Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

Quazacolt
post May 27 2015, 09:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(vx55 @ May 27 2015, 07:03 PM)
Just wanna share that the HD Orbital pads are pretty good, better than the Rupes pads in terms of retaining its shape and durability of its Velcro.
It also seem to lessen the vibrations when paired with regular DA machines.
rupes pads makes me want to kill babies.

look back on my previous detailing project, 1 pad already died, 1 on it's way to hell
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 07:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ May 31 2015, 02:31 PM)

awesome DIY/sharing bro! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2015, 03:41 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

hi all! good to see so many new faces in this thread haha.
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2015, 03:41 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zzzzzzzzzzzy @ Jun 25 2015, 06:39 PM)
Not sure if this has been shared. Some tips for those planning to do claying. biggrin.gif

nice tip! smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2015, 04:04 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Vince7419 @ Jul 5 2015, 03:22 PM)
Where can I get a sheepskin wash mitts and drying towel?
got mine here
http://www.shinecars.com.sg/
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2015, 04:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jul 7 2015, 06:35 PM)

great write up bro! way more detailed than mine biggrin.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

for rain x, no issue applying it with mf cloth. i do let rain x sit on the windshield for as long as possible.
consider checking wiper conditions too.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 4 2015, 04:28 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2015, 04:43 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

phew sync'd myself catching up 2 months+ worth of pages/posts lol.
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2015, 05:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Aug 4 2015, 05:13 PM)
Confess whether you doing this at office or at home  tongue.gif
rolleyes.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2015, 04:02 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Aug 5 2015, 03:24 PM)
driving with a clean and coated windshield is very siok when u see the rain just fly away during rain.
I tried driving at 100kph in pretty heavy rain with no wiper on, and still hv the visibility brows.gif
clean windsreeens allow me to speed damn close to 200kph even under heavy rain conditions (straight road la, if corner sure masuk longkang/wall)
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2015, 06:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Aug 5 2015, 06:14 PM)
But make sure ur windshield is really clean though
But I think it can last around one week only tongue.gif
last more than half a year before needing to reapply rain x
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2015, 10:43 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 5 2015, 11:04 PM)
This is one way...look for more video

CODE
[YOUTUBE]HiKPf4ShuF8[/YOUTUBE]

Quazacolt
post Aug 10 2015, 12:13 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(chew3344 @ Aug 9 2015, 06:26 PM)
Collinite 476S, Meg Ultimate paste wax, or FK 1000p  to buy ya  laugh.gif My old turtle wax ice paste MIA  sweat.gif
how would you compare between the 2 bolded?
and why MIA? laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 10 2015, 12:21 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 10 2015, 12:18 PM)
would rate 476s and 1000P top among all....not to forget M16.
hmm, between my ULW and dodojuice hard paste wax (and glaze/prewax + sonax BSD topper lol), so much tempted to add on more (which would be a bit stupid since i won't have the time to try/layer them all like crazy lol)
Quazacolt
post Aug 10 2015, 01:52 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 10 2015, 01:47 PM)
multiple layer of product doesn't increase your durability...instead waste product and after light rain etc u sure will wash off some of product and reapply...
nah i'm more towards wanting a different shade/shine.
and it works very damn well.

it's still within 3-4 layers which is what most detailers recommend biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 10 2015, 01:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(triplerotor @ Aug 10 2015, 12:57 PM)
did some test on my car yesterday
using my cheap turtle wax f21 car polish and superhardshell wax.
and prep2 using 3m clay.
when claying i notice alot of white substance sticking on the clay even during washing i notice the water become white from the car paint.
isit the car base paint or isit the oxidation that i remove?
photo 1<----heres the pic link
bcos i didnt have detailer to lubricate the clay, i put abit of water and car shampoo on the surface.
my question is how wet do it need to be? do i need all the surface to be damp so the clay can glide?
from the pic, the polish able to remove the oxidation but its nowhere near mirror finish.
what do you guys recommend? use a rubbing compound?or change to a different polish? as theres still swirl altough its hard to pic cos white car and i dont have yellow light.
photo 2

photo 3
tip, 1 part f21 car shampoo (try to use shampoo without wax, like those 2 in1 wash and wax) and 1 part distilled watter.
50/50 ratio mix.
and have them in a spray bottle, you may use that as clay lube biggrin.gif

the objective is that the clay have to glide smoothly, doesn't matter how much water (not recommended, as you may create marring/further worsen the surface condition) or clay lube/shampoo being used.

from your pictures/what i can tell or assume, it's bad oxidization on the paint/surface.
consider doing multiple passes of clay>compound > polish > ipa wipe down and repeat the 4 steps as needed until you achieve the results you want.

Quazacolt
post Aug 11 2015, 11:28 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Aug 11 2015, 11:17 AM)
Guys, wanna ask sth. After use meguiars ultimate compound, I should use ultimate polish den wax or straight away can wax?
if you're satisfied with the results, you can straight wax.

usually compounding is rougher, hence another polish step is needed to further smoothen/shine/gloss the surface, then lastly a LSP (last step protection) such as wax to lock it in smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2015, 11:49 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Wazzzap @ Aug 14 2015, 12:50 AM)
actually the car is not mine, as i mentioned earlier i ter-scratch people's car so i am trying to find the best solution. if bring to workshop will cost how much for touch up
repaint per panel is 200-400+

considering it's bumper + quarter panel of the back/rear fender, you're looking at potentially 400-800 of repainting.
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2015, 11:57 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Wazzzap @ Aug 14 2015, 09:42 AM)
wow so expensive? no need ketuk also need 300-600? o gosh
yes it is so expensive.
a full proper repaint of the entire car is in 2-4k+ or even much more depending on paint quality.

the worse thing is, you ruined the factory paint, which is no outside paint jobs can offer.

so moral of the story is, please don't scratch/bang other people's car laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 17 2015, 10:27 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(chew3344 @ Aug 16 2015, 10:36 PM)
i borrow my sis my car for 6 months i get back just realised one  shakehead.gif  i also surprised why got so obvious "line" dividing the affected area and non affected area  laugh.gif  so far i have tried:
lets be honest: have you stick on those silly ah beng tints? or any tints/sticker before?
Quazacolt
post Aug 17 2015, 02:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 17 2015, 01:42 PM)
can i use autosol on a small spot to remove the rust? very small spot, smaller than 5cents, probably1-2cm in diameter, it was on the rear door corner part where i installed 3rd party sound insulator thingy, but the metal inside the rubber cut thru the rubber and eat on my door.. damn! if left untreated, will it actually give me alot of problem later on? will the rust propagate?
most likely. after removal, pray it didn't eat into the metal, and you can just paint over it a bit (random touch up paint, it's not exposed/easily viewed right?) to prevent further rust.

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0710sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:18 AM