87 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.5, Plasma, LCD & LED

cucubud
post Oct 26 2014, 10:25 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Oct 25 2014, 10:42 PM)
Mine is th-42s10a and still going strong  thumbup.gif Once a year i will open up the unit, blow up everything and clean. Check components for cold joints. Now i think 5 years edy, if im not wrong lah.
Look like the older models are more reliable than the newer models
crayzee
post Oct 27 2014, 12:54 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(whois101 @ Oct 26 2014, 07:53 PM)
What happened to your plasma screen? So sad plasma is going into history, do update us what model led they replaced.
refer back to my previous post, lots of vertical lines
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry70769349
SteadyPana
post Oct 28 2014, 07:37 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Oct 25 2014, 12:16 PM)
so sad that my ST50 had to go, panasonic will be replacing me with LEDTV instead since they already quit plasma business. Technician mentioned it will be AS700 replacement. I freaking love this plasma  cry.gif

on the other hand, the technician opened the back panel and i had the chance to snap some pics.
All caps used are Rubycon  thumbup.gif
P65ST50 ??
crayzee
post Oct 28 2014, 07:41 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Oct 28 2014, 07:37 PM)
P65ST50 ??
50ST50 smile.gif
cschun86
post Oct 28 2014, 09:50 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

Hi all sifu, anyone here own Panasonic P60S60 or small size model?
Is this plasma really suffer under bright room condition?
I am planning to get this model and put in my room...
ktek
post Oct 29 2014, 12:52 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Oct 28 2014, 09:50 PM)
Hi all sifu, anyone here own Panasonic P60S60 or small size model?
Is this plasma really suffer under bright room condition?
I am planning to get this model and put in my room...
dont say s60 model, even st60 with anti reflection filter also suffer.
if u use inside room, turn off the light will be nice.
cschun86
post Oct 29 2014, 01:40 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 29 2014, 12:52 PM)
dont say s60 model, even st60 with anti reflection filter also suffer.
if u use inside room, turn off the light will be nice.
I see... I am struggling between this model or the other 2 LED TV.
Samsung 55H6350 and Sony 55W800.

tim_1335
post Nov 4 2014, 12:26 AM

226 posts

Had my Panny S60 calibrated over the weekend by our very own master calibrator Anfieldude. He came lugging a few bags as well as what looked like a travel luggage bag loaded with gadgetry. The most impressive of which, is a pair of pricey looking colorimeters. Then, gave me a Calibration 101 for dummies explanation and fixed the white balance, gamma and CMS. The colours were very accurate and there is more pop after calibration. The red and green tinge to the picture were corrected. On top of that, he even verified the HDMI signal of my media player and AVR to make sure they're behaving as they should. True to form, the Denon AVR has been sending out a wonky signal, despite setting it to passthrough.

Turns out I've been watching Casino Royale with the wrong colour all this while. I highly recommended a calibration for anyone who has tried to get more accurate colours by copying settings from AV forums. Under the illusion that this calibrates their TV. Above all, a calibration is important for those who'd like to experience and appreciate a film's artistic vision as intended by its filmmaker. The results were quite good considering this is a budget plasma TV.

Many thanks to our legendary Anfieldude for an exceptional job on my inaugural hdtv calibration. notworthy.gif I kind of feel bad I didn't prepare some cakes or desserts for this 4 hour calibration.

cucubud
post Nov 4 2014, 07:32 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(tim_1335 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:26 AM)
Had my Panny S60 calibrated over the weekend by our very own master calibrator Anfieldude. He came lugging a few bags as well as what looked like a travel luggage bag loaded with gadgetry. The most impressive of which, is a pair of pricey looking colorimeters. Then, gave me a Calibration 101 for dummies explanation and fixed the white balance, gamma and CMS. The colours were very accurate and there is more pop after calibration. The red and green tinge to the picture were corrected. On top of that, he even verified the HDMI signal of my media player and AVR to make sure they're behaving as they should. True to form, the Denon AVR has been sending out a wonky signal, despite setting it to passthrough.

Turns out I've been watching Casino Royale with the wrong colour all this while. I highly recommended a calibration for anyone who has tried to get more accurate colours by copying settings from AV forums. Under the illusion that this calibrates their TV. Above all, a calibration is important for those who'd like to experience and appreciate a film's artistic vision as intended by its filmmaker. The results were quite good considering this is a budget plasma TV.

Many thanks to our legendary Anfieldude for an exceptional job on my inaugural hdtv calibration.  notworthy.gif I kind of feel bad I didn't prepare some cakes or desserts for this 4 hour calibration.

