charge?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 10 2015, 08:27 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 12 2015, 10:36 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 12 2015, 09:57 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong but you did mention before that you're using CIMB as your trading platform right? Can you share me the fees structure for both local & foreign trading (US market)? notworthy.gif
sure.

cimb itrade online foreign is limited to sgx, usa, thailand, indo and hongkong. they offer others too but are offline and too costly, no eye see...

sgx <rm100k 0.42% min sgd28; >rm100k 0.275% + some other minor charges. dividends, flat sgd10 per div.
usa flat 0.4% min usd25 + some minor misc charge. div handling charge... waiting for confirmation.

as u can see, it is too costly to trade, so i don't. i optimize by:

.. no trading, just invest
.. buy/sell at amount for each transaction such that brokerage = or >min, i.e. min sgd 6666 or usd6250
.. accumulate div at zero int until amt good enough to buy by itself or combine with fresh funds if ex rate favorable

really, just common sense within the constraints.

the not-too-bad stuff:

.. i dun pay for real time data as i am happy enough with yahoo finance; don't need it every night
.. all bourses transactions in all currencies on one page daily report - easy to monitor
.. one single stocks account and one bank account
.. all holdings in all currencies combined x 2.5 into trading limit - i can trade quite a bit if i want to - maybe some day at some minute
.. exploit currency fluctuations - if foreign currency fav, i buy and use what is sitting there at locked in rate on day of purchase; if unfavorable, i pay with rm at ex rate on due date, i.e. 3 days later
.. ex rate spread reasonable, nothing exorbitant

works well for me at this time but... in time, i may want to trade and will need a cheaper arrangement, albeit more troublesome.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 12 2015, 10:40 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2015, 05:02 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 13 2015, 04:15 PM)
The brokerage fee of 0.42% for KLSE turned me off so I didn't end up getting an account on CIMB iTrade. tongue.gif

BTW, since you're looking for offshore brokerage as well, do checkout robinhood.com. It's quite a new brokerage with $0 commission & still in the invite-only phase. I'm not vouching for it or anything so you might want to read around for feedback & stuffs.
standard... 0.42% for bursa is the normal rate for cds accounts for most local banks incl mbb, hlb, public, i believe.
for priority-premium customers, it is 0.35%, 0.21% if >rm100k per counter, 0.1% intraday.
so, be premium! tongue.gif

for bursa trading, a lot of people prefer to use another type, the nominee account. also available in most banks, brokerage 0.1%, min rm8 for everything. only catch is no leverage, u deposit, trade and pickup 1:1.

robinhood.com... ok, thanks, will check when the time comes.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 13 2015, 05:09 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2015, 06:01 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 13 2015, 05:15 PM)
Yup, HLeB is 0.1%, minimum RM8 as you've described. That was the primary reason I stuck to HLeB all this while.
actually, they all the same for nromal accounts.

I used mbb before, 0.42% cds, std.

I moved to cimb when I consolidated most of my banking with them, more convenient, certain things cheaper n better like property loans and credit card benefits.

for stocks, the difference is really in big trades and special assistance when u need it.

oh, I was just informed for usa dividends, it is a flat charge of usd8. probably same with hlb.
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2015, 10:02 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Jan 13 2015, 09:44 PM)
closed all gold futures long @$1243

closed 1/2 positions on crude short @$44.50, leaving remaining 1/2 position and moved stop to $45.1
meaning u see things turning around now?

planning to stay up tonite, wanna buy a bit more. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 14 2015, 10:52 AM

24,453 posts

aapl very strong. was up 3% at one stage, finished +1%.

more positive forecast for 2015 - 120, 130, 150 by yr end.

n too much cash... capital returns?
http://blogs.barrons.com/techtraderdaily/2...raising-to-buy/

AVFAN
post Jan 14 2015, 05:42 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 14 2015, 04:10 PM)
robinhood.com  shocking.gif the name already sound weird. Sure you can trust them with your USD100K? Pls update any result if you try them. Tq.
good one!

surely hope it's not a case of rich pirates in hoods robbing the poor wannabe-rich? laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 14 2015, 09:55 PM

24,453 posts

futures... -2xx pts. bonds yield <1.8%.

hmm...

AVFAN
post Jan 14 2015, 10:07 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 14 2015, 10:04 PM)
1950  drool.gif
buy on dip, dive on plunge! laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2015, 09:26 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 14 2015, 11:11 PM)
There are some early bulls here.. they're buying this gap down indeed.  nod.gif
i was tempted to jump in... jumped into bed instead. biggrin.gif

pleasant surprise to see a good rebound in oil prices, energy/oil counters got a break at finish.
these counters have been bashed up day after day, so it was refreshing!!

AVFAN
post Jan 15 2015, 12:29 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 15 2015, 12:00 PM)
Are u still holding that XLE?? 

