History of Subang Jaya, Ex-township of Petaling Jaya

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 05:30 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(iOnine @ Sep 9 2014, 11:39 AM)
i was the first batch of Bandar Sunway.
before they have pyramid, lagoon and the LDP.
those time, no traffic at all.
noww.. its grrrr..

also, my uncle was the first batch of SS18 subang.
always go over to his place.
now his house is worth close to 1mil.
same case with sunway's area. typically PJS 9 tho

manyak syioookk oh.
dulu buy not even 100k. lol
Sorry to dig old thread. feeling nostalgic somehow

kojack18 remember when old folks dem scared if one day those houses at taman subang indah in front of pyramid will collapsed one day?
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 05:41 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 19 2017, 05:37 PM)
I recall the biggest worry about house sinking was wangsa baiduri
yes indeed.

and some folks scared if one day wisma tractor kana crashed by some airplanes from subang airport
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 05:53 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Oct 19 2017, 05:46 PM)
I moved into 19 recently, by god SS15 is some place I totally wanna avoid  cry.gif
last time during 90s traffic much worse lah during the completion of sunway pyramid + NPE. sometimes the roundabout at the ss15 virtually not moving at all.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 06:33 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 19 2017, 05:54 PM)
Another one is this....

Recently went back after 5 years....dem feel so nostalgic to be stuck in jam in a perodua hahahaha

user posted imageK0070232 by vmwt, on Flickr

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 06:57 PM

1,902 posts

Wait ah.. I slowly dig back some old pictures

not really related to subang/usj but nearby also lah

this one , somewhere in the 80s

as u can see, kesas is not even there yet. on the left near the track is the the current Taman Perindustrian Uep area

the sri hijauan condo, first condo in shah alam was built in 1992-93 just after proton factory ( jalan bukit hijau area )

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 19 2017, 06:57 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 07:08 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Oct 19 2017, 07:06 PM)
I hate that song with a passion.
how about this one?

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 19 2017, 08:25 PM

1,902 posts

ok taken from this thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3866782/+120

quote=JimbeamofNRT,Nov 7 2016, 08:31 PM

The Castlefield (Pusat Bandar Puchong), Seafield (USJ25), Labuan Padang (Taman Alam Megah) and Ebor Estate(USJ Heights)
Petaling Tin ( Bandar Sunway )

record from 1910

https://books.google.com.my/books?id=jItEAQ...epage&q&f=false

download
https://books.google.com.my/books/download/...p5wV-rdSRvsVq-w

http://seasiavisions.library.cornell.edu/c...seapage:233_417

The estate lies five miles distant from Batu Tiga railway station, from which it is approached by a good cart-road. It embraces 1,075 acres, 310 of which have been planted with Para rubber, varying in age from two to seven years. In 1906, 11,000 lbs. of well for the future production of large quantities of excellent rubber.

GLENMARIE AND BATU ESTATES. These properties formerly belonged to the Selangor Plantations Syndicate ; but in January, 1906, they were taken over by the newly formed Batu Tiga (Selangor) Rubber Company, which has a capital of A60,000. Originally, about 260 acres of the Glenmarie estate, which embraces altogether 2,050 acres, were planted with coffee and pepper. This area has been interplanted with rubber, and, including this, there are altogether 910 acres under rubber cultivation, the trees ranging in age from a few months to ten years. Tapping was commenced in April, 1906, and the yield up to the end of the year was 2,260 lbs.

---------

#history

too bad we didn't learn much about these eh?

this map pic credit to Zi-Tech

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 19 2017, 08:31 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2017, 06:35 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Oct 20 2017, 08:33 AM)
I thought some houses facing the main road got affected seriously, sinking and they had to move out.
Took those Sj and klang buses plying this route... almost daily see the white ex-mining land...
IIRC those were Sri Jaya 252 and KL-Klang Omnibus No 51 from Kelang Bus Station to KL via old klang road

in the late 80s KL-Klang use to have Volvo bus. damn fast I tell you. if federal highway no jam ( mostly after 9PM you can reach klang town within 1 hour )

but if sri jaya using this hino bus ah? will take forever especially during climbing the now batu tiga federal highway road

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2017, 06:42 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Oct 20 2017, 11:07 PM)
25 years of living in Subang Jaya.