How much does it cost you?
tim_1335
post Nov 4 2014, 11:59 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 4 2014, 07:32 AM)
You may PM bro anfieldude for that.
carmona
post Nov 5 2014, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 4 2014, 12:32 AM)
Alternatively you can do it by yourself with a low-price colorimeter like the Spyder4TV. I do that for my own at home with a Samsung LED TV (Full HD, 3D) and is more than enough for my purposes...
cucubud
post Nov 6 2014, 07:41 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(carmona @ Nov 5 2014, 09:53 PM)
Alternatively you can do it by yourself with a low-price colorimeter like the Spyder4TV. I do that for my own at home with a Samsung LED TV (Full HD, 3D) and is more than enough for my purposes...
How much is the Spyder4TV?
When you calibrate your tv, do you just adjust the Brightness, Cantrast, Saturation and etc like what we adjust on the remote control or you need to go into the service menu to adjust the advance functions?

anfieldude
post Nov 7 2014, 03:55 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(carmona @ Nov 5 2014, 09:53 PM)
DIY calibration is a great idea. However, if I may, there is a thread that is stickied at the top, that I recommend the i1Display Pro and for a free software use the new fork of HCFR. The Spyder is not that an accurate a meter, the i1Display Pro is a better meter in my opinion.
dirtrun
post Nov 7 2014, 04:17 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 6 2014, 07:41 AM)
How much is the Spyder4TV?
When you calibrate your tv, do you just adjust the Brightness, Cantrast, Saturation and etc like what we adjust on the remote control or you need to go into the service menu to adjust the advance functions?
IIRC,

Its not cheap .. N if like me - u r not a hands-on-technical-type of guy then itll be more frustrating than rewarding - in de end.. Better let de pros[like bro A] handle it..
Besides IMO, to buy all tis hardware/software for calibrating and do it once [ or once in a blue moon ] is kinda wasteful..

D

cucubud
post Nov 7 2014, 08:34 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Nov 7 2014, 04:17 PM)
IIRC,

Its not cheap .. N if like me - u r not a hands-on-technical-type of guy then itll be more frustrating than rewarding - in de end.. Better let de pros[like bro A] handle it..
Besides IMO, to buy  all tis hardware/software for calibrating and do it once [ or once in a blue moon ] is kinda wasteful..

D
True also.
If the calibration cost 20% of the tv also quite costly.
Old already the eyes also weak. Cannot see clearly.
Calibrate and uncalibrate also cannot differentiate much.
Mea Culpa
post Nov 8 2014, 06:55 PM

5,180 posts

Calibrated display has more NATURAL image and more pleasing to watch.

Uncalibrated display or bad setting may "tax" your vision a bit, how? shocking.gif Our vision is auto calibrated by the brain minimising color error, white, so things looks natural.

Our vision is more of a relative, not really with fixed parameters.

Remember the red-cyan glasses for 3d? After using it for 15 minutes, our brain will re-calibrate (error correction) for the left and right color vision, when you remove the glasses try using the left eye only then the right eye only. You'll notice the eye which on cyan glass image will look more red-ish and where the red glass is you vision is more blu-ish.

Another example, if you use COOL white setting, your ceiling florescent lamp looks yellowish, its the error correction in effect, the brain accepts what you watch most as the referrence and accepts it as TRUE. When you switch to WARM then the florescent looks much natural and has more white to it. Why? Our eyes is being used to 6500K white from the sun. Even most of our florescent is also 6500k. Some low quality white leds are 9300k tho, they appear bluish, but not to worry all display has fixed this via factory level calibration, by compensating lesser blue into RGB for white.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Nov 9 2014, 01:37 AM
creed
post Nov 9 2014, 01:48 PM

262 posts

Anyone can give an idea how much I can resell my 65ST50 with 2 pairs of 3D glasses? Glass are almost new and TV been mounted since bought

Still under warranty, thinking of going 75/78" for the living room
cucubud
post Nov 10 2014, 08:04 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Nov 8 2014, 06:55 PM)
Calibrated display has more NATURAL image and more pleasing to watch.

Uncalibrated display or bad setting may "tax" your vision a bit, how?  shocking.gif Our vision is auto calibrated by the brain minimising color error, white, so things looks natural. 

Our vision is more of a relative, not really with fixed parameters.

Remember the red-cyan glasses for 3d? After using it for 15 minutes, our brain will re-calibrate (error correction) for the left and right color vision, when you remove the glasses try using the left eye only then the right eye only. You'll notice the eye which on cyan glass image will look more red-ish and where the red glass is you vision is more blu-ish.

Another example, if you use COOL white setting, your ceiling florescent lamp looks yellowish, its the error correction in effect, the brain accepts what you watch most as the referrence and accepts it as TRUE. When you switch to WARM then the florescent looks much natural and has more white to it. Why? Our eyes is being used to 6500K white from the sun. Even most of our florescent is also 6500k. Some low quality white leds are 9300k tho, they appear bluish, but not to worry all display has fixed this via factory level calibration, by compensating lesser blue into RGB for white.
What is the % change between a calibrated tv and an uncalibrated tv?

cucubud
post Nov 10 2014, 08:06 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(creed @ Nov 9 2014, 01:48 PM)
Anyone can give an idea how much I can resell my 65ST50 with 2 pairs of 3D glasses? Glass are almost new and TV been mounted since bought

Still under warranty, thinking of going 75/78" for the living room
How old is your tv?
Warranty until when?
How much when you bought new?
creed
post Nov 10 2014, 06:34 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Nov 10 2014, 08:06 AM)
How old is your tv?
Warranty until when?
How much when you bought new?