314 Pages « < 191 192 193 194 195 > » Bottom

Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

JohnsonLoi
post Mar 6 2021, 07:39 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 5 2021, 07:50 PM)
Bro,
Apmex fees is in USD.
MY n SG have just as reputable dealers.
If u wish to buy gold coins, try our Tiger Bank, etc.
If u have serious trust issues with MY banks n dealers, then buy from Bullionstar, Goldsilver in SG. Shipping fee is like SGD40, for 100 grams gold.
Surely, you can trust SG governance/regulations.
You gonna redeem yr bitcoin for lots of gold?
Since I just read about gold and silver lately (mostly from US sites), I never knew our Tiger Bank sell the gold and silver coins like (American Eagle, Canadian maple leaf, Krug etc..)

Yes another reason I asked about Apmex is that they accept Bitcoin so I do not have to sell them to fiat first and buy gold.
Unkerpanjang
post Mar 6 2021, 08:32 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Mar 6 2021, 07:39 AM)
Since I just read about gold and silver lately (mostly from US sites), I never knew our Tiger Bank sell the gold and silver coins like (American Eagle, Canadian maple leaf, Krug etc..)

Yes another reason I asked about Apmex is that they accept Bitcoin so I do not have to sell them to fiat first and buy gold.
Tiger bank is Kijang Emas.
What we want is the gold bullion, 99.99%. I wud say highly recognized n easily transacted locally.
Dont buy coins, the premium % over spot is high. Preferably, 100 gram bars; or 1 oz coins (if its gotta be coins)
SG Bullionstar accepts bitcoin.
But why sell bitcoin now, when likely months away from market cycle top?
I collect boring Swiss Pamp n 24K jewellery with 0% workmanship (old design on sale)

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Mar 6 2021, 06:31 PM
smokymcpot
post Mar 6 2021, 08:52 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Mar 6 2021, 07:37 AM)
Regarding the 16% tax for silver coins, do you mean you have to go to klia to pay that 16% in cash?
Yea I will try locally from now
Yup, that is correct.
JohnsonLoi
post Mar 6 2021, 10:39 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 6 2021, 08:32 AM)
Tiger bank is Kijang Emas.
What we want is the gold bullion, 99.99%. I wud say highly recognized n easily transacted locally.
Dont buy coins, the premium % over spot is high. Preferably, 100 gram bars; or 1 oz coins (if its gotta be coins)
SG Bullionstar accepts bitcoin.
But why sell bitcoin now, when likely months away from market cycle top?
I collect boring Swiss Pamp n 24K jewellery with 0% workmanship (old design on sale)
Thanks for the SG Bullionstar. Judging from the picture of the shop it looks good and has good reviews! And it accepts crypto as payment and can ship to Malaysia. Hopefully can go to visit the shop in SG once lockdown is lifted.

Yes I will buy 1oz coins as I can sell easily. Coins are also preferred over bullions because they are very easy for laypeople to assess as genuine.
Only sealed bars are instantly sellable and I prefer to hold and touch my coins.

I have been thinking about the BTC too and I just want to diversify into precious metals.
4 years ago, 1 BTC = 1 oz of gold.
Now it is 0.035 BTC to 1 oz of gold. I believe we will reach 0.01 BTC to 1 oz of gold soon then I will buy most gold at that time

Unkerpanjang
post Mar 6 2021, 11:19 AM

1,232 posts

Talking to myself again.
Just caught up with the old gold threads from past week.
Part of me curious how forumers trade gold.
It must take in depth knowlege on TA/FA, geopolitics, supply/demand n understanding how the Big Boys time their call n put options.
I guess its beyond my means.

I also dont understand why gold price moves in sympathy with S&P. If we r selling, someone must be buying. Is it dumb or smart money buying? If we conclude smart money buying, then we must be the dumb seller n vice versa.

One thing i realized, my fav Siam Rd char koay teow prices have steadily increased from $3.50 to pre-mco 7.50? I dunno latest price, stopped for 1 year. The boss doesnt bother if S&P down, GFC, Covid, Gamestop, etc. Cannot negotiate for cheaper koay teow even if Dow Jones drop 3% overnight.

Why? I think he knows the value of his koay teow frying skills n unique value proposition of heavenly tasting koay teow....instead of worrying if the selling price is too high.

Dont we think, we shud stop looking at the immediate price fluctuations, but actually understand the future value of gold?

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Mar 6 2021, 11:24 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2021, 11:26 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 6 2021, 11:19 AM)
Talking to myself again.

One thing i realized, my fav Siam Rd char koay teow prices have steadily increased from $3.50 to pre-mco 7.50? I dunno latest price, stopped for 1 year. The boss doesnt bother if S&P down, GFC, Covid, Gamestop, etc. Cannot negotiate for cheaper koay teow even if Dow Jones drop 3% overnight.

