25 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:07 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(iamasadpanda @ Aug 30 2015, 02:48 AM)
I'm having problems with this recent smart partnership thingy with TM. They seems to be inconsistent in their procedure. Serdang branch said like this, kinrara said like that.

At what stage will TM release surat sokongan for CCC? After complete infra work or up to overall installation of telephone system? One of TM branch had inspected our infra work and release surat sokongan but we haven't got fibre coming to our building. Whos scope is it to lay the fibre from existing manhole to our building and how do I execute it?
connection to existing service from main building to Telekom Manhole completed then they will come and inspect. usually internal distribution within building should be ready at that stage what sweat.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:09 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(stupiak07 @ Aug 29 2015, 07:20 PM)
how much does usually building a pool cost for a  6 ft deep 12ft width 30ft length cost?

by diging under
cost is unknown bro. need to see the drawing, site condition then only can price it accurately. digging soil? hack existing concrete? then pump room location?
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:10 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Sep 19 2015, 07:45 PM)
If the flood light on the tower crane is still switch on, does it mean someone is still working ?
i suppose so. but they can switch on as they like i guess sweat.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:15 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Etolen @ Sep 20 2015, 08:53 PM)
Hi, I would like to know about quantity surveyors
1. What do they actually do?
ultimate goal is costing. to adminster the project in costing and contractual issue. contractor do contracting. so always have to know what is ur right stand cotractually.
bid the project accurately for tendering work. accurate as in not over pricing (over u lose the bid) and not under pricing (u suffer loss in project).

2. Do they work like slaves?
smart QS shake leg. true story biggrin.gif
3. Is there a demand or quantity surveyors now?
yes. hunting QS everywhere i saw even now.
my opinion in red colour biggrin.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:20 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:28 PM)
bedroom flooring

usually hardwood is recommended, why?

is use granite/marble, what are the cons and pros?
got money use solid timber lo.
no budget use engineered timber.
no budget for engineered timber floor then use lami floor (not really a timber floor for lami)
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:33 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(toiletroll @ Nov 5 2015, 10:46 AM)
Hi.

In view of the current market condition, I wonder anyone can share with me what the contractor is going to do in order to continue to survive.

9 out of 10 developers I met are pulling handbrake due to many uncertainties in the market .. They stop acquiring land for development. Some have land bank some may not.

When there is no developments, most of the related industry will be affected as well...
medium and low end still high in demand. the demand is so robust. if u talk abt high end, yes during bad economy like now, they will pul handbrake.
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:34 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Nov 6 2015, 09:27 AM)
oh no, what i mean is , why usually wood is used in bedroom instead of granite/marble? is it because granite/marble is cold and doesnt give the warm feeling of bedroom?  blush.gif
wood for bedroom. but timber floor expensive so mostly u saw tiles biggrin.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 09:36 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 5 2015, 12:23 PM)
TS any comments on container houses?
my pinion container house won't be a trend. i still prefer a house attached to land without moving here & there. imagine there are so many connection to be done when u move and settle down. connection to electric, water supply, the waste pit (real shit kind of stuff) etc it's like a headache rclxub.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 01:40 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 6 2015, 01:26 PM)
how about something like this?
it looks good.
i really like the sustainable ideas built into the house.

well until u stay then only u will feel the cons and perhaps u will hate it so much.

look nice but could be not practical. like every time u need to sleep have to fold down and up sweat.gif imagine 1 day u back home so tired still have to do preparation b4 sleep sweat.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 02:23 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 6 2015, 02:05 PM)
that the owner's own interior design choice.
with the same layout 2x3 of 40ft containers i want.

GF: Living room & Car Garage
1F: Dinning room & kitchen
2F: Two bedrooms with ensuite showers 
RF: Roof garden OR solar & rainwater collectors
ic. would it be too narrow for the width?

by the way the sustainable u mean is green? or can last long?
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 6 2015, 02:34 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 6 2015, 02:25 PM)
can this get CF in malaysia?
provided u comply to the authority requirement then can la. but if the Bomba want the access above this container size can do, then cannot get lo
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 7 2015, 08:11 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 6 2015, 07:17 PM)
two 40ft containers side by side should be enough room.
three 40ft containers high would give 3 levels, 4 if including roof.
what u mean? just add staircase to the roof can liao mah.
bomba not see this requirement 1. like the walkway is how wide and etc. anyway, ur intention is to save money? if the cost is equivalent to build a landed properties, u will consider do it?
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 7 2015, 08:12 PM

1,829 posts

how to embed? sweat.gif
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=821614334547942

i think this can save the scaffolding cost. not just scaffolding cost itself, also can save the labour to erect and dismantle scaffolding when moving to other room.

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Nov 7 2015, 08:13 PM
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 7 2015, 08:48 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(nassry @ Nov 7 2015, 08:43 PM)
Hello TS,

If i want to work in a construction site like those bangla. Where do i apply? Is there any requirement ?
if u malaysian no much application. just need a cidb pass. just go to any subcontractor can already.

u malaysian?
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 7 2015, 08:53 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(nassry @ Nov 7 2015, 08:51 PM)
Yea , sometimes I just would like to get the experience.
ohh. just go to that subcontractor work as site supervisor. then u help out ur worker lo. manage is most important thing though
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 9 2015, 07:26 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Nov 8 2015, 08:57 AM)
iwubpreve

Dear iwubpreve,

How do I calculate for GFA and NFA when comes to trusses and roof? Some QS that I know use either GFA and NFA. Now I am confused.
NFA is internal perimeter, but some argue saying roof and trusses should be GFA.

