27 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

WTA which gtx 970 to go

alfiejr
post Jan 2 2015, 03:47 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 1 2015, 06:21 PM)

Guys is this acceptable?The whining seemed to be quite loud
That's really loud, I know that DCUII cooler is really quiet. My card luckily didn't have any coil whine so far. Can you try return it to the shop , rma should be the last option if things don't work out.
ongweiping
post Jan 2 2015, 03:59 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 2 2015, 02:50 PM)
if not mistaken got one forumer selling EVGA cards here in msia....

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2632567/all

not sure if he will help send for RMA eventhough EVGA honors 3 years International Warranty, but if he does provide RMA for the card, then i think it is worth to consider to deal with him...  hmm.gif
Yeah, actually im checking with him all along on EVGA cards. nod.gif
Doomantia
post Jan 2 2015, 04:44 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(hellflame @ Jan 2 2015, 01:01 PM)
GTX970 G1 Gaming?
Yeah bro, G1 Gaming
rurushu
post Jan 2 2015, 05:16 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ongweiping @ Jan 2 2015, 03:59 PM)
Yeah, actually im checking with him all along on EVGA cards.  nod.gif
oh, then does he help do the RMA sending procedure as well? or that one is buy at own risk? because from the way he deals, it seems he is just helping people buy only, not offering after sales support.... hmm.gif
hellflame
post Jan 2 2015, 05:50 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Doomantia @ Jan 2 2015, 04:44 PM)
Yeah bro, G1 Gaming

My dream card @@~!

This post has been edited by hellflame: Jan 2 2015, 05:51 PM
NecroPhilia
post Jan 3 2015, 12:36 AM

979 posts

QUOTE(Paradice @ Jan 2 2015, 02:46 PM)
the whining's similar to mine.
Do you go for RMA or just stay crazy with it? sad.gif sad.gif
hotwebs
post Jan 3 2015, 10:54 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Jan 2 2015, 03:47 PM)
That's really loud, I know that DCUII cooler is really quiet. My card luckily didn't have any coil whine so far. Can you try return it to the shop , rma should be the last option if things don't work out.
RMA doesn't help much on coil whine, sweat.gif , a lot of user feedback that after RMA the card still got coil whine issue, and some review mention that coil whine is not consider faulty. Thing you can do.

- Turn on V-sync in the game, if the game doesn't support then force v-sync enabled in "Nvidia Panel"
- update to latest Bios.
- Testing on other PC
- Testing on higher End PSU
- upgrade motherboard bios
- some user feedback that the coil whine issue will reduce, after performed stress test.
- Reset to default bios and try not to OC CPU.

If still cannot resolve then have to send RMA lor. sweat.gif

For what i am seeing the most value in term of price and performance, seem like Galax Exoc Black Edition, with backplate and the temperature can compare with G1 gaming. anyone want cool, quiet, cheap and performance, can consider this. But i am not sure the coil whine issue and the warranty.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/galax...c-review,1.html

Anyone using Galax Exoc Black edition GTX 970?

This post has been edited by hotwebs: Jan 3 2015, 11:19 AM
NecroPhilia
post Jan 3 2015, 03:02 PM

979 posts

Tried G1 gaming edition. Placed order and today go collect. But unfortunately the g1 gaming edition also coil whine. Just the sound is silence than my Asus.. wonder how to find a unit that doesn't coil whining? Might be need to hold back for new series sad.gif
shikimori
post Jan 3 2015, 03:35 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 3 2015, 03:02 PM)
Tried G1 gaming edition. Placed order and today go collect. But unfortunately the g1 gaming edition also coil whine. Just the sound is silence than my Asus.. wonder how to find a unit that doesn't coil whining?  Might be need to hold back for new series sad.gif
have you ever considered its not the card that is having the problem but its something else ?

E.g : power supply
NecroPhilia
post Jan 3 2015, 04:06 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Jan 3 2015, 03:35 PM)
have you ever considered its not the card that is having the problem but its something else ?

