30 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

AVFAN
post Jan 2 2015, 04:56 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 2 2015, 04:11 PM)
Can RM rebound in near term? Wondering.... doh.gif

given all that we know, i m of the view rm unlikely to rebound unless crude rebounces quickly and significantly.

a couple months a go, a couple of ib reports forecast rm to go 3.55. that was when crude at usd60. at usd50-55...?

what we need to read will be the latest figures on capital flight, legal n illicit flows...

i will probably look for good buys when rm rebounds a bit becos it will probably not last.

AVFAN
post Jan 2 2015, 05:04 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 2 2015, 04:59 PM)
ya, same strategy on me. But maybe i can't wait too long, because US and HK market may not wait with me. They are bullish.  hmm.gif
this is surely the difficult part since the ex rate adds another dimension.

worst case - price rising, rm weaker n weaker...!

well, usually... when it comes to the crunch, you wanna buy, just buy! tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 4 2015, 02:30 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 3 2015, 04:42 AM)
Wow.. USD went above 3.50 against RM  ... now 3.523  brows.gif
i expect it to keep edging lower until one of two things happen - oil price rebound significantly or a reversal in net capital flow happens - both unlikely in the short term. this commentary by mier may be a little outdated but take note one para...
The values of ringgit Malaysia (RM) against a basket of major trading partners (China, Singapore, Japan, USA and Thailand) are consistently below the baseline index in May 2013. During the middle of 2013, ringgit depreciated significantly due to large activities of quantitative easing from the US Fed to increase its money supply in the environment of lower interest rates in an effort to boost economic recovery. Ringgit went through a volatile period from the middle of last year until the first quarter of this year before rebounding towards an appreciating trend until September 2014 and got weaken again thereafter. Bank Negara's international reserves were depleted in the bid to support depreciating ringgit.
http://www.mier.org.my/outlook/

about oil price, everyone seems to want to predict how will oil price move from now. of all the reports and comments i came across, this one made most sense to me:
The faster it comes down, the faster it comes back. In terms of today, we started at $107 in June — and we are now in the $55 (US) range, and I think it could go down to $45, plus or minus in February … could be down for six to nine months and then I don’t know if it’ll come back 50 per cent, 100 cent or 150 per cent. OPEC will keep prices down until they have disrupted the investment cycles for the high cost producers.  I think the six month period is no accident. They need to keep it down for a certain period of time until people “get the lesson.”
http://calgaryherald.com/business/energy/o...eteran-jim-gray

so, we keep close watch from now till 2q/3q2015. meanwhile, we'll see if saudi will do anything soon.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 4 2015, 04:29 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 5 2015, 03:11 PM

24,453 posts

oil... <usd52.

rm... 3.54x. sweat.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2015, 01:22 AM

24,453 posts

bursa and rm will take another beating tmrw...

AVFAN
post Jan 6 2015, 05:49 PM

24,453 posts

crude 48.xx...

this one coming true or what!

The faster it comes down, the faster it comes back. In terms of today, we started at $107 in June — and we are now in the $55 (US) range, and I think it could go down to $45, plus or minus in February … could be down for six to nine months and then I don’t know if it’ll come back 50 per cent, 100 cent or 150 per cent. OPEC will keep prices down until they have disrupted the investment cycles for the high cost producers.  I think the six month period is no accident. They need to keep it down for a certain period of time until people “get the lesson.”
http://calgaryherald.com/business/energy/o...eteran-jim-gray

and more pain for bursa, rm, 1mdb, etc...

man, my pack of boncafe will be rm20, salmon rm80 per kg soon!! laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2015, 11:48 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 6 2015, 11:20 PM)
First experience with HLeBroking's foreign exchange platform went down the drain. sad.gif

It keeps giving me silly reason that it's unable to process my order due to sector suspended. Called the toll free & his first attempt failed until he changed to "another system". I don't really enjoy calling the broker every time I want to place an order but I'm not sure if this issue is unique only to HLeBroking or other local brokerages as well.
i can say cimb's itrade is ok. had been using it for sgx and nyse. all is good.
haven't used the others - thailand, indon and hongkong.
AVFAN
post Jan 7 2015, 12:22 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 7 2015, 12:10 AM)
Can I know what platform CIMB iTrade use for foreign exchange? HLeBroking uses IRESS.
i hv no idea what system or which developer did it...

not perfect but works fine most of the time. not complaining.

can use on pc or ipad, can do e-ipo, foreign bourses, can transfer money between trading and bank acc,.... i find it good enough.
AVFAN
post Jan 7 2015, 01:13 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 7 2015, 11:30 AM)
haha, today our local chinese newspapers saying that Msia is no longer a net oil export nation as most production is mainly for local production. and, imports exceeds export now.  also, the export grade is v high and for high level industrial usage such as air liners and bio tech biz. these people are so optimistic !!!
if net importer, we will be benefiting, not losing!

about oil grade.... to my knowledge, m'sian crude is light, better to export to countries where the refineries are designed to take it. our refineries here are mostly built to refine heavy crude (sulphur mainly). the economics of the refinery infra work out such that it is better to export the light, import the heavy.

airlines... aviation fuel is basically kerosene, nothing exotic.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 7 2015, 01:15 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 7 2015, 01:29 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 7 2015, 11:27 AM)
ETFs? from ARCA exchange?
yeah - HLeB has to call over to IRIS partner to add. pain experienced before.

other than that, ok lar generally pain-free other than cost if U use it as a trading platform (instead of retirement accumulation / investment platform)  sweat.gif
ah... this arca thingy...

