astro byond V12

jamesleetech
post May 25 2016, 03:31 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 25 2016, 10:23 AM)
In bolehland, there are actually many "other type of dreamers" who still requests and want more, refuses to believe all criticisms thrown at Ass-tro eventhough we know that we DO get lots and lots of rubbish repeats at over-priced packs whenever new channels are launched.

Can all of us dream? Yes, we can. Will everyone hope that more new content providers such as ICON Asia to come to bolehland... YES, all of us do and can hope. But will it actually happen? I think many don't believe that it will happen because of monopoly by by Ass-tro. Whenever Ass-tro shows... "Only In Ass-tro and NO where else" for the Euro Cup and the Rio Olympics... I hated it but what can I do when more and more people continue to support Ass-tro and making it getting stronger and stronger.

Can we hope for more and more new channels in Ass-tro. Yes, we can. Do we have the right to request for more and more channels? Yes, absolutely we can. When new channels do come, will there be even more repeats and overpriced packs? YES, there will be. Will there be more and more people who can accept blindly such ridiculously overpriced packs with more and more commercials and repeats? YES, I think there will be many such people... just read many of the pages of posts in this Ass-tro thread. notworthy.gif

Are there Ass-tro agents and spies reading this place... maybe posting some comments? Mmm.... I don't know! brows.gif
jamesleetech
post May 25 2016, 04:03 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(bernking @ May 25 2016, 01:40 PM)
hey guys anyone using a booster or something to increase the signal strength? where can i get that?

one more question, do you guys know where can i buy the splitter if i have centralized tv point for astro at my building? so that i can use the pvr.
I was staying in a condo a few years ago at the 18th floor and I was allowed to install the dish at the roof at the 29th floor so two very long cables were used.

I used this Line Amplifier which joins the cable together near the PVR and only using the cable as power source. My PVR have 2 inputs so I needed two of this "amp"...

I bought the line amps directly from the Ass-tro Installer who brought them because the signal was very low for my installation. I can't exactly remember the price I paid for 2 units... mmm.... should be total RM 240 for two units.

When using these amps, must change PVR installation settings to use "Entry Point" at "User Defined 1" and set to "DVB-S QPSK"... not sure of the actual settings as I have already moved to another location and don't use it now. Better let the installer supply the line amp and make the correct settings. I don't know much more on how to correctly set it. Because I am no longer using them, my setting is now auto set to Entry Point "24 FUTURE 2".

ADDITION
Almost forgot. Only a suggestion. Try to find any Ass-tro installers near you by going to any shop that provides new Ass-tro installations and try to ask them whether they have any splitter suitable for Ass-tro use (and approved). Officially they are not allowed to come to your house to install except instructed by Ass-tro but I think no problem for them to sell you such minor items. I was lucky for the installer to have the Line Amp booster when Ass-tro sent him officially to relocate my PVR.

So you have 1 single cable and need to split it to two to connect to your PVR with 2 inputs.... but remember that the signal strength may be affected a lot and may cause problems especially during rainy weather so obviously using a Line Amp booster may be able to help a bit to increase the signal strength. Of course, the best will be using 2 cables from the dish itself which is not possible for various people at different locations such as Condos.

Well... probably someone who can help you get the items, reads your post here may contact you. Good luck.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: May 25 2016, 05:46 PM
jamesleetech
post May 25 2016, 05:14 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ May 25 2016, 03:07 PM)
Hello guys, is it reasonable for installer charge me RM300 for a new PVR dish, cables for 25m and installation fee? I do have the PVR decoder ready
A few years ago, we can get free relocation which includes free dish, cables and installation. Mmm... I remember only free for maximum 10m cables. Anyway, the installer CAN still charge us for relocation to condos or similar because of various reasons. Now, "free" relocation is only for 30KM distance from current location.

At the time when I was staying in a condo, my cables used were around 40m so I had to pay around 30m cables and for the Line Amp... mmm... if I can remember correctly, it was around RM500. Because he cannot find cables of 40m, he joined them with special connecters. He told me that he had to use a better quality RG6 type of coaxial cable to reduce signal loss as much as possible so it was RM 8 per metre (can't remember exact amount).

Cables for 30m X RM 8 = RM 240
Line Amp (2 units) = RM 240

No installation fee was charged for relocation.

I think the cable price should have increased due to the weak RM. If RM 9 per metre, should cost you around RM 225 assuming no free 10m cables for you.

If you are not relocating to a different address, only changing the dish, rewiring and changing PVR location inside your house, then you may be charged the full installation amount.

