Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

manutd6389
post Apr 2 2007, 06:16 PM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

QUOTE(Estrella @ Apr 2 2007, 06:37 AM)
hows medicine in aus?
my brother is currently in 5th year at UWA...
he says it depends...if u are smart and hardworking then should be no problem,but u must also work hard to at least pass...1 of his fren, SPM all A but fail during the 4th year and have to go back to m'sia...
lexnon
post Apr 2 2007, 11:54 PM

51 posts

hello to all senior here i just wanna to ask any one of u who took diploma in engineering then go Australia to continue degree? Is it advisable to do so?
Sesshoumaru
post Apr 3 2007, 01:12 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(lexnon @ Apr 3 2007, 02:54 AM)
hello to all senior here i just wanna to ask any one of u who took diploma in engineering then go Australia to continue degree? Is it advisable to do so?
Problem is depending on what uni you are transferring credits to and from. But take note, Eng here is 4 years, unlike UK.
prod
post Apr 3 2007, 08:01 AM

hey currently in school typing this. I'm studying Year 12 in Brisbane, Queensland. Anyone here doing high school in Brisbane?
eRiCCa
post Apr 3 2007, 11:07 AM

441 posts

QUOTE(lexnon @ Apr 2 2007, 11:54 PM)
yea, like what sesshy said, check out the credits transfer thingie... who knows some uni wont even accept it and will ask you to redo...
nerd nation
post Apr 3 2007, 05:40 PM

Trance addict
1,440 posts

QUOTE(lexnon @ Apr 3 2007, 01:24 AM)
If you can afford to do all 4 years in Australia, by all means take that path. Twinning programs suck because the standard of local colleges is so low and you will struggle big time when you go to Australia, especially for engineering.
QuackSilver
post Apr 4 2007, 01:04 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(lexnon @ Apr 3 2007, 01:54 AM)
did that. am now in UQ.

QUOTE(nerd nation @ Apr 3 2007, 07:40 PM)
If you can afford to do all 4 years in Australia, by all means take that path. Twinning programs suck because the standard of local colleges is so low and you will struggle big time when you go to Australia, especially for engineering.
and i concur
lexnon
post Apr 4 2007, 08:47 PM

51 posts

Quacksilver may I know where u do your diploma? Any recommendation?

This post has been edited by lexnon: Apr 4 2007, 08:48 PM
QuackSilver
post Apr 4 2007, 09:14 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

did my diploma in mechatronics in inti college malaysia. and if you seriously want to do the engineering course in australia, i suggest that you do your SAM or A levels whatsoever and start from year one there. its better that way as you'll get a solid foundation if you do so IMO
nerd nation
post Apr 4 2007, 09:44 PM

Trance addict
1,440 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Apr 4 2007, 10:44 PM)
did my diploma in mechatronics in inti college malaysia. and if you seriously want to do the engineering course in australia, i suggest that you do your SAM or A levels whatsoever and start from year one there. its better that way as you'll get a solid foundation if you do so IMO
Another fellow former ICM engineering student. biggrin.gif I did computer engineering at ICM too. when did u graduated from inti?
lexnon
post Apr 5 2007, 12:16 AM

51 posts

QuackSilver and nerd nation, may i know how many years u study for your degree at aus uni after the completion of 2.5 years diploma at inti?

This post has been edited by lexnon: Apr 5 2007, 12:17 AM
nerd nation
post Apr 5 2007, 08:00 AM

Trance addict
1,440 posts

QUOTE(lexnon @ Apr 5 2007, 01:46 AM)
QuackSilver and nerd nation, may i know how many years u study for your degree at aus uni after the completion of 2.5 years diploma at inti?
2 years. What discipline of engineering do u plan to do?

This post has been edited by nerd nation: Apr 5 2007, 08:01 AM
szeki
post Apr 5 2007, 06:05 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(nerd nation @ Apr 3 2007, 05:40 PM)
You are totally wrong dude
Study locally in Monash is better than in Australia, Australian lecturers dont spoon feed you which means u must go and do research yourself.. it's not the same in msia, those lecturers actually give u detailed notes and you really dont need to go to library and do research.. i know because i went through the path, so, personally i think study locally is better.. i prefer local.. it's my opinion though.. Trust me, You will struggle In Australia than study locally.. last time i had an average of 89 out of 8 subjects in year but when i transfered to aussie( Same amout of time studying) i only able to score an average of 84.. wtf..
limeuu
post Apr 5 2007, 06:34 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(szeki @ Apr 5 2007, 06:05 PM)
Study locally in Monash is better than in Australia, Australian lecturers dont spoon feed you which means u must go and do research yourself.. it's not the same in msia, those lecturers actually give u detailed notes and you really dont need to go to library and do research.. i know because i went through the path, so, personally i think study locally is better.. i prefer local.. it's my opinion though.. Trust me, You will struggle In Australia than study locally.. last time i had an average of 89 out of 8 subjects in year but when i transfered to aussie( Same amout of time studying) i only able to score an average of 84.. wtf..
huh..............you still wanna be spoon fed at uni level?...................... shocking.gif shakehead.gif rclxub.gif

no wonder people complain about the quality of local grades........... hmm.gif
nerd nation
post Apr 5 2007, 08:06 PM

Trance addict
1,440 posts

QUOTE(szeki @ Apr 5 2007, 07:35 PM)
Dude, spoon feeding is what that is destroying the local education standard. Employers don't want graduates that were being spoon fed all the while. When you go to work your boss wont spoon feed you anymore, no one will care about you anymore. Overseas education prepares you for the working world, for the industry. But local education prepares you for the exams. Yes you just have to memorised what is written on the board, and during exams you just throw everything out. Yay you get distinction! But remember, research and understanding is what it takes to make you learn.
QuackSilver
post Apr 5 2007, 10:35 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(nerd nation @ Apr 4 2007, 11:44 PM)
Another fellow former ICM engineering student.  biggrin.gif  I did computer engineering at ICM too. when did u graduated from inti?
2005 smile.gif

QUOTE(lexnon @ Apr 5 2007, 02:16 AM)
am still in UQ lol

QUOTE(szeki @ Apr 5 2007, 08:05 PM)
errr, are you out of your mind? you still want to be treated like a kid like being given notes?

and if you dont experience a little bit of struggle, instead living off comfortably, will you be able to learn much? i highly doubt so
yeahs4.1
post Apr 5 2007, 10:53 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

if i were going to go to australia after my diploma in electronic engineering, and let's say i;m accepted there, which uni doesnt require IELTS or TOEFL?
limeuu
post Apr 5 2007, 11:14 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Apr 5 2007, 10:53 PM)
if i were going to go to australia after my diploma in electronic engineering, and let's say i;m accepted there, which uni doesnt require IELTS or TOEFL?
they ALL needs ielts or toefl..........proficiency in english in obviously necessary there..........
yeahs4.1
post Apr 5 2007, 11:52 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

sigh.. some of UK uni doesn require any of them as long as i meet the minimum requirement of 3B in O-Level english ( SPM 1119)
limeuu
post Apr 6 2007, 12:37 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Apr 5 2007, 11:52 PM)
sigh.. some of UK uni doesn require any of them as long as i meet the minimum requirement of 3B in O-Level english ( SPM 1119)
just go sit for it loh..........for technical courses, i think they only require band 5, not difficult to get lah...............

126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:13 AM