Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

SUSsylar111
post Dec 4 2014, 11:26 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(lyralp @ Dec 3 2014, 10:32 PM)
Those who "invested" in Gold and still holding it because they are expecting the price to recover would be suffering losses (maybe just paper loss for now) BUT professional Traders never suffer such losses, they would have shifted to the SHORT position and would be making money on the downside. They make money whether the market is Up or Down and usually breakeven, make small losses or small profits when the market moves sideways.
Traders by nature, do not see things long term.

Also, most traders lose money. I think that is a fact.

If gold was at 1900, I would never have recommanded people to buy.

It is also pretty easy to look at "expert's recommandation". The thing is, they never realize that those expert could be wrong.

The expert said that gold will go to 900 by end of this year. Did it happen?

It is really easy to "point out mistakes" just because short term price action happens to go the other way.

The thing is, those people who "point out mistakes" are the one who just keep quiet once things happen against them.

If gold went up, I am pretty sure Max and icemanfx will just keep their mouth shut and pretend nothing happen.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 4 2014, 11:29 AM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 4 2014, 02:22 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 4 2014, 12:06 PM)
Trading commodities like gold without sophisticate software and market intelligence from production to consumption is like betting in the casino.

Can't foresee why and how gold price could reverse the downward trend in the near future. Believe gold will settled down between $800 to $1,000 range.

Btw, i have been shouting gold price was not sustainable from $1,500/oz while it was on the upward trend. Unfortunately, none of the herd member listen and all got burned.
You really think actual supply and demand dictates gold price.

Yes, right now it is like a casino. No doubt. The way gold price is trading right now is more of a game rather then based on supply and demand.

In fact, most people who trade gold are not even interested in the actual delivery.

So if people listened to you. They would not have sold when gold reached 1900.

And I am pretty sure when it went to 1900, you kept quiet. Because you know you were about to be wrong. You took the opportunity though when it went to freefall mode after that. That's pretty cheap actually.

I can bet with you right now that the most gold can go down to is 1000 but it cannot stay there for too long. You are oblivious obviously to the actual supply and demand of gold.

If you are so sure that gold would go to 800 -1000 why dun you buy put positions. If you were so sure that it is not sustainable, why didn't you short when gold went to 1900.

Talk is cheap. It's real cheap.

Unfortunately, it will not make you a somebody.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 4 2014, 02:29 PM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 4 2014, 02:23 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Dec 4 2014, 12:42 PM)
I would like for it to eventually go up too...but just not now.
Im willing to pick up gold as part of my portfolio next year if it dip below 1000usd...

So we r on the same page but just different time horizon bias.
You can wait forever.
I got to admit that after the swiss referendum, there was a chance it could go down to 1000.

But looking at price movement right now, nope. Impossible.
The swiss ref was the best chance you got.

You can wait forever to make your next purchase.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 01:19 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 4 2014, 03:20 PM)
According to behavior economy, the herd was blinded by greed, won't listen to alternate opinion. So was fruitless in saving their money.

When gold went to 1,900 why i was wrong? didn't the gold price tumbled after the peak?

after indians accepted gold price is on downward trend, buying will be slowed.

we only read fundamentals i.e. long term equilibrium; short term volatility is trader/gamblers specialty. due to market volatility, we could forecast price range but hard to judge the timing hence unwise for us to bet with time frame.
As I said,
you probably went all quiet. The fact was at that time, anything could have happened from 1900 onwards. It could continue to go up even shoot up. If that happened, many people who head your advise would probably be cursing you.

No I did not say you were wrong. But then when it went to 1900, did you tell others to stop buying gold? Nope. Because at that point, there is a huge possibility you could be very wrong.
Again you did not read what I have said properly.

You compare Properties with Gold.
The thing is for properties, there is no fundamentals for the upward trend.
For Gold, there are fundamentals backing up why it should go up even based on simple supply and demand.

The problem is. You really take the spot gold price too seriously. As I said, the spot gold price does not reflect supply and demand. Spot Gold price is only based on sentiments of what the paper gold price means at that time. The people are not interested in the real gold as I have said countless time.
The thing is, you probably take the spot gold price seriously even though I have said countlessly it is not a reflection of real supply and demand.

SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 02:35 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(dc28yk @ Dec 4 2014, 02:39 PM)
sylar111 is a gold bug...

Is very different how... a gold bug view gold.. they never want to earn divine on it.

As you said, if you invest currency into prop, stocks or FD to earn divine is 100% correct.

But you get this point true Bravo.. when potential economic collapse is when your hard earn currency defaulted.

Prop, Stock and FD.. is wipe out... what happens now.. As a form of trade.. GoldĀ   will be used back.. that is why a gold buy keep gold..
I am not.

