Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here

cipollll
post Sep 29 2014, 04:37 PM

262 posts

Budget: 100 and below.

Need a new headphone for music.
Really on short budget, is there any good one for this budget? Im not looking for earphone.
I don't want to buy the no-brand rm30-50 because sure will not last that long.
iSean
post Sep 29 2014, 05:33 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

In these RM categories, which earphones should I get? And why? And is it easily available in Malaysia?
Under RM 100
Under RM 75
Under RM 50
derail
post Sep 29 2014, 08:18 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Sep 29 2014, 01:28 AM)
Actually source is more expensive than headphone is very normal  smile.gif
To me, I see headfi as a system. Every member in the system plays an important role. Doesn't mean that you spend more on headphone, you will get a better sound.
DAP:
At least
Fiio X3
iBasso DX50
Its true that the headphone alone does not determine good sound quality but you are recommending at least a Fiio X3/iBasso DX50 just to pair with an Alessandro MS1? The headphone makes the most difference in the level of SQ, the DAP the least so I don't quite follow your line of thought here.

Thanks for the headphone recommendations.
Lego Warfare
post Sep 29 2014, 08:28 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Sep 29 2014, 08:18 PM)
Its true that the headphone alone does not determine good sound quality but you are recommending at least a Fiio X3/iBasso DX50 just to pair with an Alessandro MS1? The headphone makes the most difference in the level of SQ, the DAP the least so I don't quite follow your line of thought here.

At this point i think a better headphones and a satisfactory DAP would be best. Only if you go to a much higher end line headphones you can consider getting a much better DAP.
raeimad
post Sep 29 2014, 10:54 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Sep 29 2014, 04:37 PM)

Really on short budget, is there any good one for this budget? Im not looking for earphone.
You could try out Audio Technica ATH S100is. My personal favorite for under 100rm biggrin.gif
Other that that. Edifier H850 has good reviews smile.gif

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 29 2014, 05:33 PM)
In these RM categories, which earphones should I get? And why? And is it easily available in Malaysia?
Under RM 100
Under RM 75
Under RM 50
For under 50, you could look for monoprice 8320 on garage sales. I don't know any shop that sells it in Malaysia though
Xiaomi Pistons also fall under 50rm if you get it from mi.com/my (xiaomi Malaysia site) but if you plan only on getting that, you'll have to pay for shipping, also note that its usually out of stock.... You can check out garage sales again and if you are lucky, you might find a seller for 50rm. Otherwise it can depend on seller from 55 to maybe even 70rm. So this under 75rm
I'm not sure about anything under 100rm but if you can topup a bit more go for the Soundmagic e10 biggrin.gif
raeimad
post Sep 29 2014, 11:06 PM

213 posts

A DAP or DAC changes the sound quality very much.
For example, I would say the experience of using my headphone on my phone/laptop compared to (I am going overkill here) AK240 would be like comparing a smartphone speaker and a laptop speaker.
Couldn't figure out any other way to explain it hahah tongue.gif
sheng0729
post Sep 30 2014, 09:52 AM

160 posts

looking for the best buck for value earphone prefer in-ear....budget ~~rm50
raeimad
post Sep 30 2014, 11:51 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Sep 30 2014, 09:52 AM)
Xiaomi Pistons or Monoprice 8320 should do the trick smile.gif
redx
post Sep 30 2014, 12:00 PM

251 posts

hi guys, please help me choosing the right and best for bucks bluetooth headset for my idevices , macs n pc
-currently use jawbone by era, superb connctivity and battery life ,but low on stereo, noise resistnce and cntrol button,it can connect
directly with iphone n ipad n imac simultaneously still,believe me when i said, i more cmfortable using mono samsung headset than this jawbone.
my budget its not unlimited, bt i cn fork out the money just to get the best for bucks and availability in malaysia. thanks.
derail
post Sep 30 2014, 12:57 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Sep 29 2014, 11:06 PM)
A DAP or DAC changes the sound quality very much.
For example, I would say the experience of using my headphone on my phone/laptop compared to (I am going overkill here) AK240 would be like comparing a smartphone speaker and a laptop speaker.
Couldn't figure out any other way to explain it hahah tongue.gif
Relative to the speakers or headphones they do not. Why would you spend alot more on something that is 5-10x less important in terms of sq?
http://en.goldenears.net/index.php?mid=KB_...cument_srl=1921

Your example is comparing complete garbage to an AK240 which doesn't make sense. A better comparison would be something like a Sansa clip/ipod vs Hifiman/Fiio/etc. And placing that in the context of using the difference on a better headphone. A sansa clip or an ipod is already very good as I have found out.
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=61524
Look at the graphs, the frequency response of the Sansa/ipod is almost as flat as a ruler. SNR, distortion measurements are really good.