Miss the good ol KFC Drive Thru and A&W.
QUOTE(UserU @ Oct 20 2017, 11:10 PM)
Ayyyy, at least we have A&W in Taipan 😁
the A&W at the old 3K center(now closed) and thew one at taipan also sucks big time IMHO. I think the upper management kinda clueless on how to manage a good business lah. u see the taipan branch one. staff also clueless most of the time. damn long queue.the old 3K center one even though 24 hours but somehow always don't have enough staff + waffle will take forever to cook.

the better one is at hentian seremban towards JB.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2017, 06:51 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Oct 20 2017, 08:17 AM)
I recall when subang parade first open...my folks so eager to travel from bangsar to see the complex. My first stop was toy r us.
13/8/1988

QUOTE(empatTan @ Oct 20 2017, 11:24 PM)
I remember subang ended at a line of palm oil trees. Now, that line of trees is d kesas. smile.gif time flies ...
Zi-Tech

USJ = Seafield Jaya smile.gif

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 23 2017, 07:45 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2017, 07:14 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(spetnaz @ Oct 23 2017, 07:08 PM)
Last time subang especially usj area got many MAS stewardess staying there bcoz of the Subang airport and even after KLIA open, they still prefer to stay in Subang area. Not sure their whereabout nowdays bcoz ayam no longer go clubbing
yes they used to stay around subang, then in the 90s many of them moved to goodyear court area. more privacy smile.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2017, 07:38 PM

1,902 posts

USJ=Seafield Jaya

http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/newspapers/Di...50425-1.2.32.18

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 26 2017, 12:08 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Oct 23 2017, 10:32 PM)
yup... gila one i tell you.. those klang buses always speeding
those were the days lah

JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 15 2018, 03:54 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ah mao @ Jan 17 2018, 05:23 PM)
My college housemate told me how rural Subang used to be in late 80's. Robbers came for break in by just drive a big lorry pretend they're helping the house owner to move else where. That's how his immediate neighbor was hit. One of the robbers even buy a can of soft drink to my friend

JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:13 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ah mao @ Mar 15 2018, 08:43 PM)
Wow that price then!!! It's like I can buy it in cash now shocking.gif
Bro, RM 130K in 1987 is quite a huge sum for kuli like me

RM 130K can't even buy brand new Accord nowadays

-----

anyway UEP house build quality was quite good back then. you can't even hear your neighbour's voice when you are in the house.

nowadays SD house build quality is like... meh? roof leaking is a norm, burst internal piping, cracked... haih

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 16 2018, 10:16 AM
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:19 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 15 2018, 04:22 PM)
Among all USJ area, USJ 1 is the worse place to live in

after the existence of LRT, the traffic has lesser a lot compare to older days.
the culprits are the traffic lights at the giant and also at the Da Men . plus the long wait at the summit usj traffic lights.

but yes, after lrt was completed the traffic has lesser a lot .
but I noticed USJ also got plenty of old people ... like me. smile.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:30 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(jibbot @ Mar 16 2018, 10:26 AM)
damn u.. i m not old smile.gif
lots of old people around usj. u come to taipan sure can see plenty of my mates there biggrin.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:45 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 16 2018, 10:41 AM)
Subang jaya & old part of pj more  biggrin.gif
at least subang jaya SS area you still can see lots of youngsters around the college/uni area

u come to taipan area morning sure old folks here and there...

reminds me of PJ Jalan Othman area
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 10:54 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 16 2018, 10:46 AM)
Traffic light is the main culprit, can't help with it but u have another alternative road via ss19. Last time no public transport to KL or PJ except for bus. Now u have LRT which lessen the car coming from Putra Height and USJ area.

I think the first phase is USJ 2 or 3 which launched in year 1989 or later, house handed over on 1991 if not mistaken. I roughly know it when i saw previous house owner S&P with the developer.

Of course, back in 20-30 years ago many purchaser age around 30+, a lot of them retire and u can see them at the park. But still got youngster staying around there for the purpose near the folks.
FMHO I think even up to last 10 years traffic was quite bad around USJ. always stuck like forever in front of the summit traffic lights.

but yes, usj 2 got lots of youngsters too.

anyway

last time usj.com.my forum very active...during jeffooi time... nowadays like... meh?

http://www.usj.com.my/bulletin/upload/foru...sc&daysprune=-1

ya lah... everybody also getting older... how time flies

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 16 2018, 10:56 AM
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 16 2018, 12:39 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 16 2018, 11:03 AM)
Jeff Ooi got no time to talk cock sing song with u liao, eversince 2008 he become YB, he don't care about here anymore.
ya lah... what to do... jelutong more important

-----------

remember the abandoned project by Sanjung Utama Sdn Bhd Rhythm Avenue now USJ 19 Mall and Newgate Avenue now Main Place USJ 21?

kana abandoned for so long last time

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 16 2018, 01:45 PM

0.0238sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:28 PM