Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

SeeD
post Oct 18 2007, 12:29 AM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 17 2007, 10:02 PM)
level 5, starting from early this year...4.5 mintues of shower, that means if u start playing a song when u go into shower, chances are u hav to finish the shower before the song ends  laugh.gif tried saving water by showering w/ my gf but turn out to be staying longer in there tongue.gif

last i saw macbook pro 15 is like 3k over here
What the. What kind of restriction are these ?
4.5 minutes of shower. I don't think I can do that laugh.gif
At least 10. 4.5 mins Not even finish washing my small brother laugh.gif

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 17 2007, 10:07 PM)
U can try summit (border or NSW n Queensland) ....
Yah is almost impossible to find a farm job in city ....

How to find ur self a job(farm, factory, office) during school holiday in Aus ?
try link below or go direct to the bakpak hostel, they have full information, where to work, what the job and everything make for backpacker but work well with student ......
the bakpak i stay in Sydney before :http://www.glebevillage.com/
Melbourne : 167, franklin street. bakpak hostel. www.bakpakgroup.com
Canberra : forget what the place name but is in the middle of the city.
Bris : Queen Street mall walk till the end (after coles) turn left, at the junction. (u see the cafe have RM 1 coin stick there, that belong to me)
Darwin : someplace near the Kmart.
Perth : City.
Adelaide : take the city tram (u see some huge bakpak)
By the way Bakpak hotel bring u more information then ur school faculty, they have work, travel, monthly magazine and bla bla information for free .....

Enjoy guy ....
Whats bakpak hostel ??
QuackSilver
post Oct 18 2007, 04:46 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 17 2007, 04:07 PM)
are u doing masters or phd?

i'm doing masters in IT for non-IT graduate...heard about stuff writting thesis but havent heard any of it from my classmates or course cordinator
doing my undergrad in engineering.

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 18 2007, 12:02 AM)
level 5, starting from early this year...4.5 mintues of shower, that means if u start playing a song when u go into shower, chances are u hav to finish the shower before the song ends  laugh.gif tried saving water by showering w/ my gf but turn out to be staying longer in there tongue.gif

its 4 minutes, not 4.5 minutes. that extra 30 seconds is 6 liters you know lol

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 18 2007, 12:07 AM)
U can try summit (border or NSW n Queensland) ....
Yah is almost impossible to find a farm job in city ....

How to find ur self a job(farm, factory, office) during school holiday in Aus ?
try link below or go direct to the bakpak hostel, they have full information, where to work, what the job and everything make for backpacker but work well with student ......
the bakpak i stay in Sydney before :http://www.glebevillage.com/
Melbourne : 167, franklin street. bakpak hostel. www.bakpakgroup.com
Canberra : forget what the place name but is in the middle of the city.
Bris : Queen Street mall walk till the end (after coles) turn left, at the junction. (u see the cafe have RM 1 coin stick there, that belong to me)
Darwin : someplace near the Kmart.
Perth : City.
Adelaide : take the city tram (u see some huge bakpak)
By the way Bakpak hotel bring u more information then ur school faculty, they have work, travel, monthly magazine and bla bla information for free .....

Enjoy guy ....
bakpak hostel eh? i stayed in Palace Central when i first came to study. good times, though there was a forgettable experience since there was a bar directly downstairs from the backpackers :s

QUOTE(SeeD @ Oct 18 2007, 02:29 AM)
Whats bakpak hostel ??
you learn to adapt. 4 minute shower is alright. turn on the hot water and you jump in and do everything in a jiff.
SonnyCooL
post Oct 18 2007, 05:25 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Oct 18 2007, 04:46 AM)

bakpak hostel eh? i stayed in Palace Central when i first came to study. good times, though there was a forgettable experience since there was a bar directly downstairs from the backpackers :s

and u can find all working information at lobby ..... + there is a small CC there ... smile.gif, they still using the old elevator ??? hheheh
QuackSilver
post Oct 18 2007, 06:38 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 18 2007, 07:25 AM)
and u can find all working information at lobby ..... + there is a small CC there ... smile.gif, they still using the old elevator ??? hheheh
last i went there yea, they were still using the ancient elevator. cool but shitty when you have stuff to carry and you're alone lol.

for ausd 25 a night, its good fun. though you'll be sharing it with 6 other persons smile.gif
SeeD
post Oct 18 2007, 07:23 AM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Oct 18 2007, 04:46 AM)
you learn to adapt. 4 minute shower is alright. turn on the hot water and you jump in and do everything in a jiff.
What happen if you passed 4 minutes of showering ?
SonnyCooL
post Oct 18 2007, 08:05 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Oct 18 2007, 06:38 AM)
last i went there yea, they were still using the ancient elevator. cool but shitty when you have stuff to carry and you're alone lol.

for ausd 25 a night, its good fun. though you'll be sharing it with 6 other persons smile.gif
but no worry cause is inside city and train station just right opposite .... smile.gif

QuackSilver
post Oct 18 2007, 08:07 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Oct 18 2007, 09:23 AM)
What happen if you passed 4 minutes of showering ?
its recommended that you shower for 4 minutes that's it. water will still flow.

its a recommendation because each person is allowed about 140 liters of water a day because australia's experiencing one of the worst droughts in history. dams around the brisbane are down to 21% of water storage, if there's no rain then the water will run out in 3 months time

to roughly show you how much 140 liters of water is worth, 4 minute shower uses up till 48 liters of water. 1 full flush uses 6 liters of water etc.

