Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

unequalteck
post Oct 17 2014, 10:44 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Xisuka @ Oct 17 2014, 08:20 PM)
What thickness or type of re bar is recommended?
U need structural engineer to calculate for the rebar required. Anyway, I can do freelance for rc design and get the PE endorsement if u need it.

QUOTE(NathanChan76 @ Oct 17 2014, 10:28 PM)
Your understanding of structural theory is a little way off, Concrete withstand compressive strength while steel rebar withstand tensile strength. Together the two material used together is called Reinforced Concrete. The steel rebar helps resist bending (moment) and tensile actions/force acted upon the component (beam, column and slab), but concrete is the one holding everything together.
+1

bearbearwong
post Oct 17 2014, 11:35 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 17 2014, 01:30 PM)
hey guys, u may ask me anything about construction industry and i'll try my best to answer all ur question.

Construction Industry is so complex and actually affect various party namely,

House buyer / Purchaser
Developer
Consultant (Architect, Engineer and etc)
Main Contractor
Subcontractor / Vendor / Supplier
Local Authority (DBKL, BOMBA, SYABAS, TNB, TELEKOM, POS, JKKP, IWK and etc.)

u can also ask me about construction law. I know a lot abt that too biggrin.gif
hi there? asking on behalf of a friend

how much will it cost for piling and foundation in a piece of land size of 4927 sq, maybe around 60 X 95 to withstand respectively:

a) 2 storey shop
b) 3 storey shop
c) 5 storey shop

thank you...

also I heard to get the relevant authorities for approval and conversion to become commercial areas requires at least 1 year?

This post has been edited by bearbearwong: Oct 17 2014, 11:41 PM
hsbc2
post Oct 17 2014, 11:36 PM

bro, what is the cost to build this house? and market price sold by contractor?

normally how many percents a developer earns from a project? ie. soho commercial condos?

Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 17 2014, 11:37 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 17 2014, 01:30 PM)
hey guys, u may ask me anything about construction industry and i'll try my best to answer all ur question.

Construction Industry is so complex and actually affect various party namely,

House buyer / Purchaser
Developer
Consultant (Architect, Engineer and etc)
Main Contractor
Subcontractor / Vendor / Supplier
Local Authority (DBKL, BOMBA, SYABAS, TNB, TELEKOM, POS, JKKP, IWK and etc.)

u can also ask me about construction law. I know a lot abt that too
Finally, the Master Builder is here to save us. icon_rolleyes.gif

This is a serious and meaningful thread. I have three questions related to the contractual issues.

(1) Say the Employer is pressuring the Main Contractor to start work. Is there a problem in the issue of a Letter of Intent?

(2) If a Letter of Intent is issued with a limit of RM1 million, is the employer obliged to pay a higher sum after allowing a contractor to exceed the limit?

(3) Can pre-contract minutes during the tender stage form a binding contract?
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2014, 12:32 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Oct 17 2014, 10:31 PM)
Anyone know the difference between RC wall, Parapet Wall and Retaining Wall?
Are you a fresh Civil Engineer? sweat.gif

RC Wall is a short form of the phrase Reinforced Concrete Wall, a type of concrete shear wall in which reinforcement bars (a.k.a. rebars) have been incorporated into the concrete matrix to strengthen the tensile strength of the concrete wall that would otherwise be brittle.

Parapet wall is a low wall usually constructed along the edge of a roof, balcony, or walkway. Commonly used to protect people against accidental falls.

Retaining wall is a structural encasement constructed to hold back soil, water, or materials. Retaining walls are used to increase the amount of level usable building area, retaining soil at a higher level, and preventing it from encroaching into the building or another useable area.

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:21 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Oct 17 2014, 09:29 PM)
Hai iwubpreve boss,

Recently, i got a dilemma... I want to build a holiday house at my small small land...

But you know lah, now very HING steel structure. Modern and stylish.

So I wonder,

Steel structure vs RC structure
1) what are the pro and con of each
2) if i use steel structure, will i save some cost in foundation? Any estimated cost if there is at all any saving?

