8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

History of Subang Jaya, Ex-township of Petaling Jaya

alanyuppie
post Mar 16 2018, 10:25 AM

2,834 posts

When I was small my uncle and aunt always bring me to Subang via jalan Sg Buloh.... nothing but kelapa sawit too. I remembered halfway there's a small river many ppl stopped and wash legs play water LOL. At the end of the long road.. got a T junction. We're there! Missed going to Subang race track see horsie.

QUOTE(thelonely @ Sep 9 2014, 09:06 AM)
moved to subang jaya, when people said to my parents "gila ka? situ hutan kelapa sawit je, kenapa duduk dalam hutan?"

my house price was rm100k, now it's rm1million

now lots of people want to move here, and can't afford to buy a house here too.

and ss15 was always a peaceful place, buy breakfast at the square (now market sudah pindah situ) nasi ayam kak laily or nasi lemak. Seng hup lamp shop was there, there was no traffic light, all roundabouts. not many cars last time. it was when kesas was completed then suddenly jadi gila the traffic here.
Same goes for Puchong, Sungai Buloh soon after.... and recently Kajang , Semenyih , Rawang.

The same mentality when young people today always wanted property nearer to city center.. and refuse to look anywhere beyond that. Then complain why house price expensive.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Mar 16 2018, 10:28 AM
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:30 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(jibbot @ Mar 16 2018, 10:26 AM)
damn u.. i m not old smile.gif
lots of old people around usj. u come to taipan sure can see plenty of my mates there biggrin.gif
stimix
post Mar 16 2018, 10:41 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 16 2018, 10:30 AM)
lots of old people around usj. u come to taipan sure can see plenty of my mates there  biggrin.gif
Subang jaya & old part of pj more biggrin.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:45 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 16 2018, 10:41 AM)
Subang jaya & old part of pj more  biggrin.gif
at least subang jaya SS area you still can see lots of youngsters around the college/uni area

u come to taipan area morning sure old folks here and there...

reminds me of PJ Jalan Othman area
yhtan
post Mar 16 2018, 10:46 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 16 2018, 10:19 AM)
the culprits are the traffic lights at the giant and also at the Da Men . plus the long wait at the summit usj traffic lights.

but yes, after lrt was completed the traffic has lesser a lot .
but I noticed USJ also got plenty of old people ... like me. smile.gif
Traffic light is the main culprit, can't help with it but u have another alternative road via ss19. Last time no public transport to KL or PJ except for bus. Now u have LRT which lessen the car coming from Putra Height and USJ area.

I think the first phase is USJ 2 or 3 which launched in year 1989 or later, house handed over on 1991 if not mistaken. I roughly know it when i saw previous house owner S&P with the developer.

Of course, back in 20-30 years ago many purchaser age around 30+, a lot of them retire and u can see them at the park. But still got youngster staying around there for the purpose near the folks.
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:54 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 16 2018, 10:46 AM)
Traffic light is the main culprit, can't help with it but u have another alternative road via ss19. Last time no public transport to KL or PJ except for bus. Now u have LRT which lessen the car coming from Putra Height and USJ area.

I think the first phase is USJ 2 or 3 which launched in year 1989 or later, house handed over on 1991 if not mistaken. I roughly know it when i saw previous house owner S&P with the developer.

Of course, back in 20-30 years ago many purchaser age around 30+, a lot of them retire and u can see them at the park. But still got youngster staying around there for the purpose near the folks.
FMHO I think even up to last 10 years traffic was quite bad around USJ. always stuck like forever in front of the summit traffic lights.

but yes, usj 2 got lots of youngsters too.

anyway

last time usj.com.my forum very active...during jeffooi time... nowadays like... meh?

http://www.usj.com.my/bulletin/upload/foru...sc&daysprune=-1

ya lah... everybody also getting older... how time flies

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 16 2018, 10:56 AM
yhtan
post Mar 16 2018, 11:03 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 16 2018, 10:54 AM)
FMHO I think even up to last 10 years traffic was quite bad around USJ. always stuck like forever in front of the summit traffic lights.

but yes, usj 2 got lots of youngsters too.

anyway

last time usj.com.my forum very active...during jeffooi time... nowadays like... meh?

