missysleepy
post Jun 29 2018, 01:54 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(Gummy P @ Jun 29 2018, 12:37 PM)
i hv all 4 already and they are all out of place  laugh.gif

but i dun really bother so long as they dun make me feel pain
haahahah
im not sure when should i be doing it. scared if now not doing it, after aged only do it ,will it be more dangerous for the heart?
u remember the brother in law of zahid who died of complication ? he died because of heart attack when performing the anesthetic to remove the wisdom tooth.
missysleepy
post Jun 30 2018, 05:35 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(Gummy P @ Jun 29 2018, 04:29 PM)
omg r u serious? ><
tis is scary!  bangwall.gif
yes it's true. source from my dentist friend. usually news like this spread among them . we public won't know much detail.
winter-X
post Jul 7 2018, 10:42 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(n3ar @ Jun 26 2018, 06:07 PM)
not sure this thread is still active or not...got some questions..

I got this pain in my molar tooth, sharp pain that comes n goes..

i went to this private clinic and they said there's a small crack..they did a filing and said the tooth may need to be remove or RCT is needed..

after 1 years or so, the pain came back..

so i went to this government clinic, and they did an x ray and said will do the RCT but they will call for appointment later

6 month after that, with no follow up call from the clinic, the tooth seems ok..but 1 night i felt a lot of pain, and the pain continues..i went to 1 private clinic again, and the dentist did a filling and repeat the same thing, RCT may be necessary .

that night, the pain is unbearable so a day after that, i went to UMMC (university  malaya medical centre) to do RCT..the dentist took my history and an xray..he said he'll do the first procedure and need to come back for follow up

and he perform the procedure..and the nurse said they'll call back for follow up procedure but may take 4-6 month..

i was what the heck, i though next follow up treatments  for root canal will take bout 1-2 month.. is this normal? i read from people's experience they do the follow up treatment 2 or 3 weeks after 1st treatment
I am having the same problem as you.
I do teeth cleaning at UKM half year ago. Then my molar tooth start feel pain when get in touch with cold air or water.
I went to a private dental to check. Apply dressing (a temporary medicine pasting?) and ask me to come back after one month. If no pain, will proceed permanent filling. But I went 3 days before the appointment date because i feel pain. Then they say cannot do permanent filling. Do do same procedure for me again and ask me come back in half month.
Went to another private dental to check. Told to either remove the teeth or do RCT.
Went government dental to check. The dentist cannot even found the problem until I told her the full story. Then only she suggest to do removal (the quickest and less hassle way). Only after I told her temporary filling works then only she agree to do temporary filling and permanent filling on next appointment.

Planning to pay a visit at UMMC or Mahsa for root canal treatment.
yolo1990
post Jul 7 2018, 10:45 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(Gummy P @ Jul 1 2018, 05:05 PM)
they wanna silent tis out?  hmm.gif
huh?
silent?
it was all over the news.
Blofeld
post Jul 7 2018, 09:12 PM

4,700 posts

Is root canal treatment painful?

Has anyone undergone that before?
Zenon65
post Jul 9 2018, 11:38 AM

18 posts

Anyone knows any good and with reasonable price places to extract wisdom tooth around klang valley? I have four T>T
murv90
post Jul 9 2018, 11:34 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Jun 27 2018, 03:43 PM)
I have a wisdom tooth . Do you think i should removed it.
There was one time, i think had an infection and feel very pain. The dentist requested me to go to University Malaya hospital to extract. Should i just leave it or removed it.

The only thing that worries me is the future infection and also causing cancerous cell .
Wisdom tooth as such don't cause any problems, only when they're impacted(doesn't come out fully into its 'normal' position) where they can cause problems and the most common is infection followed by pain, usually it is adviced that if your wisdom tooth has already been infected and there was a history of pain to get it removed due to the fact that the same problem will recur again and again.

Future infection yes, actual infection causing cancer is highly unlikely.

QUOTE(Joeyskullz @ Jun 27 2018, 03:45 PM)
My toddler 5 years old this year. Her bottom front tooth got 2.. front and back. why is that?
Most probably her permanent teeth are starting to come out and the primary/baby teeth are infront and will soon get loose and fall by itself by the time he/she is 6+ years old.

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Jun 29 2018, 01:54 PM)
im not sure when should i be doing it. scared if now not doing it, after aged only do it ,will it be more dangerous for the heart?
u remember the brother in law of zahid who died of complication ? he died because of heart attack when performing the anesthetic to remove the wisdom tooth.
There's no correlation with age and getting wisdom tooth extracted, only if you have any underlying medical condition of which you should mention before undergoing and treatment in a dental clinic.

