18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V8 (Group)

tinarhian
post Nov 25 2014, 11:23 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 25 2014, 11:19 PM)
Actually if you think about it, applies to both gender. Law No.7 states you shall not commit adultery.

If you notice, the law seems to put heaver responsibility on the Man, in the sense he has many decisions to consider.
He can't really have any sexual relation as He pleases without being responsible to that one he has sexual relationship with.

The woman on the other hand just need to scream "rapist" to be free from this guilt.  biggrin.gif
Oh, you are talking about the Ten Commandments right?

Oh man, I know I have broken about 6 commandments. doh.gif

What am I going to say to my pastor IF I ever want to get married? Dude, I'm so screwed. sad.gif

This post has been edited by tinarhian: Nov 25 2014, 11:30 PM
tinarhian
post Nov 25 2014, 11:33 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 25 2014, 11:30 PM)
lol, No., of course not.

but You can always quote Jesus wisdom, "He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone"

in your defence, in case someone ask.  tongue.gif

Or just quote that touching story, linked by De_luffy.
Yeah, but what IF my partner can't accept the truth? I know Asians are quite taboo about sex before marriage.

Dude, I'm going to be so piss IF the pastor start judging me.
tinarhian
post Nov 25 2014, 11:40 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Nov 25 2014, 05:54 PM)
Guys, you know there are people who look genderswapped and pose as models for kicks, right?

http://en.rocketnews24.com/2014/01/11/this...hotos%E3%80%91/
My bro said it's clearly stated in the bible that guys can't dress as girls, girls can't dress as boys. But, isn't that a statement of 'don't become a transgender'?

If dressing and posing for pictures also tak boleh? If dressing itself is a problem that means girls cannot wear jeans or pants anymore.
OMG, that's a girl?!! She's the Asian version of Justin Bieber. lel.
tinarhian
post Nov 25 2014, 11:48 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 25 2014, 11:44 PM)
That's why I strongly encourage for you come clear with your partner before marriage.
Let him know everything that bothers you. Don't drop the news after marriage.  doh.gif

If he accepts you, all the more reason for you to know he might be the right one from God.
If he rejects you, then it saves you greater future headache and pain.

Relationship is about trusting each other.
Well ok then. Hehe, of course I will tell him before marriage. I don't want him to have a heart attack.

Oh, so God will pre planned everything. Dude, I hope I can fit into that wedding dress, 5 years from now. hehehe...

Well, for me marriage is still a long way to go.
tinarhian
post Nov 26 2014, 12:04 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 26 2014, 12:00 AM)
Pre planned doesn't mean God is going to drop him from the sky to your lap. 

You still need to do your part in scoping out the right dude, if that's the word for it.

I mean make sure, first of all, you did pray asking this request. Nothing wrong imo to ask God for this.

Then live your life as usual, go out with friends, make new friends, go to birthday parties, things like that.

My point is, don't worry about it. One day you'll meet him. God will move both of you to meet up.
That easy huh? Ok tonight I shall pray for this special request.

Hard to find decent Christian dude. Mostly they are taken.

tinarhian
post Nov 26 2014, 11:46 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 26 2014, 06:02 PM)
Actually, I came across a really good article on the matter of Christians who have lost their virginities as women before marriage and found it extremely helpful- even as a guy.

http://www.challies.com/articles/we-are-all-virgins-now

It was helpful in correcting alot of cultural presuppositions we have (e.g. women who are not virgins are more impure than those who are, therefore we should always try to marry a virgin) that we incorporated into our Christianity, when in fact the gospel paints a very different picture.

If it's Tl;DR, you can watch this short sermon that very aptly describes why it's disgusting for Christians to think that a Christian is a wounded Christian if she (notice how our culture pays more attention to the women in this respect, quite double standard) loses her virginity before marriage.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLgIecL1IdY
Oh thanks for the article. A very well written article. Before this, I don't understand that some guys (and girls) are so obsessed with their partner being a virgin.

Now I have peace with myself and I can look forward to the future.

I never felt this happy with my life for quite sometime. I know it sound like a cliche, but I do feel great because I know God loves us all.