E.g : power supply
Haven't try but before using R9 280X doesn't have any coil whine sad.gif do you advise me to upgrade psu? Currently doesn't have any spare psu to test out sad.gif
shikimori
post Jan 3 2015, 04:40 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 3 2015, 04:06 PM)
Haven't try but before using R9 280X doesn't have any coil whine sad.gif do you advise me to upgrade psu? Currently doesn't have any spare psu to test out sad.gif
Why not go back to the shop where you bought it and ask them to test for you and replicate the problem ? If it did not happen then you already got your answer its not the card

Else ask your friend to test
NecroPhilia
post Jan 3 2015, 08:30 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Jan 3 2015, 04:40 PM)
Why not go back to the shop where you bought it and ask them to test for you and replicate the problem ? If it did not happen then you already got your answer its not the card

Else ask your friend to test
I went back to the shop and test out with their PC. Same whining and they tell me that all graphic cards would produce such sound. It is very normal. I'm very disappointed with it sad.gif My previous GTX560ti,7790 and R9 280x doesn't produce such whining sound. sad.gif

They ask me to install few more fans to cover the sound of whining :S

I managed to borrow a FSP 500W,same thing happen. I doesn't have a friend that have those expensive rig like CM V Series, Corsair AX. Any idea how to troubleshoot? I myself using the superflower HX500W which is not really expensive one too sad.gif

IF I'm not wrong,you are the one tri-sli the G1 gaming edition right? smile.gif Do your unit come with whine coil?

This post has been edited by NecroPhilia: Jan 3 2015, 08:31 PM
Paradice
post Jan 4 2015, 12:43 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 3 2015, 12:36 AM)
Do you go for RMA or just stay crazy with it? sad.gif sad.gif
stay crazy with it. Seller not going to help out with RMA because there are claims that all 970 have this problem. so we'll see how it goes, sides, performance is not affected.
lace
post Jan 4 2015, 12:50 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Paradice @ Jan 4 2015, 12:43 AM)
stay crazy with it. Seller not going to help out with RMA because there are claims that all 970 have this problem. so we'll see how it goes, sides, performance is not affected.
aside the annoying sound so far not much things has been affected
just live wth it n see how thing goes

Paradice
post Jan 4 2015, 12:51 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(lace @ Jan 4 2015, 12:50 AM)
aside the annoying sound so far not much things has been affected
just live wth it n see how thing goes
yep, i know. now the only thing holding back the GPU is my cpu i guess. using FX8320 @ 4ghz
Duckies
post Jan 4 2015, 12:52 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

How many here are affected by coil whine?
lace
post Jan 4 2015, 12:55 AM

623 posts

confirming u guys coil whine sound is like
eee eee ee ee eee eee ?
or
WOo Woo Woo Woo WOo

ongweiping
post Jan 4 2015, 01:41 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 2 2015, 05:16 PM)
oh, then does he help do the RMA sending procedure as well? or that one is buy at own risk? because from the way he deals, it seems he is just helping people buy only, not offering after sales support....  hmm.gif
yeah, seems like selling only. Shouldnt have so much problem right, i have yet to find a time where i need warranty with the card, maybe just pure luck for now. LOL
shikimori
post Jan 4 2015, 05:20 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 3 2015, 08:30 PM)
I went back to the shop and test out with their PC. Same whining and they tell me that all graphic cards would produce such sound. It is very normal. I'm very disappointed with it sad.gif My previous GTX560ti,7790 and R9 280x doesn't produce such whining sound. sad.gif

They ask me to install few more fans to cover the sound of whining :S

I managed to borrow a FSP 500W,same thing happen. I doesn't have a friend that have those expensive rig like CM V Series, Corsair AX. Any idea how to troubleshoot? I myself using the superflower HX500W which is not really expensive one too sad.gif

IF I'm not wrong,you are the one tri-sli the G1 gaming edition right? smile.gif Do your unit come with whine coil?
sorry to hear that bro , I bought 3 of GTX 970 (2 G1 gaming and 1 leadtek sold) but none of them had coil whine issue apart from lower asic lottery . But thats not big of an issue . I'm guessing its just luck or back to PSU sad.gif

From NVIDIA:
“We’re aware of a small percentage of users reporting excessive “coil whine” noises and are actively looking into the issue.”

Read more: http://wccftech.com/nvidia-gtx-970-coil-whine/#ixzz3NnOKP5ZW

LOL if get twice or three times . I probably got myself a refund and wait for fiji

This post has been edited by shikimori: Jan 4 2015, 05:21 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post Jan 4 2015, 10:04 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(lace @ Jan 4 2015, 12:55 AM)
confirming u guys coil whine sound is like
eee eee ee ee eee eee ?
or
WOo Woo Woo Woo WOo
coil whine sound more sharp.. mine is woo woo which is fan spinning top speed..

27 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:36 PM