The recommendation right after my first post was a fiio x5 which costs around RM1200 which would leave only RM300 from my budget to spend on a headphone. Would that be a 'normal' thing that people do on lowyat?

This post has been edited by derail: Sep 30 2014, 12:59 PM
liquidgal
post Sep 30 2014, 02:34 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Sep 29 2014, 04:37 PM)

Can consider Superlux HD651. a very decent choice below RM100. Or around RM100, Edifier HD850.
Top up a bit you can get Superlux HD681 Evo.

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 29 2014, 05:33 PM)
Under RM 100
Under RM 75
Under RM 50
QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Sep 30 2014, 09:52 AM)
Can consider Superlux HD381 series if you prefer clarity and details.

QUOTE(derail @ Sep 30 2014, 12:57 PM)
Relative to the speakers or headphones they do not. Why would you spend alot more on something that is 5-10x less important in terms of sq?
http://en.goldenears.net/index.php?mid=KB_...cument_srl=1921

Your example is comparing complete garbage to an AK240 which doesn't make sense. A better comparison would be something like a Sansa clip/ipod vs Hifiman/Fiio/etc. And placing that in the context of using the difference on a better headphone. A sansa clip or an ipod is already very good as I have found out.
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=61524
Look at the graphs, the frequency response of the Sansa/ipod is almost as flat as a ruler. SNR, distortion measurements are really good.

The recommendation right after my first post was a fiio x5 which costs around RM1200 which would leave only RM300 from my budget to spend on a headphone. Would that be a 'normal' thing that people do on lowyat?
I do agree that headphone has the greatest impact on sound signature but not necessarily on sound quality.
First of all, why I recommend at least X3 or DX50 is because, you stated your budget can up to around RM1.5K. You also asking for step up from MS1.
For the headphones that I recommend, for a more balance system and healthy sound, I do think the two dap works well and can be even better.
For example, for me, if I were to use HD598 as my headphone, I would pair it with X3 or DX50 + a portable amp Cayin C5 for a better performance. Dap build in amp is usually not so powerful. Another common combo I am having is iBasso DX90 (RM1600+)+ Vsonic GR07 classic (RM300+).

Even if you are getting MS1, buying a higher price DAP still make sense.
If you have only budget of RM1K, you can have two options. Either buy a more expensive headphone and pairing with more entry level DAP or go for a more balance and healthy system.
If you are not going to upgrade in short time, I would think that the latter can give you a more comfortable and enjoyable sound quality.
Buying a RM700 headphone pairing with RM300 DAP, not necessarily having a better sound quality compare to MS1 + Fiio X3. You can audition yourself and do the judgement.

You can choose to pair a flagship headphone or higher range headphone with low range dac and amp, but the sound is for sure not healthy.
Talking about HIFI market, headphone like Audeze LCD3 that cost RM7K+ is already at top range. But a RM7K DAC in HIFI is really mean nothing. From here, I guess you can somehow see some clues.

This post has been edited by liquidgal: Sep 30 2014, 02:37 PM
chester91
post Sep 30 2014, 06:36 PM

92 posts

Hi guys,

I need your recommendations. My dad wants to buy a set of IEM to replace the stock samsung s3 headphones which have broken.

- He has a budget between RM100 to RM150.
- Mostly listens to oldies such as Air Supply, Phil Collins. Basically songs you would hear on light.fm.
- Normally uses the phone (S3) or laptop to listen to songs.
- Songs are mp3 but with high bitrate of between 256 ~ 320.
- No brand preference.
- A pouch included with the set would be a plus.