Thanks in advance.
rc structure
pros - cheaper
cons - slower, need time curing

steel structure
pros - faster, can prefabricated in factory and assemble at site without have to wait, stronger because steel have high tensile strength
cons - expensive

nothing to do with foundation. foundation is nothing to do v material, the higher the building, the stronger foundation require. if u use steel structure, cost would be higher. steel is expensive than concrete. the advantage u have is u save time, can build immediately as long as u have the steel material.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:22 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 17 2014, 09:31 PM)
Why the side is white colour ? They tape the side ?
ya, and label the number so they know which piece join which piece.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:24 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Oct 17 2014, 10:27 PM)
may i know what is your job? engineer? so that i can expect whether you position can answer my query.
if anything v construction industry very likely I can answer. relate to what ur question?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:30 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(NathanChan76 @ Oct 17 2014, 10:28 PM)
Your understanding of structural theory is a little way off, Concrete withstand compressive strength while steel rebar withstand tensile strength. Together the two material used together is called Reinforced Concrete. The steel rebar helps resist bending (moment) and tensile actions/force acted upon the component (beam, column and slab), but concrete is the one holding everything together.
concrete have compressive strength 40N/mm2 for grade 40 concrete. a normal high tensile bar have 460N/mm2 tensile strength. more than 10 times stronger than concrete. concrete is strong in compressive strength but rebar have higher compressive strength than concrete. the tensile strength even much much higher.

sometimes when compressive strength is not enough, they add rebar to get more compressive strength. seems like ur core is not civil engineering.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:38 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Oct 17 2014, 11:35 PM)
hi there? asking on behalf of a friend

how much will it cost for piling and foundation in a piece of land size of 4927 sq, maybe around 60 X 95 to withstand respectively:

a) 2 storey shop
b) 3 storey shop
c) 5 storey shop

thank you...

also I heard to get the relevant authorities for approval and conversion to become commercial areas requires at least 1 year?
how many square feet? built up area of the shop. u can use abt RM175 per square feet to calculate. built up area, not land area. say 5 storey is 5000 build up area, then is 175 x 5000 equal to 875k. thus us just general guild line.

approval from authority u need get runner to do for u. competent 1 can help u expedite the approval quickly, but u need to pay for it at higher cost. usually is Malay.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:46 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 17 2014, 11:37 PM)
Finally, the Master Builder is here to save us.  icon_rolleyes.gif

This is a serious and meaningful thread. I have three questions related to the contractual issues.

(1) Say the Employer is pressuring the Main Contractor to start work. Is there a problem in the issue of a Letter of Intent?

(2) If a Letter of Intent is issued with a limit of RM1 million, is the employer obliged to pay a higher sum after allowing a contractor to exceed the limit?

(3) Can pre-contract minutes during the tender stage form a binding contract?
I assume u are Employer la.

1. no problem issue letter of intent. what problem u concern?

2. yes, if beyond 1mil, employer still need to pay. maybe employer might via letter of intent don't wanna pay any amount beyond 1mil, but contractor can use the principle of quantum meruit and force employer to pay.

3. pre-contract minutes mean the meeting that carry b4 contract form? or after, kindly elaborate more ur case.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:47 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Oct 17 2014, 10:31 PM)
Anyone know the difference between RC wall, Parapet Wall and Retaining Wall?
u student? sweat.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2014, 02:02 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 18 2014, 01:46 AM)
Should be the other way around — CONTRACTOR. sweat.gif

2. yes, if beyond 1mil, employer still need to pay. maybe employer might via letter of intent don't wanna pay any amount beyond 1mil, but contractor can use the principle of quantum meruit and force employer to pay.