http://www.usj.com.my/bulletin/upload/foru...sc&daysprune=-1

ya lah... everybody also getting older... how time flies
Jeff Ooi got no time to talk cock sing song with u liao, eversince 2008 he become YB, he don't care about here anymore.
kkk8787
post Mar 16 2018, 11:07 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Who remembers subang valley or the valley. Used to swim there then dinner sure thai thong
loki
post Mar 16 2018, 11:14 AM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Sep 9 2014, 12:17 AM)
Back in the early 90s some retiree folks inform me their homes used to be shunned by most ppl due to its too far location from kl and dalam hutan...how rapid times have changes...
last time KL ppl say subang not ppl stay one, so far away... and the daily flyover of aircraft...
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 12:39 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 16 2018, 11:03 AM)
Jeff Ooi got no time to talk cock sing song with u liao, eversince 2008 he become YB, he don't care about here anymore.
ya lah... what to do... jelutong more important

-----------

remember the abandoned project by Sanjung Utama Sdn Bhd Rhythm Avenue now USJ 19 Mall and Newgate Avenue now Main Place USJ 21?

kana abandoned for so long last time

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 16 2018, 01:45 PM
nusnih8944
post May 16 2018, 06:49 PM

15 posts

Summit USJ after renovation looks fresher, last time the exterior design too old fashion scare cannot compete with damen. But inside still not much change, like other old time shopping mall eg. time square many small boutiques which i dk how they survive for so long..
SUSjoe_star
post May 16 2018, 06:58 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

WHat happen to this dupe?
JimbeamofNRT
post Jul 15 2018, 04:46 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 1 2017, 12:19 PM)
There is no LDP prior to 1998 lah. That time,
- on Central PJ side,there was a dual carriage way road from KDU all the way to Kelana Jaya & ended up joining fed highway at sg way ( without the bridge). On Sunway side, the road is a dead end till the current Caltex stn b4 the toll plaza. Sunway was so peaceful and quiet prior to 1998.

-on Northern PJ side, the road after KDU or after Uptown Damansara was just a narrow kampung road i.e Jln Damansara all the way to Kepong - yeah toll free and jam for sure.

-on puchong side, there was no road linking Sunway to Puchong - didn't exist at all. The main road was the okr - kinrara till puchong perdana ( which was upgraded to 2 lanes in mid 90's. After puchong Perdana, it was a tiny jalan Puchong lama linking from Hicom shah alam to puchong and thereafter a very winding narrow road thru Pulau Meranti and never ending narrow road with a branch towards dengkil & another towards kajang..really narrow prior to yr 2000!
ah.Sungai Way free zone industrial area.got Monsanto back in the 70s. Seaport Estate aka kelana jaya area was rubber tree plantations back then before 70s. the road was quite small back then towards taman tun then towards bukit lanjan and kepong , quite dark to drive around at night.

sunway? used to be called petaling tin area. you can see the whole place full of white sand

like this

from simpang ampat at monsanto-kontena nasional you will pass another simpang at kontena nasional-old klang road then straight till dead end at the current caltex station before the puchong toll plaza. this was in early 80s
SUSLancewood
post Jul 15 2018, 05:01 PM

79 posts

I miss Subang Parade
i Miss Shah Motel - use to stay there when on the job training
1 miss the A&W next to it

SUSjudehow
post Jul 15 2018, 05:03 PM

4,118 posts

Long time did go there liao
tadashi987
post Jul 16 2018, 10:18 AM

2,106 posts

haha usj resident here, proud to be subangites, tho i not sure why XDD

Although a lot people claim subang jam, not for hooman live one, but i feel ok bcoz if you skip the peak hour as well if you know how to skip the jam route & take alternative route it is pretty ok

personally think that subang jaya is a nice place to live in, compare to other township in selangor.

This post has been edited by tadashi987: Jul 16 2018, 12:06 PM
pehkay
post Jul 16 2018, 10:19 AM

145 posts

Better than PJ?
gjohn
post Jul 16 2018, 10:51 AM

388 posts

i live near subang jaya
bandar sunway...well always o subang parade ..see movie..
MBO Cinema..less jamm compared to Pyramid..

JimbeamofNRT
post Feb 9 2019, 12:08 PM

1,902 posts

went to subang parade last night for movie

my... looks so empty these days

comparing to their hey day in the 90s

yhtan
post Feb 11 2019, 12:24 PM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Feb 9 2019, 12:08 PM)
went to subang parade last night for movie

my... looks so empty these days

comparing to their hey day in the 90s

More like community mall now, even the digital area also close down a lot of shop sweat.gif

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0212sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:18 PM