33 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

...... Pre-intel Macs' !, ...Any of you has an aged Mac ?

daylight_dancer
post Jan 19 2016, 11:20 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 19 2016, 08:39 AM)
fixed  brows.gif
suspected coverline for something else  brows.gif
not many ibook g4 in good conditions nowadays especially the cheap ones sold in mudah  doh.gif
LOL OCD. Tried to lift the keys up a bit to clean. The 4 keys got unhinged. Was about 250 to fix the few keys, the Machines dudes did it for me
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 19 2016, 11:25 AM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 19 2016, 08:39 AM)
fixed  brows.gif

Hey.... True lah. Its not easy to get powerbook locally! Not one. Even the ibooks are damn sucky with screen problems. At least tis powerbook of mine can boot externally and screen is fine nod.gif

If i only travel to US frequently .... Will have all the models by now brows.gif
zenix
post Jan 19 2016, 11:26 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 19 2016, 11:20 AM)
LOL OCD. Tried to lift the keys up a bit to clean. The 4 keys got unhinged. Was about 250 to fix the few keys, the Machines dudes did it for me
ahahhaha.....we all suffer from that

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jan 19 2016, 11:25 AM)
Hey.... True lah. Its not easy to get powerbook locally!  Not one.  Even the ibooks are damn sucky with screen problems. At least tis powerbook of mine can boot externally and screen is fine nod.gif

If i only travel to US frequently ....  Will have all the models by now  brows.gif
what u wan
i help u get
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 19 2016, 04:47 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 19 2016, 11:26 AM)
ahahhaha.....we all suffer from that
what u wan
i help u get
That is so tempting drool.gif
Anonymous34
post Jan 19 2016, 10:47 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jan 15 2016, 12:11 AM)
dissected the PowerBook.... hdd is fine, the previous owner did some real shit to it....

- track pad cable broken
-  lots of screws missing
- hdd not detectable, but this may be due to the ATA controller, the hdd spins, so assuming that cable is fine  sweat.gif 

[attachmentid=5805669][attachmentid=5805672]
ATA controller?
Hard Drive can spin too but the HDD PCB can be rosak too.

Try with other laptop.
Anonymous34
post Jan 19 2016, 10:48 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 16 2016, 08:36 PM)
I had an iBook G4 that I sold off in 2009 to a forumer here. I loved that thing, and lugged it around to Uni and back.

I only got the new MBP in 2009 bec I needed a faster machine to run Adobe CS 3 and above.

Still using the MBP'09.

I know the fella sold off my iBook sad.gif

I had some of the keys replaced as I accidentally did some crap while cleaning. Overall I kept that think like GOLD.

I quite miss that dinosaur.
Do you want to upgrade your MBP? brows.gif
Anonymous34
post Jan 19 2016, 10:49 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jan 16 2016, 08:44 PM)
U aold in 2009.... How much was itbworth then ?

I know, its sad, i also sold one of my PPC 17" imac, really regret selling, i even much later, contacted the guy and asked him if he wanna sell bAck................ The fellar sold it off!!!! sweat.gif
G4 or G5?
Anonymous34
post Jan 19 2016, 10:51 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jan 19 2016, 04:47 PM)
That is so tempting  drool.gif
You can import wat. Cheap2 oni
zenix
post Jan 20 2016, 09:39 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jan 19 2016, 04:47 PM)
That is so tempting  drool.gif
brows.gif
izzi_guy
post Jan 20 2016, 10:32 AM

444 posts

finally managed to read from page 1 until the last..

fuhh..you guys really awesome collecting these macs.

i had some feelings too..to get mac pro..the temptation is high now.. rolleyes.gif
daylight_dancer
post Jan 20 2016, 11:17 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jan 19 2016, 10:48 PM)
Do you want to upgrade your MBP? brows.gif
I have a guy who does good work for me in regards to upgrades.

I reckon a new machine is in order already lah. Can really begin to see the wear and tear, and I dont need such a heavy machine anymore. I didn't pimp this MBP out too much; just 8 GB of Ram and since my old HDD crashed in 2013, I just changed it to a regular HDD as I needed the space.

For web surfing ok lah. Even pushing Adobe CS 6. But lately it's been a bit out of whack. I'll still keep this one though.
Anonymous34
post Jan 20 2016, 03:26 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 20 2016, 11:17 AM)
I have a guy who does good work for me in regards to upgrades.

I reckon a new machine is in order already lah. Can really begin to see the wear and tear, and I dont need such a heavy machine anymore. I didn't pimp this MBP out too much; just 8 GB of Ram and since my old HDD crashed in 2013, I just changed it to a regular HDD as I needed the space.

For web surfing ok lah. Even pushing Adobe CS 6. But lately it's been a bit out of whack. I'll still keep this one though.
Let me know if you want to let it go for cheap brows.gif

This post has been edited by Anonymous34: Jan 20 2016, 03:26 PM
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 20 2016, 04:26 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jan 19 2016, 10:47 PM)
ATA controller?
Hard Drive can spin too but the HDD PCB can be rosak too.

Try with other laptop.
I put in a different hdd dude... Still cantv detect the hdd, taht is y i concluded thatvit must be the ATA, further the hdd from the PB is detected in my other Mac...
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 20 2016, 04:29 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jan 19 2016, 10:49 PM)
G4 or G5?
G5 ,,,, will nvr sell if it was G4, further the 17" model is one that lacking from my collection. I have the 15" and 20" brows.gif
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 20 2016, 04:33 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jan 19 2016, 10:51 PM)
You can import wat. Cheap2 oni
Postage is high, further, scared dunno what will happen in the shipment! This PB was sent by Poslaju,,,, the seller, in spite being an IT guy, just dumped the PB and the charger in one box, without any cushioning !!! Farkkkk, i actually requested a decent packing summore.... mad.gif
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 20 2016, 04:35 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(izzi_guy @ Jan 20 2016, 10:32 AM)
finally managed to read from page 1 until the last..

fuhh..you guys really awesome collecting these macs.

i had some feelings too..to get mac pro..the temptation is high now.. rolleyes.gif
U are welcome dude.... The Mac Pro is an intel model though. The Power Mac is PPC.
Go get one ! drool.gif
acbc
post Jan 20 2016, 04:36 PM

9,052 posts

I've an iMac G3 and PowerMac G3 lying somewhere. Need repairing. Oldest I have is the Macintosh SE/30. Still works and running on System 6. Just no keyboard or mouse.
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Jan 20 2016, 04:39 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 20 2016, 04:36 PM)
I've an iMac G3 and PowerMac G3 lying somewhere. Need repairing. Oldest I have is the Macintosh SE/30. Still works and running on System 6. Just no keyboard or mouse.
Nice.... Cool stuff, post some pics !
daylight_dancer
post Jan 20 2016, 05:25 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:26 PM)
Let me know if you want to let it go for cheap brows.gif
Haha never. It's too precious! Plus with the current ssd drives, I'm gonna need somewhere to chuck my media right.

Oh my MBP has a "beautiful" blue line on the corner of the screen. I've become so used to it (been there since 2013) that itndoesnt bother me
Anonymous34
post Jan 20 2016, 05:52 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 20 2016, 05:25 PM)
Haha never. It's too precious! Plus with the current ssd drives, I'm gonna need somewhere to chuck my media right.
Oh my MBP has a "beautiful" blue line on the corner of the screen. I've become so used to it (been there since 2013) that itndoesnt bother me
Blue line? Pics?
Dead pixels?

33 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:25 AM