4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v7, DIY unit trust investing

xuzen
post Oct 2 2014, 10:53 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 2 2014, 10:41 AM)
i'm at 100% bond for some 2years already (oh well, was anticipating some minor downs, will monitor and see). Part of me was telling to be patient and wait for the low( orrelatively low), and just whack in, the other part was itching to enter and join in the party

- AMB income trust
- AMB dana Arif
- AMdynamic Sukuk
- RHB-OSK Bond Fund

and off course
-RHB OSK Cash management fund 2
OMG! OMG! OMG! You missed out on the Small cap and Bolehland rally for the past two years!

You 80 y/o apek or what? why so conservative? 100% bond? Giler punya olang!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 3 2014, 10:52 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Oct 3 2014, 10:28 AM)
I thought it's due to fuel price rising?  vmad.gif aih...
My portfolio's been bleeding 3 weeks in a row... Bad bad bad...

First Indonesia
Then HK
Now Msia

cry.gif

Hopefully today is very GREEN
You can run, but there is no where to hide... the red sea will consume you!

Jokes aside, the market will be very volatile in 2H2014, as what analyst reported.

If you cannot stomach the volatility, increase your cash holding vis-à-vis Money Market fund. Hitting a near 4.00% p.a. is good for you to ride out this short term tempest.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 3 2014, 11:20 AM
xuzen
post Oct 3 2014, 11:19 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 3 2014, 11:02 AM)
My cash holding already quite high sad.gif

Let's say I wanna reduce my exposure...

Global Emerging Markets 37% - REDUCE to 15%
Asia ex Japan 33% (small/mid caps-heavy) -  ADD to 55%
Global (US+Japan+Europe) 15% and Global diversified Shariah-compliant 15% - ADD to 30%

Which one(s) to trim? icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif
For global fund, my personal favourite is AMOasis Global Islamic. I like it for its low volatility, higher than average risk-adjusted reward among peers.

Global fund is good for those who are not sure where to throw their money at. It is a good middle of road asset class.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 3 2014, 11:40 AM
xuzen
post Oct 3 2014, 11:32 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 3 2014, 11:27 AM)
GEM already off its recent peak...reduce now? unsure.gif

Aiks, Aberdeen Islamic World bukan lagi baik? hmm.gif
GEM too volatile... I do not like volatility. I look at volatility as a marker, I don't look at peak or trough. That would be consider market timing, and in MPT... mkt timing is a no-no shakehead.gif

AIW is a new born baby... less than three years old. I set my algo to automatically discount funds that are less than three years old.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Oct 7 2014, 06:18 PM

4,436 posts

I wanna "kow peh kow bu" liao... my portfolio down 1.35%.

Darn "beh song"... never seen it in negative light before.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Oct 8 2014, 12:38 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Oct 7 2014, 07:43 PM)
maybe 1 or 2 customer...start to hound u aldy..

sign of market crash??  hmm.gif
Fri & mon...equity red...
Read from a pre-prepared speech, ahem (clear throat):

Xuzen

p/s: Asia-Pac x-Jp down, KLCI down, US S&P down, REITS also down (N14M4H!). Only money market is positive. No eye see! Go hibernate. Wake up again in Nov-14
xuzen
post Oct 9 2014, 03:13 PM

4,436 posts

Hwang's style is alpha chasing Fund House. That is their style. Hence when market good... supra return and vice-versa.

BTW, this has been a suckish month for equity. All are down, no region is safe except India and Indonesia.

Those who have exposure to ASEAN centric fund will be spared. Those who invested in India thorugh Manulife-MAAKL will reap benefit, but I doubt many whould have overweight on Indonesia and India.

So, hang in there, the Risk:Reward Ratio are still intact. Ride it out baby, ride it out.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 9 2014, 03:15 PM
xuzen
post Oct 9 2014, 03:33 PM

4,436 posts

The only close peer is Dynamite fund. Dynamite is a runaway success recently. Maybe they made some very good calls. Such things happens...

The rest of the Asia-Pac xJp also tanked. Dynamite is the only exception.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 9 2014, 03:34 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Oct 9 2014, 03:32 PM)
EISCF puke blood, -2.53%...
KGF -1.94%...
manyak manyak red o~~~
Heart must be steady... their Sharpe ratio is still intact.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 9 2014, 09:35 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 9 2014, 03:42 PM)
Dynamite rescued by Australian equities kot hmm.gif
Dynamite ada India exposure around 8%. Maybe that uplift it...?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 14 2014, 01:23 PM

4,436 posts

I believe this little correction is good for all of us. When market is going up up up... herd instinct tend to chase the market. (normal human behavior = greed)

When this correction occurs, it allows one to reevaluate his/her risk tolerance.

