LYN Christian Fellowship V8 (Group)

de1929
post Nov 5 2014, 05:09 PM

1,920 posts

Young's Literal Translation of the Bible

I download this material about Young's literal translation of the bible.
heraldmag.org/olb/Contents/bibles/ylt.pdf

I just read PREFACE TO THE REVISED EDITION, and here is the part that i am alarmed / scared

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If a translation gives a "present tense" when the original gives a "past", or a "past" when it has a
"present"; a "perfect" for a "future", or a "future" for a "perfect"; an "a" for a "the", or a "the" for an
"a"; an "imperative" for a "subjunctive", or a "subjunctive" for an "imperative"; a "verb" for a
"noun", or a "noun" for a "verb", it is clear that verbal inspiration is as much overlooked as if it had
no existence. THE WORD OF GOD IS MADE VOID BY THE TRADITIONS OF MEN.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does this means that tradition of men really... really has impact on translation ?

Some of you know that i am the guy who Ask for HS. It sounds not intellectual, it sounds childish, and it sounds irresponsible from scholar point of view. I understand. I am a professional and i cannot tell my customer i ask HS. It just not professional.

But after reading Young's preface to the revised edition, all i can tell you is, i get paranoid

1. i will ask HS more. Instead of asking what's the rhema for me, i will ask more "intelligence question". John 10:10... I come to give you live... come is present tense in original greek or present continuous tense ? live is noun or present continuous aspect of living ?

2. then you tell me, that's why study bible properly. get concordance, get hermeneutics, don't interpret macam kacang. My questions: How do i know that tomorrow amazon.com will not release a new material that refutes all of today (or yesterday) understanding ? don't tell me check HS... yes i know check with HS... check what ? what to check ? what to ask HS ?

The idea is, check HS assumed you have question to ask. If you don't have question ? what to ask to HS ?

sorry for being angry, yelled and impatience. It's just alarming for me. if offended, kindly accept my apology. smile.gif

de1929
post Nov 5 2014, 10:16 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Nov 5 2014, 06:11 PM)
Just calm down. biggrin.gif

Every translation necessarily bears the understanding of its translators. In bringing the ancient text into a modern language, the translators must first understand the original in terms of the original and, in many cases, interpret the original. Every translation, then, is the record of the translators’ understanding of the original text. So definitely, there is, are "baggages".

2. Refute all? Very unlikely. You have 2000 years of research, translation, interpretation, text criticism etc. There is no way to make up things.

1. I think you don't have to do that. biggrin.gif Of course, every translation of the Bible embodies a philosophy about what the Bible is, about the relation of its writers to God, and even about God Himself. The trend today is away from a more literal rendering of the ancient text toward a more literary one; newer translations seek to make the Bible easy to read and understand.

If that is your concern, then stay with the literal translations and only refers to the "easier to read" rendering for some references.

Also you don't have to ask the Spirit for these things.

Christians can be likened to a train. There needs to be the fuel inside as its energizing power. But a train needs to have tracks outside as well. If there is fuel within but no tracks without, the train would not be able to run. Even if it runs, problems will arise. However, if there are only the tracks without, but not the fuel within, the train may be on the right track, but it cannot move. Therefore, for a train to run, and to do so smoothly, there must be the coordination of two aspects: the inner aspect and the outer aspect. Outwardly, there must be the regulation of the tracks; inwardly, there must be the energizing of the fuel.

It is the same with us. We have the Spirit within and the Bible without. Unfortunately, throughout the ages, Christians lean either toward the Spirit within or toward the Bible without. Even today, many people are doing the same. Those leaning toward the Spirit within very much condemn those leaning toward the Bible without, saying to them: “What you are reading is but dead letters. Every day you are just using your mind to study the dead teachings. The letter kills, but the Spirit gives life. Only we are living in the Spirit.” Those tending toward the Bible without would likewise condemn those who stress the Spirit within, saying to them: “What you have is just emotions. There is only excitement and stirring up, but no stability.

The Spirit and the Bible are two sides of one matter. The leading of the Spirit does not contradict the revelation in the Word. Therefore, in studying the Bible, there is again the danger of being one-sided. (Be a bird with 2 wings) biggrin.gif
pehkay, many thanks. it reveals me the importance about balance.

balance ? hehehe... vmad.gif icon_question.gif vmad.gif

Malaysia need Jesus. How to balance Ourself ?