Why? I think he knows the value of his koay teow frying skills n unique value proposition of heavenly tasting koay teow....instead of worrying if the selling price is too high.

Dont we think, we shud stop looking at the immediate  price fluctuations, but actually understand the future value of gold?
on this char koay teow thing...
i think he did not have to work so hard to make the same amount of money.
price increased by so much,...will definitely cut off a % of fans/buyers,...yes there will still be fans/buyers.....the numbers of fans/buyer will reduce, the number of plates he fried will reduce, but the amount of money he will make may still be the same....

same as gold?
previously may give 10g dowry,...now can only afford a 5g dowry cry.gif

hmm.gif just how to understand the future value of gold?
things to consider for ex: will gold be significantly used in the clean energy things, like electric cars or solars, etc

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 6 2021, 11:34 AM
Unkerpanjang
post Mar 6 2021, 11:53 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 6 2021, 11:26 AM)
This forum is beneficial when forumers share diverse opinions n we share amicably (don't attack each other). It's free learning, n be reminded of blind spots/cognitive biases.

I truly encourage such sharing, ultimately I have decided on my direction, and will increase gold to 10% net worth n crypto 1-2% depending how fast I chase ethereum.

Rest of forumers will have to chart your own wealth direction in this gold thread...based on your beliefs, life priorities, affordability, risk level, etc.

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Mar 6 2021, 12:19 PM
prophetjul
post Mar 6 2021, 11:53 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Mar 5 2021, 04:03 PM)
Anyone here bought Gold or Silver coin from Apmex dot com before?

Lately I have been reading about it and it seems like it is the most reputable site out of all.

I noticed that there is $49.99 shipping fee. Just wonder about the kastam. Any issue if any sifu have bought from Apmex before?
Yes. But that was like more than 10 years ago. There is no tax on gold. But silver attracts tax.
smokymcpot
post Mar 6 2021, 01:23 PM

1,171 posts

I am noticing a sentiment reset for a lot of gold and silver bugs (speculators).
With so much of negative news coming out about precious metals from 'analyst', it seems like a lot have sold their holdings as they are expecting a crash.
From my humble 2 sen experience, this is normally good and healthy as that will be the only way for prices to move further up.

A correction is basically a way that the market is telling you there is too many buyers (speculators) and it cannot move up anymore until someone starts selling.
This is where those with conviction hold on or top up while speculators start cashing out in fear of it moving lower.

This post has been edited by smokymcpot: Mar 6 2021, 01:23 PM
Unkerpanjang
post Mar 6 2021, 01:58 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Mar 6 2021, 01:23 PM)
I am noticing a sentiment reset for a lot of gold and silver bugs (speculators).
With so much of negative news coming out about precious metals from 'analyst', it seems like a lot have sold their holdings as they are expecting a crash.
From my humble 2 sen experience, this is normally good and healthy as that will be the only way for prices to move further up.

A correction is basically a way that the market is telling you there is too many buyers (speculators) and it cannot move up anymore until someone starts selling.
This is where those with conviction hold on or top up while speculators start cashing out in fear of it moving lower.
Elegantly crafted n frictionless comments.
squarepilot
post Mar 7 2021, 01:33 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 6 2021, 11:26 AM)

things to consider for ex: will gold be significantly used in the clean energy things, like electric cars or solars, etc
Nope, Aluminum, Copper, Silicon and GaN will do the job good enough
@lowyat
post Mar 7 2021, 08:57 PM

134 posts

Hi sifus,

I'm new to this and seeing the recent price drops, planning to get a small amount to diversify my savings.

I'm looking at Kijang or those 999.9 bullions from gold shops.

From Maybank website, seems that the Kijang coins sell back rate is quite ok, around 4%. Similar to the online gokd account.

But I can't seems to find the rate for those 999.9 bullions. May I know if they are also similar to Kijang? Or higher?

Also is Kijang a good choice for a beginner? Or any good recommendations?

Thanks in advance.
Unkerpanjang
post Mar 7 2021, 09:49 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(@lowyat @ Mar 7 2021, 08:57 PM)
Hi sifus,

I'm new to this and seeing the recent price drops, planning to get a small amount to diversify my savings.

I'm looking at Kijang or those 999.9 bullions from gold shops.

From Maybank website, seems that the Kijang coins sell back rate is quite ok, around 4%. Similar to the online gokd account.

But I can't seems to find the rate for those 999.9 bullions. May I know if they are also similar to Kijang? Or higher?

Also is Kijang a good choice for a beginner? Or any good recommendations?

Thanks in advance.
The buy price (green) vs sell back price (red) is the spread %.