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 26 2014, 06:53 PM)
The key word: managing your expectation biggrin.gif ... prepare yourself if their response is counter productive... (aka make you pissed )

Don't be surprised if somebody, pastor, CG leader, CG elder, even CG member look down on you.

some people are just simply narrow minded... can't help ...

to be honest, regardless charismatics or not, many christian are... narrow minded hahhaa... so just prepared lah

are you expecting christian like UW in general ? he is a rare jewel lah to be honest...
Yeah, I'm preparing myself. Don't worry. Honestly, I do feel "let down" by the way people in CG have treated me but hey, I just want to move on with my life and focus on God instead.

Building a relationship with other Christians are important too. I don't want to worry about what people say and think of me. As long as they don't expect me to speak in tongue, that's OK la.

I'm not expecting Christians to be like UW, I'm expecting them to be more like you and General Fahmy.

tinarhian
post Nov 28 2014, 12:28 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Nov 27 2014, 08:54 PM)
something to share here quite meaningful

http://en.webfail.com/221b3072115
So touching. sad.gif

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 27 2014, 09:34 PM)
Bro,

Perhaps you may have misunderstood what was taught on the Gospel of grace.

I am for righteousness and against sin as how the word of God have outlined.
Being under grace does not mean it's permissible for me to sin as I like.

Neither does the grace of God makes me want to sin either.
In fact it makes me grateful towards God, that I want to live for God.

How does this principal works?

The person need to agree and acknowledge with God that sin is wrong.
From that point onwards, that person desire to live right but also knows that he lacks the strength to do it.

For example, somebody may have drive dangerously and cut into that believer's car, almost knocking into him.
The believer rages and got angry and forgotten He's a Christian. So he showed his fist at the guy, things like that.
That is not intentional. In times of such weaknesses, God's grace is there for him. He is still righteous. 

Or another example, pornography. Many Christian are weak to restrain from watching it.
They try so hard to avoid it but little glimpse of here and there caused him to succumb.
Not that He wants to, He knows it's wrong but still end up helpless. Again God's grace is there for him, He is still righteous.

That is what it means in Romans 5:20 (NIV) - The law was brought in so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more,

That is the principal.

It is not as how Romans 6:1 (NIV) says it.
What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase?

Bribing to get favours is sin bro. It does not mean that just because I can do it, I should go ahead and do it.

Beside, my Bible reasoning is this. Why do I need to use money to gain favour with people when I have God to help me move the person for my favour?

Understand what I mean? Because if I use money, that is my effort nothing of God. But If I go through God, it's nothing of me. That's where God gets the glory.

The righteous shall live by Faith. What does that means? I shall resigned whatever that is of my strength and put my full dependency on God.

Whatever that is not of Faith is sin. (Romans 14:23 (NIV) - But whoever has doubts is condemned if they eat, because their eating is not from faith; and everything that does not come from faith is sin.
So in everything we do we must totally rely on God's grace and mercy right? Because if we rely on our own strength we can't do it. Its really hard being a Christian in any workplace. Juggling between doing the right things.

I used to think that sometimes evil people always get away with everything! Then I came across this verse,

1 Peter 3:8-18[I]

Finally, all of you, have unity of mind, sympathy, brotherly love, a tender heart, and a humble mind. Do not repay evil for evil or reviling for reviling, but on the contrary, bless, for to this you were called, that you may obtain a blessing. For “Whoever desires to love life and see good days, let him keep his tongue from evil and his lips from speaking deceit; let him turn away from evil and do good; let him seek peace and pursue it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their prayer. But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”

Now when I work, I just work for God's glory. Its easy for me because I'm a free lancer. hehehe..

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 27 2014, 10:50 PM)
Not every job will be suitable for a Christian, this is a fallen world after all and like it or not we don't belong to it anymore.

The way of life of this corrupted world, where people think they are free to live as they see fit, to lie, to have sex outside of marriage, to lust, drunkenness, rage, orgies, things like that, God will destroy and remove such order of life. If God is going to destroy those values, I don't think we as sons and daughters of God should neither keep such values or cherish them.

As to answer your question. As far as I understand, they use tactical means to get truth out of the captured accused, is it not?
I mean if it's a job requirement, to use tactics like deceptive  questioning methods to get the accused to confess something then it's job requirement.