I am in favour of gold because I know what is happening right now.

When gold becomes over valued, I will still exchange it for something else that is undervalued.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 5 2014, 02:38 PM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 02:37 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(dc28yk @ Dec 4 2014, 02:39 PM)
sylar111 is a gold bug...

Is very different how... a gold bug view gold.. they never want to earn divine on it.

As you said, if you invest currency into prop, stocks or FD to earn divine is 100% correct.

But you get this point true Bravo.. when potential economic collapse is when your hard earn currency defaulted.

Prop, Stock and FD.. is wipe out... what happens now.. As a form of trade.. Gold  will be used back.. that is why a gold buy keep gold..
Who says you cannot earn dividend on gold investment.

You can buy mining stocks right?

But I rather not earn dividend because they are taxable.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 02:54 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 5 2014, 12:22 PM)
From 2009 to 2014, foreign gold deposit at ny fed is reduced by less than 2%.

How will this gold relocating could effect gold price or fiat money?
Just because the fed does not value gold, does not mean others dun.

You are obviously myopic. Just looking at 1 side of the coin.

Many central banks every where are starting to accumulate gold silently or openly.

Obviously it shows that gold is in demand right now.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 5 2014, 03:00 PM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 06:12 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Dec 5 2014, 03:35 PM)
blush.gif this thread used to be a free trade ideas and opinion on gold...

now it seems as if u are trying to corner the market and forces the majority to follow your instruction.  rclxms.gif

The way u and the feds-giant bankers behave is the same...u shud join them  icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif
Really.

Did I put a gun onto your head to force you to follow me?
SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 06:25 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 5 2014, 03:54 PM)
Repatriating gold has nothing to do with USD either.
it is not like US will pay the gold in USD as well when they repatriating.

1 ton of gold repatriating is 1 ton. Whether USD rise or plunge, it is still 1 ton.

Any fiat money is backed by nothing but confidence about the gov issued it.
There is no way everyone ditch USD, as worldwide trade majority is in term of USD, which is not going to change in short or near term future.
As long as worldwide major trade and economy needs US to consume their goods, no other alternative currency can be used widely, situation remain status quo.

Second largest economy, China RMB is not a freely trade currency internationally, so it poses problem for worldtrade to use it.

Gold is never enough nor feasible as trade medium, nor a good source as currency in any economy.

Currently, USD currently is one of strongest around, rise against all major currency, from Yen, Aud to RM.
There are already direct currency swaps agreement that China has arranged with other countries.

Yes, in the past, there isn't any other choices.

Now there is. The fact is, people are now looking for alternatives. Russia is accepting payments for oil using gold. The thing is, it already shows crack of the USD because generally, USD is supposed to be considered the petrodollar. Right now, people are starting to find alternatives.

No doubt that USD is rising. The reason why is because of QE being done by Euro and Japan. Also on news that China is lowering interest rates. This give the perception that USD is strong because Euro and Japan is weak.

USD can engage in the QE program because it is the reserve currency.
Unfortunately when Euro and Japan engages in this, it will not do well in the long term.

If gold was so "useless". Why is holland asking for the actual gold. Why not ask for USD? Why is Germany asking for the actual gold.

A gold backed currency gives confidence and strength to that currency because people do not have to worry about inflationary pressures. Right now, in our current system, because currency can be printed, there are lots of inflationary pressures associated with that currency. The thing is, keeping the currency for too long will result in your wealth being dwindled.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 5 2014, 07:19 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 5 2014, 03:44 PM)
Don't need to argue whether gold is high demand or being accumulated by whom.

Price of gold reflect the demand situation, this is the most solid fact.

High demand --> price soar

This is the basic fundamental of economy, supply & demand.
Really.

How many traders actually request for the actual gold delivery?

How much gold does Comex actually has.

Supply and Demand. Yeah Right.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 05:07 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 5 2014, 10:22 PM)
Gold backed currency is never going to work well with economy.
Money need to grow to cater economy grow, gold backed money will hinder the grow.
Central bank will need to tell borrower, sorry doesn't have enough gold to back the new printed money, so cannot give property or car loan to you, so people cannot buy car/property, here goes the economy.
Your boss will tell the employee, hey bank doesn't find enough gold to back new money created, so cannot give payrise.  laugh.gif

Gold backed will beneficial to the gold bug, and saver, no doubt, but it doesn't work well with general economy.
Of course. If central banks are responsible. I agree.

Gold is not the best money.

Problem is, central bank policies have created an unfair distribution of wealth. The stock market is at an all time high due to the low interest rate policies.
They are now not able to raise interest rate because they know a crash will come once interest rates are raise.