3. pre-contract minutes mean the meeting that carry b4 contract form? or after, kindly elaborate more ur case.
The common excuse for the issue of the letter is that the employer cannot wait the additional few days necessary for the preparation and execution of a formal contract. When requesting for a simple letter of acceptance of the contractor’s tender rather than a letter of intent, we suspect there is something more substantial preventing the issue of an acceptance letter with a few words and sentences. We are unsure whether it may be a delay in obtaining funding for the whole project or perhaps contractor’s tender was “still relatively high” and reduction negotiations with the Employer's in-house contractors are in progress. sad.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2014, 02:21 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 17 2014, 05:44 PM)
main contractor have to be competitive to get the job. u mark up 15% how u get the job? a competent contractor that know how to plan the work well, they just mark up 3% to 4% as they already have in mind how the work would look like b4 start the work. able to foreseen what would happen during construction and hence prevent a lot of unnecessary expenses. they get additional profit through VO work.
(1a) If the Employer cannot give site possession on the due date, can the matter be resolved by the Architect giving an instruction to postpone the Works as per the Contract?

(1b) If the Architect does not grant Time Extension, and the Contractor is required to perform accelerated Works to catch up with the project’s completion schedule, can the Contractor use the Employer’s delay in giving the site possession as a reason to justify a claim for VO?
unequalteck
post Oct 18 2014, 02:31 AM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 18 2014, 01:30 AM)
concrete have compressive strength 40N/mm2 for grade 40 concrete. a normal high tensile bar have 460N/mm2 tensile strength. more than 10 times stronger than concrete. concrete is strong in compressive strength but rebar have higher compressive strength than concrete. the tensile strength even much much higher.

sometimes when compressive strength is not enough, they add rebar to get more compressive strength. seems like ur core is not civil engineering.
I don't think so bro, if u check back BS 8110, rebar will tend to buckle subject to compressive force therefore rebar only used to resist high tensile force.

And for most building, local practice is using grade C30 concrete which is 30N/mm2, as far as I know water retaining structure using C35A and MRT segmental box girder using C40
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2014, 04:20 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

I do appreciate iwubpreve's initiative to help young engineers, procurement officers, and project managers. This is a meaningful thread to invite seasoned people from different engineering disciplines or professional specializations on the Engineering, Procurement, and Construction (EPC) industry, with emphasis on the free exchange of information, and opinions with respect, and providing a forum, open to all users, for the discussion of problems that may affect the industry.

It remains an indisputable fact that concrete has a high compressive strength and a very low tensile strength, thus, requiring the use of tensile reinforcing. Reinforced concrete is a structure that achieves excellent chemical adhesion between the steel and the concrete, wherein the steel bars provide the tensile strength lacking in the concrete. This beautiful engineering discovery allows both materials act together as a unit in resisting compressive and tensile stresses in modern buildings. In fact, steel reinforcing is also capable of resisting compression forces and sometimes is used in columns.

This post has been edited by Critical_Fallacy: Oct 18 2014, 04:24 AM
CloudAtla$
post Oct 18 2014, 06:42 AM

1,266 posts

Letter of intend vs letter of award. Any different?
Pre contract mean before la. Not post contract.

This post has been edited by CloudAtla$: Oct 18 2014, 06:43 AM
rotloi
post Oct 18 2014, 06:45 AM

878 posts

I want to know about job available !!
CloudAtla$
post Oct 18 2014, 07:17 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(rotloi @ Oct 18 2014, 06:45 AM)
I want to know about job available !!
Bangla housekeeper.
bearbearwong
post Oct 18 2014, 08:12 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 18 2014, 01:38 AM)
how many square feet? built up area of the shop. u can use abt RM175 per square feet to calculate. built up area, not land area. say 5 storey is 5000 build up area, then is 175 x 5000 equal to 875k. thus us just general guild line.

approval from authority u need get runner to do for u. competent 1 can help u expedite the approval quickly, but u need to pay for it at higher cost. usually is Malay.
oh built up area will be around

45 X80 (reserving some place for side and back)

if 3 floors + 1 parking facility underneath

45 X80= 3600

3600 X (3+1) = 144000 st built up total

so 144000 x RM175= 2.52 million?

RM175, inclusive of building structure till finish? is it possible to do piling for 3-4 storey first, but built 2 storey and 1 parking facility, then upgrade sumore?

79 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:17 PM