But If it's going to involve things like physical violence then that believer will really need to reconsider if the Job is right for him.
There is a clear line of what is right and obviously wrong.
I think all the jobs in this world is not suitable for all Christians except for pastors. hehehe...

We just need to continuously pray and seek for God's strength and wisdom to get through this challenging life.

Speaking of jobs, what do you think of Christianity in China? I read and heard that China is quite strict when it comes to religious freedom.

There's a civil engineering position in China that I'm interested in but if the Chinese government are "not flexible", then I do not want to pursue it.

tinarhian
post Nov 28 2014, 12:50 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 27 2014, 11:38 AM)
buying coffee / money still simple lah broo biggrin.gif

in malaysia some "group" of people just like talking about girl, talking about  miss A, miss B... girl..girl..girl... aiyoo... and worse, these people does not want money / coffee... they want ... guess lah: Girl  doh.gif
Not only in Malaysia. It applies to the rest of the world. Men like beautiful toys to play with.
tinarhian
post Nov 28 2014, 10:38 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 28 2014, 01:08 AM)
Yes you're right.

The righteous shall live by Faith. There is no other way. No compromise. The Book of Hebrews takes it 1 step higher to show how serious it is with God. (in bold)

Hebrews 10:38 (NIV) -  And, "But my righteous one will live by faith. And I take no pleasure in the one who shrinks back."

Those who don't live by Faith, will have it the hard way. It's not that God wants to make it hard for the person, but that believer, himself gives room to spiritual enemies to work by the virtue of disbelieve. Mind you, this is not exclusive to the matter of Salvation. The Bible never says that. It's in the context of everything in life itself.

You can see there will be a difference between the people of God and unbelievers.
How some believer are so blessed in life, left and right, moving up in life without much struggle.

While others need to struggle to the point of unhealthy stress just to achieve uncertain success.
Even some Christian can fall into this same trap by the reason of unbelief. And they will end up struggling on their own.

You can see the signs, when they're Christians but get easily angry, annoyed or irritated very consistently.
Shows that their dependency in life is on self rather than on God.

God is gentleman, he will not force anyone to believe in Him to prosper or to provide.
But those who do, will find it's really a divine blessing.
hmm not true, many Jobs are okay. Just those that may affect in a degrading way, may need to reconsider.

China? I may not be the right person. But I always hear from one of my pastor commenting how the Christian community in China is thriving.
bur honestly I really don't know, tina. You got to check with someone who's connected over there regularly.
Is it because that God would not bless others more because he knows that in our heart, IF we have a lot of wealth, we would turn our attention away from Him?

Today at CG, I decided to bring along my best buddy. But alas they criticized her too not because of her tattoos, but because she's too "secular". Haiyo...So, we left early. I think I had it with them. I really don't understand them. Still act like a bunch of Pharisees!

Why can't they see the sincerity of our heart? But instead they focused on our outward appearance.

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 28 2014, 07:15 AM)
-- if i can bribe, it does not mean everybody can bribe --
ask HS first lah... HE is the law
Wow, I didn't know that we can bribe? Are you sure? Why are you telling us weird things?
tinarhian
post Nov 28 2014, 10:51 PM

726 posts

I think this is a good article to read about God.

http://www.learnthebible.org/the-origin-of-god.html

http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/is...-the-bible-say/

http://carm.org/god-satan-garden-sin
tinarhian
post Dec 1 2014, 08:41 PM

726 posts

I just want to add in a bit about bribery. The Bible is clear about bribery. Its is forbidden, just like tattoos.

But, what does God think about it? If its for a greater good, then its between that person and God.

If its for evil, then its not good. hehehe..

What ever it is, its between that person and God. Its not something we can judge, because of the morality issues.

When I asked my CG elder, (as usual), everything is WRONG. I asked but what IF you want to save a person's life, but due to bureaucracy and stuff, you had to resort to "bribery", I even gave scenarios for them to better understand my point of view.

They can even say why do I have such a vivid and wild imagination? WTF?!! Sorry guys.

They still thought its wrong because the person should just pray to HS for guidance. What? Seriously?