50:50 ? 70:30 ? 30:70 ? that's asking individual capacity...

or maybe i 90:10 and wife 10:90 ? that's talking me n my wife altogether....

check HS ? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Don't worry everybody... die..die still Christian, only matter of balance or not thumbup.gif

de1929
post Nov 5 2014, 11:36 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 5 2014, 10:31 PM)
de, don't go overboard 'obsession' until psychology rosak  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks Ngai biggrin.gif much appreaciated... At least i can buy time to sleep first and worry those things next time. I know GOD is in control... Who does not know GOD is in control ?

de1929
post Nov 5 2014, 11:37 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 5 2014, 11:21 PM)
Said rightly.

Also, I think the ESV and NASB are more "word for word" so it's more closer to the original greek/hebrew, while stuff like NLT or The message involves more paraphrasing by the translators (who understand the greek).

One problem is that languages are not always easy to directly translate. Try translating a sentence in indon/chinese to English directly and you'll see how it'll lead to some weird translations.

e.g. Nama saya Decky  becomes  "Name me Decky"  which is far from what the original sentence means. That's why scholars work so hard to make sure they're extremely faithful to the original manuscripts, and they make sure the manuscripts are pure and not corrupt. These scholars are usually large groups of scholars that work together to ensure a good translation is produced for the masses.
And yes, the holy spirit is working through all of these scholars as Pehkay says.
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 5 2014, 11:31 PM)
canonization ma
Tqvm Decky n ngaisteve1... much appreciated thumbup.gif
de1929
post Nov 6 2014, 11:26 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 4 2014, 06:58 PM)
Don't know why someone in my company always 'attack' me and seem like wanted me to leave the company or my position so badly.
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 6 2014, 09:34 AM)
Thanks UW. Now left 2 more months to work.
If I were you, i will ask HS 2 things:

1. In regard to my company always 'attack' me, is this YOUR tool to make me quit in order to promote me ?
2. In regard to my company always 'attack' me, is this YOUR tool to train me how to stand in the ground ?

1 Corinthians 6:19
Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own

It means do not quit your job unless HS approves you to quit biggrin.gif
de1929
post Nov 6 2014, 02:55 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 6 2014, 12:27 PM)
I have been receiving calls from companies almost twice per weak.
such a blessing blush.gif
de1929
post Nov 6 2014, 08:45 PM

1,920 posts

Matthew 12:32

Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come

---

The more i enter into GOD's presence, and consume by HIS love to / for me, the lesser i think "anyone" bold above refers to human. It's not for human. It's not for us.

Then who ? devil n 1/3 of fallen angels.

HE loves us so much, deeper than english word love can contain, and still wants to threaten us ? oh no, it's only educating us. not threathen us. Ok then it's fine. Because installing fear to control human is not the way i know about Jesus Christ.

Isn't that written that the King's heart is in the hand of the LORD, HE stirs wherever HE wants it (Proverbs 21:1)...

Out of his love to us, he can stir our hearts not to speak against holy spirit.

But we are not kings, sure, if GOD can control king's heart, GOD cannot control our heart ?

How abour fear of the LORD ? If people think you are GOD-fearing individual, then it's good for your reputation, nothing harmed.

But if you install fear to pay respect to GOD, and becoming GOD-fearing individual, then it's not the best, because perfect love cast out fear. So ? your installed fear will not able to make you a perfect-love-individual.

why bother about being a perfect-love-individual ? cuz the highest law is to love GOD first and human second. The love-quality you gave depends on ... how perfect-love-individual you are.

---

confused with my english ? nvm ... ask HS biggrin.gif

de1929
post Nov 6 2014, 10:43 PM

1,920 posts

Matthew 15:16 (AMP)

And He said, Are you also even yet dull and ignorant [without understanding and [c]unable to put things together]?

---

Thanks to Amplified bible that gives emphasis on how Jesus expression when talking to peter. My interpretation ? Jesus said like this to peter: where is your head ? got brain or not ? what a stupid question...

It's rude for me, because i also don't know, until i read verse 17 onwards. if i know then i will not ask lahh...brader ... hahaha... that's why i am not the original 12 apostle i think blush.gif

Is it rude for peter ? did Peter hurt when Jesus replied like that ? i don't know.