Also to add, when they create formwork using hard wood, is there a specific guideline to follow, I mean the spacing in between must not exceed by how many mm? Thickness of hardwood? Different concrete grade, different wood thickness?

Why shear wall often got hollow issue? Any remedy/solution to this?

On which type of project Green Building Index and Building Information Modelling must be implemented?
gfa is gross floor area. it give u an indication base on project completed in the past. so u can figure it out the price. usually developer estimate cost backward. NFA stand for what?

plywood then hardwood support below. u mean this hardwood right? hardwood is because this wood can stand the load and won't break even it bent a lot due to heavy loan. concrete grade nothing to do. there are certain spacing to be comply. anyway nowadays is system formwork era. most architect insist to use system formwork.

shear wall is generally deeper when u cast the concrete. it's poor vibration especially bottom part where concrete can't reach perfectly. also rebar congestion make it difficult to vibrate the bottom of shear wall. rectification is depend the severity of the hollow / honeycomb it have. hack the hollow part then put the formwork and pour non-shrink grout is the general solution. but consulting engineer will tell u if they want other solution if the case is serious. they might want u to hack entire shear wall and redo.

gbi got score index. depend how many point u wanna achieve. and how u get those point from

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Nov 9 2015, 07:34 AM
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 9 2015, 07:35 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Nov 8 2015, 09:18 PM)
What is 'design liability insurance' and when should we purchase it?
u at which party? contractor consultant developer?
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 9 2015, 07:37 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Nov 9 2015, 12:02 AM)
sometimes i wonder, how those contractor, consultant, clerk of work, dev get their wife and gf...

well, i got a position as site technician supplier side but must based on site, pay is 3.5k+travel

but my main concern is getting a soulmate. already very few female friends in my circle, if join construction will get even worst. serious advice needed
don't spend ur entire time in construction bro. anyway majority of qs is girl smile.gif

salesman supplier also a lot of girl smile.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Nov 16 2015, 09:33 AM

1,829 posts

reply in red biggrin.gif
QUOTE(zeist @ Nov 11 2015, 01:18 PM)
iwubpreve

NFA = Net Floor Area

Thanks on the info

When you say concrete can't reach perfectly, who to blame? Design = Engineer OR concrete = Supplier OR Construction = PM?
Main contractor to be blame. Engineer design and contractor execute the work. usually it will produce "honeycomb" defect and will register as NCR (non-conformance report) issued by consulting engineer

May I know what is the difference between cost estimate and cost plan? Cos I often hear these terms. They say these two and BQ, all three are not the same. I am very confused.
I not sure what exactly u mean. cost estimate is actually a breakdown cost. eg. how u derive 1m2 of floor tile? u need cost breakdown like this,
1.supply of tile
2.wastage of tile
3.cement screed to receive tile
4.adhesive for tile
5.labour to lay tile
6.15% profit and attendance
Total of 1-6 = $xx/m2

BQ is showing the quantity and rate and total amount of entire project.

Who is fully responsible in producing BIM? Architect? Designer? 3D Visualizer?
Main contractor produce BIM

How to use 'Cost Plus'? And which Cost Plus is frequently used?
Cost plus mean u enter the contract whereby u "reveal" the actual cost to client and ask for a % of profit. example u need RM100k hire 5 subcontractor and RM10k for ur team managemement coordination & supervision expenses, and u want 10% as profit. so u give ur client the breakdown of cost. (RM100,000 + RM10,000) x 1.10 = RM121,000. in future got any variation order will use this basis to adjust.

If let say client direct deal with a vendor, we as the main-con we charge them for coordination and planning, can I put this under 'cost plus' and charge them at 5%? Is 5% the maximum for cost plus?
depend how the contract say. in PAM 2006 standard form of contract it written 15% for P&A. bear in mind this is profit & attendance. so is subcontractor cost + 15% as the management team is included in 15%. 15% quite standard. even singapore standard form of contract PSSCOC (for government project) also mention the same thing. however this always can become the arguing matter in term of wording sweat.gif

Any other scenario when the cost plus takes place?
cost plus is just a meaning of the actual cost to build a house (all labour, material, machinery, supervision team) and then plus a profit percentage u desire that is.

Eg. item (1 until 6) + item 7 = cost plus
1.supply of tile
2.wastage of tile
3.cement screed to receive tile
4.adhesive for tile
5.labour to lay tile
6.5% of attendance
7.10% profit

however pricing strategy a lot out there. as a main contractor, the cost breakdown of entire project is very complex. because u have to take consideration of many things.

TSiwubpreve
post Nov 16 2015, 09:39 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Nov 11 2015, 02:56 PM)
Hi there iwubpreve,

I've been attached to my current firm (interior design/renovation) close to 3 years now. When I joined, I applied and started in the accounts(finance) department, less than a year in the HR job fell on my lap as well.
In year 2, I find myself going down to the sites to monitor and co-ordinate labor & material. I could still cope up till there, but now - I'm also involved in pre & post-tender works (including defect follow up from projects long ago).

I have no background in construction/quantity surveying and I'm struggling with pre & post-tender works. Is there anyway to grasp it any faster? (maybe a course for Quantity Surveying / Construction Management would help? )
fastest would be imperia college. 1 year for QS degree course (without honours). top up 1 and half year more u have honours degree biggrin.gif

25 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:50 AM