So I don't want to argue because I already got a bad reputation in their eye. sad.gif

tinarhian
post Dec 1 2014, 09:56 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Dec 1 2014, 09:46 PM)
You need to gang up / have a community with people as open minded as you. It's not easy. Like looking for needle in the haystack.

eh i forgot. Why don't ask HS to lead you ? this should be simple right ? compared to bribery / james bond license to kill issues biggrin.gif

What church ? don't bother lahh... with your "level" now, baptist, protestant, charismatics, presbyterian, does not matter... i think u can survive just only with 1 name... JESUS
Aww dude, I'm just a newbie. How can the HS even want me to lead? But then, with God "All things are Possible". rclxm9.gif

You like James Bond so much huh? I never watch his movies, so yeah, I only know "Bourne Supremacy". hehehe...

Plus, he's a womanizer. You know what the Bible says about that! vmad.gif

What level? Newbie here la. I only know the bits and pieces. I'm not a seasoned pro like you and UW.

Yeah, only Jesus mighty name can SAVE us all.

Huh, my family got shocked when I told them I attended church regularly. They thought I'm kidding. hehe..

tinarhian
post Dec 1 2014, 10:45 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(amosai @ Dec 1 2014, 10:30 PM)
May I know where do you get this sentence from "But, what does God think about it? If its for a greater good, then its between that person and God."?

From my experience and what I perceived from the Bible, God only sees it as black or white. No gray areas. But He looks at the situation understanding your key motivation of why you did what you did.

From my point of view, that is wrong. BUT From another person's point of view, it could be right.

The thing about this is, the world is extremely complex and it's really hard to find the line that separates what is ethically right and ethically wrong especially in politics. At the end, it depends on the person's conviction of what it's right or wrong, and whatever you do, you own up to your decisions (whether you bribe or no bribe). At the end we answer to God, not people.

A pastor/leader can't give you all the answers and the best possible answer they can give is pray for HS because they are simply as ordinary and flawed as all of us are. But i think it's best if the leader/pastor follow up with you to help you just in case if anything goes wrong (assuming the bribery situation is something real and not an imagination), not to say "I was right!" if any problem arises though.

All the best man! Keep on asking, that's how we grow =D... If you feel there's any condemnation in my message, I do apologize beforehand.
Well, just from my own personal experience and from reading online.

I was reading a verse in Proverbs 17:23, The wicked accepts a bribe in secret to pervert the ways of justice.

You see that's the thing, how on earth are we suppose to do things which falls in the "gray areas"?

If we follow the Bible strictly, its says bribery is wrong. But then? What if we want to save a life or something else? Ask the HS. Sure, we ask the HS. But what IF time is of the essence?

Two wrongs does not make a right. Right?

Yeah, a pastor is also a human but I'm getting the impression that some of the local Christians that I have encountered here are quite legalistic. I'm not saying ALL the Christians here. Don't get me wrong.

I'm used to being condemned..so its not a big deal. Jesus gave me, and others a second chance, so lets make it right.

tinarhian
post Dec 1 2014, 11:28 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(amosai @ Dec 1 2014, 11:14 PM)
The reason why I asked it's because from what I recall, God did not mention anything about us doing something for the greater good. Correct me if I am wrong.

I am still young though, 21 as of now. So I have yet to be exposed to the working environment (I am quite pampered since I don't have to work at such an age =X), but people usually change when they start working, office environment is stressful and require you to make those simple unethical decisions (I can't imagine a workplace you don't have to lie a little) if you want to keep your job or for a promotion.

Truth is, you're going to suffer for making black or white choices. Are you willing to suffer for it? I am not judging those who are making gray areas decisions, I make them from time to time too.

My question to you is as simple as this, are you willing to live with whatever happens next?

Do not bribe, people die= feel guilty
Do bribe, people survive= feel guilty

I think the best looking forward question to ask is what are you going to do to "fix" your mistakes (whichever it is). If you do bribe, ask for forgiveness from God because it's clearly stated in Bible as sin. If you do not bribe, help the victim's family? They may hate you for it but you can always try to lighten their sorrow.

Next question to ask is what should I learn from this experience/incident? (What is God telling me? What does He want me to learn? What is He preparing me for?)

This is just my point of view. At the end, there should be no condemnation(feel guilty like you want to kill yourself), just conviction(to make things/situation better or to improve).

Word of advice, you shouldn't feel normal to being condemned. It's unhealthy, when people condemn you, speak up (as nice as you can though xD). The end result should be a peaceful one.

