14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

Quazacolt
post Oct 28 2015, 12:45 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 28 2015, 12:31 PM)
ok, thank you very much for the advise!!!!
you're welcome bro smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Oct 30 2015, 02:35 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Oct 30 2015, 02:32 PM)
thx. long term usage doesnt damage the windscreen right?  biggrin.gif
ori reputable products like rain x = no.

so just get rain x and end of story
Quazacolt
post Oct 30 2015, 02:43 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Oct 30 2015, 02:38 PM)
Thx for the intro!

Any physical shop where i can get it?
i found the product on lelong though
Thx in advance  notworthy.gif
ace hardware, eneos, tesco.
make sure it is ori, distributed from petrolon far east or wellstock.
Quazacolt
post Nov 2 2015, 11:59 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Nov 1 2015, 12:48 AM)
Sifu, Need your advise on Sonax bsd. Just pirchase the product along with the rim coating. The sales person said that the bsd are actually a sealant & must be apply 1st before the wax.
As i have readed from this forum that most (if not all) of you will use this bsd as a lsp after the waxing.
So what are the acual steps on this bsd ?

I've use the rim coating & found it not as effective as describe, the wheel are as dirty with or without the rim coating. I applied 50% (half of the rim) for comparison & find no difference  of brake dust sticking on it or when i spray water to the rim just to check if will come off easily, to my disappointment  it looks the same.
Fyi i wash & clay the rim before i apply the rim coating.

Any one use their rim coating before? How the outcome?
my personal preference is bsd as last.
wax also depending on what you use, but bsd is very versatile that you can do it before wax.

feel free to explore and find out what works for you.

just as a reminder, lsp = last step protection that includes wax and isn't really specifically towards the exact last step, eg: toppers such as bsd.

personal experience on sonax rim coating is that the durability isn't good, even after topping the rim coating with sonax bsd lol (still dies within 2-3 weeks, at most a month ish)
then again i use a LOT (3 set front 1 set rear within 1+ year/30k+ km? lol) of brakes so... whistling.gif
it does however make wheels easier to clean so it does serve some purpose.

have you purchased the rim coating and the wheel cleaner package? (i believe your screenshot is the wheel cleaner right?)
is this the neon yellow version that smells horrible and turn red/dark as it is taking effect?
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2015, 01:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 2 2015, 08:25 PM)

good vid!

2 things i personally disagree though:

1) steel wool: if done improperly, may cause light scratch marks. and it may cause surface level imperfection, while potentially still not be able to remove everything thoroughly.
personally, clay, white vinegar and tooth paste. more tedious, however safer and ensure shit gets done properly.

2) wiper blade: i applaud because someone actually highlighted that ! and it's something i do too to keep my blades in optimum performance along with good glass clarity. why i disagree? i personally prefer to use megs UQD to get the blades cleaner wink.gif

then, rain x washer fluid additive AND sonax nano washer fluid additive mixed small portions (water is still the majority of the mix, so you do not stain your bonnet at the nozzle area) = insanely durable rain x/sonax water beading/sheeting on the windscreen (and rear windscreen if you have a nozzle on the rear as well)
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2015, 01:37 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Nov 3 2015, 01:08 AM)
Appreciate your feedback sifu Quazacolt So by topping with bsd it helps slightly, might try it.
I need to clean the wheels again as it has been 1mth ago since the last wheel coating.
Do i need to do all the process again, wheel cleaner, wash, clay, wash, wheel coating then bsd? sweat.gif
How long do i need to wait between wheel coating and bsd?

Yeah bought the package(cleaner & coating) from Subang jaya Hq. You are right the screenshot was just the cleaner.
The coating come in a spray can.
Is not neon yellow, more like creamy white but it sure smell like a egg fart
im not sifu la, krismas baru sifu notworthy.gif

yeap best is whole process again, but don't put too much hopes into it la.
my take is, since you already got it anyways, just finish it up lo, no need waste it lol.

bsd definitely make the finishing much smoother, and the rim coating has a bit of a sticky feel that i dont like tongue.gif
i personally wait a couple hours. easy for me since i procrastinate a lot LOL!
in the event i do leave it until the next day, i'll just do a quick wipe with mf cloth to remove any dust, but hell BSD is a detailer as sifu krismas said, so you can actually skip the dusting off anyways tongue.gif

and thats what i am worried about, the newer non neon version is a bit... toned down.
sure it smells better, looks better, but isn't as aggressive/effective as before sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2015, 10:18 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 17 2015, 09:52 AM)
My new recruits.
Any one has hands on experience in Sonax Polymer Netshield to share?
[attachmentid=5321755]
wow, sonax BSD in new packaging, and possibly new formula as it's blue now (last time is murky/transparent colorless)