We all know that Jesus closest circle only 3 persons. Peter, James and his beloved disciple, John.

If you gonna get closer with somebody, get ready that he will use any language the speaker comfortable. Why ? cuz the speaker trust you that you will not get hurt. Jesus know that Peter will not get hurt. that's why Jesus can talk freely to Peter. The reader like me think Jesus is a mean and angry GOD. but under umbrella of friendships, 2 friends can talk openly without getting hurt and still trust each other.

By GOD's grace, i am getting closer to Jesus. It means, i have to be ready Jesus say bluntly about something, pour out his feelings, especially about how Jesus think about malaysia, and how the church lost many battle in this country.

Wanna follow me to be Jesus inner circle ? go ahead... make steps bigger, run faster than me, and be a better fren compared to me thumbup.gif ...
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 10:16 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Nov 6 2014, 11:22 PM)
Is this a slut's dress? Puh-lease.

I've seen girls in local churches that wore shorter and tighter dress compared to this.
QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 6 2014, 11:37 PM)
Yeah that church something like that. Crappy people, they practice double standards. Their own cronies can dress up how they want but the "outsiders" sure kena lambasted for their dressing code.
Tinarhian blunt question: how voluptuous you are ? how curvaceous and sexually attractive you are ?

why related my body and my dress ? oh yes; for a normal guy drool.gif like me yes related.

consider this gravure model:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yoko_Matsugane

If yoko wears dress the shirt, i can confirm slut's dress. because i can see the boops printed on the nylon shirts... i mean look at the bra size... sculptured and molded nizeee brows.gif ... sorry slut's dress.

if you are "sorry to say" fat, cubby and old aunty2x body style, lagging, not firm, not fit ... fat here and there... yeah.... not slut's dress.

if you are in between then how ?.... ask HS biggrin.gif ... seriously with love and kindness .. ask HS

This post has been edited by de1929: Nov 7 2014, 10:19 AM
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 10:58 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 7 2014, 10:26 AM)
I actually don't see anything wrong with girls dress nice on a Sunday church. ...
That's probably because because you are naturally strong against sexual temptation, which is good.

most guy likely are not naturally strong like you, therefore some church has to defend the guys by raising church standard, at the cost of your liberty biggrin.gif
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 11:10 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 7 2014, 11:03 AM)
No la don't say like that la. I am a flawed human being. Don't play play with temptation of sin, it cannot be underestimated.

I know we are flawed human being. But probably you don't realize that even if you flawed, you probably above average of "standard guy" already biggrin.gif

How to test urself ? i give this steps:

1. go google image yoko matsugane for just 2 to 5 seconds

2. check your self:
a. if you feel so nervous / so horny / so aroused, yes you are "standard guy"...
b. if you feel it's fine, but not comfortable and offensive, and you can resist the yoko matsugane picture from your brain ... WOW GREAT ! you probably far above "standard guy"...

i think.. you are 2b...

de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 11:28 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 7 2014, 11:17 AM)
Genesis 39:11 (Joseph and Potiphar's wife)

11Now it happened one day that he went into the house to do his work, and none of the men of the household was there inside. 12She caught him by his garment, saying, "Lie with me!" And he left his garment in her hand and fled, and went outside.

=====

I am not saying you should flee from sin because temptation is all around us. For example, if I walk around Melbourne, suddenly i stumble on a Men's Gallery billboard, Men Gallery is a stripper joint in Australia. So you can't avoid.

But if you can avoid, why go and browse a yoko picture? I am no saint la, but all i can say is, don't go testing yourself and wrestle with sin. You are asking for it.
I browse yoko picture cuz yoko is a goliath that i should kill. Some goliath looks pretty hahaha.... too bad i just have to kill yoko whistling.gif .... i am a giant killer.

HS asked me to combat pornography through many venues. One of the goal is to make sure i don't get aroused easily. It's personal revelation, and may not be applicable to all brothers / sisters.

I do acknowledge you have point too, and you are biblically correct 100%, most churches will teach you potifar verses and it's fine thumbup.gif ...

This post has been edited by de1929: Nov 7 2014, 11:30 AM
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 11:53 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 7 2014, 11:47 AM)
Bro Dee,

problem must be dealt at the root (akar).