Central Bank policies promote a lot of inefficiencies. Because of central bank policies, you now have too big to fail etc. In a real capitalist society, when companies make mistakes they are supposed to go bankrupt. But what we are seeing right now is that those banks are not allowed to go bankrupt because they are being viewed as too big to fail. What happens when that happen? Those too big to fail companies now take enormous risks because high risk means high return and they know that if they will never go bankrupt because central bank will always bail them out.

Because of easy money, banks lend money easily without validating the credit health of the borrower.

The thing is, you are assuming that wealth can be created out of thin air. But then, when central banks print money to bail out banks or finance the government, the public eventually pays for it.

Often times, war are financed through money printing because with money printing, governments can now have the budget to expand their military at the expense of the people.

Of course, if we have responsible government, then paper money would be a better idea for reasons you discuss. But then, absolute power corrupts. Most people get corrupted whenever they have power.

A gold back currency system ensures that government become fiscally responsible as they now cannot print money just to solve problems. Companies do not have unlimited budget. I do not see why government which is less efficient as companies having an unlimited budget.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 10:40 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2014, 11:41 PM)
If gold price is relevant to currency.

during the last gold bull run, a reason cited for gold price rise was fed qe. qe has been tapered but the amount of us$ in circulation didn't reduce, actually is increasing at a slower pace, why gold price dropped so much?
The question has been answered a few pages ago. But you obviously do not have the brain cells to compute.

Now i know why you are never taken seriously ever.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 12:29 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Thradash @ Dec 10 2014, 12:13 PM)
Just wondering why you say gold back currency is bad for economic growth...?

Central banks don't do mortgage or car loans ... i'm assuming you mean the retail/commercial banks... having a gold backed currency would limit money supply... credit supply is a different thing... you can still have unchecked credit expansion with a gold backed currency... esp if you allow fractional reserve banking system to continue... so banks not having money to lend would only happen if ppl pulled deposits from banks and not from a gold backed currency.

Your boss pays you from company accounts... so if he can't give you a pay rise... it means he has no money... not that the bank has no money...
Good answer.

But then. I bet he will not be able to compute.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 01:05 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Thradash @ Dec 10 2014, 12:57 PM)
I really would like to get an answer... i've been trying for a long time to find out why so many ppl keep saying limiting credit/money supply will be bad for economy... but so far the best answer i've heard says that it will cause deflation... which i don't think is bad for the economy either
Deflation or in another words recession is actually good. It removes inefficiency from the system.

A gold backed currency limits the power of the government or central banks. The thing is, if governments are responsible, then the fiat system would be advantageous. Unfortunately, all governments are corrupted.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 10 2014, 01:06 PM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 02:18 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 02:07 PM)
Deflation and inefficiency of the system is 2 different front and totally unrelated to corruption issue.

Gold backed currency has nothing to do with corruption.
Corruption still can happen with gold backed currency.

A gold backed currency is just good to limit the currency supply, aka remove irresponsible central bank that print money rampantly until become "banana money", it doesn't remove inefficiency nor corruption, nothing else.

Deflation is bad for everyone except those has been saving enough or cash rich people.

So deflation will actually hurt poor people more because they may be jobless, loss of income to support their daily life, while rich one has enough money to survive through.
You obviously cannot link the ability to have "unlimited" resources with corruption.

If say you have the ability to print money at will, are you saying that you cannot use that to your advantage?
As I said earlier, a gold backed currency forces government to be fiscally more responsible. They cannot simply print money just to fix problems.

Deflation or economic slowdown looks bad in the short term, but it is a necessity in the long term.
When the fundamentals are wrong. Prolonging the boom will only lead to a harder crash in the end.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 10 2014, 02:19 PM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 02:24 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 02:00 PM)
If there is only 100 ton of gold in Malaysia to back RM, it means there only will be 120 billion RM (1 ton worth 1.2 billion based on RM120k/kg) available in the economy, cannot print more.
So you are limiting money that can be possessed by public at 120billion.

The 120 billion only circulating around, no more no less.
When someone has made profit 1 million, somemore need to loss 1 million based on the limiting supply of money.

When you produce goods like car, house, there is only 120 billion available to buy the goods.
If you produce more than 120 billion, nobody have the money to buy it.
So any extra goods produced will be no buyer, aka no one want to produce more, how can your economy can growth when nobody can buy the extra goods you produced?

Economy growth because you produce more goods/services, which needs to be consumed by extra money created through loan multiplying effect and extra printing by central bank.

But with gold backed currency, cannot create more money if no gold, so no loan can be given. No loan given, no extra consumption power, hence no economy growth.

