Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

KVReninem
post Jan 17 2007, 11:10 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 17 2007, 10:37 AM)
mayb u din follow the pisang price la...they even got the advert...."remember remember december 2006...thats when  aussie banana comes back".....sweat.gif...freee economy la...the petrol price here oso like yoyo....luckily i dun own a car...if not  sure headache rclxub.gif.....
hahaha...not all la....i think ang moh chick hotter.....coz they will expose more skin on summer.... doh.gif....woots....
which uni u r in again?
KVReninem
post Jan 18 2007, 08:45 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 18 2007, 06:09 PM)
yeapz....the overall one they dun really emphasize on the feeling of international students...like the international orientation 4 our uni....the international student services organize trips 4 them 2 get around, know the place, get 2 know where 2 get ur asian food etc......n get 2 know ppl....
haha yalo...it is fun..can meet new chicks too hahaha, what r u doin in melb currently?
KVReninem
post Jan 18 2007, 11:44 PM

IX
5,369 posts

it goes together right...i think your health report hav to go before visa approval..
KVReninem
post Jan 19 2007, 11:24 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Jan 19 2007, 11:57 AM)
$6k for the tax year.  Not $6k/month.
haha 6k a month i would just dont work would be better ~
KVReninem
post Jan 19 2007, 02:48 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kaiz3n @ Jan 19 2007, 02:51 PM)
o.O U sure we working students dont get taxed?
yeah.. haha sorry didnt state clearly =D
student got taxed but ...at the end of financial yr you can claim back
KVReninem
post Jan 23 2007, 10:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

lol...this almost out of topic....migration gotta go to job& career or investment lol.. smile.gif
KVReninem
post Jan 24 2007, 11:48 AM

IX
5,369 posts

uhm shud be taking 1 day if all go okey...or 3 day the most...dont worry..
whr r u heading knuxed?
KVReninem
post Jan 29 2007, 02:07 PM

IX
5,369 posts

Added on January 29, 2007, 12:02 pm
No charges at Commonwealth Bank. You may have to declare your value when you purchase the bank draft in Malaysia cos government wants to control the outflow you know.
Surprise, surprise, I have not seen those high-tech cheque deposit machines in Aussie banks like we do here. Even the ATM card uses magnetic strips.

[/quote]

yea tat is so true...in malaysia..we got cheque deposit machine...here cash deposit machine also dun have...
KVReninem
post Jan 30 2007, 04:56 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Jan 30 2007, 05:55 PM)
hey guys any ideas what else to pack...will be leaving next week and i keep hearing ppl saying they are already busy packing packing packing...i mean so far  i only plan to pack my clothes,toiletries, bit of stationaries, important docs, passport...something similar like what i've pack when i 1st came to KL for studies...is bringing food over important eg.maggie? anything to take note of that i may have missed out?

thanks for the replies biggrin.gif
which part r u? not necessary for food...you prefer trying new food here...
KVReninem
post Jan 31 2007, 08:23 AM

IX
5,369 posts

those who plan to bring food in, better save yourself from trouble...dont get into trouble...forget about food..once you are here..you will prefer eating the food here...variety of them smile.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 1 2007, 07:52 AM

IX
5,369 posts

to those try to bring food in ..avoid trouble la ~ those food..haihz..you comehere enjoy the aussie food...then when you go back then you will think again..most asian stuff now more easier to get then last time..
KVReninem
post Feb 2 2007, 07:09 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Feb 1 2007, 11:35 PM)
i was going through the list of what ought to be declared, and i saw a section saying that  used sportswear i.e shoes that you bring have to be declared as well to check for possibility of trapping contaminated soil on your shoe, this is the first time i came across such rule, just wondering does anyone here really do declare their shoes?
i declare when i 1st arrive...then the officer said it is okey since thr it is just littel dirt...it is BETTER TO DECARE and DONT declare, you will be fined AUD10000 if you didnt declare .....
KVReninem
post Feb 4 2007, 08:42 AM