My stand is no bribery. God said no bribery means no bribery. His commandments are absolute. But I accept that fact and possibility that actual circumstances could change my decision and sin. So that's where the area of forgiveness and grace comes into place (although there's another issue of whether are we taking advantage of it).

Hope this helps, read the link I posted too. Others, please feel free to chip in on this dilemma and shed more light into dilemmas and gray issues.
Oh, then of course we follow what the Bible tells us so.

Uh, I'm just a bit older than you. hehe.. Still young.

I make unethical decisions on my workplace (I work from home, duh...) most of the time. Now, I try to not do it all the time. hehehe..No its not bribery.. rolleyes.gif

Whatever that person does, they will still have to confront God at the end of time, and confess their sins, yes?

I don't have enough experience in the context of bribery..so maybe someone else should answer? hehe...

IF I do bribe, of course I feel guilty and confess to God about it. I just ask God for guidance so that I try not to do it all the time.

Oh no, I didn't mean that I feel "being condemn" is normal. Far from it. I mean I know how it feels. I have experienced it before.

Yeah, no bribery for me too. Like I said, I'm not experience enough in this "field".
tinarhian
post Dec 2 2014, 09:47 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Dec 2 2014, 11:35 AM)
That's just an excuse to avoid answering you. But you can be graceful, not everyone have the answers to every question no matter how old they are.
That's why for leaders it's quite imperative to be prepared in season and out of season.
Come to Calvary Dec 25 9am, we have Christmas musical.
Life and death is in the hands of Almighty God.

I believe, God has made it quite clear, children and believers, they belong to God and thus they also inherit God's Kingdom.
If it's time to go, it's time to go. Though painful, but Heaven is still much better place than this fallen world.

And even God has exhorted to us many times, we don't belong this world any longer, we are to be foreigners if not alien to it's corrupted way of life/culture.
Many times, even as Christian, we easily forget this truth.

Being Human, we all have the tendency to panic. But as child of God, we all have access to the power and grace of God for the impossible.

What is my point? We don't have to worry about this world, the future or situations. We have God. When the time of our need comes, whatever happens, God is not far away.
When we have God, all things are possible. Broken bones, bodily injury can heal, so will broken heart. Death is just a doorstep away to heaven. Every close doors, God will open if it's the right one.  That is the meaning that God is in control.

Think about this verse in James 1:13-14 (NIV)

13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed.
Oh, so I have to be graceful among this elders la? Haiyo, but I'm the curious type. I don't take "No" for an answer. tongue.gif

What about this verse?

1 Corinthians 10:13

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

tinarhian
post Dec 2 2014, 10:05 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Dec 2 2014, 10:01 PM)
wazzup tina, what kind of temptation you have know  brows.gif  brows.gif ... you wanna punch somebody cuz he's starring at you  brows.gif  brows.gif
Wazzup Mr Bribery.

I have a new hot neighbour. Just moved in. drool.gif

How do I control my temptation? Besides praying and fasting..

tinarhian
post Dec 2 2014, 10:09 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Dec 2 2014, 10:08 PM)
usually a girl didn't say "hot neighbour"... are you sure you are not using your dupe account hahaha  brows.gif
What's wrong with "hot"? sad.gif
tinarhian
post Dec 2 2014, 10:11 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Dec 2 2014, 10:08 PM)
Just to be clear, you are a girl, right?

What sort of temptation are you facing? I have hot neighbours but I don't have a problem of temptation.  hmm.gif
Yeah, last time I checked its sure is.

Sure or not you never have temptation? All guys are horny.
tinarhian
post Dec 2 2014, 10:16 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Dec 2 2014, 10:13 PM)
i would rather bribe than cheating my wife  wub.gif
The Bible is clear on the issues of bribery. shakehead.gif

Ok ok enough fooling around. Good thing I'm flying off to Germany this Friday. rclxm9.gif

So at least the cold winter will cool down my temptations. hahaha...
tinarhian
post Dec 2 2014, 10:18 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Dec 2 2014, 10:15 PM)
Wow, that's a bias generalization. If our faith is strong, we can resist temptations. It's not easy but manageable.
lel. Isn't that how the world is? So we need to pray to God for guidance.

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0895sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:08 AM