Payrise, the boss needs to generate extra money to pay for it, same scenario with extra goods produced.
If the whole economy has fix money available, means the boss cannot produce more goods, so the boss need to pay from his pocket instead of business that generated more profit.
Every year keep on payrise from boss pocket, boss goes broke, company closed down. (aka zero sum game as mentioned, some one need to lose 1 million before other get extra 1 mil)
You forgot that capital inflows to the country can be used to increase the gold reserves in the country so if the country is productive, there will be more monies to back the system as more gold flows into the country.

And you obviously do not understand the fractional reserve system.

Based on your argument, US would not have developed before 1933 since their currency was gold backed before 1933.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 02:27 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 02:25 PM)
It is different issue together, whether one can use the ability to print money at your advantage or not.
We are talking about gold backed currency impact on economy, which is unrelated to corruption.

Can print more money /= corruption
Cannot print more money /= removing corruption or removing chance to gain advantage by someone.

Recession does occur from time to time, which is an essential part to remove inefficient.
Even you have the ability to print money at no limit, it doesn't guarantee prolong boom.
Public will lose confidence on your money if you print excessively, once confidence lose, there goes your economy as well.

Zimbabwe prolong boom?
Banana prolong boom?

No, instead it is the other way round.
Why not.
So you are saying the ability to print money is not a power by itself?

Well, printing the money can prolong the boom. But it will cause massive inflation like what you are observing in Japan.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 03:35 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 02:38 PM)
Japan is facing deflation issue, no inflation.

Why Japan economy is in poor shape?
Because of deflation.
As said, from consumer and rich people, deflation is good, as can pay less.
But in term of macro economy, it is bad, factory has no incentive to produce more. Less profit can be made due to price goes down, less profit, no expansion, no payrise, no new hiring which eventually will haunt back the general public as consumer in term of income power (having a job to generate income)

If printing money can polong boom, Japan already booming non-stop, as since after 80's, Japan already underwent many round of QE or money printing already, instead we see stagnant Japan economy for decades.
The boom is in the nikkei.
Yes, QE or printing money can boost the stock market and give the appearance that the economy is doing well.

But the consequence of that QE is that the currency falls as evident in the USD YEN.

The thing is. A "booming" stock market is often seen as an improvement in the economy. The thing is, on the contrary the consumers get affected and the general economy does not really improve. The stock market goes up because of the extra liquidity that's all. It does not improve anything. But then it also delays the crash.

When the fundamentals are already off. Pouring money in will become less and less effective.

The thing is, you cannot stop the inevitable.

I have already said that deflation or recession is a necessity to remove inefficiencies in the market. I never said that it's not painful but then it is a necessary pain. I hate repeating myself so I will not repeat what I written earlier.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Dec 10 2014, 03:44 PM
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 03:37 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 02:38 PM)
Japan is facing deflation issue, no inflation.

Why Japan economy is in poor shape?
Because of deflation.
As said, from consumer and rich people, deflation is good, as can pay less.
But in term of macro economy, it is bad, factory has no incentive to produce more. Less profit can be made due to price goes down, less profit, no expansion, no payrise, no new hiring which eventually will haunt back the general public as consumer in term of income power (having a job to generate income)

If printing money can polong boom, Japan already booming non-stop, as since after 80's, Japan already underwent many round of QE or money printing already, instead we see stagnant Japan economy for decades.
Wow. Why would deflation benefit the rich?
After all rich generally do not keep cash. So deflation will actually cause their networth to decrease in dollar terms.
SUSsylar111
post Dec 10 2014, 03:41 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(sinbad2k @ Dec 10 2014, 02:48 PM)
I've already mentioned that the act of repatriating gold signifies something, not that it directly affects USD price or any currency. You can't be sure as well that everyone will stick to the USD till the end of the day, however you're entitled to your opinion. There were many instances that countries started to bypass USD in trade (I think sylar111 has mentioned few). Let's not run out from the topic where I originally questioned that "buying gold in the near future is likely to loss value for a number of years". Gold is definitely not a suitable currency tool(I'm not arguing that nor did I brought up the question of gold as currency in the first place!) right now but it has a store of value and possibly multiplies in its value in long term.
So, you're just guessing that they repatriate gold to save on expenses?Doesn't add up. Selling them off without the hassle of arranging the logistics of physical gold transportation from USA to Netherlands will be much easier! I'm not sure if it has any impact on euro and even if it has none, the fact remains that DNB did it. And secretly too.
Check out the Maybank branch that sells Kijang emas on their website. You can sell back to Maybank or any Ar-Rahnu(keep the receipt).
That is why you cannot take that icemanfx guy seriously.

Come on. Repatriating the gold just to save on storage cost must be the greatest joke I ever heard.

That is why I no longer reply to him.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1205sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:31 AM