How to calculate STPM CGPA?

azarimy
post Aug 29 2014, 08:18 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 29 2014, 12:10 PM)
What drives your mind to go to such an extent? flex.gif

I want to learn the psychology of this behavior. notworthy.gif
Err all academicians have to be curious. The thirst to know things i dont know is... Unquenchable tongue.gif.

Furthermore, im now in a good position with good standing to push things around. Ive designed whole curriculums for degree and masters. So i know whats conventional and what not. For something like this to happen, is very odd. And i just have to figure out odd things smile.gif
Just Visiting By
post Aug 29 2014, 08:21 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 29 2014, 08:18 PM)
Err all academicians have to be curious. The thirst to know things i dont know is... Unquenchable tongue.gif.

Furthermore, im now in a good position with good standing to push things around. Ive designed whole curriculums for degree and masters. So i know whats conventional and what not. For something like this to happen, is very odd. And i just have to figure out odd things smile.gif
I've personally written many complaint e-mails to MPM throughout my 1 1/2 year of studying form 6 too.

Most of the time they beat around the bush regarding certain issues, while sometimes they give only very technical answers.

It's quite frustrating lol.
Critical_Fallacy
post Aug 29 2014, 08:22 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 29 2014, 08:18 PM)
Furthermore, im now in a good position with good standing to push things around. Ive designed whole curriculums for degree and masters.
That's the spirit! I like it. nod.gif

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Aug 29 2014, 08:14 PM)
My teacher called, when we were told that pendaftaran Ulangan 3 would close before they release the final results.

My teachers even told us to complain to the media as then they'll be pressured to take actions. However, most of us, including me, is not very severely affected so we didn't bother to bring the issue to that extent.

It's unfair to ask us to pay for a retake when we do not know our final result.

Please complain about this for us too. For the next batches of STPM students.
PIBG (Persatuan Ibu Bapa dan Guru) has been silent for years? unsure.gif
Just Visiting By
post Aug 29 2014, 08:24 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 29 2014, 08:22 PM)
That's the spirit! I like it. nod.gif
PIBG (Persatuan Ibu Bapa dan Guru) has been silent for years? unsure.gif
We didn't complain at all actually, because either we didn't care or like me, some just ain't affected.

Plus, when we go form 6, PIBG literally plays no role, and parents involvement is nil. We are expected to be independent and parents normally don't care about us anymore. Haha biggrin.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Aug 29 2014, 08:26 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Aug 29 2014, 08:21 PM)
I've personally written many complaint e-mails to MPM throughout my 1 1/2 year of studying form 6 too.

Most of the time they beat around the bush regarding certain issues, while sometimes they give only very technical answers.

This thread is a good example of constructive conversation. From having the difference of opinion to finding some common ground. Nice! icon_rolleyes.gif
azarimy
post Aug 29 2014, 08:44 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Aug 29 2014, 1
2:21 PM)

It would help if u can tell me who responded to ur emails. Pm me if u wanna keep it private.
Just Visiting By
post Aug 29 2014, 09:06 PM

1,846 posts

[quote=azarimy,Aug 29 2014, 08:44 PM]
[bad html removed]QuoteBegin-Just Visiting By+Aug 29 2014, 1
2:21 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Aug 29 2014, 1
2:21 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'>[bad html removed]QuoteEBegin-->I've personally written many complaint e-mails to MPM throughout my 1 1/2 year of studying form 6 too.

[/quote]

It would help if u can tell me who responded to ur emails. Pm me if u wanna keep it private.

[/quote]

I just e-mailed to the e-mail address posted on MPM website. There's no specific pegawai name given.
moonnightsilver
post Aug 30 2014, 09:21 AM

40 posts

Technically, how UPU calculates the 90% academic and 10% marks are your duty to find out, not the school, as UPU is not part of the school.

Ko-k falls under the jurisdiction of MOE, not MPM. Like in previous years, KO-K marks are calculated by year, not semesters.

And yes, this is why STPM is so unfair. You do not know what marks you need to get an A or a B+. The grades you get after each semesters may be extremely surprising. You thought you could do all the questions, but you might get only a B+ (like I did for sem 2 physics), you might think you can't do lots of questions, but you could get an A in the end (like my ulangan 1 physics).

MPM is unpredictable. I've spent one and a half year trying to fathom them, but we gave up eventually.

Don't waste your time. Just do your best.

