Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A
TSiwubpreve
Jan 16 2016, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(Toyoi @ Jan 15 2016, 01:35 PM) there should be a limit for one company to given projects it cannot be only one same company always sapu big projeks with long-term tenure preferably a company should only be allowed to undertake new project once current project almost completed imagine one company have 2-3 billions order book and still waiting for another 1-2 billion projects to be awarded are they really good or simply have an army of Ali baba subcons help them complete the projects? its time JKR/CIDB should create law anti-monopoly for projects let us wait how iwubpreve reply to those questions  if the open and transparent tender is truly adopted, those company that are fully occupied won't even qualified to tender the work. in fact on paper alibaba is now allow. because u can't sublet the entire project to other contractor in most of the standard form of contract we commonly used. well written in the contract subletting entire project is prohibited.
TSiwubpreve
Jan 18 2016, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Perbaman @ Jan 18 2016, 09:24 AM) eh anyone know the lightweight precast concrete one ar? mostly i see is used as coping at windows, with cantilevered about 150-200mm is there any such product that is similar, but can cantilever up to 3-4 ft? i need to put overhang on window, but i really dislike to put the polycarbonate awning bekos it looks awful. so im thinking to use lightweight concrete instead.. idea bernas or not? cost-wise, izit expense? any rough figure per foot run? iwubpreve? non load bearing? yeah it have, but non load bearing type. mean can't let people or load stand on the 4ft coping. cost wise is cheap if light weight concrete u mean. actually the so called light weight concrete mostly is hollow concrete therefore is light.
TSiwubpreve
Jan 18 2016, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(Perbaman @ Jan 18 2016, 02:33 PM) orait thanks  good to know that izit require supplier's contractor to install or any contractor can do it? yup non load bearing.. instead of awning, i want it to look like a slab. just dont step on it lah i've seen a section of the light weight concrete, inside got polystyrene. just dunno where to find it hmm, hardware shop have? but those polyfoam type, it look like concrete also because cement cover it what? pretty easy to install if u know how to fix ikea wall rack
TSiwubpreve
Jan 20 2016, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(Armata @ Jan 20 2016, 11:16 AM) TS, currently my balcony is empty without any fencing...i plan to cement the balcony floor, then put up a simple glass fence around it.. how much this should costs usually? size around 2.5 cars side by side width... and will this case water to seep into cement underneath? Coz below is plaster ceiling... balcony no fencing? so dangerous 1?
TSiwubpreve
Jan 20 2016, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(Zaszo @ Jan 18 2016, 10:25 PM) Hi,what can you tell about career prospect for civil engineering technology.i know this engineering technology still new in malaysia but not for europe. what is new? I think if Europe adopt and very effective soon malaysia will adopt it quickly if it's much cost efficient also
TSiwubpreve
Jan 20 2016, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jan 20 2016, 12:39 PM) hi sifu want to ask is it common practice for the clerk of work to sign DO? in this case its DO for rebar/brc but i would like to know generally should they sign for DO of any nature DO sign by main contractor for the purpose of the supplier claim from u. clerk of work sign more on acknowledgement of the rebar had come to site. perhaps that 1 can be used to claim material on site
TSiwubpreve
Jan 20 2016, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(Armata @ Jan 20 2016, 12:44 PM) got 1 small fencing..but want to extend.. like this example..current one is only this, i wanna extend out to cover whole balcony :  ic. bro u need to get PE to submit application to local authority. plus the roof slab outside balcony cannot cater sufficient load because original not design for balcony. need to reconstruct according to new design from the professional engineer. 10k to 20k I think total cost
TSiwubpreve
Jan 20 2016, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jan 20 2016, 12:54 PM) thank u si fu for reply yes main con ad sign but now main con also request cow to sign as vertification generally no issue right ? no issue. the COW also need to verify the rebar is approved & as accordance to spec. 1. COW should be from structural engineer representative.
TSiwubpreve
Feb 18 2016, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(mineral @ Feb 18 2016, 04:56 PM) Hello. Need some advise. I've collected the keys to my new house but I noticed a significant different on the actual layout (with dimension) compare with on S&P - there are more horizontal and vertical pillars in the unit. Think the developer short change me. how big it vary?
TSiwubpreve
Feb 18 2016, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 18 2016, 06:36 PM) Which type of flooring is most resistant to scratches/wear? Wanna change my house floor from linoleum type to something more resistant. carpet? sure resistant to scratch
TSiwubpreve
Feb 18 2016, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 18 2016, 06:56 PM) Dust leh hard to clean if something spills?  need vacuum lo. use dyson should be fine
TSiwubpreve
Feb 18 2016, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(mineral @ Feb 18 2016, 11:04 PM) Apologise for the drawing. It's something as attached. I'm still trying to get the actual layout from the developer u "horizontal pillar" is this is it?  this is called beam. well S&P won't show this beam but it is normally there 1 la. the beam is wider and wall is less wider that's why u see that. developer didn't cheat u.
TSiwubpreve
Feb 19 2016, 06:45 AM
QUOTE(mineral @ Feb 19 2016, 12:08 AM) Hmm IC. How bout the extra pillar on the top right bout 1x1 feet? that pillar hide in wall already since it's corner?
TSiwubpreve
Feb 19 2016, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(mineral @ Feb 19 2016, 09:51 AM) It's exposed and taken up some space that suppose to cater for the kitchen cabinet. Headache le. Many thanks for your explaination ur picture no show expose o. got real picture?
TSiwubpreve
Feb 19 2016, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(Perbaman @ Feb 19 2016, 03:37 PM) i think the pillar/column is 1'x1', whereas the wall is 150mm, so maybe got half foot exposed column at the corner. if you can "unsee" the beam drawn, can imagine there's a 'kink' at the corner oic. should draw out the "kink" ma
TSiwubpreve
Feb 20 2016, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(dps404 @ Feb 19 2016, 05:46 PM) any idea why my screeding + hardener works crack like no tomorrow after a month or so? normally how do you guys rectify this problem? need to redo bro. by hack off and rescreed again. there could be many factor, like inappropriate mixture of cement sand water, poor workmanship, or weather
TSiwubpreve
Feb 20 2016, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(-SMK- @ Feb 20 2016, 12:58 PM) my first floor house floor parquet is coming off. i have built in furniture in my rooms what i can do to solve this? is there any solution other than change the whole floor parquet? parquet stick back lo.
TSiwubpreve
Feb 22 2016, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 22 2016, 09:14 AM) If my lantai bocor, orang bawah rumah ceiling got some watery stain, should i redo the proofing,retiling or any other cost savvy method to repair the leak? u need bro. after dlp right? but not necessary need redo waterproofing and tiling. discuss v owner below, do the pressure grouting on the leaking spot will do from owner ceiling.
TSiwubpreve
Feb 23 2016, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Julianc @ Feb 23 2016, 10:52 AM) what IT solutions does construction industry need? what is the painpoints related to IT? yes. a lot. heard of bim?
TSiwubpreve
Feb 24 2016, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 24 2016, 09:46 AM) would making a concrete base with electric, water, communications connections for a 40ft container home be expensive? expensive as in PE endorsement, local authority approval and etc.