And the case of patient dying during wisdom tooth removal due to anesthetic complication is due to the fact that the patient did not reveal complete history and he consumed drugs that had severe reactions with the anesthesia, therefore it is important to reveal any underlying medical condition that you have/ any drugs/medications that you consumed.

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 7 2018, 09:12 PM)
Is root canal treatment painful?

Has anyone undergone that before?
Root canal treatment can be slightly uncomfortable/sensitive/painful during the first seating(assuming the dentist does a good job) and no more pain whatsoever on subsequent seating/appointments if it is a multiple seating root canal treatment.
Blofeld
post Jul 9 2018, 11:39 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 9 2018, 11:34 PM)

Root canal treatment can be slightly uncomfortable/sensitive/painful during the first seating(assuming the dentist does a good job) and no more pain whatsoever on subsequent seating/appointments if it is a multiple seating root canal treatment.
After the first session of root canal treatment and before the second session, can a patient eat as normal as in eating hard food on that side?
murv90
post Jul 9 2018, 11:45 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 9 2018, 11:39 PM)
After the first session of root canal treatment and before the second session, can a patient eat as normal as in eating hard food on that side?
Most of the time you could but highly dependant on cases

Cases where there was existing infection, I would not recommend biting too hard on that side,

And also do remember in between appointments the dentist will most probably only use a temporary restoration material to cover up for ease of access later on, so eating normally is ok, but not hard food like peanut/bones etc as it would probably cause dislodgement of the filling
Blofeld
post Jul 9 2018, 11:50 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 9 2018, 11:45 PM)
Most of the time you could but highly dependant on cases

Cases where there was existing infection, I would not recommend biting too hard on that side,

And also do remember in between appointments the dentist will most probably only use a temporary restoration material to cover up for ease of access later on, so eating normally is ok, but not hard food like peanut/bones etc as it would probably cause dislodgement of the filling
So, it's best to have shorter appointments in between?

Compared to what I have read in this thread that some ppl have appointments months between.
murv90
post Jul 10 2018, 12:00 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 9 2018, 11:50 PM)
So, it's best to have shorter appointments in between?

Compared to what I have read in this thread that some ppl have appointments months between.
Not too long, not too short again its highly dependant on the situation and condition of the teeth, but I would prefer anywhere from 2 weeks to one month at the most for the second seating.

And did your dentist advice on a crown for the tooth after root canal?
Blofeld
post Jul 10 2018, 12:09 AM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 10 2018, 12:00 AM)
Not too long, not too short again its highly dependant on the situation and condition of the teeth, but I would prefer anywhere from 2 weeks to one month at the most for the second seating.

And did your dentist advice on a crown for the tooth after root canal?
I don't remember what he said.

It was two years ago that he recommended me to go for root canal treatment because the wisdom tooth had damaged the next molar. The wisdom tooth had been removed, anyway.

At that time, he said no need to do root canal treatment yet unless you start to feel some toothache.

I have also been visiting him regularly for dental treatment. So far no problem until recently.

On and off recently, I have felt some throbbing sensation. So, I believe it's time to start the treatment.

So, I believe putting the crown is part of the procedure?

murv90
post Jul 10 2018, 12:18 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 10 2018, 12:09 AM)
I don't remember what he said.

It was two years ago that he recommended me to go for root canal treatment because the wisdom tooth had damaged the next molar. The wisdom tooth had been removed, anyway.

At that time, he said no need to do root canal treatment yet unless you start to feel some toothache.

I have also been visiting him regularly for dental treatment. So far no problem until recently.

On and off recently, I have felt some throbbing sensation. So, I believe it's time to start the treatment.

So, I believe putting the crown is part of the procedure?
Yeah an important part too, because what happens when we do a root canal treatment is 'killing' the tooth to retain its function and functions of its surrounding structures, and the main aim is to alleviate the pain, but with this the tooth becomes 'dead' and tends to get fragile over the years, it's not instant but in years to come the teeth will start chipping off/ breaking off piece by piece.

Therefore a crown is highly suggested to maintain the root canal treated tooth and to save time and money for you(long run). I know crown with a root canal could be expensive, you could opt for a crown at around 1-2 years after the root canal is completed, 2 years being the absolute maximum.
Blofeld
post Jul 10 2018, 12:21 AM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 10 2018, 12:18 AM)
Yeah an important part too, because what happens when we do a root canal treatment is 'killing' the tooth to retain its function and functions of its surrounding structures, and the main aim is to alleviate the pain, but with this the tooth becomes 'dead' and tends to get fragile over the years, it's not instant but in years to come the teeth will start chipping off/ breaking off piece by piece.