*lol how that typo came about

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Nov 17 2015, 10:35 AM
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2015, 10:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 17 2015, 10:39 AM)
I've tried lubing with meg gc shampoo too. feel rough and lack in lubricity. More over, the residue is indeed leaving streak marks.
cheapo diluted turtle wax F21 shampoo works better smile.gif

i think the F21/F lineup is obsolete, replaced with:
https://www.turtlewax.com/shop/products/tur...-wash-64-fl-oz-
"performance plus high shine" lol
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2015, 01:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 17 2015, 11:46 AM)
get perma glass. it's slightly more valuable than 3m because it comes with quick detailer. and compared to 3m this is slightly less abrasive. Highly recommended. 3m too many fakes. I only use 3m to clay my rims.
I recommend against that, from minor experience and few Sifu sharing same consensus.

consider soft99 laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2015, 01:57 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 17 2015, 01:42 PM)
wah you have to share with me why!
Tend to flake.

Soft99 very mild, sometimes need few more extra passes to clean, but less headache lol
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 11:02 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Nov 18 2015, 10:08 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion. But is there any other OTC product other than sonax? I prefer to start with easy to get product first.  biggrin.gif
meguiar/turtle wax

consider LYN automotive garage for cheaper price compared to hypercoat malaysia meguiar pricing.
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 11:03 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ Nov 18 2015, 10:57 AM)
guys got a new question for u guys did clay remove the water spot on car paint or windscreen ? if not can u guys suggest which product can easily remove car water spot on paint and windscreen ?
claying is a good step to start with after a good car wash
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 11:09 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ Nov 18 2015, 11:05 AM)
how about to remove the water spot clay may help ?
yes.

more serious ones consider natural white vinegar, or specific water spot removers products.
most serious cases will require polishing or even compounding.
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 11:19 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ Nov 18 2015, 11:12 AM)
and ya i found out PG wonder clay got few series like no1 , no2 and no3 which should i get it from ?
i personally recommend the soft 99
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 11:19 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Nov 18 2015, 11:13 AM)
eh where to buy sonax stuff?
sonax hq (refer their facebook) or tesco
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 01:57 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 18 2015, 01:19 PM)
Clay can't remove water spot. You got to use glass polish.
nope.

for non serious cases it can remove.
so long you understand what are water spots/how waterspots form, you'll immediately understand why clay can remove them.
Quazacolt
post Nov 23 2015, 09:49 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

Washed car yesterday night before Singapore trip biggrin.gif

krismas lol I was lazy and remembered you saying using diluted bsd... So I just dry my car with mf cloth (a LOT of wringing LOL) and spraying bsd laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 23 2015, 10:34 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Nov 23 2015, 10:18 AM)
Your tyre botak 1 side.
nah, still got about 70-80% left, just rotated after 10k km.
yes i burn through tires like nothing lol... you see the treads gone on the sides because hard cornering lol.

get this: that is -2.3 to -2.4 negative camber, and it still wears outside like you see there laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 23 2015, 10:44 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Nov 23 2015, 10:36 AM)
wheel arch didn't wash/brush clean, paintwork in clean not wet gloss...swirl level not shown.  hmm.gif
sure a ton of swirls bro, no need zoom in so much as i haven't wash the car for over half a year laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 23 2015, 11:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Nov 23 2015, 11:07 AM)
Ya, missed out on the wheel arch.

The rims look like cincai wash only, no protectant applied also...

Half hearted work.    shakehead.gif

No eye see on the paint work at all...
eh i sprayed meguiars hot rims brake dust barrier wo sad.gif

but its just a car wash la... no time detailing it tongue.gif

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 23 2015, 11:11 AM)
LMFO ph34r.gif  ph34r.gif  ph34r.gif
even sifu also laugh liao sad.gif

QUOTE(g88 @ Nov 23 2015, 11:27 AM)
caliper badly soap with strong chemical and surface fully burned/faded. Rotor highly rusted, after wash should have few round - if car is hardly move after that else very high chance brakepad jam etc
oh no, weekly touge and numerous Sepang track days does that to your braking system tongue.gif
highest recorded temperatures on the rotors was about 400 Celsius, do that every week... yea lol.

btw i've already exhausted/discarded 3 front brake pads and 1 rear brake pads in just 40k km 2 years.
that's how much punishment i subject the car with.

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0627sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:23 PM