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 18 2007, 10:05 AM)
but no worry cause is inside city and train station just right opposite .... smile.gif
yea. right inside the CBD. i love it when people go back home from work when i was staying there. looking down towards the corner of Adelaide Street and Edward Street, good shots to be taken smile.gif
SonnyCooL
post Oct 18 2007, 08:24 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Oct 18 2007, 08:07 AM)

yea. right inside the CBD. i love it when people go back home from work when i was staying there. looking down towards the corner of Adelaide Street and Edward Street, good shots to be taken smile.gif
palace bring me a lot memory, i saw the first ice storm, learn surfing n skydive, buy the whole chicken for 3.99, saw a bunch of santa claus on harley riding in the mall, the first time i see 7/11 is not 24 hour n more .... miss the good old time ....

QuackSilver
post Oct 18 2007, 08:33 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 18 2007, 10:24 AM)
palace bring me a lot memory, i saw the first ice storm, learn surfing n skydive, buy the whole chicken for 3.99, saw a bunch of santa claus on harley riding in the mall, the first time i see 7/11 is not 24 hour n more .... miss the good old time ....
cheap food hell yea. steak for ausd 5 at the Down Under Bar & Grill. awesome shit yo!

and 7/11 was where i hung out for food most of the time. their sad sad sandwich became my daily meal for the first few days when i was in brissy sad.gif
haya
post Oct 18 2007, 09:19 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

gimme ur number if u're a chick drool.gif or intro some hot chicks to me if u're a sausage laugh.gif

jk....what and where are u studying?

Sorry to disappoint you. I have a XY genetic makeup. tongue.gif And I'm a IT student. So I don't have a life, and no, the only chicks I know and 2D. Currently studying in QUT. What about you?
taking summer as well, good time to clear up my free electives thus freeing up my final semester which will be spent on writing up my thesis. japanese 1, here i comeeeeeeeee!!11oneoneonesatu!11

In UQ I suppose? Sounds fun..............

anyone from south? adelaide is tremendously enjoyable. trust me!! tongue.gif

Listening to my friends there, sounds like it. Makes me wish I went there sometimes. Ah well, no point dwelling on the past.
level 5, starting from early this year...4.5 mintues of shower, that means if u start playing a song when u go into shower, chances are u hav to finish the shower before the song ends laugh.gif tried saving water by showering w/ my gf but turn out to be staying longer in there tongue.gif

The rains barely made a dent in the damn dams. We're heading to level 6 by December if nothing improves. Total ban on outdoor watering (not that I have a garden), massive fines for people who don't stick with Target140. Makes me wish I was in "waterplentiful" Hobart sometimes. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 17 2007, 10:07 PM)
You mean along the sloping hill to Central? Yeah, that is a nice place to do some photography. Especially when the lights are red for all 4 sides of the road for pedestrians to walk to all sides of the junction. Does make it look like Tokyo. biggrin.gif
Whats bakpak hostel ??

Its not as bad as you think. When I came here I was like you, what the?! But once you get the hang of it, its not that hard. Of course, don't live in a place with a outdoor toilet. Guaranteed impossible to stick to the 4 min rule in winter!

its recommended that you shower for 4 minutes that's it. water will still flow.

its a recommendation because each person is allowed about 140 liters of water a day because australia's experiencing one of the worst droughts in history. dams around the brisbane are down to 21% of water storage, if there's no rain then the water will run out in 3 months time

to roughly show you how much 140 liters of water is worth, 4 minute shower uses up till 48 liters of water. 1 full flush uses 6 liters of water etc.
My place uses about 130litres/person. I suppose its coz we spend all our time in uni. happy.gif'' But seriously, its not that hard. The state gov is giving you free water saving shower heads, most places have dual flush toilets etc. And heck, they'll even do a free check on your plumbing and tell you what you can do to improve your water savings.