Ah yes. But the co-curriculum marks which are accumulated in school are not mentioned properly. Since STPM is now semester based, the schools are not told how to accumulated the co-curriculum marks. Would it be accumulated by semester or would it be accumulated by years. Seriously, the teachers were just clueless at that time. But as long as I could get my co-curriculum certificates with an okay marks, I guess I could just move on with it.

Agreed. People are retaking without knowing if that would increase their pointer. Some of my friends had improvement in Sem 3 retakes but their final pointer has no changes. In the end, they had just wasted RM50-RM200. I was the first batch too. Same situation, I thought I did very well in Biology and struggled with Chemistry. But my Sem 3 results said I performed better in Chemistry even though I have no idea how I could get the results. In my final results, the only A- I received is from P.Am. Although sometimes I couldn't understand why Pengajian Am is fail-able.

You get A for Physics? Damn, you're good.

This post has been edited by moonnightsilver: Aug 30 2014, 09:26 AM
azarimy
post Aug 30 2014, 03:01 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Aug 29 2014, 01:06 PM)

I just e-mailed to the e-mail address posted on MPM website. There's no specific pegawai name given.
who replied those emails?
stella95
post Feb 26 2015, 01:24 PM

hello everybody...im stpm student 2014/2015
if my geografi result like this:
sem 1(32%)= A- sem 2(32%)=A sem 3(16%)=C-
sem 4(20%)= A
then, i have chance to score A in my overall stpm result? i extremely dont want retake sem 3's exam...help me~~~~
Krevaki
post Mar 1 2015, 08:25 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(stella95 @ Feb 26 2015, 01:24 PM)
sem 1(32%)= A-  sem 2(32%)=A  sem 3(16%)=C-
sem 4(20%)= A
then, i have chance to score A in my overall stpm result? i extremely dont want retake sem 3's exam...help me~~~~
No.
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Mar 1 2015, 11:47 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(stella95 @ Feb 26 2015, 01:24 PM)
sem 1(32%)= A-  sem 2(32%)=A  sem 3(16%)=C-
sem 4(20%)= A
Regarding the bolded part in the above post, I don't think we have fourth semester exams, we only have the fourth paper(PBS) though.
stella95
post Mar 7 2015, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Mar 1 2015, 08:25 AM)
No.

my result was announced ady...i got A in my geo but i know why...
that is because may be i have high mark in my geo pbs...
thanks for reply me biggrin.gif
stella95
post Mar 7 2015, 04:30 PM

QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Mar 1 2015, 11:47 AM)
Regarding the bolded part in the above post, I don't think we have fourth semester exams, we only have the fourth paper(PBS) though.

yes,i wrote my result included pbs..
but my overall result was announced
i got A in my geo paper biggrin.gif
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Mar 7 2015, 09:13 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(stella95 @ Mar 7 2015, 04:30 PM)
yes,i wrote my result included pbs..
but my overall result was announced
i got A in my geo paper biggrin.gif
Well, congratulations!
Just Visiting By
post Mar 7 2015, 09:49 PM

1,846 posts

I think right now we can safely establish and give concrete evidence that the final CGPA of STPM cannot be calculated by adding up the semester papers and finding the mean grade.
crazywing26
post Mar 7 2015, 10:48 PM

283 posts

Agree. I know a person's result as follow:
Mathematics T: F F F A; D+ for the overall grade
Chemistry: F F F A; C- for the overall grade
I have finally realised how does PBS "help" to raise the grade even to nearly a principal pass ==

This post has been edited by crazywing26: Mar 7 2015, 10:49 PM
Just Visiting By
post Mar 7 2015, 11:54 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(crazywing26 @ Mar 7 2015, 10:48 PM)
Agree. I know a person's result as follow:
Mathematics T: F F F A; D+ for the overall grade
Chemistry: F F F A; C- for the overall grade
I have finally realised how does PBS "help" to raise the grade even to nearly a principal pass ==
After all, PBS constitutes 20% of total marks.

It's also very likely both his A and his F are very high, resulting in a very low C- and high D+.
stella95
post Mar 8 2015, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Mar 7 2015, 09:13 PM)
Well, congratulations!
thanks biggrin.gif
but i have a friend...
her result like B+ A B A in subjek geo
all teachers guessed her will be get B+ or A- but her overall result was announced
she get A oso... it make her score 4.00 in her stpm
but my teachers said her result just a miracle...
nod.gif

FlexArianaSwift
post Mar 8 2015, 02:12 AM

268 posts

Lets not to forget there are examples where maths : F F F A and still gt F in the end. After all, every mark u gain in each paper will contribute to the final. So try ur best to score as high as possible.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0231sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:45 PM