Whether is it reasonable? Well... maybe not reasonable for charging the installation fee. Did he charge you 25m cables after he had deducted 10m? Maybe presently no more "free" cables, I don't know. Extra length of cables... yes, okay to pay but unreasonable if overpriced per metre. Whether its reasonable to pay RM 9 or more per metre for the cables... I don't know, so do check the current price yourself. Just my opinion only.

It may not do any good to call Ass-tro Support to complain and ask them for detailed clarification on what is supposed to be chargeable. You can try but probably they may ask you to refer to the installer by giving you his phone number.

I have already reduced from Superpack 3 to a few other Packs... and will continue to reduce further as the Ass-tro situation deteriorates. Last resort, total termination and convert existing PVR to receive only NJOI channels. Most of my Chinese friends have either changed to NJOI or become a new NJOI viewer. Also, many of my friends also using the "multiroom" method to reduce cost too. Yes, I believe that Ass-tro do know what subscribers are doing to reduce costs... its just that Ass-tro haven't taken action OR haven't found a way to prevent it. Maybe, just maybe, Ass-tro will stop the RM 50 "multiroom" for subscription above RM100+ in the future.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: May 25 2016, 05:28 PM
chuppachop
post May 25 2016, 10:08 PM

957 posts

Just sharing, Singtel added MTV Live HD, MTV Asia On Demand and MTV China to their lineup today. Cheers.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Qash-M
post May 25 2016, 10:29 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 25 2016, 10:08 PM)
Just sharing, Singtel added MTV Live HD, MTV Asia On Demand and MTV China to their lineup today. Cheers.
Neat, while we're stuck with MTV Asia SD as the only music channel after Hitz flop. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: May 25 2016, 10:29 PM
stephantsen
post May 25 2016, 10:32 PM

1,966 posts

MTV live hd available in hypptv long time ago
jamesleetech
post May 25 2016, 10:40 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ May 25 2016, 10:32 PM)
He is mentioning MTV Asia SD in Ass-tro... not comparing with HyppTV.

HyppTV have SciFi HD and Channel NewsAsia but not in Assss-tro.
jamesleetech
post May 25 2016, 10:44 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 25 2016, 10:08 PM)
Am I correct to say that Singtel added channels to existing Packs and not create New Packs, no increasing prices of existing Packs??

From SingTel TV website...

And MTV Live HD is included in more different types of Packs to give more choices for subscribers to pick which Pack they want. Ass-tro pack choices are much less and cleverly put into packs that don't give us much choices.

Ass-tro recently added 3 "new" channels and created the new Jade Pack with additional price with 2 lousy channels showing dinosaur dramas from the old old or my grandparents time!

Ass-tro created the new Jade Pack by mixing 3 new channels with another 4 existing channels from other Packs to get a total of 7 channels. They could have added the 3 new channels into existing Packs BUT no, no, they want to make more money by creating a new Pack for these 3 and mixing channels from existing Packs.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: May 25 2016, 11:15 PM
bernking
post May 26 2016, 09:31 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ May 25 2016, 04:03 PM)
I was staying in a condo a few years ago at the 18th floor and I was allowed to install the dish at the roof at the 29th floor so two very long cables were used.

I used this Line Amplifier which joins the cable together near the PVR and only using the cable as power source. My PVR have 2 inputs so I needed two of this "amp"...

I bought the line amps directly from the Ass-tro Installer who brought them because the signal was very low for my installation. I can't exactly remember the price I paid for 2 units... mmm.... should be total RM 240 for two units.

When using these amps, must change PVR installation settings to use "Entry Point" at "User Defined 1" and set to "DVB-S QPSK"... not sure of the actual settings as I have already moved to another location and don't use it now. Better let the installer supply the line amp and make the correct settings. I don't know much more on how to correctly set it. Because I am no longer using them, my setting is now auto set to Entry Point "24 FUTURE 2".

ADDITION
Almost forgot. Only a suggestion. Try to find any Ass-tro installers near you by going to any shop that provides new Ass-tro installations and try to ask them whether they have any splitter suitable for Ass-tro use (and approved). Officially they are not allowed to come to your house to install except instructed by Ass-tro but I think no problem for them to sell you such minor items. I was lucky for the installer to have the Line Amp booster when Ass-tro sent him officially to relocate my PVR.

So you have 1 single cable and need to split it to two to connect to your PVR with 2 inputs.... but remember that the signal strength may be affected a lot and may cause problems especially during rainy weather so obviously using a Line Amp booster may be able to help a bit to increase the signal strength. Of course, the best will be using 2 cables from the dish itself which is not possible for various people at different locations such as Condos.