was told by cimb that they had to do the same thing before but starting early last year, it was incorporated into main itrade platform. so now, can just buy n sell like any other. no pain! biggrin.gif

and yes, agree the cost of trading is too high, can't do. investment, ok.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 7 2015, 01:29 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 7 2015, 02:09 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 7 2015, 02:05 PM)
What do you use or suggest for trading purpose? Foreign online platform? Any recommendation in particular?
no immediate plans.

but reading here, i think gotta open offshore bank and broker acc for to get much lower rates.

i asked some questions here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549/+60

hope others can help you.
AVFAN
post Jan 7 2015, 05:33 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Jan 7 2015, 05:22 PM)
this is a crucial moment, will be on the prowl for USO & XLE tonight fingers crossed.
nice! counting on it! tongue.gif

well... seeing asia except msia n oz recover today n europe now shrugging off the oil fears, that's good news.

markets are searching for a bottom, so if this is it, the skies r clearing up. may take some months, though....
AVFAN
post Jan 8 2015, 11:05 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 7 2015, 11:14 PM)
Was thinking of going the other way but I'll heed your advice. Currently observing how it's going since yesterday was my first day in DWTI.
i just checked this dwti - it is listed on nyse cimb itrade like most other etfs/etn's.

i just received a dividend from xle. small no doubt but pleased to see div from etf's also paid quite promptly with itrade.
like sgd's, it will just stay in the trust acc, no interest - will accumulate to buy more.

oil seems to have found a floor at usd48-49 for now.

meanwhile, cnbc has a new comment on local/rm...

http://www.cnbc.com/id/102319556
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 01:04 AM

24,453 posts

biggest winner today is aapl. 50% sales incr in 2014... mindboggling...

with that, etf's like spy, qqq weighted wih aapl all gain nicely.

5 days down, 2 days flat, 2 day up - still got a couple more days to run up! tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 09:46 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 9 2015, 01:26 AM)
doh.gif
why?

average, all up 2% in one single night!

or u sold off recently?
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 03:59 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 9 2015, 03:40 PM)
Thanks for the info. I'll have to get myself familiarized with these offshore brokerages first before I can commit to bigger deposit. While local brokerages are expensive, at least they're within my reach. biggrin.gif
what magnitude of deposit for trademonster? how much leverage can u get from it?

i do want to explore this for trading later. esp seeing how volatile us equities can be! tongue.gif

about local ib's, they arent too bad overall. i like the fact that i can see all my holdings, trades, balances, diff currencies on 1 page; can move around the funds incl parked dividends easily albeit going thru rm each time (so, gotta do only when favorable); total holdings all currencies used to leverage at any bourse. only thing it is surely too expensive to trade foreign stocks frequently.

until i get into something like you, i will stick to bursa for fast n furious trading. tongue.gif quite ok as i get 0.21% for my trades t+3.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 9 2015, 04:25 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 04:01 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 9 2015, 03:55 PM)
i sold 1/3 at 116. Waiting to buy back at 102 but couldn't get yet...it was so close at 104! i missed it!  doh.gif
ya, i remember everyone's looking at 100. no chance since the last big dip.

i got in at avg 108, optimistic it'll go to 120 by yr end. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 05:54 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 9 2015, 05:31 PM)
No minimum deposit required for TradeMonster. About leverage, I'm afraid I didn't check much about it since I usually trade with what I have. biggrin.gif
u mean u trade 1:1? deposit usd10k, trade 88 aapl shares?

if so, cost of capital is a consideration...
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 07:45 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 9 2015, 09:57 AM)
Basically, the bulls are still in control..  so buying dips everytime it has been winner because the market continues to trend higher.
Just close eyes and BUY next time, ok?  tongue.gif

It just take one time and one time only, buy dips will be loser - if it  happens you will know then the market will trend lower.    brows.gif
righto, buy on dips!

with us economy gaining foothold, eu's imminent qe and oil price on a floor albeit temp(?), i feel optimistic. biggrin.gif

say, any experience/comment for this etf - XLF:
XLF Top Ten Holdings
Berkshire Hathaway Inc Class B BRK.B: 9.00%
Wells Fargo & Co WFC: 8.50%
JPMorgan Chase & Co JPM: 7.69%
Bank of America Corporation BAC: 6.18%
Citigroup Inc C: 5.39%
American Express Co AXP: 2.72%
U.S. Bancorp USB: 2.64%
Goldman Sachs Group Inc GS: 2.58%
American International Group Inc AIG: 2.58%
MetLife Inc MET: 2.02%

to everybody...
cbnc suggest these biggest potential 2015 winners:
http://www.cnbc.com/id/102317968
.. i m not well versed with the construction scenario in usa, so this VMC, a building material aggregates co....?
.. THC - this one is interesting... small cap, i think...healthcare... everywhere these biz make loads of money (we pay too).

appreciate comments; i have capacity to get into a couple more counters, then sit back and watch...

AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 11:14 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Jan 9 2015, 08:24 PM)
yes XLF was touted to be a runner this year
but i like WFC more than XLF itself because you've got a mixed bag in XLF. some names in there that don't ring right with me ..haha

got a soft spot for homebuilders as well  tongue.gif
thanks for comments.

not familiar with wells fargo, so i better stick to xlf, spread the risks. biggrin.gif

will look for the next dip. this should be the last buy in a while.

looking back, my first buy in dec 2014 was usd/rm3.4975. right now, it cost 3.5695 or 2% more within just 3.5 weeks.

30 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:13 AM