Therefore a crown is highly suggested to maintain the root canal treated tooth and to save time and money for you(long run). I know crown with a root canal could be expensive, you could opt for a crown at around 1-2 years after the root canal is completed, 2 years being the absolute maximum.
It would be better if i do the crowning as soon as possible, right?

How long is the recommended time length to do crowning after root canal is completed?

murv90
post Jul 10 2018, 12:32 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 10 2018, 12:21 AM)
It would be better if i do the crowning as soon as possible, right?

How long is the recommended time length to do crowning after root canal is completed?
Yep, typically give it around 2-3 months to make sure there's no problem with your root canal, but different dentists have different views so best consult your doctor on that smile.gif
Blofeld
post Jul 10 2018, 12:36 AM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 10 2018, 12:32 AM)
Yep, typically give it around 2-3 months to make sure there's no problem with your root canal, but different dentists have different views so best consult your doctor on that smile.gif
Ok thanks a lot for the advice
missysleepy
post Jul 10 2018, 06:35 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 9 2018, 11:34 PM)
Wisdom tooth as such don't cause any problems, only when they're impacted(doesn't come out fully into its 'normal' position) where they can cause problems and the most common is infection followed by pain, usually it is adviced that if your wisdom tooth has already been infected and there was a history of pain to get it removed due to the fact that the same problem will recur again and again.

Future infection yes, actual infection causing cancer is highly unlikely.
Most probably her permanent teeth are starting to come out and the primary/baby teeth are infront and will soon get loose and fall by itself by the time he/she is 6+ years old.
There's no correlation with age and getting wisdom tooth extracted, only if you have any underlying medical condition of which you should mention before undergoing and treatment in a dental clinic.

And the case of patient dying during wisdom tooth removal due to anesthetic complication is due to the fact that the patient did not reveal complete history and he consumed drugs that had severe reactions with the anesthesia, therefore it is important to reveal any underlying medical condition that you have/ any drugs/medications that you consumed.
have you heard of some cancer docs have relate root canal procedures that could caused cancer due to bacteria inhibition in the root canal after that?
lowlowc
post Jul 10 2018, 08:01 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Jun 27 2018, 03:43 PM)
I have a wisdom tooth . Do you think i should removed it.
There was one time, i think had an infection and feel very pain. The dentist requested me to go to University Malaya hospital to extract. Should i just leave it or removed it.

The only thing that worries me is the future infection and also causing cancerous cell .
If the dentist suggested that you remove it at hospital, it might be the removal will require surgery - cut a large opening at gum/ need to crush the teeth and remove pieces. Get a referral letter from him to bring to UM hospital to see dental surgeon.

If your wisdom teeth causes pain now and then, or after years still wont come out (but dentist confirm the tooth is under the gum) dont wait. Just remove them. I suffered 2 years for my left side and 5 years on right side on and off pain, for nothing. Dentists kept asking me to wait and they will come out. BS. After removal, felt so relieved.
murv90
post Jul 10 2018, 08:09 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Jul 10 2018, 06:35 AM)
have you heard of some cancer docs have relate root canal procedures that could caused cancer due to bacteria inhibition in the root canal after that?
There are absolutely no relation in between having dental caries/ infection with cancer.

Severe bacterial infection which can lead to other infections yes but not cancer.

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jul 10 2018, 08:01 AM)
If the dentist suggested that you remove it at hospital, it might be the removal will require surgery - cut a large opening at gum/ need to crush the teeth and remove pieces. Get a referral letter from him to bring to UM hospital to see dental surgeon.

If your wisdom teeth causes pain now and then, or after years still wont come out (but dentist confirm the tooth is under the gum) dont wait. Just remove them. I suffered 2 years for my left side and 5 years on right side on and off pain, for nothing. Dentists kept asking me to wait and they will come out. BS. After removal, felt so relieved.
I'm sorry for what you had to go through, but at the first sign of pain/infection it is best to remove the tooth as the problem would keep repeating.
missysleepy
post Jul 10 2018, 10:00 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Jul 10 2018, 08:09 AM)
There are absolutely no relation in between having dental caries/ infection with cancer.

Severe bacterial infection which can lead to other infections yes but not cancer.
I'm sorry for what you had to go through, but at the first sign of pain/infection it is best to remove the tooth as the problem would keep repeating.
i read before on Dr Mercola statement about root canal having high possibility of germ trapped in between the encapsulation and it spreaded through the blood vein. One of the cancer caused is also bacteria formation over the years. Dr Mercola is quite popular in the health research but this doubt were not been approved by the Dental Societies i think. It's still infant i guess to conclude this discovery without further test but i think there is a level of possibility in percentage i guess. I know a person very well who did a root canal and are now suffering from cancer .

51 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:25 PM