At the end of the day, I get to save water, and dough. Even if Brisbane was swimming with water I'd still do all those!
vintec
post Oct 18 2007, 10:38 AM

404 posts

i'm studying masters in IT...trying to apply for pr after that...was studying bachelor of multimedia but the government screw around w/ me and eventually didn't get enough points to apply

whoa, engineering degree need to write thesis ar?

i once timed myself and manage to finish shower in exactly 4 mins but after that, i didn't bothered laugh.gif

where r u guys living btw? im in toowong
QuackSilver
post Oct 18 2007, 01:51 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Oct 18 2007, 11:19 AM)
Sorry to disappoint you. I have a XY genetic makeup. tongue.gif And I'm a IT student. So I don't have a life, and no, the only chicks I know and 2D. Currently studying in QUT. What about you?

In UQ I suppose? Sounds fun..............
Listening to my friends there, sounds like it. Makes me wish I went there sometimes. Ah well, no point dwelling on the past.

The rains barely made a dent in the damn dams. We're heading to level 6 by December if nothing improves. Total ban on outdoor watering (not that I have a garden), massive fines for people who don't stick with Target140. Makes me wish I was in "waterplentiful" Hobart sometimes. biggrin.gif
You mean along the sloping hill to Central? Yeah, that is a nice place to do some photography. Especially when the lights are red for all 4 sides of the road for pedestrians to walk to all sides of the junction. Does make it look like Tokyo. biggrin.gif

Its not as bad as you think. When I came here I was like you, what the?! But once you get the hang of it, its not that hard. Of course, don't live in a place with a outdoor toilet. Guaranteed impossible to stick to the 4 min rule in winter!
My place uses about 130litres/person. I suppose its coz we spend all our time in uni. happy.gif'' But seriously, its not that hard. The state gov is giving you free water saving shower heads, most places have dual flush toilets etc. And heck, they'll even do a  free check on your plumbing and tell you what you can do to improve your water savings.

At the end of the day, I get to save water, and dough. Even if Brisbane was swimming with water I'd still do all those!
yea taking it in UQ of course. good way to clear off my free electives since its worth 4 credits biggrin.gif

level 6 by mid-Nov it seems

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 18 2007, 12:38 PM)
i'm studying masters in IT...trying to apply for pr after that...was studying bachelor of multimedia but the government screw around w/ me and eventually didn't get enough points to apply

whoa, engineering degree need to write thesis ar?

i once timed myself and manage to finish shower in exactly 4 mins but after that, i didn't bothered laugh.gif

where r u guys living btw? im in toowong
engineering in UQ is an honours program, so yea i need to do a thesis

and i stay in indooroopilly
KVReninem
post Oct 18 2007, 07:01 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 17 2007, 11:02 PM)

ahahahahah blink.gif brows.gif laugh.gif no wonder with such case; lotsa more water wasted !

Added on October 18, 2007, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(3ric @ Oct 17 2007, 10:38 PM)
i would want to ask... how much is a MacbookPro 15" and 17"  in Aussie selling?

What if i planed to use DUO OS what kind of software should i buy from here so i can take i over there to install?
http://www.pricespy.com.au/pno_8188.html

check up there eric smile.gif
kaya jua buy macbook pro biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 18 2007, 07:07 PM
haya
post Oct 18 2007, 08:39 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Oct 18 2007, 01:51 PM)
and i stay in indooroopilly
Indooroopilly? weren't you at Mt Cootha or something like that?

Reporting from Milton here. Anyone want to have a meetup or something like that after the exams?
haya
post Oct 18 2007, 08:40 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 18 2007, 10:38 AM)
Studying in UQ?
Jingle^Beow^
post Oct 18 2007, 09:37 PM

15 posts

-=delated post=-

This post has been edited by Jingle^Beow^: Oct 18 2007, 09:38 PM
QuackSilver
post Oct 18 2007, 10:07 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Oct 18 2007, 10:39 PM)
Indooroopilly? weren't you at Mt Cootha or something like that?

Reporting from Milton here. Anyone want to have a meetup or something like that after the exams?
hai hai. i'm in indooroopilly. on indooroopilly's side of mount coot-tha lol
chris_c28
post Oct 18 2007, 10:26 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 18 2007, 07:01 PM)
ahahahahah  blink.gif  brows.gif  laugh.gif  no wonder with such case; lotsa more water wasted !

Added on October 18, 2007, 7:07 pm

http://www.pricespy.com.au/pno_8188.html

check up there eric smile.gif
kaya jua buy macbook pro biggrin.gif
MBP is actually pretty reasonably priced for its specs compared to similarly configured notebooks from other 1st tier brands here (except Dell maybe).
KVReninem
post Oct 18 2007, 11:01 PM

IX
5,369 posts

buy in aussie, chris...pretty expensive ..i`ll buy from USA ...if it is ok..with current ringgit more flowing to US
3ric
post Oct 18 2007, 11:51 PM

349 posts

thanks KVReninem for helping me out for the price...
ell i might just get the 15" 2.4 ghz, other hardware i'll get it here and bring it over... =)

126 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:55 AM