IX
5,369 posts

winter clothi, if brisbane ah...i dont think it would be very cold compare to melbourne here..just get a jumper or abit thicker jacket, tat is IMHO, it depends on how one`s body adapt to temperature...
KVReninem
post Feb 9 2007, 07:13 PM

IX
5,369 posts

hi all, anyone in melb...is there any online site which allow me to buy 2hand stuff? like clothes airer,vacuum cleaner etc. etc...
KVReninem
post Feb 13 2007, 02:32 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MildBluese @ Feb 12 2007, 04:00 PM)
Gah!!! How do you pack for yourself, your brother and his gf and still stay within the limit of 30kg?

Anyway, I'm going to post a checklist here. Experienced packers please advise.

Clothes
1. Shirts - 10 casual wear
              - 4 outing wear (?df)
2.Pants - 5
3. Shorts - 3
4. Skirts - 3
5. Underwear - 10 pairs
6. Jacket - 3 light, 2 heavy
7. Formal wear - 1 or 2
8. Towel - 2
9. Socks
10. Shoes

Electronical devices
1. Laptop (P/s: If it's a new laptop, remember to install everything you need)
2. Chargers
3. Handphone
4. Camera
5. All your micellanous cables
6. Batteries
7. Headphones
8. Mp3 player
9. Blank DVDs/CDs
10. Backup programme CDs (make sure it's not pirated. x.x)
Stationariesl
1. Normal stationaries
2. Flexible ruler
3. Calculator
4. Mathematical set
5. Whatever special instruments you need for your course
6. Staplers and punchers

Micellanous
1. Bags, pouches
2.  Hair accecories
hi, what course you are doing?
when i came over i got almost like 42kg from miri to melb..
so you see the extra weight?
the extra due to i carry a4 paper,lotsa stationary asim in design part...so it is alot...

Added on February 13, 2007, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(seorang @ Feb 12 2007, 04:42 PM)
Its possible to trim to the minimum, but even when I pack, its hard to keep it light.

Lightest I ever got was 10kg of clothes, and 10kg of gadgets.

Been in Melb for 3+ years already. Avoid bringing in food if you can. Cause if you do, you could get fined, or worse, end up on Border Security the TV show.
hey, where do you study?

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 13 2007, 02:32 PM
KVReninem
post Feb 14 2007, 06:03 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Feb 14 2007, 03:43 AM)
oh well, i'm taking QF back this time though. one way ticket, cheaper by about RM 500 compared to both MH and SQ heh

oh yea, you'd be best answering MildBluese's queries on Perth as you're studying there wink.gif
yea, same here ..took qantas flight too...cheaper by 500...when i want to come back melb last 3 week...
KVReninem
post Feb 15 2007, 11:16 AM

IX
5,369 posts

cool, any more incoming to melb new one?
KVReninem
post Feb 17 2007, 05:15 PM

IX
5,369 posts

Happy Chinese New Year to those in Melbourne right now !
KVReninem
post Feb 22 2007, 06:51 PM

IX
5,369 posts

thanks ckwei! good site..
KVReninem
post Feb 22 2007, 08:16 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xng @ Feb 22 2007, 08:59 PM)
Anybody know what's the difference between vline and metlink tickets for the tram ?

Can I use either one for the trams/buses in melbourne ?
vline is to go rural area ..which mean outside melbourne like ballarat, gippsland geelong
metlink is for melbourne city and suburban
yarra tram, smartbus, and connex train all r intergrated into 1 system of ticketing.
you can see more in www.metlink.com.au
like your case xng, living near melb uni...if you hardworking, walk..it isnt tat far...if want waste use tram...it all depends on individual better if you can get a bicycle.
but just basically tell ya...train/tram is zone 1 is more higher by 30 bucks if not mistaken.

Added on February 22, 2007, 8:34 pmkaki melb, where to get those leg push scooter use by kids and rollerblade like k2, salamon...?

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 22 2007, 08:34 PM

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0622sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:55 AM