If one has high risk tolerance, then top-up as market volatility is normal and expected.

If one has low risk tolerance, then switch temporary to fixed income/money mkt and re-enter the equity market gently aka DCA/VCA.

Both methods are acceptable, it all boils down to the individual risk tolerance. There is no right or wrong answer.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 14 2014, 09:03 PM
xuzen
post Oct 14 2014, 01:32 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Oct 14 2014, 01:27 PM)
Is now the correct timing to top up jaguh kampung since KLCI starts to rebound?
Any time is a good time to enter jaguh kampung fund.

Lee Sook Yee wub.gif fund FTW 4EV4H!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 14 2014, 04:16 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Oct 14 2014, 03:18 PM)
Thanks for enlighten me on this David. Back to the table, sell off or top up. Still undecided ...
Read my post No 900....

Then decide. It all depends on individual.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 14 2014, 09:09 PM

4,436 posts

At this moment the market is probably oversold.

If you ask me to point my finger, I would say... put your money in Asia Pac ex-Jp and US based equities fund. This is based on fund houses previous reports I read.

I have not seen anything new post correction. Will share if I come across any.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 18 2014, 09:42 PM

4,436 posts

Good evening fellow unit-trust investors,

I know the previous weeks have been a suckish period with regards to your portfolio return. However, my post here is to offer some perspective.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...erateTable.svdo

Let's take a look at one of FSM's recommended fund i.e. Kenanga Growth Fund.

The three years annualised return is 19.41% p.a. i.e., when compounded, the total return is 170.26%.

Now look at the 1 mth return column; the loss is 9%.

To put it into perspective, if you have invested through this fund with an initial investment of RM 1,000.00 in 2011, your asset would have grown to RM 1,702.60.

With a 9% drop recently, your asset would have dropped to RM 1,549.40 still giving you a respectable return of 16 to 17% p.a.

Unit-trust, especially through good fund manager, you are still better off in the medium to long term period. Short term volatility or fluctuation is expected, and should not be too much of a concern.

Practice DCA or VCA, and stay invested. Watch your asset grow!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 18 2014, 10:07 PM
xuzen
post Oct 19 2014, 11:28 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Mrmr @ Oct 19 2014, 08:14 AM)
If I want buy my 1st unit Trust,anyone have what good to intro me please? I didn't have big money to invest ,sorry,my salary not more than 3 k per month
So just want to invest and save a bit for future fund ,please help me ,thanks
Private Retirement Scheme

Go read it, don't expect spoon-feeding.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 19 2014, 11:33 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 19 2014, 01:43 AM)
Yes i hope the drop isnt a sign of further and long term downside. Went into both KGF and ES SC and both at 9% and 10% loss.
Fund Managers are still bullish on equities esp East Asia and US.

Equities are still the preferred asset class into the mid-term period. This downtrend is (in the fund manager's opinion) a temporary correction and present a buying opportunity.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 19 2014, 01:39 PM

4,436 posts

Looking back in hind-sight...

As of late Qtr2 to early Qtr3, many fund managers start to go overweight in cash in their portfolio. These people already factor in the volatility. The famous TTB of iCap fame went as far as 50% cash. Other fund managers cannot go so cash heavy as they are bound by the trust deed.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Oct 19 2014, 01:45 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Oct 19 2014, 12:20 PM)
Welkommen 'Dynamite' into my UT portfolio.  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  notworthy.gif
I prefer Kenanga Asia-Pac Total Return simply because Lee Sook Yee wub.gif is in-charge!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 24 2014, 06:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 24 2014, 05:20 PM)
Good news for m'sia heavy portfolio.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Malaysia Upgraded To 3.0 Stars “Attractive” October 24, 2014
The recent market correction has provided us with a much awaited opportunity to upgrade the Malaysian market. Here we will explain the reasons why.....Author : iFAST Research Team

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=5154
Cunlah Lee Sook Yee wub.gif , gua caya sama lu! Ehwal!

Xuzen

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0268sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:42 PM