It looked down at the abyss today (below 72) ... and backs off.  sweat.gif
still holding.

lost 4% in price, compensated by 2.5% in exchange rate! biggrin.gif

not trading, keeping for a couple of years at least.

i take the position oil/energy will recover bigtime by year end.

spy's been good, the best one.

so, not in selling mode, still looking to buy! tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2015, 05:14 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 15 2015, 04:35 PM)
Are you able to trade stock options using local broker? If not, I still think you better off using online discount broker. Never know when you need to use options to protect your stocks against downtrend or even selling put to buy stocks that you want at a discount.
i doubt it... as from the screen anywhere, i don't see any call or put, expiry, strike price, etc.

thanks for reminder, i will check it up.
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2015, 09:09 PM

24,453 posts

oil yo-yo, uptick...?

futures neutral.

but,... what will this do? some fx players having an early nightmare, i guess... blush.gif
Swiss franc soars, stocks tank as euro peg scrapped
The Swiss National Bank (SNB) stunned markets on Thursday, when it scrapped its three-year-old peg of 1.20 Swiss francs per euro.
In a chaotic few minutes after the central bank's announcement, the Swiss franc soared by around 30 percent in value against the euro.
The franc broke past parity against the euro to trade at 0.8052 per euro, before trimming those gains to trade 14 percent higher at 1.026.
The currency also gained 25 percent against the U.S. dollar, before falling back to trade around 14 percent higher at 0.877 francs per dollar.
http://www.cnbc.com/id/102340182
AVFAN
post Jan 16 2015, 11:05 PM

24,453 posts

this session looks very "confused", looking for direction... biggrin.gif

only thing i see is oil/energy gaining , becos some fella said something...

Oil jumps as IEA sees signs 'tide will turn'
http://www.cnbc.com/id/102342805

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 16 2015, 11:05 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 17 2015, 09:34 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 17 2015, 02:57 AM)
Looks like I'm going to be saved tonight.. no mad bears. Pocket another weekly premiums.
Bulls still got lots of money for US market. They're once again are buying dips.   biggrin.gif
high time...

already down 5 sessions in a row.

down another 5? i'll slip into recession then! biggrin.gif

crude will surely not rebound fast n furious but it does look like some footing has been reached.

will be looking for opportunities to add a bit more of this sector.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 17 2015, 12:47 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 18 2015, 09:09 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 18 2015, 04:44 AM)
malaysia oil stocks already rebounded 15-20% from recent bottom. Wondering how much more could they further recover....I mean, it's impossible for them to recover back to previous high valuation. So what is fair valuation?  hmm.gif

wah, oil closed at US$48.48! What a 48 situation!!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
crude prices still volatile, so it is difficult to put a value to those stocks.
well... if a co. like slb makes fast n agressive moves, that will help improve investor sentiments.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/greatspeculati...ugh-year-ahead/
i dun think w r seeing such measures in local o&g counters.

if crude has taken 6 months to go from 110 to 48, it can also take another 6 months to stabilize - where, i dunno...!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 18 2015, 09:55 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 03:45 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 03:17 PM)
gents,

i have a few hundreds shares granted by my company (w/o any cost) that already lapsed with currently moving around 27-29usd..decline almost 25% past 3months...any advise whether to hold or sell the shares? dividen usd3/annum
drillers company...thanks a million...
drilling co... lost 25% past few months - that's small. wonder which one is this...

i had looked at transocean (rig), lost 2/3 of price since 6 months ago.

personally, i won't go after drillers' stock now as they are at the end of the chain, i.e. when oil cos. and gomens cut back on e&p capex, and they have said so already, drilling rigs big n small get no work or low value contracts. will take some time for the capex cycle to return when crude price is "correct". how long... who knows? with shale oil operators, opec, non-opec, china consumption... so many factors...

if u can hold, might as well. if zero cost, n u wish to spend the money, can sell also! tongue.gif

if u hold, u can track the performance regularly. not just yr stock but a few others incl etf's like xle and oih to see where the industry is going. i also think slb (schlumberger) is a good indicator as they are top-notch and reacts quickly, faster than oil majors.

not sure if i helped! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 19 2015, 03:49 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 06:19 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 04:22 PM)
thanks for your view..it is ESV..
agree on what you said, competition in getting the rig contracts are tough now, with oil co cutting their spending n A LOT OF newbuilding rigs available in the market.

kind of confuse now...wait until reach good value n enjoy the dividen  (possible of decrease value n dividen cut) or sell it (if increase, huhuhuhu).....
just had a look at ensco... yes, 25% down last 2-3 months, 50% down over 12 months - so, same like all drillers as expected.

it will be futile to try to gauge oil price in next 6, 12, 36 months. to do that is like trying to be a demi-god as u can see n so many reports, news, forums...

but... what we do know is the decline and damage has been done, capex will be cut, so unlikely u get a full n fast recovery - at least for drillers.

having been in a position similar to yrs back in 1986, i understand what the oil patch is like right now. my "personal advice" to you would be: if u r confident u can hold on to your job for the next 2 yrs, keep it. if not, better sell it n get the cash now. becos when it gets rough, many jobs get lost, it can get a lot worse n messy with mergers n acquisitions, as u already know.

side talk... from website, ensco... nice drillships, semis n jackups! biggrin.gif are they drilling in malaysian waters or elsewhere in asiapac? r those manual slips n tongs still in use or replaced by automated roughnecks?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 19 2015, 06:43 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 08:47 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 08:41 PM)
we still use both manual & power slips and rig tongs n iron roughneck...
my oh my... after 30 yrs, the iron roughneck still hasn't taken over... jobs still exist for roughnecks n derrickmen, i guess! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 19 2015, 08:49 PM

30 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:24 AM