That's what Jesus meant when he said about plucking out your eyes if it cause you to lust.

Jesus was speaking figuratively to make us think. What he meant was everything starts at the heart and mind.

We need to be convince and agree in our mind and heart, that these things is something God the Father sees as destructive.

Because it will destroy us. And you need to remind yourself, you are made righteous in Christ, so don't go back to what you are not.

You have been made clean and has given you the power of the HS to be free from all these. You are under Grace. You  can do all things through Christ.
But it doesn't mean you should go looking for trouble.

What I mean is this: Avoid even looking at whatever pictures that will stimulate. If have, in your pc have those lust type of videos, delete it permanently.
All these are only on the surface prevention. What will really help is prayer! And I believe prayer works because Father God answer them!
I can do all things through Christ who strenghten me brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 12:09 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 7 2014, 11:56 AM)
Yea but it doesn't mean we go and hold a snake just to test how strong we are.
i agree too. on the other side:

In indonesia churches are more aggresive to combat pornography by preaching with words that are taboo. taboo words are made "less taboo" by preaching it in pulpit, therefore people mindset are changed step by step.

preacher use taboo words, here for simplicity i just use word yoko.

oso same message: preacher start popularizing kill the goliath to combat pornography.

I mean look at the positive side: Malaysian guy will be more resistant to pornography if they just simply has a mindset to combat instead to flee.

de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 02:53 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 7 2014, 02:00 PM)
I am not a perfect person, I got my own flaws. But I tell you this, don't play a fool with sin. The one behind the sin is very cunning.
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 7 2014, 02:01 PM)
If you mean to have a mindset not to look at the pictures at the beginning, yes.

If you mean to pick up the magazine and then  try and use your strength to avoid looking....... , don't think that will work.

The problem is that all of us Christian still have the flesh. Now I must make clear, We are not the flesh neither are we sinners anymore, that is not our identity.

Though we have been renew in the spirit, But the problem is we are still stuck in our old body which have the flesh.

Romans 8:7 (NAS) - because the mind set on the flesh is hostile toward God; for it does not subject itself to the law of God, for it is not even able to do so,

That is why I believe this will only work through prayer. Our mind and will power is powerless to submit to God when it comes to abstaining from lust.
My reply does not constitute an authoritative figures, just sharing ok biggrin.gif

Fahmy ... ok noted. but allow me to reply to both of u n UW below

i am more concern to build malaysian guy to have a combat-ready mindset, instead of flee-from enemy mindset.

combat ready mind set meaning you have to be ready that sometimes you win, sometimes you lost. People will not be strong if they thinking they always win.

Under GOD's grace if we lost the battle, it does not mean we sin. Because our identity is secured in christ. So ? go to war again lah and don't think you will win or lost. Cuz your identity is secured in christ. The training is important to build your inner man.

when you are defeated then ? get up , do like david when Amalekites beat them, David strenghten himself in the LORD.

-------------------------------------
application with yoko picture?
-------------------------------------

after you see yoko picture, then you get aroused, ok then stop. close your laptop and oh... cannot hold, i wanna go to bathroom and MSTB (masturb4...) ... then no choice lah.. cuz your flesh is so craving for pornograply. Your identity secured in Christ right ? then you know what to do.

Come to GOD, tell our heavenly father: "Father, i fail again, tomorrow training again ok ?".
based on my experience,
sometimes HS say "filled yourself with GOD's presence and learn about knowing GOD's love until you are ready, then re-do the training".
Sometimes HS say "read 10 chapter of bible"
Sometimes HS say fasting
Sometimes HS say flee from temptation.
Sometimes HS say something that is confidential for me to share.

Many ways HS train me to build my inner man.

Just know before reply i just google yoko image and i can tell you i can look at her voluptous figure without getting aroused. Provided maximum 5 seconds, and I have to pray first to "load my defense armor". I never try longer than 5 seconds.

How long the training ? i didn't train every day so sorry to say it's very long: 20 years sad.gif

20 years ago, my craving for pornography was worse, much worse than this. "standard guy" lahh...