Unkerpanjang
post Mar 7 2021, 10:09 PM

1,232 posts

[quote=Unkerpanjang,Mar 7 2021, 09:49 PM]
I just wanted to add on.
Before u proceed into this rabbit hole, pls be very sure of your intent, priorities, investment duration, etc.
Avoid buying fractionals.

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Mar 7 2021, 10:12 PM
@lowyat
post Mar 7 2021, 11:04 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 7 2021, 09:49 PM)
The buy price (green) vs sell back price (red) is the spread %.

Thanks for the info.

From here seems that the spread is higher than Maybank Kijang.

Also I just found from UOB website, their spread is even lower than Maybank.

May I know is there any hidden charges from Maybank/UOB for both selling and buying?

@lowyat
post Mar 7 2021, 11:08 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 7 2021, 09:49 PM)
I just wanted to add on.
Before u proceed into this rabbit hole, pls be very sure of your intent, priorities, investment duration, etc.
Avoid buying fractionals.
This will be for long term for the next 10-20 years, maybe retirement emergency fund as well. Currently only depending on the EPF + some FDs, wanted to diversify a bit. Is gold the right choice for this purpose?

From some reading I understand that for example Maybank or UOB I can just walk in their branches and cash out the coins based on the published rate. Is this correct? Just wanna make sure the flexibility in cashing out during emergencies.

This post has been edited by @lowyat: Mar 7 2021, 11:08 PM
Unkerpanjang
post Mar 8 2021, 07:15 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(@lowyat @ Mar 7 2021, 11:08 PM)
This will be for long term for the next 10-20 years, maybe retirement emergency fund as well. Currently only depending on the EPF + some FDs, wanted to diversify a bit. Is gold the right choice for this purpose?

From some reading I understand that for example Maybank or UOB I can just walk in their branches and cash out the coins based on the published rate. Is this correct? Just wanna make sure the flexibility in cashing out during emergencies.
The investment duration seems good. But, what about your priorities? Have u built up your Kwsp, Sspn, emergency funds, housing loans? Like previously shared, these currency investment give u dividends to supplement your income during work life n retirement.

Gold doesn't give dividends, gold is just a store of value. So, pls elaborate, cashing out gold during emergencies? You can see when stocks rise, gold sleeps. When stocks fall, gold falls. So, need to be clear on your emergencies.

Again my thoughts, precedence already set for general public to cash out kwsp during such trying times. Im confident kwsp will continue, so no reason for younger people NOT to max their Kwsp contributions during good times.

Haha, not to frustrate you, nor any selfish intentions. Just ensure your thought process hold water. If all systems go, my next question will be what $$$ will be gold investment and/or % of your networth in gold. Paper or physical gold?

Why gold? Gold is mostly bought by Central Banks, space industry n Eastern people. Why not invest in Industrial Metals like silver? Tesla, Apple, Solar companies uses lots of Ag. (On the flip side, dont u think the E Musk, T Cooks, understand the price impact of this commodity on their P&L? Im sure they're party into shorting price of Ag, Cu, Zn, etc) If we cant even trade a single stock well, theres no way we can trade Ag ($1T), Au ($8T), too many considerations n too big.

Get the strategy firmed up, whether kijang, maple, kru, bar vs coin etc is not the priority.

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Mar 8 2021, 08:42 AM
smokymcpot
post Mar 8 2021, 02:43 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(@lowyat @ Mar 7 2021, 11:08 PM)

When purchasing bullion, try not to focus so much on spread but rather how much are you paying over spot (premium) for the said item.
Always remember spread can always change from time to time and it is out of your control (this works the same for financial institutions as well).

Try focusing on something which you can control such as your cost price (premium over spot) so that you are buying as close to the spot price according to your budget.

The problem with UOB and MBB is that there always is no stock, the prices are not live and to my surprise, most of the chief cashier there do not even know how many grams of gold is in a troy ounce doh.gif

Gets me a little nervous when they cannot even get the weight correct, how do they even test it is genuine when someone sells back?
Receipt, Certificates? Those can be easily forged and reprinted.

You have the proper mindset (long term) is not 3 to 5 years but rather 10, 20 or even to be used as a retirement plant as gold holds it value rather well against inflation.

Always remember this, it is a marathon, not a sprint. The winner is the one with most endurance, not the fastest. nod.gif

donhay
post Mar 8 2021, 03:01 PM

722 posts

Who is buying gold ETF in KLSE? should I buy some as my diversification?
honsiong
post Mar 8 2021, 05:39 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Mar 8 2021, 03:01 PM)
Who is buying gold ETF in KLSE? should I buy some as my diversification?
I hodling to -10% already

314 Pages « < 191 192 193 194 195 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:22 AM