I was initially thinking of buying the Beyerdynamic XP series, however decided other wise after reading on lowyat that they tend to fail after a year of usage.

bsl555
post Sep 30 2014, 07:18 PM

8,046 posts

Other day, I tested the JVC Ésnsy HA-SR85S. I think its one of the most neutral, decently rich sounding, comfortable for long listening sessions. It doesn't have the strongest bass nor the best in detail or resolution, but for sub RM500 range, its worth to be among my shortlist if I were to shop for one soon. No in ear stuff for me. Bigger phones means fuller sound to me, just like my speakers, no less than 15" woofer.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Sep 30 2014, 07:19 PM
aibeast
post Oct 1 2014, 12:16 AM

22 posts

Hi so im searching for a new headphone

Noise cancelling and supra aural?
Mostly listen to acoustics, hip hop and r n b
budget 300 below
Use with mp3player and laptops
LONG LASTING and real tough

Have a lot of history with broken wires T^T

And i not sure how to say this i really like clear sounds.
And sorry to ask do you know of any place tht can fix headphones too?
Have one tht fits criteria but the wire is broken.
psychoactive
post Oct 1 2014, 01:12 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(redx @ Sep 30 2014, 12:00 PM)
hi guys, please help me choosing the right and best for bucks bluetooth headset for my idevices , macs n pc
-currently use jawbone by era, superb connctivity and battery life ,but low on stereo, noise resistnce and cntrol button,it can connect
directly with iphone n ipad n imac simultaneously still,believe me when i said, i more cmfortable using mono samsung headset than this jawbone.
my budget its not unlimited, bt i cn fork out the money just to get the best for bucks and availability in malaysia. thanks.
Mid budget - Noontec Zoro Wireless
High budget - Sony MDR-1RMK2BT rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chester91 @ Sep 30 2014, 06:36 PM)
Hi guys,

I need your recommendations. My dad wants to buy a set of IEM to replace the stock samsung s3 headphones which have broken.

- He has a budget between RM100 to RM150.
- Mostly listens to oldies such as Air Supply, Phil Collins. Basically songs you would hear on light.fm.
- Normally uses the phone (S3) or laptop to listen to songs.
- Songs are mp3 but with high bitrate of between 256 ~ 320.
- No brand preference.
- A pouch included with the set would be a plus.

I was initially thinking of buying the Beyerdynamic XP series, however decided other wise after reading on lowyat that they tend to fail after a year of usage.

Beyerdynamic XP series IEM has some serious quality issues. For 100-150, comsider VSonic VSD1/S, Xiaomi Piston v2 (lower price).

QUOTE(aibeast @ Oct 1 2014, 12:16 AM)
Hi so im searching for a new headphone

Noise cancelling and supra aural?
Mostly listen to acoustics, hip hop and r n b
budget 300 below
Use with mp3player and laptops
LONG LASTING and real tough

Have a lot of history with broken wires T^T

And i not sure how to say this i really like clear sounds.
And sorry to ask do you know of any place tht can fix headphones too?
Have one tht fits criteria but the wire is broken.
Do you need noise cancelling? If not, i would say the Noontec Zoro HD.
chongkaiz
post Oct 1 2014, 01:46 AM

- MSI gp60 laptop, not sure about the sound card
- Mostly gaming(First person shooters), some music and a little movies
- MP3
- Any genre
- Closed headphones
- mic will not be needed, others are okay.
budget will be around 150 but less than 200. thanks a lot! smile.gif
chester91
post Oct 1 2014, 11:18 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Oct 1 2014, 01:12 AM)
High budget - Sony MDR-1RMK2BT  rclxms.gif
Beyerdynamic XP series IEM has some serious quality issues. For 100-150, comsider VSonic VSD1/S, Xiaomi Piston v2 (lower price).
Could u recommend me any retailers near subang area or online resellers to get the IEM u mention?
redx
post Oct 1 2014, 11:21 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Oct 1 2014, 01:12 AM)
High budget - Sony MDR-1RMK2BT  rclxms.gif
prefer not the bulky one,seem so weird to drive it around n yes it supposely cn make a call, accept a call for
idevices and skype for pcs n macs. thank you.
E1 - AKG
post Oct 1 2014, 12:38 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(chongkaiz @ Oct 1 2014, 01:46 AM)
- MSI gp60 laptop, not sure about the sound card
- Mostly gaming(First person shooters), some music and a little movies
- MP3
- Any genre
- Closed headphones
- mic will not be needed, others are okay.
budget will be around 150 but less than 200. thanks a lot! smile.gif
AKG K44 nod.gif

austinjklim
post Oct 1 2014, 08:28 PM

72 posts

Want to ask advice on m50/m50x. Is the bass level on m50 considered okay? I don't want too high bass like beats but more than average bass level. Just bought m40x and bass level wasn't what i really want(had to adjust eqaulizer on my i5s)

307 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0639sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:26 PM