I didn't say to follow my way, no, follow HS leads. Sure enough you can be free, like me...

de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 05:17 PM

1,920 posts

hahaha... sorry lah braders biggrin.gif...
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 05:37 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Nov 7 2014, 04:03 PM)
Haha, the way you describe "voluptous" seem that you are already aroused.  icon_idea.gif

Its up to you lar, if you want to use this way to train yourself to withstand sin.

We've already got enough temptation to sin in life, and you wanna add on to your overflowing lists of temptations. LoL

Trust me, there's gonna be more trials coming to test our hearts, you don't have to be looking for them.
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 7 2014, 04:16 PM)
Bro I hope you dun get angry but that is trusting in self confidence.

And anything that is from self is not of Christ. Anything that is not of Christ is powerless.

And the flesh is powerless to submit to God. God's word is never wrong bro.

I know you're teaching us to be combat ready to fight lust but Jesus never teach us like that when it comes to the lust of the eyes.  biggrin.gif

He wants us to deal at root level. Root Level means it start from your heart and mind. 5 seconds already means you are engaging outside of your heart and mind.
QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 7 2014, 04:24 PM)
Why am I seeing pictures of women and talk about their figure in this thread?

De, it was really disrespectful for you to ask a girl how sexy or "curvaceous" she is. And how on earth is that related to Christianity?
Thanks for letting me share my opinion in this forum biggrin.gif

No i am not leaving, only i cannot reply now. probably later or tomorrow. Friday maa... cell group time rclxm9.gif

At least i can see we agree that malaysian guy should be combat ready / and know how to combat pornography,
yes nobody agree with my way / technicalities that i share. Which is fine. I fully aware it's controversial.

de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 11:08 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 7 2014, 04:24 PM)
Why am I seeing pictures of women and talk about their figure in this thread?

De, it was really disrespectful for you to ask a girl how sexy or "curvaceous" she is. And how on earth is that related to Christianity?
QUOTE(tinarhian @ Nov 7 2014, 10:41 PM)
Uhm, I think this is really inappropriate. You remind me of the guy that keep staring at me in church.

I just pretended to smile back, but actually I was like this.

I am definitely not skinny and chubby. So, I settled for "in between".
They can blast the aircon at full power, hehe, I'm used to cold weather, its the Malaysian weather that I cannot stand.
exactly... when a guy look at woman and "keep staring", most likely he entertain porn thoughts in his mind... it's reality, like it or not, most guy does fantasizing. perhaps only general fahmy n UW immune to this diseases... brows.gif

so what tinaarhian should do ? nothing. who cares about the guy... it's the guy problem with his mind, not tinaarhian problem... but if tina go to "old-school church", too bad tina got lambast cuz of inappropriate dressing.

what's the purpose of my message:
1. i know my message is vulgar and may sound inappropriate
2. tina it is true that man can entertain porn thoughts buy "keep staring" at tinahartian. I am sorry you are not comfortable. But i hope other sister here can have more understanding about guy and guy's weakness points.
3. decky "curvaceous" facilitate pornography... except for blind people, blinded since born.

This post has been edited by de1929: Nov 7 2014, 11:09 PM
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 11:13 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 7 2014, 08:21 PM)
The devil is pretty "controversial" too.
Just saying.
rest assured, i am dismantling devil tactics, i am dismantling how pornograpic works. Just trust me on that biggrin.gif
de1929
post Nov 7 2014, 11:38 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Nov 7 2014, 11:19 PM)
Well, girls look at guys too, without the "pornographic thoughts".

I don't think all guys are immune, they just know how to suppress their (lustful) thoughts into something positive.

I understand a guy's POV. Its hard to control the flow of blood for two of the most vital organs in the male body. Its either up or down. You can't have both ways. Simple science.  laugh.gif

But 1 Corinthians 6:18 said, "18Flee immorality. Every other sin that a man commits is outside the body, but the immoral man sins against his own body. 19Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? 20For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body".
Thanks for understanding the guys smile.gif

take it to the next level, when you get married, i understand you know the importance to please your husband in the bed, which is good for a healthy family.

when you are looking for a soul mate, make sure the guy is mature enough to discuss about this pornographic issues.... meaning if the guy say: aiyoo... nonsense lah such thing... i just run from problem ... then you know lah whether he is hypocrites or he simply don't have the knowledge.

yeah.. i am not so worry about you notworthy.gif ... but the guy you gonna married.. wink.gif yes

33 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0860sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:30 AM