goldfries
post Dec 21 2015, 10:17 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Dec 20 2015, 10:29 AM)
Why is it quite difficult to find AMD APU Godavari 7870k in shop?Any explanation?
I can only guess that people are not taking them in because they still have Kaveri to clear.

goldfries
post Jan 9 2016, 09:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Better that way, the sockets are not only old but they're fragmented. Would be great that future APU and CPU share the same socket.
goldfries
post Jan 9 2016, 10:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

That one's for sure!

Now I have separate rigs running for each socket. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 25 2016, 10:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 24 2016, 06:07 PM)
not interested in the fanboyism, just wanted to know whats the current status for the new amd drivers, and how exactly it stacks up to nvidia drivers in terms of reliability and features doh.gif i genuinely want to know.
Are you using Crimson?

I'm using Crimson, so far so good but on my last attempt one of the tabs on the UI was a NO GO, crashes the software itself.

goldfries
post Jan 26 2016, 12:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I use both camps and they're all great.

Value for money depends on budget, under RM 1,300 range it's AMD camp. If you can go RM 1,400 and above it's Nvidia camp.

AMD's R9 390 is neat at RM 1,700 range. It performs similar to an RM 1,400 reference GTX 970 but what it has is 8GB VRAM in that's great for multi-GPU config and beneficial when game utilizes more VRAM.

After that it's AMD R9 390X before one goes for the GTX 980 on green camp.

The R9 Nano is nice ONLY if the new price is reflected, tiny powerhouse there. Power efficient too. I love that one. I have the R9 Fury with me but no chance to try out yet. R9 Fury X is priced on the high side. Not my choice of card if I were to spend that type of money.
goldfries
post Feb 13 2016, 10:35 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 13 2016, 03:01 PM)
It's sad to see AMD is discontinuing their driver support for the older HD series graphics cards. I pity the adopters for HD 8000 series users. These cards were just released in 2013 & now AMD ends their driver support for these cards. Seems pretty unfair to me.
HD 8xxx series?

After HD 7xxx there were no HD 8xxx series.
goldfries
post Mar 15 2016, 03:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(siggy @ Mar 15 2016, 03:28 PM)
@AMDmy , btw the latest 16.3 driver finally fixes dual graphics! no more 15.7 drivers for me
You manage to APU + R7 250 combine?

You know the old drivers and what not, I try so hard and never able to get APU and R7 250 to CFX no matter what.
goldfries
post Mar 16 2016, 12:50 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 15 2016, 08:36 PM)
his a pro.. lolx
His video just confirms what I suspected. biggrin.gif

I saw many people say the R7 250 can be CFXed but to what I tried, no I can't.

All these while my suspicion is that I'm on a R7 250 1GB GDDR5, even AMD people (I met them and asked them before!) couldn't answer that question.

Siggy's setup is on R7 250 2GB DDR3.

DDR3 cards are horribly slow, a single R7 250 1GB GDDR5 would be faster than R7 250 DDR3 + A10-7850K CFX.

Quite sad really, unlike the previous generation APU where you can CFX with GDDR5 card.
goldfries
post Mar 16 2016, 12:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 16 2016, 02:31 AM)
hmm.gif  if not mistaken your one who inform me Need gpu R7 250/260 with GDDR3 to Cfx AMD 7850K but that was during kaveri just out..  so why you try cfx with ddr5 gpu.. ?
because other people said can be done. biggrin.gif

You see, now siggy said his is GDDR5. my other friend says he's using GDDR5 too.

OK so now I also donno already, my APU die die refuse to HCFX until I never bother already.
goldfries
post Mar 16 2016, 08:12 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 16 2016, 02:06 PM)
well it can be done, Siggy done it! 

What happen to your APU ? test theory it OC core performance by overclock without CPU AIO cooler ??  blink.gif

siggy well prepare to oc hig system... good mobo, good cpu aio cooler and performance ram...
biggrin.gif ASUS A88X-Pro and Kingston HyperX DDR3 2400Mhz. biggrin.gif AIO i have all sorts, so that one nothing to worry.

So far APU overclocking performance gain has been disappointing.

Gonna have to try it with Crimson driver. I've not tried to CFX it since 2014 / 2015.

My rig is ever ready, currently with R9 390 8GB on it. brows.gif
goldfries
post Mar 16 2016, 11:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 16 2016, 11:15 PM)
so.. what stopping you ? should not give up AMD ... lolx

sure or not i thought you only rocking gtx 970 lately  whistling.gif
I got so many AMD parts la. biggrin.gif R9 295X2 pun ada.

No give up. GTX 970? Nooooooo it's everything from GTX 950 to GTX 980 Ti. biggrin.gif

Of course, I do have R9 Fury around as well so yeah boleh tahan la, still got AMD stuff. No abandon them, I think they have great products but just need to improve on certain areas.

In other countries AMD is doing quite OK, you can see they have no issue recommending AMD parts.

Come Malaysia, all shy away AMD parts, not because they're bad but because of the price.

goldfries
post Apr 13 2016, 02:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

So far I've never the need to use DDU, never had issues.

Also artifacts and power supply wattage are not related.

- Constant artifacts - card issue.
- Non-constant artifacts, can be the software part, not necessarily the driver. It could be the game. Can be the card showing signs of wearing out too.
goldfries
post Apr 13 2016, 05:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Can send for RMA now la since it's happening. smile.gif
goldfries
post May 8 2016, 07:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 30 2016, 03:05 PM)
Perhaps Computex Taipei may have some hidden surprises... brows.gif
Can forget about it.

I went to Computex 2014 and 2015 under AMD.

No details disclosed, even during the Press Con they only showed the GPU a bit and they unveil at some other date.

I do hope they prove me wrong this time.
goldfries
post May 8 2016, 07:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 8 2016, 12:33 AM)
any idea when amd ssd will available in Malaysia ?
http://www.lowyat.net/2016/102840/amd-unve...r3-series-ssds/
I think you can forget about it.

Their Radeon SSDs have been around for a while and you don't see them in Malaysia.
goldfries
post May 8 2016, 11:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 8 2016, 09:48 AM)
Actually, AMD SSDs has been in Malaysia for quite some time now
It's just that their prices is not that attractive when compared with the alternatives
In fact I don't recall seeing it in any of the popular shops, it's basically OCZ drive.

I had the privilege of using it right after they introduced it but don't recall seeing it in any Malaysia shops.

http://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...0gb-ssd-review/
goldfries
post May 11 2016, 03:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

amdmy Hope you guys gonna do well with Polaris, Zen and Vega!
goldfries
post May 21 2016, 09:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fizzcola @ May 20 2016, 12:17 PM)
Anybody with a R9 380 having a black screen issue? I can't even play a game.
List the details? I have some models around, maybe I can simulate your condition.

I've encounted Black Screen before too and have solved them but using older drivers.

goldfries
post May 21 2016, 09:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I see you posted https://community.amd.com/thread/198837

Rather than using DDU, try using AMD's own Clean Uninstall Utility http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/P...ll-Utility.aspx

After that install latest drivers, if doesn't work then uninstall again and use the driver from the CD.
goldfries
post May 22 2016, 11:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Don't think is voltage issue, if it's voltage issue you won't have to wait 5 minutes into the game.

I solved my black screen issue by going back to older drivers, I've also encountered black screen issues that were never solved. sad.gif

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0648sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:58 PM