126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

KVReninem
post Jun 25 2007, 02:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jun 25 2007, 03:24 PM)
Has anyone seen the new revised changes to the ESOS Act affecting international students?

http://aei.dest.gov.au/AEI/ESOS/default.htm

Universities across the nation should now be announcing these changes to their students and how it affects them.

Basically, the new policy now makes study visa extension rules stricter than before. Students are required to complete their degrees within the timeframe set in their eCOE and extensions are only granted on exceptional grounds. Afaik, students are encouraged to overload if they think they can't finish their degrees on time (because they may have switched courses or done less than a full load previously).

I've tried asking the international student support group at my uni and they said it won't affect the majority of students and that at this point in time, nobody knows the full effects as the implementation only begins July 1st.
whao big shit man...cant fail la like tat ~
haya
post Jun 25 2007, 03:39 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

http://aei.dest.gov.au/AEI/ESOS/NatCodeRevised_pdf.htm

Outlines the difference between and old and the new code. chris_c28 has summarised it excellently.
This is a shock to me. Usually any changes in immigration and education laws affecting international students would spread like wildfire in the chinese speaking community. I haven't heard anything about it.

Habis lah! One extra reason why I can't fail.
onemilimeter
post Jun 25 2007, 04:16 PM

1,132 posts

What's the average age when one gets his/her bachelor degree (engineering) in Australian universities? Pls advise. Thanks.
KVReninem
post Jun 25 2007, 04:21 PM

IX
5,369 posts

22, 21, 24
Patrick12
post Jun 25 2007, 06:04 PM

14 posts

Any1 study in curtin,bentley campus?Is it good?I got offer to study pharmacy at there next year feb.Is it true that is at a dangerous suburb?It's a good uni?i need help pls....thx...
zltan
post Jun 25 2007, 06:36 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jun 25 2007, 04:16 PM)
What's the average age when one gets his/her bachelor degree (engineering) in Australian universities? Pls advise. Thanks.
In Malaysian standards:
Fastest: Finish SPM at 16 years old, 1 year of pre-U, 4 years of Engineering Degree
=graduate at 21 years old

Average: Finish SPM at 17 years old, 2 years of pre-U, 4 years of Engineering Degree
=graduate at 23 years old
onemilimeter
post Jun 26 2007, 11:28 PM

1,132 posts

Wow... 21 is damn fast...

23 is also damn fast...

Really wasting time studying in m'sia...

This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Jun 26 2007, 11:30 PM
naturesimple
post Jun 27 2007, 08:37 AM

30 posts

is that true malaysian hall in australia is only for malays???

note: not raising a racism topic here, just wanna be prepared for another alternatives in my staying application.
onemilimeter
post Jun 27 2007, 09:40 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jun 25 2007, 06:36 PM)
In Malaysian standards:
Fastest: Finish SPM at 16 years old, 1 year of pre-U, 4 years of Engineering Degree
=graduate at 21 years old

Average: Finish SPM at 17 years old, 2 years of pre-U, 4 years of Engineering Degree
=graduate at 23 years old
What's about average age of local Australian when he/she graduates engineering bachelor degree? Thanks.

Added on June 27, 2007, 9:43 am
QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Jun 25 2007, 06:04 PM)
Any1 study in curtin,bentley campus?Is it good?I got offer to study pharmacy at there next year feb.Is it true that is at a dangerous suburb?It's a good uni?i need help pls....thx...
I think Professor Dong-ke Zhang is great!
http://cfe.curtin.edu.au/people/staff/dong_ke/index.htm

This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Jun 27 2007, 09:43 AM
KVReninem
post Jun 27 2007, 10:19 AM

IX
5,369 posts

average aussie ah...
depends lo..
some 18 edi got bachelor degree ~
onemilimeter
post Jun 27 2007, 10:27 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 27 2007, 10:19 AM)
average aussie ah...
depends lo..
some 18 edi got bachelor degree ~
Wow... those got bachelor degree at the age of 18 must be genius... What's the average age for an engineering bachelor degree?

jae
post Jun 27 2007, 11:49 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Jun 27 2007, 08:37 AM)

note: not raising a racism topic here, just wanna be prepared for another alternatives in my staying application.
I don't know if there's any Malaysian Hall in other states, i'm talking about the one in Sydney. As far as i know, my friend who's not a bumi had lived there when she first arrive, though she didn't stay long as that was merely a temporary accommodation for her. But take note that you can only stay there for a limited period of time afaik, i heard its either 1 semester or 1 year, but don't take my words for it, better check with them yourself.
zltan
post Jun 27 2007, 04:24 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jun 27 2007, 09:40 AM)
What's about average age of local Australian when he/she graduates engineering bachelor degree? Thanks.
VCE graduates-22 years old
Students from Brisbane graduate at 21 years old.

haya
post Jun 27 2007, 09:06 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Jun 27 2007, 08:37 AM)

As far as I know, there isn't one in Brisbane. I hope to be corrected through.

kwws
post Jun 27 2007, 10:21 PM

2,040 posts

hey guys...just wanna know, isit hard to get part-time jobs in aussie nowadays? especially around western australia in areas like perth etc...
planning to get to work thr part-time to cover up living expenses...isit possible? any opinions plz...thx
limeuu
post Jun 27 2007, 11:54 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Jun 27 2007, 11:49 AM)
I don't know if there's any Malaysian Hall in other states, i'm talking about the one in Sydney. As far as i know, my friend who's not a bumi had lived there when she first arrive, though she didn't stay long as that was merely a temporary accommodation for her. But take note that you can only stay there for a limited period of time afaik, i heard its either 1 semester or 1 year, but don't take my words for it, better check with them yourself.
there is only one malaysia hall, in sydney............

their priority is the scholarship students, which is predominantly malays.......but when they are available, anyone can stay............but as mentioned, only short term, as a bridging accommodation to your long term place........

personal experience: you may "book" in advance, but they can only confirm a room for you when you arrived.............and if they are full, sorry, you're out on the street...........reason?........because their main purpose is to accommodate the scholarship students, and they do not know when they will turn up!!
naturesimple
post Jun 28 2007, 02:06 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 27 2007, 11:54 PM)
there is only one malaysia hall, in sydney............

their priority is the scholarship students, which is predominantly malays.......but when they are available, anyone can stay............but as mentioned, only short term, as a bridging accommodation to your long term place........

personal experience: you may "book" in advance, but they can only confirm a room for you when you arrived.............and if they are full, sorry, you're out on the street...........reason?........because their main purpose is to accommodate the scholarship students, and they do not know when they will turn up!!
u mean jpa scholar? so malaysia hall is not 'reserved' for a particular group only la?

yeh yeh...
limeuu
post Jun 28 2007, 08:45 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Jun 28 2007, 02:06 AM)
u mean jpa scholar? so malaysia hall is not 'reserved' for a particular group only la? 

yeh yeh...
it IS reserved for the gov scholars, including jpa and mara..........till about 7 years ago, these were exclusively for a particular group............and mara still is..........
naturesimple
post Jun 28 2007, 12:37 PM

30 posts

is it easy to find cheap apartment there in sydney?

is muwalree(not sure about the spelling) a good place to stay?
kwws
post Jun 28 2007, 06:26 PM

2,040 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ Jun 27 2007, 10:21 PM)
hey guys...just wanna know, isit hard to get part-time jobs in aussie nowadays? especially around western australia in areas like perth etc...
planning to get to work thr part-time to cover up living expenses...isit possible? any opinions plz...thx
is thr anyone to help me out? why is evryone seemed to be discussing their own topics?

126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:55 PM