Well... probably someone who can help you get the items, reads your post here may contact you. Good luck.
thanks man for your time and detailed explanation! smile.gif

my condo doesnt allow to install our own astro dish.

yeah, im slightly concerned on the signal strength as well especially after the splitter. i guess i have to get a splitter and linee amp booster as well?

gwong
post May 26 2016, 10:06 AM

391 posts

Hi guys, I was trying to figure out how much is the new Jade Package if I want to subscribe? I am currently on Super Pack 3.

I went to their website can't seem to find any information on Jade Package.

This post has been edited by gwong: May 26 2016, 10:09 AM
mun88
post May 26 2016, 01:22 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ May 26 2016, 10:06 AM)
Hi guys, I was trying to figure out how much is the new Jade Package if I want to subscribe? I am currently on Super Pack 3.

i think is RM53.XX, or super pack 3 add RM17.XX

I think they will do promotion later
jamesleetech
post May 26 2016, 02:14 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ May 26 2016, 10:06 AM)

If you feel that the Jade Pack is good and worth it, go ahead and subscribe. thumbup.gif As more people sign in to this Pack, this will continue to encourage Ass-tro to come out with more expensive worthless Packs in the future.

Its your money so good luck to you. smile.gif

NOTE : To see the Jade Pack, what I did was ... Click on Get Astro... click on Astro for Home... click on Get Astro... go down and click on "Customize"... click on Learn More for Superpacks... click on Select for SuperPack 3... choose the included 3 mini packs and click confirm... you will see the Jade Pack in the centre right of the page.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: May 26 2016, 02:23 PM
jamesleetech
post May 26 2016, 03:05 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(bernking @ May 26 2016, 09:31 AM)
thanks man for your time and detailed explanation! smile.gif

my condo doesnt allow to install our own astro dish.

yeah, im slightly concerned on the signal strength as well especially after the splitter.  i guess i have to get a splitter and linee amp booster as well?
Adding a Line Amp booster should help to improve the signal but I should remind you that the booster may or may not damage your PVR due to wrong specification of the booster.

Specification of my Line Amp [Input 950-2300 MHz (Gain 19-25 db), Max Output 100dbUV, DC 15V+/-3]

I don't know much about the Line Amp and whether which types are compatible for your splitter use. Adding a single Line Amp (Voltage 15V) at the input of the splitter may be okay but adding 2 such amps to the splitter output may cause damage. Actually I don't know, so my advice is to get expert help from others in getting the correct type of booster with the proper specification as well as the proper installation method. I can't help you in finding such experts, probably get an Astro Installer if you can find one.

My caution again... there is a risk that damage can be caused if improper installation or the wrong Line Amp is used. You have been warned.
chuppachop
post May 26 2016, 06:48 PM

957 posts

Jamesleetech - yes, the 2 chs were added to this basic pack called family starter, Warner TV and Warner TV Encore was added back in Jan 2016 to the same pack ..... no price increase.

From what I hear on radio, AXN (exclusive rights wif Starhub ended) will be launched shortly on the same Family Pack. Finally!

For astro, they are adopting the upsell method, create more and sell more versus adding channels to existing pack. They probably dun view Hypp TV as a competition.....
Qash-M
post May 26 2016, 08:02 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 26 2016, 06:48 PM)
Jamesleetech - yes, the 2 chs were added to this basic pack called family starter, Warner TV and Warner TV Encore was added back in Jan 2016 to the same pack ..... no price increase.

From what I hear on radio, AXN (exclusive rights wif Starhub ended) will be launched shortly on the same Family Pack. Finally!

For astro, they are adopting the upsell method, create more and sell more versus adding channels to existing pack. They probably dun view Hypp TV as a competition.....
Until next Feb, when the monopoly ends. innocent.gif (hopefully)
Qash-M
post May 26 2016, 08:02 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 26 2016, 06:48 PM)

Until next Feb, when the monopoly ends. innocent.gif (hopefully)

http://www.lowyat.net/2016/105184/astros-e...ve-on-7th-june/

This post has been edited by Qash-M: May 26 2016, 08:27 PM
smileguy
post May 26 2016, 08:38 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 26 2016, 08:02 PM)
Until next Feb, when the monopoly ends. innocent.gif  (hopefully)

Nausea!! Sick of their Rojak asean JV channels puke.gif
Asstro's monoply ending is out of the question,ass will be the nation's sole service provider,just by doing favors for BN, there is no threat for them at the moment and there will be none in another 20yrs! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: May 26 2016, 08:44 PM
GamersFamilia
post May 26 2016, 10:06 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,821 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ May 25 2016, 10:32 PM)
astro not many HD channels
jamesleetech
post May 27 2016, 12:02 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 26 2016, 08:02 PM)
Until next Feb, when the monopoly ends. innocent.gif  (hopefully)

All of us, including myself, can hope for this VERY UNHEALTHY monopoly to end after 20 years, with licenses granted to other Satellite TV and Radio providers. I don't think so.

Mutual Beneficial Symbiosis Between The Government and Ass-throw
Ass-throw started broadcast in 1996 with a 20 year EXCLUSIVE license which "profits" our Malaysian government in so many ways.

With totally free relay transmission for RTM1 and RTM2, our government is able to get a vast coverage area to the whole of Malaysia so the government propaganda machinery can be much much more effective. RTM1 and RTM2 no longer need to financially support any long-term educational channels which costs money to maintain... this was why Tutor TV Ch 601 to 603 were launched and the costs now come from subscribers. Even the Arena Ch 801 in many ways functions similar to or just like our government's "sports channel". Just look at the "Anugerah Sukan Negara 2015" now showing in Arena Ch 801 (9pm to 11 pm 26 May 2015).

TV3, NTV7 and others are charged for usage of the relay broadcast in Ass-throw.

Eventhough we, the subscribers pay for it, there is nothing wrong with Ass-throw being manipulated by the govt in this way. Who knows that there may be a lot of govt "hidden" benefits from Ass-throw that we won't know or even suspected.

The point that I am trying to make is... will our Najibi govt EVER end the monopoly or continue allowing Ass-throw to continue exclusively? With lots of benefits to the govt, our govt needed to protect Ass-throw... so can we expect the govt to end the monopoly? Not necessary for me to answer that.

Ass-throw As A Corporate Body Has Grown Too BIG To Fall
With the protection of the exclusive broadcasting single license, Ass-throw has been able to and totally allowed to eat the ENTIRE CAKE of the Satellite TV market. As the only one to get the huge profits from the increasing number of subscribers... Ass-throw have become so terribly powerful as a big corporation that have already spread its wings to other profitable subsidiaries and ownership in other companies.

In 1996, ASTRO All Asia Network PLC was established in England, Wales and Japan to compete with other satellite TV providers in those countries. Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd (ASTRO) is a public listed company that owns and control Ass-throw Satellite TV. ASTRO bought Celestial Pictures, Yes Television (Hong Kong) Limited and Goal TV Asia Limited, Time Highway Radio.

Eventhough the Cable TV / IPTV market is not as big with no nationwide coverage, Ass-throw is even getting a big share with its Astro IPTV.

Just look at ABNxcess from the privately owned Asian Broadcasting Network... it is slowly and slowly dying after it started Cable TV and Internet service roughly about 2 years ago. Its supposed to be a Subscription TV competitor to Ass-throw. Yes, there are various reasons why ABNxcess is going downhill. Low subscription prices, high costs and competition MAY be one of the many reasons. Increasing number of ABNxcess have terminated subscription when their internet links continue to be down for so many months.

Hehe...
As at 10 pm 26 May 2015...
Go to...
CODE
http://www.abnxcess.com/

This is what appeared...
Bandwidth Limit Exceeded
The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later.

My point here is... even if monopoly is stopped, Ass-throw has grown to become a very big BULLY that any other competitor (that dared to challenge Ass-throw) will face a very very tough and difficult survival.

Personally, I DO prefer that monopoly is abolished, and competition is encouraged because in the long run, consumers can at least receive some benefit and not get bullied by a BIG brother such as Ass-throw. Yes, there will be challenges for new competitors to survive and succeed (where many may also fail) but there will be a time in the future when a few are able to slash through the very competitive market of Satellite & Cable TV market and succeed. Definitely NO competitor will succeed when NONE are even given the chance to compete with Ass-throw.

Note : Please correct me if I made any mistakes here.

CODE
References...
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Astro_Malaysia_Holdings#Corporate_Information
https://nurinaamir.wordpress.com/2013/06/07/astro-the-monopolist-in-malaysia/
http://www.consumer.org.my/index.php/development/private-sector/479-astros-monopoly-has-short-changed-malaysian-tv-viewers
http://www.beritadaily.com/news/2015-12-01/28432/astros-monopoly-ends-in-feb-2017
http://economicfanatic.blogspot.my/2012/11/the-monopolization-of-astro.html
http://economicsdicussion.blogspot.my/2012/11/astro-monopoly-jack-chan.html

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: May 27 2016, 12:17 AM
smileguy
post May 27 2016, 05:39 AM

3,147 posts

agreed James,ass is the biggest bully,all channels which agree to come on ass must serve ass,must sign JV and the channel will be malaysianised,those who dont agree will be kicked out!

168 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:50 PM